yes, therapy helps!
How to stop being homophobic and accept the difference

How to stop being homophobic and accept the difference

April 28, 2024

In western countries there is a strong tradition based on discrimination against homosexual people . This cultural characteristic (which also appears and has appeared in many other societies) has not only been embodied in laws that discriminate against this minority, but has also had an effect on the mindset of the majority.

In fact, even today it is not strange that homosexuals are criminalized and discriminated against, taking advantage of the most far-fetched excuses: from the appeal to a supposed "human nature" that coincidentally coincides with the description of what one believes should be love and family, even biblical quotes interpreted as oneself interests you, going through myths about homosexuality that are not backed by scientific consensus .


Abandoning homophobia, step by step

In short, homophobia remains a reality even in the most affluent societies and with greater access to university education. In fact, many people experience a kind of cognitive dissonance when they understand that there is no reason to discriminate against homosexuals and at the same time be surprised by falling into beliefs or thoughts based on homophobia .

But all thought schemes can be modified, and this too. These are some keys to stop being homophobic, based on the principles of cognitive-behavioral psychology.

1. Consider the usefulness of your mental schemes

A mental scheme is the set of ideas and beliefs that acts as a matrix to interpret reality. It is what makes, for example, that some people relate the concept of "chemical substances" with technology, pollution and processed foods, and others relate it to almost everything that exists (and that is composed of atoms and molecules) .


In the case at hand, it is worth considering first whether the cognitive scheme that is being applied when thinking about the idea of ​​homosexuality is useful to understand this concept in the best possible way. This involves questioning whether stereotypes that were related to homosexuals are in themselves indispensable to understand these people. After all, you can be homosexual without meeting them

It also implies questioning the idea that homosexuality is an ideology and at the same time a sexual orientation, something that is logically impossible. Many of the ideas used to defend discrimination are based on criticism of ideological groups that are against homophobia, not homosexuality itself.

2. Consider the degree to which you believe in equality

The idea that all human beings are equal implies believing that, in the absence of very solid arguments based on scientific consensus to the contrary, all individuals must enjoy exactly the same rights .


Thus, a good way to perform a cognitive restructuring autonomously is to reflect on the reasons why it is believed that a minority such as that composed of homosexual people should not have the same rights as others. Are those beliefs well-founded? Is there a scientific consensus on the reasons why the treatment of these people should be different in certain aspects?

3. Write down the habits that feed homophobia

A person is what he thinks, but also what he does. That is why one way to stop being homophobic is to reflect on habits and habitual thought routes that fit with homophobia stay alert to prevent its appearance .

For example, think of homosexuality as an insult, or consider that all members of this minority fulfill the stereotypes that some people associate with the LGTB movement.

4. Learn to argue before homophobic comments

Reverse engineering against homophobic beliefs of others it is a good way to detect its faults and its logical cracks. This, in addition to being very useful to externalize your change of perspective, is very intellectually stimulating, because it involves discovering new reasonings that open up through the old beliefs that you previously held.


What Putin thinks about gays - BBC NEWS (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment arrêter d'être homophobe et accepter la différence

Comment arrêter d'être homophobe et accepter la différence

Janvier 22, 2022

Dans les pays occidentaux, il y a une forte tradition basée sur la discrimination à l'égard des homosexuels . Cette caractéristique culturelle (qui apparaît aussi et est apparue dans de nombreuses autres sociétés) a non seulement été incorporée dans des lois discriminatoires à l’égard de cette minorité, mais a également eu un effet sur l’esprit de la majorité.

En fait, même aujourd’hui, il n’est pas étonnant que les homosexuels soient criminalisés et discriminés, en tirant parti des excuses les plus farfelues: de l’appel à une prétendue «nature humaine» qui coïncide avec la description de ce que l’on pense être l'amour et la famille, même des citations bibliques interprétées de manière à vous intéresser, passer à travers des mythes sur l'homosexualité qui ne sont pas soutenus par un consensus scientifique .


Abandonner l'homophobie, pas à pas

En bref, l'homophobie reste une réalité même dans les sociétés les plus riches et avec un plus grand accès à la formation universitaire. En fait, de nombreuses personnes éprouvent une sorte de dissonance cognitive quand elles comprennent qu’il n’ya aucune raison de discriminer les homosexuels et en même temps. être surpris de tomber dans des croyances ou des pensées basées sur l'homophobie .

Mais tous les schémas de pensée peuvent être modifiés, et cela aussi. Celles-ci sont certaines des clés pour cesser d’être homophobes, basées sur les principes de la psychologie cognitivo-comportementale.

1. Considérez l'utilité de vos schémas mentaux

Un schéma mental est l'ensemble des idées et des croyances qui agissent comme une matrice pour interpréter la réalité. C’est ce qui fait que, par exemple, certaines personnes associent le concept de "substances chimiques" à la technologie, à la pollution et aux aliments transformés, tandis que d’autres le rapportent à presque tout ce qui existe (et qui est composé d’atomes et de molécules) .


Dans le cas d'espèce, il convient d'examiner d'abord si le schéma cognitif appliqué lors de la réflexion sur l'idée d'homosexualité est utile pour comprendre ce concept de la meilleure façon possible. Cela implique de se demander si les stéréotypes qui étaient liés aux homosexuels sont en eux-mêmes indispensables pour comprendre ces personnes. Après tout, vous pouvez être homosexuel sans les rencontrer

Cela implique également de remettre en question l'idée que l'homosexualité est une idéologie et en même temps une orientation sexuelle, ce qui est logiquement impossible. Un grand nombre des idées utilisées pour défendre la discrimination reposent sur la critique de groupes idéologiques opposés à l'homophobie et non à l'homosexualité elle-même.

2. Pensez à votre degré d'égalité

L'idée que tous les êtres humains sont égaux implique de croire qu'en l'absence d'arguments très solides fondés sur un consensus scientifique contraire, tous les individus doivent jouir exactement des mêmes droits .


Ainsi, un bon moyen d'effectuer une restructuration cognitive de manière autonome est de réfléchir aux raisons pour lesquelles on pense qu'une minorité telle que celle composée de personnes homosexuelles ne devrait pas avoir les mêmes droits que les autres. Ces croyances sont-elles bien fondées? Existe-t-il un consensus scientifique sur les raisons pour lesquelles le traitement de ces personnes devrait être différent à certains égards?

3. Notez les habitudes qui nourrissent l'homophobie

Une personne est ce qu’elle pense, mais aussi ce qu’elle fait. C’est pourquoi l’une des façons de cesser d’être homophobe est de réfléchir aux habitudes et aux voies de pensée habituelles qui correspondent à l’homophobie. rester vigilant pour empêcher son apparition .

Par exemple, considérez l'homosexualité comme une insulte ou considérez que tous les membres de cette minorité respectent les stéréotypes que certaines personnes associent au mouvement LGTB.

4. Apprendre à argumenter avant les commentaires homophobes

Ingénierie inverse contre les croyances homophobes des autres c'est un bon moyen de détecter ses défauts et ses fissures logiques. Ceci, en plus d'être très utile pour externaliser votre changement de perspective, est très stimulant intellectuellement, car cela implique de découvrir de nouveaux raisonnements qui s'ouvrent à travers les anciennes croyances que vous aviez précédemment.


Faut-il vivre séparément pour être heureux ? - Je t'aime etc. (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes