yes, therapy helps!
Healthy envy: what is it and why is it not so

Healthy envy: what is it and why is it not so "healthy"?

May 6, 2021

There are many times spoken of two types of envy: pure envy, based on hostility towards others, and the healthy envy, of which in many occasions we only know that, for some reason, it is not as harmful as the other.

But... What is really healthy envy and to what extent can it harm us?

What is envy?

Appealing to the most consensual definition, envy can be understood as a form of greed, a feeling produced by our desire to possess something that someone who is not us and that we believe should be our . The fact that we see how someone has something desirable that has been denied to us makes unpleasant and painful feelings appear.


Part of this feeling of discomfort that produces envy is based on what is known as cognitive dissonance: we experience how there is an incongruence between our mental scheme of how things are and how things really are, beyond our ideas and beliefs.

In this case, we believe that something belongs to us and, nevertheless, reality shows us that this is not the case . In this way, envy places us in a very uncomfortable situation: that of accepting that ideas about ourselves (and, therefore, those that have to do with our self-esteem) are too optimistic, or that we believe that we have have been victims of an injustice, something that must be resolved through our effort to be able to approach what we believe we have legitimacy to claim.


Envy healthy, a controversial concept

Thus, the generic concept of "envy" that does not reflect the nuances of the idea of ​​healthy envy, is linked to unpleasant sensations. But... Could there be a phenomenon similar to this that does not produce a minimum amount of pain? Is envy healthy something totally different from envy without more, or is it simply the milder and relatively painless version of this phenomenon?

In 2015, a team of researchers published a very specific investigation on this topic that reinforces the first option. In this study it was found that there are significant differences that allow to distinguish between two kinds of envy: one malignant and another benign.

In the first, the person who experiences this sensation focuses his thoughts on the person who has had access to what is coveted and that has not been achieved for oneself. In addition, people who present this type of envy in a particular context show a greater tendency to rejoice imagining that something bad happens to the person they are envious of. People who experience healthy or benign envy, however, focus their thoughts not on the person who owns something that is wanted, but on what is possessed and wanted for oneself.


So, while the evil envy revolves around the thoughts about "luck" that another person has had and the disadvantaged position on which you have departed, healthy envy predisposes us, apparently, to adopt a more pragmatic and constructive point of view .

The bad of healthy envy

So ... can you conclude without saying that healthy envy is the best possible way to experience envy? It's a hasty conclusion. Although healthy envy may be experienced less unpleasantly than the other, it is worth asking the following question: Which of these two types of envy makes us more capable of detecting injustices where they exist? In the absence of more research to help answer this question, "malignant" envy has many numbers to be the one that predisposes us to it.

Healthy envy, by simply focusing on what we want, may be related to an inability to analyze the context in which the other person has had access to a resource of limited availability that has been deprived of us. In some way, it transfers the responsibility of what has happened to oneself, being that sometimes the fact that we can not have something does not have to be due to a problem that we have individually (lack of attitude, laziness, etc.). ) but it may be due to social problems, which can not be reduced to what each individual does on their own.

For example, feeling envious of a person who has a good level of English can be a consequence of the fact that, simply, in our neighborhood the schools that we had the option to attend have a serious lack of resources and funding that did not allow us to Learn English in good conditions.

As usual, The key to finding a sense of certain psychological phenomena is knowing how to contextualize this type of research contrasting them with studies carried out from the social sciences.


Why are people so Healthy in Japan? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une envie saine: qu'est-ce que c'est et pourquoi n'est-elle pas si

Une envie saine: qu'est-ce que c'est et pourquoi n'est-elle pas si "saine"?

Septembre 17, 2022

On parle souvent de deux types d’envie: pure envie, basée sur l'hostilité envers autrui, et la bonne envie, dont nous savons souvent seulement que, pour une raison quelconque, il n’est pas aussi nocif que l’autre.

Mais ... Qu'est-ce qu'une envie vraiment saine et dans quelle mesure peut-elle nous nuire?

Qu'est-ce que l'envie?

En appelant à la définition la plus consensuelle, l’envie peut être comprise comme une forme de cupidité, un sentiment produit par notre désir de posséder quelque chose que quelqu'un qui n'est pas nous et que nous croyons devrait être notre . Le fait de voir à quel point une personne désirable nous a été refusée fait apparaître des sentiments déplaisants et douloureux.


Une partie de ce malaise qui engendre l’envie repose sur ce que l’on appelle la dissonance cognitive: nous constatons qu’il existe une incongruité entre notre schéma mental de la façon dont sont les choses et comment elles sont réellement, au-delà de nos idées et de nos croyances.

Dans ce cas, nous croyons que quelque chose nous appartient et, néanmoins, la réalité nous montre que ce n'est pas le cas . De cette manière, l’envie nous place dans une situation très inconfortable: accepter que nos idées sur nous-mêmes (et donc celles qui concernent notre estime de soi) soient trop optimistes, ou que nous croyons que ont été victimes d'une injustice, ce qui doit être résolu par nos efforts pour pouvoir aborder ce que nous croyons avoir la légitimité de revendiquer.


Envy sain, un concept controversé

Ainsi, le concept générique d '"envie" qui ne reflète pas les nuances de l'idée d'envie saine, est lié à des sensations désagréables. Mais ... Pourrait-il y avoir un phénomène similaire à celui-ci qui ne produit pas un minimum de douleur? L'envie est-elle saine quelque chose de totalement différent de l'envie sans plus, ou est-ce simplement la version la plus douce et relativement indolore de ce phénomène?

En 2015, une équipe de chercheurs a publié une enquête très spécifique sur ce sujet qui renforce la première option. Dans cette étude, il a été constaté qu'il existe des différences significatives permettant de distinguer deux types d'envie: une maligne et une autre bénigne.

Dans le premier cas, la personne qui ressent cette sensation concentre ses pensées sur celle qui a eu accès à ce qui est convoité et qui n'a pas été atteint pour soi-même. De plus, les personnes qui présentent ce type d’envie dans un contexte particulier montrent une plus grande tendance à se réjouir en imaginant que quelque chose de mauvais arrive à la personne qu’elles envient. Les personnes qui éprouvent une envie saine ou bénigne, cependant, ne se concentrent pas sur la personne qui possède quelque chose qui est voulu, mais sur ce qui est possédé et désiré pour soi-même.


Ainsi, alors que l’envie perverse tourne autour des pensées de "chance" qu’une autre personne a eues et de la position défavorisée sur laquelle vous êtes partis, une bonne envie nous prédispose apparemment à adopter un point de vue plus pragmatique et constructif .

Le mauvais de l'envie saine

Alors ... pouvez-vous conclure sans dire que l'envie saine est la meilleure façon de faire l'expérience de l'envie? C'est une conclusion hâtive. Bien que l’envie saine puisse être ressentie moins désagréablement que l’autre, il convient de poser la question suivante: Lequel de ces deux types d’envie nous rend plus capable de détecter les injustices où elles existent? En l'absence de plus de recherches pour aider à répondre à cette question, l'envie "maligne" a beaucoup de chiffres pour être celle qui nous y prédispose.

Une envie saine, en se concentrant simplement sur ce que nous voulons, peut être liée à une incapacité à analyser le contexte dans lequel l’autre personne a eu accès à une ressource à disponibilité limitée qui nous a été privée. D'une certaine manière, cela transfère la responsabilité de ce qui est arrivé à soi-même, étant donné que parfois, le fait que nous ne puissions avoir quelque chose ne doit pas nécessairement être dû à un problème que nous avons individuellement (manque d'attitude, paresse, etc.). ) mais cela peut être dû à des problèmes sociaux, qui ne peuvent pas être réduits à ce que chaque individu fait seul.

Par exemple, se sentir envieux d’une personne qui a un bon niveau d’anglais peut être une conséquence du fait que, tout simplement, dans notre quartier, les écoles dans lesquelles nous avions la possibilité de fréquenter manquent cruellement de ressources et de financement qui ne nous ont pas permis de: Apprenez l'anglais dans de bonnes conditions.

Comme toujours, Pour trouver le sens de certains phénomènes psychologiques, il est essentiel de savoir comment contextualiser ce type de recherche. les opposant à des études menées dans les sciences sociales.


Pourquoi Pluton n'est plus une planète - quickie 02 - e-penser (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes