yes, therapy helps!
Superb: the 6 common traits of vain people

Superb: the 6 common traits of vain people

May 6, 2021

Personality traits form one of the most interesting fields of study in the field of psychology. However, many of the adjectives we normally use to refer to the way of being of the people around us do not correspond to a scientifically created category.

However, that does not mean that there are not certain nuances in the personality that can not be of interest. This is the case of pride , a term that is customarily used to designate vain and somewhat arrogant people. However, the psychological implications of this feature go far beyond the bad image that has been socially given.

Personality traits associated with pride

The personality traits that define superb people are especially related to two characteristics: narcissism and a tendency to megalomania. Both psychological dimensions are closely linked , and they speak of a need to maintain a very idealized self-image that serves to justify a series of irrational beliefs (that is, they do not fit with what is being checked about reality). Among these beliefs is that you have control over virtually every aspect of daily life-


What is narcissism?

Narcissism is a propensity for feelings of grandiosity when evaluating oneself .

Narcissistic people are always aware of what others think about them, but at the same time, they believe that they have more value than most. Although it seems paradoxical, they are obsessed with making everyone behave as if they were very special and highly relevant people while underestimating others.

In addition, they consider that their point of view is the most correct and tend to treat others with a certain paternalism for this reason: they try to teach them that they are wrong, without considering beforehand if they are the ones who have fallen into error. In general, they do not pallise as easily as non-narcissistic people. They are not usually people with too much tact or deference towards others .


What is megalomania?

Megalomania is a concept very similar to that of narcissism, although It has a slightly more pathological nuance because it includes a relationship with the delusions that a person holds in order to believe that he is capable of doing things that, really, he can hardly get.

Megalomaniacs greatly overestimate their abilities and, as a consequence, tend to want to take control of everything that happens in their life: including the projects that other people have in hand. For example, they may believe that they can get a large company to hire a relative even though they do not know anyone who works there, or assume that they will receive special treatment from the police if they commit a violation.

You can read more about megalomania in this article: "Megalomania and delusions of greatness: playing at being God"

The characteristics of the proud people

Now that we have made an idea about how to define, in general, the proud people, we can go on to explore more in detail their personality. These are some of the specific characteristics that vain people tend to present .


1. They believe that by default they are almost always right

As we have seen, arrogance takes from narcissism this irrational belief that one is always right in the simple fact of being who one is. That is why, on occasion, markedly superb people try to argue and defend their point of view using the fallacy of authority.

2. They are aware of their public image, although without being noticed

Vain people They need to have a feedback constant about the image they give to others , although they try to appear indifferent about that. The reason is that they know that naturalness and spontaneity are valued positively.

3. Anger produced by pride

The fact of having to carry with such an idealized version of themselves makes it easy to jump sparks when interacting with this type of person. That is they can become angry at insignificant details . For example, when they believe that they are not given enough attention, they may unconsciously tend to look for an excuse to confront the other person.

4. Theatricality in its way of presenting itself

The people who excel in arrogance they attract attention in ways that sometimes seem to belong rather to the performing arts , especially if they want to stand out before a group of people. That is to say, they have a certain tendency to dramatize and to spectacularize some moments of their daily life.

5. The importance of social networks

The explosion of the massive use of social networks such as Facebook and Twitter makes many young people adopt behavior dynamics that define arrogant people, albeit in a new way.

Rivalry is created by the number of followers, strategies are created to have more visibility on the Internet and sometimes only these virtual profiles are used to try to give this desired image of oneself, and not so much to really communicate with others, just as a famous person would.

For sample, a button: boys and girls from Barcelona who go to a fashionable club (interesting from minute 0:57):

6. The instrumentalization of others

If narcissism has a clear relationship with psychopathy, it is because from these two characteristics of the personality the other human beings with whom one has a direct deal are reified; that is to say, they are treated as objects .

Vain people can devote so much attention to their image that they can not avoid seeing others as a means to make their "grandiosity" expand, reaching greater heights of power (economic or social) through them.


What Happened Before History? Human Origins (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Superbe: les 6 traits communs des gens vains

Superbe: les 6 traits communs des gens vains

Mai 11, 2021

Les traits de personnalité constituent l'un des domaines d'étude les plus intéressants dans le domaine de la psychologie. Cependant, bon nombre des adjectifs que nous utilisons habituellement pour désigner la manière d'être des gens qui nous entourent ne correspondent pas à une catégorie créée de manière scientifique.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'il n'y a pas certaines nuances dans la personnalité qui ne peuvent être intéressantes. C'est le cas de la fierté , terme habituellement utilisé pour désigner des personnes vaines et quelque peu arrogantes. Cependant, les implications psychologiques de cette caractéristique vont bien au-delà de la mauvaise image donnée socialement.

Traits de personnalité associés à la fierté

Les traits de personnalité qui définissent les personnes superbes sont particulièrement liés à deux caractéristiques: le narcissisme et une tendance à la mégalomanie. Les deux dimensions psychologiques sont étroitement liées , et ils parlent de la nécessité de maintenir une image de soi très idéalisée qui justifie une série de croyances irrationnelles (c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne correspondent pas à ce qui est vérifié à propos de la réalité). Parmi ces croyances, vous avez le contrôle de pratiquement tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne.


Qu'est-ce que le narcissisme?

Le narcissisme est une propension aux sentiments de grandiosity lors de l'évaluation de soi .

Les narcissiques sont toujours conscients de ce que les autres pensent d'eux, mais ils croient en même temps avoir plus de valeur que la plupart des gens. Bien que cela semble paradoxal, ils sont obsédés de faire en sorte que chacun se comporte comme s'il s'agissait de personnes très spéciales et très pertinentes tout en sous-estimant les autres.

En outre, ils considèrent que leur point de vue est le plus correct et tendent à traiter les autres avec un certain paternalisme pour cette raison: ils essaient de leur apprendre qu'ils ont tort, sans se demander à l'avance si ce sont eux qui sont tombés dans l'erreur. En général, ils ne pallient pas aussi facilement que les non-narcissiques. Ce ne sont généralement pas des gens avec trop de tact ou de déférence envers les autres .


Qu'est-ce que la mégalomanie?

La mégalomanie est un concept très similaire à celui de narcissisme, bien que Il a une nuance légèrement plus pathologique parce qu’il inclut une relation avec les illusions qu’une personne entretient afin de croire qu’elle est capable de faire des choses qu’elle ne peut vraiment pas obtenir.

Les mégalomanes surestiment considérablement leurs capacités et, en conséquence, ont tendance à vouloir prendre le contrôle de tout ce qui se passe dans leur vie: y compris les projets que d'autres personnes ont en mains. Par exemple, ils peuvent croire qu’ils peuvent faire engager une grande société par une grande entreprise même s’ils ne connaissent personne qui y travaille, ou s’ils supposent qu’ils bénéficieront d’un traitement spécial de la part de la police s’ils commettent une infraction.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur la mégalomanie dans cet article: "Mégalomanie et délires de la grandeur: jouer à être Dieu"

Les caractéristiques des gens fiers

Maintenant que nous savons comment définir, d’une manière générale, les gens fiers, nous pouvons explorer plus en détail leur personnalité. Ce sont quelques-unes des caractéristiques spécifiques que les vains ont tendance à présenter .


1. Ils croient que par défaut ils ont presque toujours raison

Comme nous l’avons vu, l’arrogance tire du narcissisme cette conviction irrationnelle selon laquelle on a toujours raison dans le simple fait d’être qui on est. C'est pourquoi, à l'occasion, des personnes remarquablement remarquables essaient de faire valoir et de défendre leur point de vue en utilisant le sophisme de l'autorité.

2. Ils sont conscients de leur image publique, mais sans se faire remarquer

Gens vains Ils ont besoin d'un commentaires constant sur l'image qu'ils donnent aux autres , bien qu'ils essaient de paraître indifférents à ce sujet. La raison en est qu'ils savent que le naturel et la spontanéité ont une valeur positive.

3. Colère produite par fierté

Le fait de devoir porter avec une version aussi idéalisée d'eux-mêmes facilite la création d'étincelles lors de l'interaction avec ce type de personne. C'est que ils peuvent se mettre en colère contre des détails insignifiants . Par exemple, s’ils pensent ne pas recevoir suffisamment d’attention, ils peuvent inconsciemment chercher à trouver un prétexte pour confronter leur interlocuteur.

4. La théâtralité dans sa manière de se présenter

Les personnes qui excellent dans l'arrogance ils attirent l'attention d'une manière qui semble parfois appartenir plutôt aux arts de la scène , surtout s’ils veulent se démarquer devant un groupe de personnes. C'est-à-dire qu'ils ont une certaine tendance à dramatiser et à spectaculaire certains moments de leur vie quotidienne.

5. L'importance des réseaux sociaux

L'explosion de l'utilisation massive des réseaux sociaux tels que Facebook et Twitter a poussé de nombreux jeunes à adopter une dynamique de comportement qui définit les personnes arrogantes, bien que d'une manière nouvelle.

La rivalité est créée par le nombre d'abonnés, des stratégies sont créées pour avoir plus de visibilité sur Internet et parfois, seuls ces profils virtuels sont utilisés pour essayer de donner cette image désirée de soi-même, et pas tellement pour réellement communiquer avec les autres, comme le ferait une personne célèbre.

Pour un exemple, un bouton: des garçons et des filles de Barcelone qui vont dans un club branché (intéressant à partir de la minute 0:57):

6. L'instrumentalisation des autres

Si le narcissisme a un rapport clair avec la psychopathie, c'est parce que, de ces deux caractéristiques de la personnalité, sont réifiés les autres êtres humains avec lesquels on a un accord direct. c'est-à-dire, ils sont traités comme des objets .

Les personnes vaines peuvent consacrer tellement d’attention à leur image qu’elles ne peuvent éviter de voir les autres comme un moyen d’élargir leur «grandiosité» et d’atteindre davantage de pouvoir (économique ou social).


The Howling Mines | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 6 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes