yes, therapy helps!
Educational Coaching: a tool to learn and teach better

Educational Coaching: a tool to learn and teach better

May 6, 2021

Coaching is a methodology that allows maximum personal and professional development of individuals and influences the transformation of these, causing changes in perspective, increasing motivation, commitment and responsibility, and of course, learning.

So, coaching promotes cognitive, emotional and behavioral changes that expand the person's capacity for action .

Educational coaching is not directive

Educational coaching is not based on directive instruction on the part of the coach, but helps to create the appropriate conditions to learn and grow

Possibly, one of the most notorious changes that coaching can bring in the classroom is that this methodology does not consist in teaching in a directive way, but it allows creating the propitious conditions to learn and grow. It is an experiential methodology, in which both teachers and students come to solutions through their own self-reflection. Coaching leaves behind the barriers that limiting beliefs can impose and the individuals who try it connect with the here and now in a way that becomes more decisive and creative.


Coaching focuses on a dialogue (called the Socratic method) between the actors that allows the development of specific skills. For teachers, it allows them to know their own mistakes in order to modify them, and also helps to create educational environments and strategies in the classroom that are more experiential and enriching for students, who also benefit from these productive sessions.

Teachers can have sessions with coaching professionals or learn different coaching strategies to better educate their students. But the relationship between the coach-teacher or student teacher, is not an expert relationship, that is, the coach is not above the coachee. But the relationship is on the same level, and the coach facilitates strategies for self-learning of oneself. The coach is a companion in this educational process.


How students benefit

One of the keys to educational coaching is that it is not intended to teach, but to seek to improve performance individually. It is common to observe in some classrooms that they are taught exactly the same to all students without taking into account their abilities and strengths, greatly limiting their potential and creativity.

Educational coaching affects the individuality of the people, the potential of each of your students. And, on many occasions, what is intended to teach should not limit the potential that students have for learning. Hence, educational coaching offers a different way of learning.

5 keys that teachers or educators should know

To increase the potential of the students, teachers or educators can know the five keys of educational coaching, because in this way students can benefit from this type of methodology. Coaching can be a great complement for teachers when teaching classes. But what are the principles of educational coaching?


  1. Potential of the students: one of the keys of the educational coaching is not in instructing, but in finding and developing the true potential of each of your students.
  2. Self-awareness: It is only possible to get the best out of the students when you become aware of your own limiting beliefs and adopt a non-directive attitude and open to change. In this learning relationship, there must be an environment that allows self-awareness, reflection, observation and interpretation of what is experienced to be enhanced. This applies to both you and your students
  3. Empowerment: To empower students and make them more independent, it is necessary to educate them not from knowledge, but from the responsibility that this knowledge implies.
  4. Feedback: Constant feedback is essential to maximize learning and benefit from sessions.
  5. Skills development: In order to apply coaching in the classroom, it is necessary to develop different competences: active listening, emotional intelligence, patience, attention, compassion, etc.

You can know more about the coaching skills in this link

False myths of coaching

Unfortunately, this discipline that can be really useful, is tainted with a certain controversy. For example, its popularity has caused a lot of professional intrusion. In other words, many people claim to be "coach" when they are not. Some of them confuse this methodology with "charlatanism" or motivational talks, and others, with a simple course, think that they are already coaching professionals.

But coaching is a methodology that, when used well, provides many benefits for the coachees (the clients of the coaches), since they acquire greater self-knowledge, emotional intelligence, empowerment, better structure your goals and connect with your emotions more efficiently .

  • Recommended article: "The 10 myths about Coaching"

The benefits of coaching

As much as some insist on qualifying coaching as a passing fad, the coachees that have been able to experience the coaching process know how beneficial this methodology is for their well-being and their learning. It is because of that coaching applies both aspects of personal, sports, work and educational life .

Whatever the type of coaching, this practice is closely related to change and learning, because it allows you to open your mind, experience and recognize emotions, analyze the present state to set goals and create a plan of action to achieve the objectives specifically, measurable, achievable, relevant and in a given time. The coach guides the coachee throughout the coaching process and helps the latter be able to develop their full potential .

In summary, coaching provides the following benefits:

  • It allows to define the objectives
  • Maximize creativity
  • Enables greater mental flexibility and adaptability to change
  • Empower people
  • Improve interpersonal relationships
  • Helps manage time and, therefore, reduces stress
  • It helps us to be motivated
  • Increase welfare
  • Help maximize personal development to get further
  • Improves self-knowledge, self-reflection and emotional intelligence

If you want to know more about the benefits that coaching can bring, visit our article: "The 10 benefits of Coaching (keys for your personal development)"

Bibliographic references:

  • Burman, E. (1998). The deconstruction of evolutionary psychology. Madrid: Learning Viewer.
  • Cristal, D. (1993). Pathology of language. Madrid: Cátedra Editions.
  • García Galera, Mª del C. (2000). Television, violence and childhood. The impact of media. Barcelona: Gedisa.
  • Kimmel, D.C. and Weiner, I.B. (1998). Adolescence: a transition of development. Barcelona: Ariel.

What is Teacher Coaching? (Early Math Collaborative) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le coaching pédagogique: un outil pour apprendre et mieux enseigner

Le coaching pédagogique: un outil pour apprendre et mieux enseigner

Mars 2, 2021

Le coaching est une méthodologie qui permet un développement personnel et professionnel maximal des individus et qui en influence la transformation, ce qui entraîne des changements de perspective, augmente la motivation, l’engagement et la responsabilité, et bien sûr, l’apprentissage.

Pourtant, le coaching favorise les changements cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux qui augmentent la capacité d'action de la personne .

Le coaching éducatif n'est pas directive

Le coaching pédagogique ne repose pas sur un enseignement directif de la part du coach, mais contribue à créer les conditions propices à l'apprentissage et à la croissance.

L'un des changements les plus notoires que le coaching puisse apporter en classe est peut-être que cette méthodologie ne consiste pas à enseigner de manière directive, mais à créer les conditions propices à l'apprentissage et à la croissance. Il s'agit d'une méthodologie expérientielle, dans laquelle enseignants et étudiants trouvent des solutions par leur propre réflexion. Le coaching laisse derrière les barrières que des croyances limitantes peuvent imposer et les personnes qui les essayent se connectent à l'ici et maintenant d'une manière qui devient plus décisive et créative.


Le coaching se concentre sur un dialogue (appelé méthode socratique) entre les acteurs permettant le développement de compétences spécifiques. Pour les enseignants, cela leur permet de connaître leurs propres erreurs afin de les modifier et de créer dans la classe des environnements pédagogiques et des stratégies plus expérimentaux et enrichissants pour les élèves, qui bénéficient également de ces sessions productives.

Les enseignants peuvent assister à des séances avec des professionnels de l’entraînement ou apprendre différentes stratégies d’entraînement pour mieux éduquer leurs élèves. Mais la relation entre l'entraîneur-enseignant ou l'élève-enseignant n'est pas une relation d'expert, c'est-à-dire que l'entraîneur n'est pas au-dessus du coaché. Mais la relation est au même niveau et le coach facilite les stratégies d’autoapprentissage de soi-même. Le coach accompagne ce processus éducatif.


Comment les étudiants bénéficient

L'une des clés du coaching éducatif est qu'il ne s'agit pas d'enseigner, mais de chercher à améliorer les performances individuellement. Il est courant d’observer dans certaines classes qu’on leur enseigne exactement la même chose à tous les élèves sans tenir compte de leurs capacités et de leurs points forts, ce qui limite considérablement leur potentiel et leur créativité.

Le coaching éducatif affecte l'individualité des personnes, le potentiel de chacun de vos étudiants. Et, à maintes reprises, ce que l’on veut enseigner ne doit pas limiter le potentiel d’apprentissage des élèves. Par conséquent, le coaching éducatif offre une manière différente d’apprendre.

5 clés que les enseignants ou les éducateurs doivent connaître

Pour augmenter le potentiel des étudiants, les enseignants ou les éducateurs peuvent connaître les cinq clés du coaching pédagogique, car les étudiants peuvent ainsi bénéficier de ce type de méthodologie. Le coaching peut être un excellent complément pour les enseignants lors de l’enseignement en classe. Mais quels sont les principes du coaching pédagogique?


  1. Potentiel des étudiants: l’une des clés du coaching pédagogique n’est pas d’instruire, mais de trouver et de développer le véritable potentiel de chacun de vos étudiants.
  2. Conscience de soi: Il est uniquement possible de tirer le meilleur parti des étudiants lorsque vous prenez conscience de vos propres croyances limitantes et que vous adoptez une attitude non directive et prêt à changer. Dans cette relation d'apprentissage, il doit exister un environnement permettant d'améliorer la conscience de soi, la réflexion, l'observation et l'interprétation de l'expérience vécue. Ceci s'applique à vous et à vos étudiants
  3. Autonomisation: pour responsabiliser les élèves et les rendre plus indépendants, il est nécessaire de les éduquer non pas du savoir, mais de la responsabilité que ce savoir implique.
  4. Rétroaction: une rétroaction constante est essentielle pour optimiser l'apprentissage et tirer parti des sessions.
  5. Développement des compétences: Pour appliquer le coaching en classe, il est nécessaire de développer différentes compétences: écoute active, intelligence émotionnelle, patience, attention, compassion, etc.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les compétences de coaching dans ce lien

Faux mythes du coaching

Malheureusement, cette discipline, qui peut être vraiment utile, est entachée d’une certaine controverse. Par exemple, sa popularité a provoqué de nombreuses intrusions professionnelles. En d'autres termes, beaucoup de gens prétendent être des "entraîneurs" alors qu'ils ne le sont pas. Certains confondent cette méthodologie avec le "charlatanisme" ou des discussions sur la motivation, tandis que d'autres, avec un cours simple, pensent qu'ils entraînent déjà des professionnels.

Mais le coaching est une méthodologie qui, bien utilisée, procure de nombreux avantages aux coachés (les clients des coaches), car ils acquièrent une meilleure connaissance de soi, une intelligence émotionnelle, une responsabilisation, mieux structurer vos objectifs et communiquer avec vos émotions plus efficacement .

  • Article recommandé: "Les 10 mythes sur le coaching"

Les avantages du coaching

Même si certains insistent pour que le coaching soit considéré comme une mode passagère, les coachés qui ont pu expérimenter le processus de coaching savent à quel point cette méthodologie est bénéfique pour leur bien-être et leur apprentissage. C'est pourquoi le coaching applique les deux aspects de la vie personnelle, sportive, professionnelle et éducative .

Quel que soit le type de coaching, cette pratique est étroitement liée au changement et à l’apprentissage, car elle vous permet d’ouvrir votre esprit, de vivre et de reconnaître des émotions, d’analyser l’état actuel pour fixer des objectifs et de créer un plan d’action pour les atteindre. spécifiquement, mesurable, réalisable, pertinent et dans un temps donné. Le coach guide le coaché ​​tout au long du processus de coaching et aide ce dernier à développer son plein potentiel .

En résumé, le coaching offre les avantages suivants:

  • Cela permet de définir les objectifs
  • Maximiser la créativité
  • Permet une plus grande flexibilité mentale et une plus grande adaptabilité au changement
  • Habiliter les gens
  • Améliorer les relations interpersonnelles
  • Aide à gérer le temps et réduit donc le stress
  • Cela nous aide à être motivés
  • Augmenter le bien-être
  • Aidez à maximiser le développement personnel pour aller plus loin
  • Améliore la connaissance de soi, la réflexion sur soi et l'intelligence émotionnelle

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les avantages que le coaching peut apporter, consultez notre article: "Les 10 avantages du coaching (éléments clés de votre développement personnel)"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Burman, E. (1998). La déconstruction de la psychologie de l'évolution. Madrid: visionneuse d'apprentissage.
  • Cristal, D. (1993). Pathologie du langage. Madrid: Editions Cátedra.
  • García Galera, Mª del C. (2000). Télévision, violence et enfance. L'impact des médias. Barcelone: ​​Gedisa.
  • Kimmel, D.C. et Weiner, I.B. (1998). Adolescence: une transition de développement. Barcelone: ​​Ariel.

Comprendre le cerveau pour mieux enseigner (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes