yes, therapy helps!
Have children: synonymous with happiness?

Have children: synonymous with happiness?

October 4, 2022

Having children can be one of the happiest experiences in the life of a person, but not necessarily in 100% of cases. Although in today's society there is a constant pressure so that motherhood is seen as a blessing, something wonderful, and always something positive, the truth is that there are media voices that begin to talk about the less idyllic aspects of motherhood, and we They explain that everything that glitters is not gold.

Recently the journalist Samanta Villar has raised controversy due to some statements for the ABC newspaper where she expressed that after her recent motherhood she is not happier than before and that having children "is losing quality of life". The attacks and criticism from social networks for these statements are a clear example of the idealization of motherhood.


But what does science say about the relationship between psychological well-being and motherhood?

  • Related article: "The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?"

How do children influence their relationship?

One of the areas where the birth of a new family member can most influence is marital satisfaction . The organization of the couple's system must be reviewed and adjusted, and can even be considered as a crisis. This is because that baby needs all the attention possible, and the relationship goes to the background.

When it is time to resume the role of the romantic relationship, they appear problems like loss of intimacy of the couple , which can affect communication and sexual relations.


In a meta-analysis conducted by Jean M. Twenge, W. Keith Campbell and Craig A. Foster and published in 2003 in the journal "Journal of Marriage and Family" it is clear that the transition to motherhood or fatherhood can:

1. Increase stress

The increase in the number of tasks that the couple has to carry out after the baby is born increases their stress level and generates tension in the couple relationship . The latter is due to the reduced availability of time for communication.

2. Interfere in the relationship

The presence of the new family member can negatively affect the companionship of the couple and their sexual relations .

3. Overload roles

By increasing the tasks to be performed, parents are forced to execute new roles to the point of being overwhelmed by them.


4. Create negative evaluations about marriage

This happens especially in women who have less traditional values .

  • Related article: "The 7 keys to have a healthy relationship"

What do the studies say?

The authors argue that there are also cases in which the birth of a baby can produce positive effects in marital satisfaction, so they indicate that some variables can mediate the relationship.

The meta-analysis consisted of 97 articles, which correspond to a total sample of 47,692 participants. The results showed that:

1. Decrease satisfaction with the relationship

People with children had lower couple satisfaction in 90 of the 97 articles analyzed. 55% of people without children indicate that they are satisfied with their relationship, compared to 45% of people with children.

2. The more children the less satisfaction

Couples with a greater number of children report a worse marital satisfaction than couples with fewer children .

3. It affects more to the satisfaction of women

In women, with maternity decreases satisfaction to a greater degree in the couple compared to men who enter fatherhood.

4. The effect increases with the socioeconomic level

The people of high socioeconomic level show lower satisfaction of a couple than those that are located in lower levels.

Consequences for personal happiness

Regarding the happiness of the person when a baby is born, a recent article by the authors Jennifer Glass, Robin W. Simon, and Matthew A. Andersson published in the "American Journal of Sociology" where 22 European countries are analyzed and the US shows that Not all countries report less happiness when people are fathers or mothers.

The USA and Ireland are the countries where parents are less happy, while in countries such as Finland, Norway, France and Spain people who have children are happier than people without children.

The authors of this article argue that the lack of policies in favor of fathers and mothers that help to reconcile family and work life creates greater anxiety and stress for parents, thus diminishing their happiness.The results may seem surprising if we compare the ease of conciliation between the Nordic countries and Spain.

  • Related article: "The 10 keys to be happy, according to science"

Motherhood is idealized

As we have seen, having children can have negative effects on the quality of life of people. The loss of satisfaction in the couple, the effect on the sexual life of people, stress and anxiety are some of the effects that the arrival of a new member of the family can cause in people.

So the idealization of motherhood, silencing all these negative effects, does a disservice to people who suffer emotional distress due to these important changes that happen with the birth of a baby. It can also cause a false sense that services and support for family conciliation they are sufficient and thus limit the review of government policies in this regard.

  • Related article: "Antinatalism: against the birth of more human beings"

Bibliographic references:

  • Glass, J., Simon, R. W., & Andersson, M.A. (2016). Parenthood and Happiness: Effects of Work-Family Reconciliation Policies in 22 OECD Countries. American Journal of Sociology, 122(3), 886–929.
  • Twenge, J. M., Campbell, W. K. & Foster, C. A. (2003). Parenthood and Marital Satisfaction: A Meta-Analytic Review. Journal of Marriage and Family, 65: 574–583.

Cyanide & Happiness Compilation - #1 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Avoir des enfants: synonyme de bonheur?

Avoir des enfants: synonyme de bonheur?

Avril 15, 2021

Avoir des enfants peut être l'une des expériences les plus heureuses dans la vie d'une personne, mais pas nécessairement dans 100% des cas. Bien que, dans la société actuelle, la maternité soit considérée comme une bénédiction, quelque chose de merveilleux et toujours de positif, à tout le moins, la vérité est qu’il existe des voix dans les médias qui commencent à parler des aspects moins idylliques de la maternité, et nous Ils expliquent que tout ce qui brille n'est pas d'or.

Récemment la journaliste Samanta Villar a soulevé la controverse En raison de certaines déclarations du journal ABC où elle a déclaré qu'après sa récente maternité, elle n'était plus heureuse qu'auparavant et que le fait d'avoir des enfants "nuit à la qualité de vie". Les attaques et critiques des réseaux sociaux pour ces déclarations sont un exemple clair de l'idéalisation de la maternité.


Mais que dit la science de la relation entre bien-être psychologique et maternité?

  • Article connexe: "L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?"

Comment les enfants influencent-ils leur relation?

L’un des domaines où la naissance d’un nouveau membre de la famille peut le plus influencer est la satisfaction conjugale . L'organisation du système du couple doit être revue et ajustée et peut même être considérée comme une crise. C'est parce que ce bébé a besoin de toute l'attention possible et que la relation passe au second plan.

Quand il est temps de reprendre le rôle de la relation amoureuse, ils apparaissent des problèmes tels que la perte d'intimité du couple , qui peut affecter la communication et les relations sexuelles.


Dans une méta-analyse menée par Jean M. Twenge, W. Keith Campbell et Craig A. Foster et publiée en 2003 dans la revue "Journal du mariage et de la famille", il est clair que la transition vers la maternité ou la paternité peut:

1. Augmenter le stress

L’augmentation du nombre de tâches que le couple doit effectuer après la naissance augmente le niveau de stress et génère tension dans la relation de couple . Cette dernière est due à la disponibilité réduite de temps pour la communication.

2. S'ingérer dans la relation

La présence du nouveau membre de la famille peut affecter négativement la la camaraderie du couple et leurs relations sexuelles .

3. Rôle de surcharge

En augmentant les tâches à accomplir, les parents sont obligés d'exécuter de nouveaux rôles au point d'être submergé par eux.


4. Créer des évaluations négatives sur le mariage

Cela se produit surtout dans les femmes qui ont des valeurs moins traditionnelles .

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 clés pour une relation saine"

Que disent les études?

Les auteurs soutiennent qu'il existe également des cas dans lesquels la naissance d'un bébé peut avoir des effets positifs dans la satisfaction conjugale, ils indiquent donc que certaines variables peuvent médier la relation.

La méta-analyse comprenait 97 articles, ce qui correspond à un échantillon total de 47 692 participants. Les résultats ont montré que:

1. Diminuer la satisfaction de la relation

Les couples avec enfants avaient moins de satisfaction en couple dans 90 des 97 articles analysés. 55% des personnes sans enfants se disent satisfaites de leur relation, contre 45% des personnes ayant des enfants.

2. Plus les enfants sont nombreux, moins ils sont satisfaits

Les couples avec un plus grand nombre d'enfants signalent une pire satisfaction conjugale que les couples avec moins d'enfants .

3. Il affecte plus à la satisfaction des femmes

Chez les femmes, avec la maternité diminue davantage la satisfaction dans le couple par rapport aux hommes qui entrent en paternité.

4. L'effet augmente avec le niveau socio-économique

Les gens de le niveau socio-économique élevé montre une plus faible satisfaction d'un couple que ceux qui sont situés dans les niveaux inférieurs.

Conséquences pour le bonheur personnel

En ce qui concerne le bonheur de la personne quand un bébé naît, un article récent des auteurs Jennifer Glass, Robin W. Simon et Matthew A. Andersson a été publié dans le "American Journal of Sociology" où 22 pays européens sont analysés. et les États-Unis montre que Tous les pays ne signalent pas moins de bonheur quand les gens sont des pères ou des mères.

Les États-Unis et l’Irlande sont les pays où les parents sont les moins heureux, alors que dans des pays comme la Finlande, la Norvège, la France et Les Espagnols qui ont des enfants sont plus heureux que les personnes sans enfants.

Les auteurs de cet article soutiennent que l'absence de politiques en faveur des pères et des mères qui aident à réconcilier la vie familiale et professionnelle crée une anxiété et un stress accrus pour les parents, diminuant ainsi leur bonheur.Les résultats peuvent paraître surprenants si on compare la facilité de conciliation entre les pays nordiques et l’Espagne.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 clés pour être heureux, selon la science"

La maternité est idéalisée

Comme nous l'avons vu, avoir des enfants peut avoir des effets négatifs sur la qualité de vie du peuple. La perte de satisfaction dans le couple, les effets sur la vie sexuelle des personnes, le stress et l’anxiété font partie des effets que l’arrivée d’un nouveau membre de la famille peut provoquer chez les personnes.

Ainsi, l'idéalisation de la maternité, qui réduit au silence tous ces effets négatifs, nuit aux personnes qui souffrent de détresse émotionnelle en raison de ces changements importants qui se produisent lors de la naissance d'un bébé. Cela peut aussi causer une faux sentiment que les services et le soutien à la conciliation familiale elles sont suffisantes et limitent ainsi la révision des politiques gouvernementales à cet égard.

  • Article connexe: "Antinatalisme: contre la naissance d'un plus grand nombre d'êtres humains"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Glass, J., Simon, R. W. et Andersson, M.A. (2016). Parenthood and Happiness: Les effets des politiques de conciliation travail-famille dans 22 pays de l'OCDE. American Journal of Sociology, 122(3), 886–929.
  • Twenge, J. M., Campbell, W. K. et Foster, C. A. (2003). Satisfaction parentale et conjugale: un examen méta-analytique. Journal du mariage et de la famille, 65: 574–583.

Comment vivre lorsqu'on est surdoué ? - Mille et une vies (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes