yes, therapy helps!
Love can not be a sacrifice

Love can not be a sacrifice

October 4, 2022

The belief that love is made up of commitments , pacts that we establish with the person we love in order to give stability to the relationship. This is normal and healthy; After all, if someone cares about us, the natural thing is that we give them guarantees that the emotional bond exists and we take it seriously. Loving by word is very easy, and what matters are the facts.

However, not everyone is successful when it comes to defining what the nature of the commitment that should exist in their relationship should be. In some cases, the purpose that this type of agreement should have is confused, and instead of being a means through which to consolidate the relationship, it becomes the objective of the relationship, which gives it meaning. That is to say: it becomes a constant demonstration of sacrifices and the degree to which we are willing to suffer for the beloved.


This belief, which explained thus seems absurd, is more frequent than we think. In fact, it is the pillar on which the traditional conception of romantic love stands. How to recognize those moments in which we confuse reasonable sacrifices with the simple intention of lashing out?

  • Related article: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Love and sacrifices

Let's say it now: falling in love does not come free . From the beginning opens the possibility that we suffer a lot for the other person, even before this feeling is reciprocated (and even when it will not be reciprocated).

When the love relationship is consolidated, the possibility of going through bad times is still very close: everything that has to do with getting away from that person for a long time, or seeing her have a bad time, is something that produces a clear discomfort. In addition, in order for the coexistence between the two lovers to take place, it is also necessary to give in to many things.


Maybe that's why, because love relationships are not characterized by being comfortable but by being intense, some people decide, unconsciously, to add even more intensity to them through suffering, which is the easiest way to make us feel something.

And that is to mix that minimum of discomfort that the relations produce with the possibility of add huge amounts of discomfort manufactured by ourselves in an express way it is a way of making that, apparently, that love story be something more meaningful, more justified.

Of course, this tendency to turn love into a synonym for sacrifice is totally toxic, although when experienced in the first person it is difficult to see it. Unfortunately, this logic fits very well with the old ideas about marriage, so it often happens indecent because we assume that it is normal. Why does this happen?


  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional dependence: pathological addiction to your sentimental partner"

The origins of sacrifice: the family

In psychology there are very few things that are not related to the context, and love is no exception. Love is not something that arises in our brain without seeing another person: it is a consequence of the way in which several generations that have lived before us have learned to manage those intense affective bonds that arise from falling in love. And, for the majority of inhabitants, this way of managing that emotion it has to do with marriage : a way to manage resources and to organize people thinking of a small community.

In practice, love had to be experienced in a way that went hand in hand with the mentality necessary to maintain the family, and this has to do with personal sacrifice. Until recently, resources were scarce, so everything that could be done for the welfare of the other was justified and welcome. The weird thing was not give in everything in favor of the family , but to live as autonomous and free people.

When two things always happen at the same time, they usually end up being indistinguishable, and this is what happened with love and sacrifices. If we add to this that the predominant machismo turned the woman into a property of the husband, so that he had to watch over her and this had to do everything the lord of the house wished, the result does not surprise anyone: the normalization of relationships of emotional dependence. After all, in most cases our emotions accompany our actions, and the same happens with the need to constantly sacrifice for the other.

Common efforts, not punishments

For a long time the patriarchal model of coexistence has been the target of all kinds of criticism, and for the first time it is possible to live without having to depend on the family unit. There is no excuse for living love as autonomous and self-sufficient people, which means making sacrifices go from being the engine of emotional relationships to a consequence of the adoption of reasonable commitments , with pragmatic sense. The opposite would be to fall into the trap of dependence.


Elton John - Sacrifice (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'amour ne peut être un sacrifice

L'amour ne peut être un sacrifice

Juin 20, 2022

La conviction que l'amour est fait d'engagements , des pactes que nous établissons avec la personne que nous aimons afin de stabiliser la relation. C'est normal et sain. Après tout, si quelqu'un se soucie de nous, il est naturel que nous lui donnions des garanties que le lien affectif existe et que nous le prenions au sérieux. Aimer par la parole est très facile, et ce qui compte, ce sont les faits

Cependant, tous ne réussissent pas quand il s'agit de définir la nature de l'engagement qui devrait exister dans leur relation. Dans certains cas, l'objectif que devrait avoir ce type d'accord est confus et, au lieu d'être un moyen de consolider la relation, il devient l'objectif de la relation, ce qui lui donne un sens. C'est-à-dire: cela devient une démonstration constante de sacrifices et le degré auquel nous sommes prêts à souffrir pour l'aimé.


Cette croyance, qui semble donc absurde, est plus fréquente qu'on ne le pense. En fait, c'est le pilier sur lequel repose la conception traditionnelle de l'amour romantique. Comment reconnaître ces moments où nous confondons des sacrifices raisonnables avec la simple intention de s'en prendre à vous?

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Amour et sacrifices

Disons le maintenant: tomber amoureux ne vient pas gratuitement . Dès le début ouvre la possibilité que nous souffrons beaucoup pour l'autre personne, même avant que ce sentiment ne soit réciproque (et même quand il ne le sera pas).

Lorsque la relation amoureuse est consolidée, la possibilité de traverser des périodes difficiles est toujours très étroite: tout ce qui concerne le fait de s’éloigner de cette personne pendant longtemps, ou de la voir passer une mauvaise période, est un malaise évident. En outre, pour que la coexistence entre les deux amoureux ait lieu, il est également nécessaire de céder à beaucoup de choses.


C’est peut-être pour cette raison que, parce que les relations amoureuses ne se caractérisent pas par le confort, mais par l’intensité, certaines personnes décident inconsciemment de leur donner encore plus d’intensité par la souffrance, ce qui est le moyen le plus facile de nous faire ressentir quelque chose.

Et c’est mélanger le minimum de gêne que les relations produisent avec la possibilité de ajouter d'énormes quantités d'inconfort fabriqué par nous-mêmes de manière expresse, c’est une façon de rendre cette histoire d’amour apparemment plus significative, plus justifiée.

Bien sûr, cette tendance à transformer l’amour en synonyme de sacrifice est totalement toxique, bien qu’il soit difficile de le voir quand on le ressent à la première personne. Malheureusement, cette logique s’accorde très bien avec les anciennes idées sur le mariage, elle est donc souvent indécente parce que nous supposons que c’est normal. Pourquoi cela se produit-il?


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Dépendance émotionnelle: dépendance pathologique à votre partenaire sentimental"

Les origines du sacrifice: la famille

En psychologie, très peu de choses ne sont pas liées au contexte, et l'amour ne fait pas exception. L'amour n'est pas quelque chose qui surgit dans notre cerveau sans voir une autre personne: c'est une conséquence de la façon dont plusieurs générations qui ont vécu avant nous ont appris à gérer ces liens affectifs intenses qui découlent de la perte de l'amour. Et, pour la majorité des habitants, cette façon de gérer cette émotion cela a à voir avec le mariage : un moyen de gérer les ressources et d’organiser les gens en pensant à une petite communauté.

En pratique, l'amour devait être vécu de manière à aller de pair avec la mentalité nécessaire au maintien de la famille, ce qui était lié au sacrifice personnel. Jusqu'à récemment, les ressources étaient rares et tout ce qui pouvait être fait pour le bien-être de l'autre était justifié et bienvenu. La chose étrange n'était pas donner tout en faveur de la famille , mais de vivre en tant que peuple autonome et libre.

Quand deux choses se passent toujours en même temps, elles finissent généralement par être indiscernables, et c'est ce qui s'est passé avec amour et sacrifices. Si nous ajoutons à cela que le machisme prédominant a fait de la femme une propriété du mari, de sorte qu'il a dû veiller sur elle et que tout ce que le seigneur de la maison souhaitait faire fasse, le résultat ne surprendra personne: la normalisation des relations de dépendance émotionnelle. Après tout, dans la plupart des cas, nos émotions accompagnent nos actions, et il en va de même avec la nécessité de constamment se sacrifier pour l’autre.

Des efforts communs, pas des punitions

Le modèle de coexistence patriarcal a longtemps été la cible de toutes sortes de critiques et, pour la première fois, il est possible de vivre sans avoir à dépendre de la cellule familiale. Il n’ya aucune excuse pour vivre l’amour en tant que personnes autonomes et autosuffisantes, ce qui signifie que les sacrifices passent du simple moteur des relations affectives à la vie. conséquence de l'adoption d'engagements raisonnables , avec un sens pragmatique. Le contraire serait de tomber dans le piège de la dépendance.

Articles Connexes