yes, therapy helps!
Ekbom syndrome (delirium of parasitosis): causes and symptoms

Ekbom syndrome (delirium of parasitosis): causes and symptoms

January 17, 2022

Schizophrenia spectrum disorders, the abrupt cessation of alcohol consumption in addicted persons or traumatic brain injuries, among other alterations, may cause the appearance of a very peculiar type of delirium: the Ekbom syndrome or delirium of parasitosis .

People with this disorder believe they have insects or other parasites on their skin, and often continue to maintain this idea even if medical tests refute it. Let's see what causes are due and exactly what this delusion consists of.

  • Related article: "Psychotic outbreak: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment"

What is Ekbom syndrome?

Ekbom syndrome is a psychological disorder that is characterized by delusional belief that the person has insects under the skin, or small parasites of another type . This alteration is associated with the presence of tactile and pruritus hallucinations (constant itching in a part of the body that causes an intense impulse to scratch).


Those who have Ekbom syndrome can hold with great conviction the idea that they have parasites on their skin for a long time and despite the evidence against them that is obtained through medical examinations or in other ways. If these conditions are met, the alteration would be classified as a delusional disorder itself.

From other perspectives, the Ekbom syndrome is conceived as a psychosis with the delusional belief as the only symptom . This is why sometimes antipsychotic drugs such as pimozide and olanzapine are used to treat this disorder, although there are also psychological procedures for the management of delusions and hallucinations.


Other names that are used to refer to Ekbom syndrome are "Delirium of parasitosis", "delirious parasitosis", "dermatozoic delirium", "parasitic delirium" , "Delirium of infestation" and "imaginary parasitosis". The ICD-10 diagnostic manual, which specifically includes this disorder, calls it "delirium of parasitosis".

This alteration is more common in women, especially from the fifth decade of life. Some experts attribute this fact partially to the arrival of menopause, which is associated with the appearance of abnormal sensory phenomena to which the person could give a delirious interpretation, thus giving rise to the Ekbom syndrome.

  • Related article: "The 12 most curious and shocking types of delusions"

Symptoms and clinical picture

Most people who have Ekbom syndrome report sensations that they attribute to movements of insects that pass through the skin or that move through the inside of the skin. This abnormal perception is called "formication" and is part of the phenomena known as paresthesias, which also include punctures or numbness.


Although ants are one of the most frequently referred to "parasites" and give names to different terms that are used to refer to Ekbom syndrome, it is also common for people with this disorder to say that they have worms, spiders, lizards and other small animals. Sometimes they claim that these are invisible.

Under certain conditions, any person can perceive sensations of formation, especially if circumstances give rise to them, such as menopause or medical alterations that affect the sensory nerves . However, the generation of delusional belief is much less common and requires some kind of trigger.

There are two major categories of delusions of parasitosis depending on the nature of the alterations. We speak of primary Ekbom syndrome when the symptoms arise in the absence of identifiable problems, and therefore can be attributed to errors in the patient's reasoning. This subtype has a nature similar to that of acute psychosis.

In contrast, when an underlying disorder that triggers the delusional belief is detected, the disorder is classified as secondary. In turn, this type is divided into two: functional, which is diagnosed in cases in which the syndrome is due to a psychiatric disorder such as schizophrenia, and organic, when the cause is a disease or a drug .

  • Related article: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Disorders and related disorders

Often the appearance of the Ekbom syndrome is associated with a hyperactivation of the organism due to the consumption of certain substances. In particular, delusional parasitosis in many cases is due to Withdrawal syndrome in people with alcohol dependence or to excessive consumption of cocaine or other stimulants.

In addition to psychotic disorders, other alterations in the structure and functioning of the brain may explain the emergence of this disorder. Neurodegenerative diseases (including alcoholic dementia) and traumatic brain injuries, for example, are two common causes of Ekbom syndrome.

It is interesting to mention also delirious kleptoparasitosis, which is considered a subtype of the Ekbom syndrome. In this variant the person does not maintain the belief that there are bugs on their skin, but that they infest their residence and therefore run the risk of being parasitized. However, it is possible and usual for both disorders to occur at the same time.

Morgellons syndrome is another variant of delirium of parasitosis in which the parasites are replaced by fibers of different types that have had contact with the skin, such as cloth or remnants of bandages, or are not identified by the patient. It is a rare disorder that has begun to be studied just over ten years ago.


How to treat patients with delusional parasitosis (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Ekbom (délire de parasitose): causes et symptômes

Syndrome d'Ekbom (délire de parasitose): causes et symptômes

Juillet 28, 2022

Les troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie, l’arrêt brutal de la consommation d’alcool chez les toxicomanes ou les lésions cérébrales traumatiques, entre autres modifications, peuvent provoquer l’apparition de un type de délire très particulier: le syndrome d'Ekbom ou délire de parasitose .

Les personnes atteintes de ce trouble croient avoir des insectes ou d’autres parasites sur leur peau et continuent souvent de maintenir cette idée même si des tests médicaux l’avaient réfuté. Voyons quelles sont les causes et exactement en quoi consiste cette illusion.

  • Article connexe: "Épidémie psychotique: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome d'Ekbom?

Le syndrome d’Ekbom est un trouble psychologique caractérisé par: croyance illusoire que la personne a des insectes sous la peau ou de petits parasites d'un autre type . Cette altération est associée à la présence d'hallucinations tactiles et de prurit (démangeaisons constantes dans une partie du corps provoquant une impulsion intense de se gratter).


Les personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Ekbom peuvent être convaincues qu'elles ont des parasites sur leur peau pendant longtemps, malgré les preuves qui leur sont données, obtenues par le biais d'examens médicaux ou autrement. Si ces conditions sont remplies, la modification sera classée dans la catégorie des troubles délirants.

Sous d'autres perspectives, le syndrome d'Ekbom est conçu comme une psychose avec la croyance délirante comme seul symptôme . C'est pourquoi des médicaments antipsychotiques tels que le pimozide et l'olanzapine sont parfois utilisés pour traiter ce trouble, bien qu'il existe également des procédures psychologiques pour la gestion des idées délirantes et des hallucinations.


Les autres noms utilisés pour désigner le syndrome d’Ekbom sont "Délire de parasitose", "délirant parasitose", "délire dermatozoique", "délire parasitaire" , "Délire d'infestation" et "parasitose imaginaire". Le manuel de diagnostic de la CIM-10, qui inclut spécifiquement ce trouble, l’appelle "délire de parasitose".

Cette altération est plus fréquente chez les femmes, en particulier à partir de la cinquième décennie de la vie. Certains experts attribuent ce fait en partie à l’arrivée de la ménopause, qui est associée à l’apparition de phénomènes sensoriels anormaux auxquels la personne pourrait donner une interprétation délirante, donnant ainsi lieu au syndrome d’Ekbom.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus choquants"

Symptômes et tableau clinique

La plupart des personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Ekbom font état de sensations attribuées aux mouvements d'insectes qui traversent la peau ou se déplacent à l'intérieur de la peau. Cette perception anormale s'appelle "formication" et fait partie des phénomènes connus sous le nom de paresthésies, qui comprennent également les ponctions ou les engourdissements.


Bien que les fourmis soient l’un des parasites les plus fréquemment mentionnés et donnent des noms à différents termes utilisés pour désigner le syndrome d’Ekbom, il est également courant que les personnes atteintes de ce trouble disent qu’elles ont des vers, araignées, lézards et autres petits animaux. Parfois, ils prétendent que ceux-ci sont invisibles.

Dans certaines conditions, toute personne peut percevoir des sensations de formation, surtout si les circonstances les y provoquent, comme la ménopause ou des modifications médicales qui affectent les nerfs sensoriels . Cependant, la génération de croyances délirantes est beaucoup moins répandue et nécessite une sorte de déclencheur.

Il existe deux grandes catégories de délires de parasitose en fonction de la nature des modifications. Nous parlons de syndrome d'Ekbom primaire lorsque les symptômes surviennent en l'absence de problèmes identifiables et peuvent donc être attribués à des erreurs de raisonnement du patient. Ce sous-type a une nature similaire à celle de la psychose aiguë.

En revanche, lorsqu'un trouble sous-jacent qui déclenche la croyance délirante est détecté, le trouble est classé comme secondaire. À son tour, ce type est divisé en deux: fonctionnel, qui est diagnostiqué dans les cas où le syndrome est dû à un trouble psychiatrique tel que la schizophrénie, et organique, quand la cause est une maladie ou un médicament .

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Troubles et troubles connexes

Souvent, l'apparition du syndrome d'Ekbom est associée à une hyperactivation de l'organisme due à la consommation de certaines substances. En particulier, la parasitose délirante est souvent due à Syndrome de sevrage chez les personnes alcoolodépendantes ou à la consommation excessive de cocaïne ou d'autres stimulants.

Outre les troubles psychotiques, d'autres altérations de la structure et du fonctionnement du cerveau peuvent expliquer l'apparition de ce trouble. Les maladies neurodégénératives (notamment la démence alcoolique) et les traumatismes crâniens, par exemple, sont deux causes courantes du syndrome d'Ekbom.

Il est intéressant de mentionner également la kleptoparasitose délirante, qui est considérée comme un sous-type du syndrome d'Ekbom. Dans cette variante, la personne ne croit pas qu'il y a des insectes sur la peau, mais infeste sa résidence et court donc le risque d'être parasitée. Cependant, il est possible et habituel que les deux troubles se produisent en même temps.

Le syndrome de Morgellons est une autre variante du délire de parasitose dans lequel les parasites sont remplacés par des fibres de différents types qui ont été en contact avec la peau, telles que des tissus ou des restes de bandages, ou qui ne sont pas identifiées par le patient. C'est un trouble rare qui a commencé à être étudié il y a un peu plus de dix ans.


Pour en finir avec la psychiatrie ! - www.regenere.org (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes