yes, therapy helps!
Interview with a psychologist expert in cases of gender violence

Interview with a psychologist expert in cases of gender violence

May 9, 2021

The issue of gender violence is still topical. Year after year, society regrets the scourge of physical abuse within families. Although in the last decade the data of mortal victims have been reduced timidly, this beginning of year 2016 is being especially dismal: There are eight women who have been killed at the hands of their partners or ex-partners in the first 28 days of January.

Source: Ministry of Health, Social Services and Equality, Government of Spain

Interview with psychologist Patricia Ríos

This situation of permanent violence has generated a social and judicial effort that seems not yet to bear the necessary fruits. Victims of abuse are often people who feel helpless and invisible. It is for this reason that we have found it very interesting to be able to talk with Patricia Ríos , a clinical psychologist with an extensive curriculum and who has specialized in the treatment of battered people.


Bertrand Regader: Good morning, Patricia. Tell us: what is your professional background in the field of gender violence?

Patricia Ríos: In my private practice I have found several cases of gender violence, especially women, but also men and even teenagers.

I have also been able to get in touch with the other side of the equation, working on group intervention with a group of men convicted of crimes of gender violence. And I have to say that it has been an enriching experience.

B. R .: Gender, domestic, sexist, intrafamily violence ... what nuances does each of these denominations introduce and which one do you prefer to use?


In gender violence we should include every violent act exercised by one "gender" against the other, in this way, it is no longer only the man who exercises violence and the woman who suffers it, but it can also happen and actually occurs On the contrary, it is the woman who exercises violence and the man who suffers it. In the latter case, the abuse is usually of a psychological nature, although physical mistreatment exercised by the woman towards the man also exists.

Sexist violence is the aspect that refers, only, to the violence exerted by a man towards a woman, generally, when they maintain a very close relationship.

When talking about domestic violence, it is a type of violence that goes beyond the type of aggression displayed by men against women and women against men, including violence exercised between family members of a household (and not only between the members of the couple). or even between people who, without being family members, live under the same roof.


Finally, domestic violence is that which is exercised within a family among its members. Where minors are always the most affected.

As you can see all of them encompass the same common factor, violence between people, whether of the same or different, gender, race, sex and / or age. If we take into account all the variables, the current typologies of violence are scarce, since none of them speaks of violence between people of the same sex. So personally and jointly, I like to call it interpersonal violence.

B. R .: Psychological abuse is also a form of violence. What forms do you usually take?

Psychological abuse is perhaps the most common type of violence, although it is still a taboo subject in society, still keeping it in a silent, mute and invisible type of violence.

As all types of violence is also based on power, domination and coercion, ranging from contempt and verbal abuse to much more subtle forms such as control of the economy, the way we dress, the frequency of activity social, and control by the aggressor in social networks and technologies.

B. R .: It can be the prelude to violence, shall we say, physical.

Yes. I would like to emphasize that psychological abuse is certainly the prelude to physical abuse, it is the aggressor's way of making sure that his victim will not be charged against him. Therefore, psychological abuse is no less serious, or less alarming, but is or should be, at least, a warning that something is wrong.

B. R .: Based on your experience in dealing with these cases, do you consider that there is still a certain culture that justifies violence within the couple? Or do you think people are progressively becoming aware of this social problem?

More and more people become aware of this problem although, unfortunately, it is a problem that continues to slow down.The environment overlooks many signs, out of ignorance, and the people affected, not always have the courage to say it, much less if the victim is male.

The cultural grounds that you speak to me continue to exist, and I believe that there is still much left to go down in history. Older people maintain it because of shame and guilt, and young people, often because of ignorance and fear.

Nor is it strange, public bodies continue, in a way, to blame the victim, although each time this is less. In my professional experience I have found cases in which the victim is dissuaded by the workers themselves from making the complaint viable, due to comments such as:

"Something you will have done"

"That happens to you for not paying attention"

"Do not be a nenaza and put the things clear"

It is never an easy task for a victim of abuse, be it man or woman, to face their own fears and shames and take legal action. Much less when the response received is in line with the comments.

B. R .: What is the psychological and psychological state of the people who have been mistreated and go to therapy?

The mood is always low, too low. Victims of abuse have experienced extreme situations and great impact, if not traumatic. The severity of the effects depends on the type of violence suffered, its intensity, its intention, the means used and also the characteristics of the victim and the aggressor.

In general, they are people with a very damaged personality, who manifest great insecurity, poor self-concept, changes in mood, and a high level of distrust. Some people usually manifest symptoms of depression, anxiety, ideas and even unsuccessful suicide attempts.

The most common comments made by victims of abuse are "I deserved it", "He loves me but his hand went out", "I behaved badly", "He had no other choice", "If I ask for help they will laugh at me. they will not believe me. "

B. R .: What is, broadly speaking, the psychotherapeutic and legal intervention made by a psychologist in such a case?

It is quite complicated. Psychologists are obliged to maintain confidentiality with our patients, but like any other citizen, we have a legal obligation to report any type of crime. Although bringing these two obligations together in the health professions, it is always a double-edged sword.

The first thing that comes to mind is to report the case to the authorities, and that is a very wise decision when we talk about minors. However when we speak of people of legal age or even mature minors, it is always necessary to prioritize aid as a first option.

We must not forget that anyone who confesses a case of violence, is opening the door to a very difficult secret and as we have already said, silenced, in action or omission by the environment.

The easiest option is to agree with the affected person the limits of our confidentiality and make it very clear that it will be broken without prior consent in the event that any life (one's own or that of third parties) is threatened. Once this is established with the victim, there is a long process where issues such as self-esteem, social skills, self-love and knowing how to set limits are worked on, among others.

B. R .: What common points do people who exercise physical or psychological abuse have? Can we talk about a typical profile or are there very different abusers?

Excluding mental pathologies, are people with low emotional intelligence, share a really low self-esteem, and therefore, a high level of insecurity, the assumption of responsibility is external, with little tolerance for frustration and a low level of emotional management and empathy towards themselves and others.

In my experience I could see that they feel bad about themselves, some even hate each other, and the more they hate each other and the worse they feel, the more likely they are to commit some kind of violence.

B. R .: Deaths due to gender violence seem to be increasing in recent years. In fact - as we have seen the table provided by the Ministry of Health - in the little that we have of the year there have already been eight people killed. What steps should the incoming government take to minimize this phenomenon?

Giving information on how to approach the plaintiffs would be the most important, because as I have said before, it is not uncommon to blame the victim by public bodies.

Leaving that aside, great advances have been made in this area, now there are more means such as telephones to call anonymously and totally free, there are numerous support groups and judicial measures, although not as much as before, it is still forgetting the origin. The information and prevention of said problem from the first years in the schools.


5 | Psychology & Trauma | Conducting Interviews with Survivors of Sexual & Gender Based Violence (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Entretien avec un psychologue expert en matière de violence de genre

Entretien avec un psychologue expert en matière de violence de genre

Mai 22, 2019

La question de la violence sexiste est toujours d'actualité. Année après année, la société déplore le fléau de la maltraitance physique au sein des familles. Bien que les données sur les victimes mortelles aient été timidement réduites au cours de la dernière décennie, ce début d'année 2016 est particulièrement sombre: Huit femmes ont été tuées aux mains de leurs partenaires ou ex-partenaires dans les 28 premiers jours de janvier.

Source: Ministère de la santé, des services sociaux et de l'égalité, Gouvernement espagnol.

Entretien avec la psychologue Patricia Ríos

Cette situation de violence permanente a généré un effort social et judiciaire qui ne semble pas encore porter les fruits nécessaires. Les victimes d'abus sont souvent des personnes qui se sentent impuissantes et invisibles. C’est pour cette raison que nous avons trouvé très intéressant de pouvoir parler avec Patricia Ríos , psychologue clinicien avec un curriculum complet et spécialisée dans le traitement des personnes battues.


Bertrand Regader: Bonjour, Patricia. Dites-nous: quel est votre parcours professionnel dans le domaine de la violence de genre?

Patricia Ríos: Dans ma pratique privée, j'ai constaté plusieurs cas de violence sexiste, en particulier des femmes, mais également des hommes et même des adolescents.

J'ai également pu entrer en contact avec le côté opposé de l'équation, en travaillant sur l'intervention de groupe avec un groupe d'hommes reconnus coupables de crimes de violence de genre. Et je dois dire que cela a été une expérience enrichissante.

B. R.: Sexe, violence domestique, sexiste, au sein de la famille ... quelles nuances chaque dénomination introduit-t-elle et laquelle préfères-tu utiliser?


Dans la violence de genre, nous devrions inclure tous les actes de violence exercés par un "genre" contre un autre, de la sorte, ce n'est plus seulement l'homme qui exerce la violence et la femme qui la subit, mais cela peut aussi se produire et se produit réellement Au contraire, c'est la femme qui exerce la violence et l'homme qui la subit. Dans ce dernier cas, la violence est généralement de nature psychologique, bien qu'il existe également des mauvais traitements physiques exercés par la femme à l'égard de l'homme.

La violence sexiste est l’aspect qui fait uniquement référence à la violence exercée par un homme envers une femme, généralement lorsqu’ils entretiennent des relations très étroites.

Quand on parle de violence domestique, il s'agit d'un type de violence qui dépasse le type d'agression manifestée par les hommes contre les femmes et les femmes contre les hommes, y compris la violence exercée entre les membres de la famille d'un ménage (et pas seulement entre les membres du couple). ou même entre des personnes qui, sans être membres de la famille, vivent sous le même toit.


Enfin, la violence domestique est celle qui s'exerce au sein d'une famille parmi ses membres. Où les mineurs sont toujours les plus touchés.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, ils englobent tous le même facteur commun, à savoir la violence entre personnes, qu’elle soit identique ou différente, sexe, race, sexe et / ou âge. Si nous prenons en compte toutes les variables, les typologies actuelles de violence sont rares, car aucune d’entre elles ne parle de violence entre personnes du même sexe. Donc, personnellement et conjointement, j'aime l'appeler violence interpersonnelle.

B. R.: L'abus psychologique est aussi une forme de violence. Quelles formes prenez-vous habituellement?

L'abus psychologique est peut-être le type de violence le plus répandu, même s'il s'agit encore d'un sujet tabou dans la société et qu'il est toujours maintenu dans un type de violence silencieux, muet et invisible.

Toutes les formes de violence reposant également sur le pouvoir, la domination et la coercition, allant du mépris et de la violence verbale à des formes beaucoup plus subtiles telles que le contrôle de l'économie, la façon dont nous nous habillons, la fréquence des activités social, et le contrôle de l'agresseur dans les réseaux sociaux et les technologies.

B. R.: Cela peut être le prélude à la violence, dirons-nous, physique.

Oui, je voudrais souligner que la violence psychologique est certainement le prélude à la violence physique, c'est la manière dont l'agresseur veille à ce que sa victime ne soit pas accusée. Par conséquent, l'abus psychologique n'est pas moins grave ni moins alarmant, mais constitue ou devrait être, du moins, un avertissement que quelque chose ne va pas.

B. R.: D'après votre expérience dans le traitement de ces affaires, estimez-vous qu'il existe encore une certaine culture qui justifie la violence au sein du couple? Ou pensez-vous que les gens prennent progressivement conscience de ce problème social?

De plus en plus de personnes prennent conscience de ce problème, même si, malheureusement, le problème continue de ralentir.Par ignorance, l'environnement néglige de nombreux signes et les personnes concernées n'ont pas toujours le courage de le dire, encore moins si la victime est un homme.

Les motifs culturels que vous me parlez continuent d'exister et je crois qu'il reste encore beaucoup à faire dans l'histoire. Les personnes âgées le maintiennent à cause de la honte et de la culpabilité, et les jeunes, souvent à cause de l'ignorance et de la peur.

Il n’est pas étrange non plus que les organismes publics continuent, d’une certaine manière, à blâmer la victime, même si c’est moins chaque fois. Au cours de mon expérience professionnelle, j’ai trouvé des cas dans lesquels les travailleurs eux-mêmes dissuadaient la victime de rendre la plainte viable, en raison de commentaires tels que:

"Quelque chose que vous aurez fait"

"Cela t'arrive de ne pas faire attention"

"Ne soyez pas un nenaza et mettez les choses au clair"

Il n’est jamais facile pour une victime de maltraitance, qu’elle soit homme ou femme, de faire face à ses propres peurs et hontes et d’agir en justice. Beaucoup moins lorsque la réponse reçue correspond aux commentaires.

B. R.: Quel est l'état psychologique et psychologique des personnes qui ont été maltraitées et qui suivent une thérapie?

L'ambiance est toujours basse, trop basse. Les victimes d'abus ont connu des situations extrêmes et un impact important, voire traumatisant. La gravité des effets dépend du type de violence subie, de son intensité, de son intention, des moyens utilisés ainsi que des caractéristiques de la victime et de l'agresseur.

En général, ce sont des personnes avec une personnalité très altérée, qui manifestent une grande insécurité, un concept de soi médiocre, des changements d'humeur et un niveau élevé de méfiance. Certaines personnes manifestent généralement des symptômes de dépression, d’anxiété, d’idées et même de tentatives de suicide infructueuses.

Les commentaires les plus courants des victimes d'abus sont «Je le méritais», «Il m'aime mais sa main est sortie», «Je me suis mal conduit», «Il n'avait pas d'autre choix», «Si je demande de l'aide, ils se moqueront de moi. ils ne vont pas me croire. "

B. R.: Quelle est en gros l'intervention psychothérapeutique et juridique d'un psychologue dans un tel cas?

C'est assez compliqué. Les psychologues sont tenus de préserver la confidentialité de leurs patients, mais comme tout citoyen, nous avons l'obligation légale de signaler tout type de crime. Bien que réunissant ces deux obligations dans les professions de la santé, il s’agit toujours d’une arme à double tranchant.

La première chose qui me vient à l’esprit est de signaler le cas aux autorités. C’est une très sage décision lorsque nous parlons de mineurs. Toutefois, lorsque nous parlons de personnes d'âge légal ou même de mineurs d'âge mûr, il est toujours nécessaire de donner la priorité à l'aide en priorité.

Nous ne devons pas oublier que quiconque avoue un cas de violence ouvre la porte à un secret très difficile et, comme nous l'avons déjà dit, réduit au silence, en action ou par omission de la part de l'environnement.

L'option la plus simple est de convenir avec la personne concernée des limites de notre confidentialité et d'indiquer très clairement qu'elle sera violée sans consentement préalable au cas où une vie (la sienne ou celle de tiers) serait menacée. Une fois que cela a été établi avec la victime, il existe un long processus où des questions telles que l'estime de soi, les compétences sociales, l'amour de soi et le fait de savoir comment établir des limites, entre autres.

B. R.: Quels sont les points communs des personnes qui exercent des violences physiques ou psychologiques? Peut-on parler d'un profil typique ou existe-t-il des agresseurs très différents?

À l’exclusion des pathologies mentales, les personnes ayant une faible intelligence émotionnelle, partageant une très faible estime de soi et, par conséquent, un haut niveau d’insécurité, la prise en charge est externe eux-mêmes et les autres.

D'après mon expérience, j'ai pu constater qu'ils se sentaient mal dans leur peau, certains se détestaient même, et plus ils se détestaient et pire ils se sentaient, plus ils risquaient de commettre une forme de violence.

B. R.: Les décès dus à la violence sexiste semblent être en augmentation ces dernières années. En fait - comme nous l’avons vu le tableau fourni par le ministère de la Santé - au cours de la courte période de l’année, huit personnes ont déjà été tuées. Quelles mesures le nouveau gouvernement devrait-il prendre pour minimiser ce phénomène?

Donner des informations sur la manière d’approcher les plaignants serait le plus important, car, comme je l’ai déjà dit, il n’est pas rare de blâmer la victime par des organismes publics.

Mis à part cela, de grands progrès ont été réalisés dans ce domaine. Il existe désormais davantage de moyens, tels que les téléphones permettant de téléphoner de manière anonyme et totalement gratuite, les groupes de soutien et les mesures judiciaires sont nombreux. oublier l'origine. L'information et la prévention dudit problème dès les premières années dans les écoles.


Pédophilie : Entretien avec Patrick Blachère, expert psychiatre et sexologue (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes