yes, therapy helps!
How to raise productivity and improve worker autonomy

How to raise productivity and improve worker autonomy

August 12, 2022

In a capitalist model like the current one, The dream of many entrepreneurs is to increase the productivity of workers so that your organizations generate more benefits. And, although there is no definitive answer to how to increase the profits of the company, the ways of doing it or the tools that exist for it, one of the methods in which the business system has been based in the last decades, has been ( and, unfortunately, it is mostly) control over workers (Jódar and Alós, 2008).

However, there is evidence that the way to improve productivity is, in fact, the opposite: enhance the autonomy of staff .


  • Related article: "Types of Leadership: The 5 most common leader classes"

Control and productivity in companies

Many authors (eg Peña, 2004) agree that as humans we always seek to eliminate insecurities , keep our self-image in good condition or simply feel less dependent on factors outside of us, which usually converge in a tendency to control the environment and ourselves. This in psychology is termed as the well-known "need for control". Of course, the sense of control or, in this labor context, of being controlled, greatly affects how a worker perceives an organization.

Today we can talk about a degree or scale about the level of control in companies. ANDAt one extreme would be those very controlling companies , in which the worker normally feels that he is obliged not to leave the rules and is only there of necessity (mainly economic) and is limited to following "up" orders, whether or not.


On the contrary, at the other extreme we find those companies that leave and distribute control in the workers, increasing their autonomy (eg companies such as Zappos, Google and Twitter).

At this point, you can establish certain basic premises relating the level of control and productivity. From the clear everyday examples that reflect the reality of our day to day, where we see that if we do something that comes from ourselves we do it in a much more efficient way than if we are ordered, even empirical studies that already showed that the transformational leadership (Mendoza et al., 2007), in the face of other more authoritarian leadership styles, is associated with a greater feeling of control on the part of the person (locus of internal control), as well as a significant improvement in work performance. (Howell and Avolio, 1993).

The way of perceiving the different organizations is key in the productive process , since the intrinsic motivation (the primordial motor for productivity) is usually reduced in the first case previously exposed in the scale-degree, that is, the more control there is.


Unfortunately the world has been built under that construct and a large percentage of companies they still have a pyramidal hierarchical model where the boss is the one who is higher, has more control and the power to make decisions. In this type of company, it is clear that workers "work for" and do not feel committed to the values ​​of the company.

The importance of motivation

With the evolution of the market and human resources systems, the need has been seen to give more value to the user and give him more power and motivation , both by right and by comfort in the workplace (besides eliminating certain psychosocial risks at work that could pose a problem for the company).

But what is also being seen is that The more autonomy or control the user has, the more productive and increases their sense of belonging, as many authors theorized. Notably Deci and Ryan, who in 1985 already explained with their theory of self-determination (TAD) that there are three psychological needs that must be met so that individuals develop both personally and professionally: autonomy, feel competent and relate.

To give the importance it deserves to the motivation of the worker linked to his productivity, we bring the latest survey State of the Global Workplace (O'Boyle and Harter, 2013) of the prestigious Gallup firm, explaining that 63% of employees worldwide, a majority, are unmotivated , and this means that they will devote less effort to achieving the objectives of the organizations. Moreover, another 24% of the total are actively demotivated, indicating that in addition to demotivated and unproductive are likely to spread negativity to their co-workers.

Enhance innovation: the GAMeeP case

However, there are already many successful cases where it is stated that the company provides self-management tools to the worker or reinforces and motivates additionally not only with economic resources, following the multiple theories related to the increase of productivity and satisfaction labor.

This is where an applied research project in the area of ​​quality of work life comes in, co-financed by the Center for Industrial Technological Development, CDTI (2015-2017) within the framework of research and development projects and by the European Fund for Regional Development (ERDF) linked to the smart growth program FEDER 2014-20. The project is called GAMeeP (Gamified Employee Engagement) and it has been developed by Compartia, a small Spanish company.

GAMeeP, following the storyline, raises a gamified equipment management system whose objective is to improve the quality of working life and increase the overall productivity of teams and organizations in addition to simplifying the management of human resources, while increasing the sense of well-being and commitment of employees.

The power of gamification

In the context of games, a study by Ryan, Rigby and Przybylski (2006) concludes that individuals are attracted to the game through computers (video games, but extensible to gamification) partly because we experience autonomy, competition and interrelation while playing ( precisely the three psychological needs mentioned above so that a person can develop optimally).

In the virtual platform already developed a system of tasks and incentives has been designed , endowing the worker with the power and autonomy to be able to choose and perform the tasks that are freely desired, always within a time frame. Not content only with the development of the platform, a research was carried out (pre-post test model) to really demonstrate how the innovative gamified system improved the behavior of the workers. The indicators that were measured were, on the one hand: Autonomy, Competence and Interrelation (Spanish version of Scale of satisfaction of basic psychological needs at work, Vargas Téllez and Soto Patiño, 2013, Deci & Ryan, 2000) and on the other, performance indicators (Implication / Commitment, Collaboration, Efficiency, Productivity).

The conclusions were very clear: thanks to the GAMeeP system, users are more committed, collaborate more and are more productive , in addition to increasing the levels of competence in certain contexts.

  • Related article: "Gamification: taking games beyond leisure"

conclusion

With the data on the table and previous research, we can conclude that the world evolves and with it the companies and leadership styles. What's more, with the change in management methods of organizations changes in the behavior of people come hand in hand . Having more control over tasks, being more motivated or having more flexible hours are just some of the changes that enhance the feeling of job satisfaction that we see today.

With the change seen and expected in leadership styles and business management models of human resources, current and future market needs are glimpsed (especially in certain sectors such as entertainment, technologies, content, etc.).

Nowadays, moment in which the information age gives way to the era of people and talent , they identify, on the part of the workers, skills (of a creative nature) and, on the part of the companies, new models such as GAMeeP to enhance humanity and certain business values ​​that lead to greater job satisfaction and productivity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Deci, E.L. and Ryan, R.M., (1985). Intrinsic Motivation and Self-Determination in Human Behavior. Boston, MA: Springer US.
  • Deci, E.L. and Ryan, R.M. (2000). The 'What' and 'Why' of Goal Pursuits: Human Needs and the Self-Determination of Behavior. Psychological Inquiry, 11 (4), 227-268.
  • Howell, J. M. and Avolio, B. J. (1993). Transformational Leadership, Transactional Leadership, Locus of Control, and Support for Innovation: Key Predictors of Consolidated-Business-Unit Performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78 (6), 891-902.
  • Mendoza, M. I. A., Ortiz, A. M. F. and Parker, R. H. C. (2007). Two decades of research and development in Transformational Leadership. Journal of the Research Center, 7 (27), 25-41.
  • Jódar, P. and Alós, R. (2008). Business strategies, employment and labor relations. Union Gazette: reflection and debate, 11, 221-241.
  • Ryan, R.M., Rigby, C.S. and Przybylski, A. (2006). The Motivational Pull of Video Games: A Self-Determination Theory Approach. Motivation and Emotion, 30 (4), 344-360.
  • O'Boyle, E. and Harter, J. (2013). State of the Global Workplace: Employee Engagement Insights for Business Leaders Worldwide. Washington, DC.
  • Peña, M. D. (2004). Need for control: conceptual analysis and experimental proposal.Spanish Professional Journal of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, 2, 70-91.
  • Vargas Tellez, J. A. and Soto Patiño, J. C. (2013). Preliminary validation of the Basic Needs Satisfaction at Work Scale for its Spanish version. In: XVII INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS IN ADMINISTRATIVE SCIENCES. Guadalajara Mexico.

Improve Autonomous Mining Safety & Productivity | Caterpillar (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment augmenter la productivité et améliorer l'autonomie des travailleurs

Comment augmenter la productivité et améliorer l'autonomie des travailleurs

Juin 13, 2021

Dans un modèle capitaliste comme l'actuel, Le rêve de nombreux entrepreneurs est d’accroître la productivité des travailleurs afin que vos organisations génèrent plus d'avantages. Et, bien qu’il n’y ait pas de réponse définitive à la question de savoir comment augmenter les bénéfices de l’entreprise, les moyens de le faire ou les outils qui existent pour elle, l’une des méthodes utilisées par le système commercial au cours des dernières décennies a été ( et, malheureusement, il s’agit principalement de) contrôle sur les travailleurs (Jódar et Alós, 2008).

Cependant, il existe des preuves que le moyen d’améliorer la productivité est en fait le contraire: renforcer l'autonomie du personnel .


  • Article connexe: "Types de leadership: les 5 classes de dirigeants les plus courantes"

Contrôle et productivité dans les entreprises

De nombreux auteurs (Peña, 2004) s’accordent à dire qu’en tant qu’êtres humains nous cherchons toujours à éliminer les insécurités , garder notre image de soi en bon état ou simplement nous sentir moins dépendants de facteurs extérieurs à nous, qui convergent généralement vers une tendance à contrôler l'environnement et nous-mêmes. Ceci en psychologie est appelé le "besoin de contrôle" bien connu. Bien sûr, le sentiment de contrôle ou, dans ce contexte de travail, d’être contrôlé, affecte considérablement la façon dont un travailleur perçoit une organisation.

Aujourd'hui, nous pouvons parler d'un degré ou d'une échelle du niveau de contrôle dans les entreprises. EÀ un extrême, ce sont ces entreprises très contrôlantes , dans lequel le travailleur estime normalement qu’il est obligé de ne pas respecter les règles et qu’il n’y est que de nécessité (essentiellement économique) et qu’il se limite au suivi des commandes, qu’il en soit ou non.


Au contraire, on trouve les entreprises qui quittent et distribuent le contrôle chez les travailleurs, augmentant ainsi leur autonomie (par exemple, des entreprises telles que Zappos, Google et Twitter).

À ce stade, vous pouvez établir certaines prémisses de base relatives au niveau de contrôle et de productivité. Des exemples quotidiens clairs qui reflètent la réalité quotidienne, où nous voyons que si nous faisons quelque chose qui vient de nous, nous le faisons de manière beaucoup plus efficace que si nous sommes ordonnés, même des études empiriques qui ont déjà montré que le leadership transformationnel (Mendoza et al., 2007), face à d'autres styles de leadership plus autoritaires, est associé à un plus grand sentiment de contrôle de la part de la personne (locus de contrôle interne), ainsi qu'à une amélioration significative des performances au travail. (Howell et Avolio, 1993).

La manière de percevoir les différentes organisations est essentielle dans le processus de production , puisque la motivation intrinsèque (le moteur primordial de la productivité) est généralement réduite dans le premier cas précédemment exposé au degré d'échelle, c'est-à-dire que plus il y a de contrôle.


Malheureusement, le monde a été construit sous cette construction et un grand pourcentage d'entreprises ils ont encore un modèle hiérarchique pyramidal où le patron est celui qui est plus haut, a plus de contrôle et le pouvoir de prendre des décisions. Dans ce type d'entreprise, il est clair que les travailleurs "travaillent pour" et ne se sentent pas attachés aux valeurs de l'entreprise.

L'importance de la motivation

Avec l'évolution du marché et des systèmes de ressources humaines, le besoin s'est fait sentir donner plus de valeur à l'utilisateur et lui donner plus de puissance et de motivation , à la fois de droit et de confort sur le lieu de travail (en plus d’éliminer certains risques psychosociaux au travail qui pourraient poser problème à l’entreprise).

Mais on voit aussi que Plus l'autonomie ou le contrôle de l'utilisateur est important, plus la productivité est grande et augmente leur sentiment d'appartenance, comme beaucoup d'auteurs l'ont théorisé. Notamment Deci et Ryan, qui en 1985 avaient déjà expliqué dans leur théorie de l'autodétermination (TAD) qu'il était nécessaire de répondre à trois besoins psychologiques pour que les individus se développent à la fois personnellement et professionnellement: autonomie, sentiment de compétence et relation.

Pour donner l’importance qu’il mérite à la motivation du travailleur liée à sa productivité, nous apportons le dernier sondage Etat du lieu de travail global (O'Boyle et Harter, 2013) de la prestigieuse firme Gallup, expliquant que 63% des employés dans le monde, dont une majorité, ne sont pas motivés et cela signifie qu’ils consacreront moins d’efforts à la réalisation des objectifs des organisations. En outre, 24% du total sont activement démotivés, ce qui indique qu’en plus des éléments démotivés et non productifs, ils sont susceptibles de propager la négativité à leurs collègues.

Améliorer l'innovation: le cas GAMeeP

Cependant, il existe déjà de nombreux cas de réussite dans lesquels il est indiqué que l'entreprise fournit des outils d'autogestion au travailleur, ou renforce et motive en outre ses ressources économiques, en suivant les multiples théories relatives à l'augmentation de la productivité et de la satisfaction. travail

C’est là qu’intervient un projet de recherche appliquée dans le domaine de la qualité de la vie au travail, cofinancé par le Centre pour le développement technologique industriel, CDTI (2015-2017) dans le cadre de projets de recherche et développement et par le Fonds européen de développement. Développement régional (FEDER) lié au programme de croissance intelligente FEDER 2014-20. Le projet s'appelle GAMeeP (Gamified Employee Engagement) et il a été développé par Compartia, une petite entreprise espagnole.

GAMeeP, en suivant le scénario, lève un système de gestion d'équipement gamified dont l'objectif est d'améliorer la qualité de la vie professionnelle et d'accroître la productivité globale des équipes et des organisations, en plus de simplifier la gestion des ressources humaines, tout en renforçant le sentiment de bien-être et l'engagement des employés.

Le pouvoir de la gamification

Dans le contexte des jeux, une étude de Ryan, Rigby et Przybylski (2006) conclut que les individus sont attirés par les jeux au moyen d'ordinateurs (jeux vidéo, mais extensibles à la ludification), en partie parce que nous faisons l'expérience de l'autonomie, de la concurrence et des relations réciproques ( précisément les trois besoins psychologiques mentionnés ci-dessus afin qu'une personne puisse se développer de manière optimale).

Dans la plateforme virtuelle déjà développée un système de tâches et d'incitations a été conçu , conférant au travailleur le pouvoir et l’autonomie nécessaires pour pouvoir choisir et exécuter les tâches qui lui sont librement demandées, toujours dans un laps de temps raisonnable. Non seulement satisfait du développement de la plate-forme, une recherche a été menée (modèle pré-post-test) pour démontrer réellement en quoi le système innovant gamifié améliorait le comportement des travailleurs. Les indicateurs mesurés étaient, d'une part, l'autonomie, la compétence et l'interrelation (version espagnole de l'échelle de satisfaction des besoins psychologiques fondamentaux au travail, Vargas Téllez et Soto Patiño, 2013, Deci et Ryan, 2000) et, d'autre part, indicateurs de performance (implication / engagement, collaboration, efficacité, productivité).

Les conclusions étaient très claires: grâce au système GAMeeP, les utilisateurs sont plus engagés, collaborent davantage et sont plus productifs , en plus d’augmenter les niveaux de compétence dans certains contextes.

  • Article connexe: "Gamification: aller au-delà des loisirs"

conclusion

Avec les données sur la table et les recherches précédentes, nous pouvons conclure que le monde évolue et avec lui les sociétés et les styles de leadership. De plus, avec le changement des méthodes de gestion des organisations les changements de comportement des gens vont de pair . Avoir plus de contrôle sur les tâches, être plus motivé ou avoir des horaires plus flexibles ne sont que quelques-uns des changements qui renforcent le sentiment de satisfaction professionnelle que nous observons aujourd'hui.

Avec les changements observés et attendus dans les styles de leadership et les modèles de gestion des ressources humaines, les besoins actuels et futurs du marché sont perçus (en particulier dans certains secteurs tels que le divertissement, les technologies, le contenu, etc.).

Actuellement, moment où l'ère de l'information cède la place à l'ère des personnes et des talents , ils identifient, de la part des travailleurs, les compétences (de nature créative) et, de la part des entreprises, de nouveaux modèles tels que GAMeeP pour renforcer l’humanité et certaines valeurs commerciales qui conduisent à une plus grande satisfaction et productivité du travail.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Deci, E.L. et Ryan, R.M. (1985). Motivation intrinsèque et autodétermination dans le comportement humain. Boston, MA: Springer US.
  • Deci, E.L. et Ryan, R.M. (2000). Le «quoi» et le «pourquoi» des objectifs poursuivis: besoins humains et autodétermination du comportement. Enquête psychologique, 11 (4), 227-268.
  • Howell, J. M. et Avolio, B. J. (1993). Leadership transformationnel, leadership transactionnel, locus de contrôle et soutien à l'innovation: prédicteurs clés de la performance des unités consolidées. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78 (6), 891-902.
  • Mendoza, M. I.A., Ortiz, A.M.F. et Parker, R.H.C. (2007). Deux décennies de recherche et développement en leadership transformationnel. Journal du centre de recherche, 7 (27), 25-41.
  • Jódar, P. et Alós, R. (2008). Stratégies commerciales, emploi et relations de travail. Union Gazette: réflexion et débat, 11, 221-241.
  • Ryan, R. M., Rigby, C. S. et Przybylski, A. (2006). L'attraction motivationnelle des jeux vidéo: une approche basée sur la théorie de l'autodétermination. Motivation and Emotion, 30 (4), 344-360.
  • O'Boyle, E. et Harter, J. (2013). État du lieu de travail mondial: Aperçu de l'engagement des employés pour les chefs d'entreprise du monde entier. Washington, DC
  • Peña, M. D. (2004). Besoin de contrôle: analyse conceptuelle et proposition expérimentale.Revue professionnelle espagnole de thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, 2, 70-91.
  • Vargas Tellez, J.A. et Soto Patiño, J.C. (2013). Validation préliminaire de l’échelle de satisfaction des besoins de base au travail pour la version espagnole. In: XVII CONGRES INTERNATIONAL DES SCIENCES ADMINISTRATIVES. Guadalajara, Mexique

The future we're building -- and boring | Elon Musk (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes