yes, therapy helps!
The 3 types of color blindness (and its characteristics)

The 3 types of color blindness (and its characteristics)

August 11, 2022

The diagnosis of color blindness or blindness , although it is relatively easy to detect, it often goes unnoticed for many years and is only reflected in a casual exposure to an Ishihara test or to an exam like the typical driver's license.

Although it may sound strange, is what happens in a lot of cases: we do not stop to think about how we see, we just do it and we think that our color, for example, blue is the same as what other people perceive.

  • Recommended article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Brief definition of color blindness

Color blindness or blindness is a genetic disorder in which the sufferer does not have the same number of cone types in his visual system or he has them but they are altered.


This is because we do not have the necessary elements to capture the wave frequencies that cause us to capture light in the form of different colors, which is due to sensory cells called cones.

While most people have three types of cones (one for red, one for green and one for blue) and even in some women have been detected four (although this is very unusual), the colorblind will have three or at least one of them altered or less.

This means that we can not capture the wave frequency necessary to capture certain colors , perceiving the stimulation under a different wave frequency. In this way, the subject will not be able to appreciate a color and those linked to it, perceiving them as if they were others.


The different types of color blindness

Color blindness can occur in different modalities, depending on the type of pigments that are not available or that are altered. Specifically there are three main types of color blindness, which are discussed below .

1. Achromatism

It is a very unusual condition. Achromatism or monochromatism appears when the subject does not have any pigment or the cones in question are not functional at all. The vision in this case is based on the information extracted from the cells that capture the luminosity, the sticks, being only grayscale, black and white.

2. Dicromatism

Usually, When we think of someone with color blindness, we tend to identify him with someone who suffers from dichromatism . It is understood as such the type of color blindness caused by the absence of one of the types of pigments, so it is not possible to perceive neither the color in question nor the colors associated with it (for example, if someone can not see the color red it will also have altered the perception of the orange). In this case the wave frequency that allows the perception of the color can not be captured, so that the pigment that captures the nearest wave frequency will perform its function, causing the colors to be confused.


Within dichromatism we can identify three basic types.

2.1. Protanopia

The subject can not capture the wave frequencies that allow to see the red color, which has a long wave frequency. The color red tends to be perceived as beige or gray, sometimes with greenish tones. If the sling frequency is very high, yellow is perceived.

2.2. Tritanopia

The least common of the types of dichromatism, affecting the perception of shortwave frequencies. The person suffering from tritanopia does not have the pigment corresponding to the blue color, which is often confused with green. Likewise, yellows tend to look like red, violet or white.

2.3. Deuteranopia

It is the most common type of color blindness along with protanopia. In this case, it lacks the green pigment, unable to capture wave frequencies of that color (which would be average wave frequencies). The green is not captured, generally seen as a beige color. The perception of red also tends to be affected, having brownish tones.

3. Abnormal trichromatism

The anomalous trichromatism occurs when the person in question has the same three types of pigments as most of the population, but nevertheless at least one is altered and is not functional . Although it is possible that if they have a slight perception of non-functional color, they need the stimulation to be very intense to be able to capture it, being more likely that their vision is similar to that of a dichromat.

Within this type of color blindness we can find three subtypes depending on which of the pigments is not functional.

3.1. Protanomaly

In this case, the subject is able to perceive the colors green and blue normally, but red is not assimilated and captured normally.

3.2. Tritanomaly

The blue is not captured correctly, being easy to be confused with others depending on the wave frequency that is captured. Red and green are normally captured.

3.3. Deuteranomaly

The anomaly is in this case in the green pigment, which can not be fully perceived.


According To MTV Decoded, If You Ignore Race By Being Colorblind, You're A Racist! (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 types de daltonisme (et ses caractéristiques)

Les 3 types de daltonisme (et ses caractéristiques)

Mai 16, 2022

Le diagnostic de daltonisme ou de cécité Bien qu’il soit relativement facile à détecter, il passe souvent inaperçu pendant de nombreuses années et n’est reflété que par une exposition occasionnelle à un test Ishihara ou à un examen tel que le permis de conduire typique.

Bien que cela puisse paraître étrange, c’est ce qui se passe dans de nombreux cas: nous ne nous arrêtons pas de penser à la façon dont nous voyons, nous le faisons et nous pensons que notre couleur, par exemple, le bleu est identique à celle que les autres perçoivent.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Brève définition du daltonisme

Le daltonisme ou la cécité est un trouble génétique dans lequel le patient n'a pas le même nombre de types de cônes dans son système visuel ou il les a mais ils sont modifiés.


En effet, nous ne disposons pas des éléments nécessaires pour capturer les fréquences des ondes qui nous obligent à capturer la lumière sous forme de couleurs différentes, ce qui est dû aux cellules sensorielles appelées cônes.

Alors que la plupart des gens ont trois types de cônes (un pour le rouge, un pour le vert et un pour le bleu) et même chez certaines femmes, quatre ont été détectés (bien que cela soit très inhabituel), le daltonien en aura trois ou au moins un modifié ou moins.

Cela signifie que nous ne pouvons pas capturer la fréquence d'onde nécessaire pour capturer certaines couleurs , percevant la stimulation sous une fréquence d’onde différente. De cette manière, le sujet ne pourra pas apprécier une couleur et celles qui lui sont associées, en les percevant comme s'il s'agissait d'autrui.


Les différents types de daltonisme

Le daltonisme peut se produire de différentes manières, en fonction du type de pigments non disponible ou modifié. Plus précisément, il existe trois principaux types de daltonisme, qui sont discutés ci-dessous .

1. achromatisme

C'est une condition très inhabituelle. L'achromatisme ou le monochromatisme apparaît lorsque le sujet ne présente aucun pigment ou que les cônes en question ne sont pas du tout fonctionnels. La vision dans ce cas-ci est basée sur les informations extraites des cellules qui capturent la luminosité, les bâtons n'étant que des niveaux de gris, noir et blanc.

2. Dicromatisme

Généralement Lorsque nous pensons à une personne daltonienne, nous avons tendance à l'identifier à une personne souffrant de dichromatisme. . Il est entendu en tant que tel le type de daltonisme causé par l’absence de l’un des types de pigments. Il est donc impossible de percevoir ni la couleur en question ni les couleurs qui lui sont associées (par exemple, si l’on ne voit pas la couleur rouge). cela aura aussi altéré la perception de l’orange). Dans ce cas, la fréquence des ondes qui permet la perception de la couleur ne peut pas être capturée, de sorte que le pigment qui capture la fréquence des ondes la plus proche remplit sa fonction, ce qui entraîne une confusion des couleurs.


Dans le dichromatisme, nous pouvons identifier trois types de base.

2.1. Protanopia

Le sujet ne peut pas capturer les fréquences d'onde qui permettent de voir la couleur rouge, qui a une fréquence d'onde longue. La couleur rouge a tendance à être perçue comme beige ou grise, parfois avec des tons verdâtres. Si la fréquence d'élingage est très élevée, le jaune est perçu.

2.2. Tritanopia

Le moins commun des types de dichromatisme, affectant la perception des fréquences d’ondes courtes. La personne souffrant de tritanopie ne possède pas le pigment correspondant à la couleur bleue, qui est souvent confondue avec le vert. De même, les jaunes ont tendance à ressembler à du rouge, du violet ou du blanc.

2.3. Deutéranopie

C'est le type de daltonisme le plus courant avec la protanopie. Dans ce cas, il manque le pigment vert, incapable de capturer les fréquences d'onde de cette couleur (qui seraient des fréquences moyennes). Le vert n'est pas capturé, généralement considéré comme une couleur beige. La perception du rouge a également tendance à être affectée, avec des tons brunâtres.

3. Trichromatisme anormal

Le trichromatisme anormal se produit lorsque la personne en question possède les trois mêmes types de pigments que la plupart de la population, mais néanmoins au moins un est altéré et n'est pas fonctionnel . S'il est possible que s'ils perçoivent légèrement une couleur non fonctionnelle, ils ont besoin que la stimulation soit très intense pour pouvoir la capturer, étant plus probable que leur vision est similaire à celle d'un dichromate.

Dans ce type de daltonisme, nous pouvons trouver trois sous-types en fonction du pigment non fonctionnel.

3.1. Protanomalie

Dans ce cas, le sujet est capable de percevoir les couleurs vert et bleu normalement, mais le rouge n'est pas assimilé ni capturé normalement.

3.2. Tritanomalie

Le bleu n'est pas capturé correctement, étant facile à confondre avec les autres en fonction de la fréquence d'onde capturée. Le rouge et le vert sont normalement capturés.

3.3. Deutéranomalie

L'anomalie est dans ce cas dans le pigment vert, qui ne peut pas être complètement perçu.


L'œil humain et les photorécepteurs - Sciences - 1ère ES/L - Les Bons Profs (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes