yes, therapy helps!
Generalized Anxiety Disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

Generalized Anxiety Disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

January 29, 2023

The generalized anxiety disorder it is characterized by exaggerated and excessive worry and anxiety about any day-to-day event with no apparent reason for this concern.

People who suffer from this disorder they always expect things to go wrong and they can not stop worrying about their health , money, family, work or university.

What is generalized anxiety disorder?

This fear or worry is irrational, unreal and disproportionate, and daily life becomes a constant concern. Therefore, anxiety ends up dominating the individual's life, which negatively affects their normal functioning in different areas of their lives, such as social activities, work or interpersonal relationships. In addition, generalized anxiety disorder also affects the ability to vividly imagine possible future situations, causing attention to focus instead on the negative sensations that are perceived in the present.


We must differentiate GAD from other anxiety disorders

Anxiety is a normal reaction of individuals facing situations of stress and uncertainty. Now, when several anxious symptoms cause anguish or some degree of functional deterioration in the life of the individual who suffers it, the anxiety disorder is diagnosed. There are different types of anxiety disorders: panic disorder, phobic disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) ...

All of them, including the TAG, have in common that hinder the functioning in different areas of your life of the person who suffers . For example: social and family relationships, work, school. But among the different types of anxiety disorders, there are differences.


Persistent anxiety

In the case of generalized anxiety disorder, anxiety and anxiety reactions are not limited to what is typical of other disorders; for example, the possibility of having a panic attack and running out of air (panic disorder), feeling humiliated in public (social phobia), suffering from contamination (obsessive-compulsive disorder), or having a serious illness (hypochondria). But, unlike the previous ones, the main characteristic of generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) is having excessive and irrational worry and anxiety, persistent (at least half of the days for at least 6 months) and difficult to control over A number of events or activities such as work, school, friends and family.

In addition, according to the DSM-V, to diagnose GAD, the disorder it must not be due to the direct physiological effects of a substance (drug, drug) or disease (for example, hyperthyroidism) or occur exclusively during an affective disorder, a post-traumatic stress disorder, a psychotic disorder or a pervasive developmental disorder.


Symptoms of generalized anxiety disorder

Following the diagnostic criteria for GAD as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-V, anxiety and concern are associated with three (or more) of the following six symptoms . In the case of children, only one of the items is required.

  • Restlessness or feeling restless
  • Easily fatigued
  • Difficulty concentrating or having a blank mind
  • Irritability
  • Muscle tension
  • Sleep disorders (difficulty to reconcile or maintain, sleep little or restless)

In addition, anxiety, worry or physical symptoms cause clinically significant discomfort or deterioration in social, occupational, or other important areas of functioning.

Unlike the DSM-V, according to the Diagnostic Criteria of the ICD-10 (World Health Organization, WHO) it is not necessary that the concerns are excessive and difficult to control. In addition, it requires the presence of the following symptoms:

  • Autonomic symptoms : palpitations or tachycardia, sweating, tremor or shaking, dry mouth (not due to medication or dehydration).
  • Related to chest and abdomen : shortness of breath, feeling of choking, pain or discomfort in the chest, nausea or abdominal discomfort.
  • Related to the mental state: feeling dizzy, unstable or fading; derealization or depersonalization; fear of losing control, going crazy or losing consciousness; affraid to die
  • General symptoms : hot flashes or chills; stun or tingling sensations; muscle tension, pain or discomfort; restlessness or inability to relax; feeling of being on the edge or under pressure, or of mental tension; feeling of lump in the throat or difficulty swallowing.
  • Other non-specific symptoms : exaggerated response to small surprises or surprises; difficulty concentrating or "blank mind" due to worry or anxiety; persistent irritability; difficulty falling asleep due to worries.

The ICD-10 specifies the presence of 4 of the 22 symptoms for the diagnosis of this pathology, and it is necessary that at least one of the symptoms be from the autonomous group. Despite the differences between the DSM and the CIE, the degree of agreement between the two is quite high: a study by Andrews, Slade and Peters (1999) concluded that in 77% of the subjects diagnosed by one of these systems had a positive diagnosis in the other also.

The neurological basis of generalized anxiety disorder

Little is known about the neurological basis of generalized anxiety disorder, beyond having recorded evidence that is associated with a lower than normal activation in the prefrontal cortex and the cortex of the anterior cingulate. It is necessary to reealizar many more investigations on the matter to get to understand well this disorder.

Examples of generalized anxiety disorder

To illustrate this pathology better, some examples are shown below:

  • A doctor who is continuously worried about not diagnosing patients correctly . Every time they call him on the phone he thinks he is a superior to tell him that he is working badly. In addition, he is continually concerned about whether his new patient will be a former patient who has relapsed.
  • A woman who is always worried if her partner is going to leave her , they will fire you at work and if someone in your family is going to become seriously ill.
  • A father who is always worried if his 4-month-old son is going to drown while eating , of if you will not hear him cry at night if he needs help, and if he could become seriously ill and die.

Treatment for this psychological maladjustment

Like the rest of anxiety disorders, the TAD can be treated effectively with psychotherapy and medication.

Cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), allows patients to acquire tools to manage and control anxiety and worry. In addition, alternative treatments such as relaxation techniques, meditation or yoga can be beneficial in combination with CBT.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mochcovitch, M. (2014). A systematic review of fMRI studies in generalized anxiety disorder: Evaluating its neural and cognitive basis. Journal of affective disorders, 167, pp. 336-342.
  • Solomon, C. (2015): Generalized Anxiety Disorder. The New England Journal of Medicine, 373 (21), pp. 2059-2068.
  • Wu, J. (2015): Episodic future thinking in generalized anxiety disorder. Journal of anxiety disorders, 36, pp. 1 - 8.

Anxiety Disorders : Symptoms of Anxiety Disorders (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble d'anxiété généralisée: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble d'anxiété généralisée: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 11, 2021

Le trouble d'anxiété généralisée il se caractérise par une inquiétude et une anxiété excessives et excessives à propos de tout événement quotidien sans aucune raison apparente pour expliquer cette préoccupation.

Les gens qui souffrent de ce trouble ils s'attendent toujours à ce que les choses tournent mal et ils ne peuvent s'empêcher de s'inquiéter pour leur santé , argent, famille, travail ou université.

Quel est le trouble d'anxiété généralisé?

Cette peur ou inquiétude est irrationnelle, irréelle et disproportionnée, et la vie quotidienne devient une préoccupation constante. Par conséquent, l'anxiété finit par dominer la vie de l'individu, ce qui affecte négativement son fonctionnement normal dans différents domaines de sa vie, tels que les activités sociales, le travail ou les relations interpersonnelles. En outre, le trouble d'anxiété généralisé affecte également la capacité à imaginer de manière éclatante les situations futures possibles, amenant l'attention à se concentrer sur les sensations négatives perçues dans le présent.


Nous devons différencier le TAG des autres troubles anxieux

L'anxiété est une réaction normale d'individus confrontés à des situations de stress et d'incertitude. Or, lorsque plusieurs symptômes anxieux provoquent une angoisse ou un certain degré de détérioration fonctionnelle de la vie de la personne qui la subit, le trouble anxieux est diagnostiqué. Il existe différents types de troubles anxieux: trouble panique, trouble phobique, trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) ...

Tous, y compris le TAG, ont en commun que entraver le fonctionnement dans différents domaines de votre vie de la personne qui souffre . Par exemple: relations sociales et familiales, travail, école. Mais parmi les différents types de troubles anxieux, il existe des différences.


Anxiété persistante

Dans le cas du trouble d’anxiété généralisé, les réactions d’angoisse et d’anxiété ne se limitent pas à ce qui est typique des autres troubles; par exemple, la possibilité d'avoir une attaque de panique et de manquer d'air (trouble panique), de se sentir humilié en public (phobie sociale), de contamination (trouble obsessionnel-compulsif) ou de maladie grave (hypocondrie). Mais contrairement aux précédents, le trouble d'anxiété généralisée (TAG) se caractérise principalement par une anxiété et une anxiété excessives et irrationnelles, persistantes (au moins la moitié des jours pendant au moins six mois) et difficiles à contrôler. Un certain nombre d'événements ou d'activités tels que le travail, l'école, les amis et la famille.

En outre, selon le DSM-V, pour diagnostiquer le TAG, le trouble il ne doit pas être dû aux effets physiologiques directs d'une substance (médicament) ou d'une maladie (par exemple, l'hyperthyroïdie) ou surviennent exclusivement au cours d'un trouble affectif, d'un trouble de stress post-traumatique, d'un trouble psychotique ou d'un trouble envahissant du développement.


Symptômes de trouble d'anxiété généralisée

Selon les critères de diagnostic du TAG définis dans le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux du DSM-V, anxiété et inquiétude sont associés à trois (ou plus) des six symptômes suivants . Dans le cas des enfants, un seul des éléments est requis.

  • Agitation ou se sentir agité
  • Facilement fatigué
  • Difficulté à se concentrer ou avoir l'esprit vide
  • L'irritabilité
  • Tension musculaire
  • Troubles du sommeil (difficulté à se réconcilier ou à se maintenir, peu dormir ou agité)

En outre, anxiété, inquiétude ou symptômes physiques causer une gêne cliniquement significative ou détérioration du fonctionnement social, professionnel ou dans d’autres domaines importants.

Contrairement au DSM-V, selon les critères de diagnostic de la CIM-10 (Organisation mondiale de la santé, OMS), il n’est pas nécessaire que les préoccupations soient excessives et difficiles à contrôler. De plus, il nécessite la présence des symptômes suivants:

  • Symptômes autonomes : palpitations ou tachycardie, transpiration, tremblements ou tremblements, bouche sèche (non causée par des médicaments ou par la déshydratation).
  • Relatif à la poitrine et à l'abdomen : essoufflement, sensation d'étouffement, douleur ou malaise à la poitrine, nausée ou malaise abdominal.
  • Relatif à l'état mental: se sentir étourdi, instable ou pâlir; déréalisation ou dépersonnalisation; peur de perdre le contrôle, de devenir fou ou de perdre conscience; peur de mourir
  • Symptômes généraux : bouffées de chaleur ou des frissons; sensations d'étourdissement ou de picotement; tension musculaire, douleur ou inconfort; agitation ou incapacité à se détendre; sentiment d'être au bord ou sous pression, ou de tension mentale; sensation de nausée dans la gorge ou difficulté à avaler.
  • Autres symptômes non spécifiques : réponse exagérée à de petites surprises ou surprises; difficulté de concentration ou "esprit vide" en raison d'inquiétude ou d'anxiété; irritabilité persistante; difficulté à s'endormir à cause d'inquiétudes.

La CIM-10 spécifie la présence de 4 des 22 symptômes pour le diagnostic de cette pathologie et il est nécessaire qu'au moins un des symptômes soit du groupe autonome. Malgré les différences entre le DSM et le CIE, le degré d'accord entre les deux est assez élevé: une étude de Andrews, Slade et Peters (1999) a conclu que chez 77% des sujets diagnostiqués par l'un de ces systèmes diagnostic positif dans l'autre aussi.

La base neurologique du trouble d'anxiété généralisée

On sait peu de choses sur les bases neurologiques du trouble d'anxiété généralisée, mis à part les preuves enregistrées associées à une activation inférieure à la normale dans le cortex préfrontal et le cortex du cingulaire antérieur. Il est nécessaire de réexaminer de nombreuses autres enquêtes sur la question pour bien comprendre ce trouble.

Exemples de trouble d'anxiété généralisée

Pour mieux illustrer cette pathologie, voici quelques exemples:

  • Un médecin qui s'inquiète continuellement de ne pas diagnostiquer correctement les patients . Chaque fois qu'ils l'appellent au téléphone, il pense être un supérieur pour lui dire qu'il travaille mal. En outre, il s’inquiète continuellement de savoir si son nouveau patient sera un ancien patient qui a rechuté.
  • Une femme qui est toujours inquiète si son partenaire va la quitter , ils vous vireront au travail et si un membre de votre famille est gravement malade.
  • Un père qui s'inquiète toujours si son fils de 4 mois va se noyer en mangeant , de si tu ne l’entendras pas pleurer la nuit s’il a besoin d’aide, et s’il peut tomber très malade et mourir.

Traitement pour cette inadaptation psychologique

Comme le reste des troubles anxieux, le TAD peut être traité efficacement par une psychothérapie et des médicaments.

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC) permet aux patients d'acquérir des outils pour gérer et contrôler l'anxiété et l'inquiétude. En outre, des traitements alternatifs tels que des techniques de relaxation, la méditation ou le yoga peuvent être bénéfiques en combinaison avec la TCC.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Mochcovitch, M. (2014). Une revue systématique des études IRMf dans le trouble d'anxiété généralisée: évaluer ses bases neurales et cognitives. Journal of affective troubles, 167, pp. 336-342.
  • Solomon, C. (2015): Trouble d'anxiété généralisée. Le New England Journal of Medicine, 373 (21), p. 2059-2068.
  • Wu, J. (2015): Pensée future épisodique dans le trouble d'anxiété généralisé. Journal des troubles anxieux, 36, p. 1 - 8.

Anxiété Trouble anxieux Causes, symptômes et traitement (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes