yes, therapy helps!
Fear of darkness (scotophobia): what it is and how to overcome it

Fear of darkness (scotophobia): what it is and how to overcome it

September 30, 2022

"Fear of the dark" is not only the title of an Iron Maiden song (Fear of Dark), but it is a phobic disorder that can cause great discomfort to the person who suffers it. It is also known as scotophobia, although it is often associated with fear of the night or nytophobia .

In this article we review the main characteristics of this phenomenon and we delve into its causes, symptoms and treatment.

What is the irrational fear of darkness

Scotophobia is the irrational and extreme fear of darkness. As a phobia, belongs to the group of anxiety disorders, and its main symptoms are extreme anxiety and irrational fear of phobic stimulation . It involves avoiding situations and places where there is darkness, and the person can experience the discomfort just thinking about it. Dark spaces without light are situations that can create a certain level of alertness or activation in the person, but not necessarily create terror. Some people suffer from panic attacks in this context, so they tend to avoid any situation like this.


It is common to see children afraid of the dark, in large part because of the images that can be seen in the movies, because in the night and in the darkness they usually manifest ghosts or monsters in fantasy stories. However, in the case of adults, this fear is not as frequent, and when it occurs, it must be treated by a specialist .

This pathology can have a great impact on the daily life of the person who suffers it, mainly because the individual tends to be depressed, anxious or very nervous all the time. Every day of our lives darkens, so the discomfort manifests itself again and again. Those affected often refuse to leave their home when it gets dark or they are not able to sleep alone despite their age if they suffer from scotophobia.


What causes this phobia

The main cause of this phobia is irrational beliefs about the dark, and as I said, fueled by fantasy stories that often appear in books or movies, but also by popular beliefs.

But nevertheless, Most phobias tend to develop due to a traumatic experience in childhood , and occurs by a type of associative learning called classical conditioning. This type of conditioning was studied for the first time by the American psychologist John Watson, who managed to get a little boy, named Albert, to learn to be afraid of a white rat that he used to adore.

You can visualize this experiment in the video shown below:

Phobias, in addition, can be developed for other reasons. One of them is by vicar conditioning, which is a type of learning by observation. We explain it to you in our article: "Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?".


Some authors also affirm that people are biologically predisposed to suffer this type of fear, because this emotion has an adaptive function that has allowed the human species to have survived the passage of centuries. For this reason, irrational fear is complex and sometimes difficult to overcome, because it does not respond to logical arguments. It is a primitive and non-cognitive association.

Symptoms of scotophobia

This phobia causes a series of symptoms that can be cognitive, behavioral or physical and physiological.

Cognitive symptoms include fear, anguish, anxiety, confusion, irrational beliefs or lack of attention . Regarding the behavioral symptoms, the person tends to avoid the phobic stimulus in an attempt to reduce the discomfort.

Between the physical and physiological symptoms they emphasize:

  • Dry mouth
  • Muscle tension
  • Extreme sweating
  • Increased breathing
  • Suffocation
  • Shortness of breath
  • Lack of hunger
  • Stomachache
  • Headache

Treatment

Despite being disabling and creating great discomfort, this phobia has a cure. Psychologists deal with irrational fears daily and, according to research, psychological therapy has a high degree of effectiveness in the treatment of these anxiety disorders .

There are different therapeutic schools and different methodologies to deal with psychological problems, but to treat phobias, cognitive behavioral therapy, which uses both cognitive therapy and behavioral therapy techniques, is very successful.

Relaxation techniques and exposure techniques are some of the most used for this type of disorders. However, the technique par excellence, which is more effective, is the systematic desensitization.

This technique combines the techniques of relaxation and exposure, and helps the patient to gradually expose himself to the phobic stimulus while learning tools to deal in the best possible way with the situations he fears.

Other treatments

However, there are other forms of treatment that are used and with great results: hypnosis, cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness or acceptance therapy and commitment are some examples. These last two belong to what is known as third generation therapies, which emphasize the relationship that the patient has with their problem, context and acceptance.

Drug treatment is also used, but only in severe cases , and always in combination with psychological therapy to ensure that the results are maintained in the long term.

Apps to treat phobias

The irruption of new technologies in recent decades has also affected the treatment of phobias . In fact, virtual reality and augmented reality are ideal for the patient to be exposed to phobic stimulation without the need to have it in front. In addition, the exhibition is carried out in a controlled environment.

But the treatment of phobias has even reached smartphones, since there are different applications that are intended to help people overcome their irrational fears.

  • You can learn more about these applications in our article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur des ténèbres (scotophobie): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le surmonter

Peur des ténèbres (scotophobie): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le surmonter

Décembre 9, 2021

"Fear of the Dark" n'est pas seulement le titre d'une chanson d'Iron Maiden (Fear of Dark), mais il s'agit d'un trouble phobique qui peut être très désagréable pour la personne qui le subit. On l'appelle aussi scotophobie, bien qu'elle soit souvent associée à la peur de la nuit ou à la nytophobie. .

Dans cet article, nous passons en revue les principales caractéristiques de ce phénomène et analysons ses causes, ses symptômes et son traitement.

Quelle est la peur irrationnelle des ténèbres

La Scotophobia est la peur irrationnelle et extrême de l'obscurité. Comme une phobie, appartient au groupe des troubles anxieux et ses principaux symptômes sont une anxiété extrême et une peur irrationnelle de la stimulation phobique . Cela implique d'éviter les situations et les endroits obscurs et la personne peut ressentir le malaise en y réfléchissant. Les espaces sombres sans lumière sont des situations qui peuvent créer un certain niveau de vigilance ou d'activation chez la personne, mais ne créent pas nécessairement la terreur. Certaines personnes souffrent d'attaques de panique dans ce contexte et ont donc tendance à éviter toute situation de ce type.


Il est courant de voir des enfants effrayés par le noir, en grande partie à cause des images que l'on peut voir dans les films, car ils manifestent généralement des fantômes ou des monstres dans la nuit et dans l'obscurité. Maintenant bien, dans le cas des adultes, cette crainte est moins fréquente et, le cas échéant, elle doit être traitée par un spécialiste .

Cette pathologie peut avoir un impact important sur la vie quotidienne de la personne qui la subit, principalement parce que la personne a tendance à être constamment déprimée, anxieuse ou très nerveuse. Chaque jour de notre vie s'assombrit, l'inconfort se manifeste encore et encore. Les personnes touchées refusent souvent de quitter leur domicile à la nuit tombée ou ne peuvent pas dormir seules malgré leur âge si elles souffrent de scotophobie.


Qu'est-ce qui cause cette phobie?

La cause principale de cette phobie est la croyance irrationnelle sur le noir et, comme je l'ai dit, alimentée par des histoires fantastiques qui apparaissent souvent dans des livres ou des films, mais aussi par des croyances populaires.

Cependant, La plupart des phobies ont tendance à se développer en raison d'une expérience traumatique vécue pendant l'enfance , et se produit par un type d’apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique. Ce type de conditionnement a été étudié pour la première fois par le psychologue américain John Watson, qui a réussi à convaincre un petit garçon, nommé Albert, d'apprendre à avoir peur d'un rat blanc qu'il adorait.

Vous pouvez visualiser cette expérience dans la vidéo ci-dessous:

Les phobies, en outre, peuvent être développées pour d'autres raisons. L’un d’entre eux est conditionné par le vicaire, qui est un type d’apprentissage par observation. Nous vous l'expliquons dans notre article: "Conditionnement du curé: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?".


Certains auteurs affirment également que les personnes sont biologiquement prédisposées à souffrir de ce type de peur, car cette émotion a une fonction adaptative qui a permis à l'espèce humaine de survivre au fil des siècles. Pour cette raison, la peur irrationnelle est complexe et parfois difficile à surmonter, car elle ne répond pas aux arguments logiques. C'est une association primitive et non cognitive.

Symptômes de scotophobie

Cette phobie provoque une série de symptômes pouvant être cognitifs, comportementaux ou physiques et physiologiques.

Les symptômes cognitifs comprennent la peur, l'angoisse, l'anxiété, la confusion, des croyances irrationnelles ou le manque d'attention. . En ce qui concerne les symptômes comportementaux, la personne a tendance à éviter le stimulus phobique afin de réduire l’inconfort.

Entre les symptômes physiques et physiologiques ils soulignent:

  • Bouche sèche
  • Tension musculaire
  • Transpiration extrême
  • Respiration accrue
  • Sofoco
  • Essoufflement
  • Manque de faim
  • Maux d'estomac
  • Mal de tête

Traitement

En dépit d'être handicapante et de créer un grand inconfort, cette phobie est un remède. Les psychologues traitent quotidiennement des peurs irrationnelles et, selon des recherches, la thérapie psychologique est très efficace dans le traitement de ces troubles anxieux .

Il existe différentes écoles thérapeutiques et différentes méthodologies pour traiter les problèmes psychologiques, mais pour traiter les phobies, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui utilise à la fois une thérapie cognitive et des techniques de thérapie comportementale, connaît un grand succès.

Les techniques de relaxation et d'exposition sont parmi les plus utilisées pour ce type de troubles. Cependant, la technique par excellence, plus efficace, est la désensibilisation systématique.

Cette technique combine les techniques de relaxation et d’exposition et aide le patient à s’exposer progressivement au stimulus phobique tout en apprenant à maîtriser les meilleures techniques pour faire face aux situations qu’il craint.

Autres traitements

Cependant, il existe d'autres formes de traitement qui sont utilisées et qui donnent d'excellents résultats: l'hypnose, la thérapie cognitive basée sur la thérapie de pleine conscience ou d'acceptation et l'engagement, en sont des exemples. Ces deux dernières font partie de ce que l’on appelle les thérapies de troisième génération, qui mettent l’accent sur la relation que le patient entretient avec son problème, son contexte et son acceptation.

Le traitement médicamenteux est également utilisé, mais seulement dans les cas graves , et toujours en association avec une thérapie psychologique pour assurer le maintien des résultats à long terme.

Applications pour traiter les phobies

L’irruption des nouvelles technologies au cours des dernières décennies a également affecté le traitement des phobies . En fait, la réalité virtuelle et la réalité augmentée sont idéales pour que le patient soit exposé à une stimulation phobique sans avoir besoin de l'avoir devant lui. De plus, l'exposition est réalisée dans un environnement contrôlé.

Mais le traitement des phobies a même atteint les smartphones, car il existe différentes applications destinées à aider les gens à surmonter leurs peurs irrationnelles.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ces applications dans notre article: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"

LE KIDNAPPING DU PRINCE SWAN ! ???? (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes