yes, therapy helps!
Münchhausen syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Münchhausen syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 24, 2021

The baron of Münchhausen, a German baron who served Antonio Ulrico II and later enlisted in the Russian army, lends the name to this syndrome so disturbing because the baron, on returning to his birthplace, narrated unlikely and invented stories about his adventures away from home, among which stand out riding on the bullet of a cannon and go to the moon.

He had been born one of the first cases of Münchhausen syndrome , which has gained some popularity for its appearance in the House series but which is, after all, a totally real phenomenon.

What is Münchhausen syndrome?

This factitious disorder consists in a constant and intentional simulation of diseases, normally very convincing and spectacular. To this end, the patient can become self-injurious, ingest toxic substances and even self-inject bacteria such as Escherichia coli. The affected person has the motivation to assume the role of the sick person and to feel cared for and cared for .


This mental disorder usually begins in the early stages of adulthood, is more common among men and especially among people who work in a medical services environment, many of whom have knowledge and a capacity to access materials that facilitate the reproduction of the syndrome.

Symptoms of Münchhausen syndrome

Symptoms are limited by the patient's knowledge or fantasy . Although these are very varied, the most common are allergic reactions, respiratory problems, seizures, diarrhea, fever, fainting, vomiting, and even hydroelectric disorders. In addition, people who have this syndrome also usually require large doses of painkillers and narcotics.


Patients who have Münchhausen syndrome often visit different hospitals complaining of the same ailments that they have described in the previous hospital they went to; In addition, their medical knowledge and the precision in the representation of their symptoms mean that doctors have to repeatedly perform different tests and diagnostic methods. They never oppose any test however painful it is going to be and they have special submission at the time of hospitalization in a health center .

This disorder can be of different intensity depending on the affected person. For example, in Cuba, serious cases have been described in which the patient has arrived to inoculate the HIV virus.

Characteristics and basic signs

The patient of Münchhausen can be described in the following points:

  • Constant search for the role of the sick.
  • Self-injury and self-administration of drugs to cause symptoms that may have an appearance of credibility.
  • Very repeated assistance to hospitals.
  • Aggressive behavior when being blamed for simulating the symptoms or when a doctor refuses to do any test (even if it is unnecessary).
  • High knowledge of medical concepts.

Diagnosis of Münchhausen syndrome

Diagnosis of the patient from Münchhausen it is based on the elimination of other psychiatric syndromes once it has been detected that the patient has a disorder of this nature .


On the one hand, medical specialists must rule out other pathologies with very similar characteristics, such as somatization disorder, where there are physical symptoms without a medical illness explaining them. The main difference between somatization disorder and Münchhausen syndrome is that in the first there is a real physical symptomatology, although of unknown origin.

On the other hand, the hypochondriac patient exaggerates symptoms that he thinks he has, whereas in Münchhausen syndrome, despite the continuous complaints, the patient is fully aware that his symptoms are simulated. We must also distinguish it from the classic cases of hysteria, where both the production and the motivation of the symptoms are unconscious.

The diagnostic criteria

Normally, once other diseases are ruled out, the diagnostic criteria are these:

1. Dramatic clinical picture , which describes spectacular diseases.

2. Desire to have tests, interventions, exams ... even if they are told they are unnecessary.

3. Background of many hospitalizations.

4. Evidence of self-medication or self-injury as: cuts, scars, bruises ...

5. It is usually considered a bad patient since it does not collaborate in the treatments and puts in judgment the medical decisions.

Treatment of the syndrome

This phase has special difficulty, since the person who presents Münchhausen Syndrome, Once you feel naked, you tend to get aggressive . After this, he disappears from the clinic and goes to another one where he explains his symptoms again.

In the treatment for patients with this syndrome there are two alternatives:

Direct confrontation

An option in which the main problem is that the patient, as we have said, leaves the hospital to go to another, or accepts a psychiatric treatment that will stop following and to which he will not return.

Indirect confrontation

In this strategy the patient is treated psychiatrically but without this being known. The goal is that, instead of simulating symptoms, patients learn to seek the attention of others in a different way. In addition, they must learn to fight in a better way with stressful situations and ignore the thoughts that make them look for the role of sick and hospitalization, all this with the help of psychologists and psychiatrists.

By last, professionals should contribute to the self-esteem of these people improve , and counteract phobic behavior, insecurity and dependence.


Munchausen Syndrome ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Münchhausen: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Münchhausen: causes, symptômes et traitement

Septembre 26, 2022

Le baron de Münchhausen, un baron allemand qui a servi Antonio Ulrico II et plus tard enrôlé dans l'armée russe, donne son nom à ce syndrome si troublant, car le baron, en rentrant dans son lieu de naissance, raconta des histoires improbables et inventées de ses aventures loin de chez lui, parmi lesquelles la balle d'un canon et aller à la lune.

Il était né l'un des premiers cas de Syndrome de Münchhausen , qui a acquis une certaine popularité pour son apparition dans la série House mais qui, après tout, est un phénomène totalement réel.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Münchhausen?

Ce trouble factice consiste en une simulation constante et intentionnelle de maladies, généralement très convaincantes et spectaculaires. À cette fin, le patient peut s'auto-blesser, ingérer des substances toxiques et même s'injecter lui-même des bactéries telles qu'Escherichia coli. La personne touchée a la motivation nécessaire pour assumer le rôle de la personne malade et se sentir soignée et soignée .


Ce trouble mental débute généralement aux premiers stades de la vie adulte, il est plus fréquent chez les hommes et en particulier chez les personnes qui travaillent dans un environnement de services médicaux, dont beaucoup ont les connaissances et la capacité d’accéder à des matériels facilitant la recherche. la reproduction du syndrome.

Symptômes du syndrome de Münchhausen

Les symptômes sont limités par les connaissances ou les fantasmes du patient . Bien que très variés, les plus fréquents sont les réactions allergiques, les problèmes respiratoires, les convulsions, la diarrhée, la fièvre, les évanouissements, les vomissements et même les troubles hydroélectriques. En outre, les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome ont également besoin de fortes doses d'analgésiques et de narcotiques.


Les patients atteints du syndrome de Münchhausen se rendent souvent dans différents hôpitaux pour se plaindre des mêmes affections que celles décrites dans l'hôpital précédent. De plus, leurs connaissances médicales et la précision dans la représentation de leurs symptômes obligent les médecins à effectuer à plusieurs reprises différents tests et méthodes de diagnostic. Ils ne s’opposent jamais à un test, aussi douloureux soit-il, et ils ont une soumission spéciale au moment de l'hospitalisation dans un centre de santé .

Ce trouble peut être d'intensité différente selon la personne touchée. Par exemple, à Cuba, il a été décrit des cas graves dans lesquels le patient est arrivé pour vacciner le virus VIH.

Caractéristiques et signes de base

Le patient de Münchhausen peut être décrit dans les points suivants:

  • Recherche constante du rôle du malade.
  • L’automutilation et l’auto-administration de médicaments peuvent provoquer des symptômes pouvant donner l’apparence d’une crédibilité.
  • Assistance très répétée aux hôpitaux.
  • Comportement agressif lorsqu'on lui reproche de simuler les symptômes ou lorsqu'un médecin refuse de faire un test (même si cela n'est pas nécessaire).
  • Haute connaissance des concepts médicaux.

Diagnostic du syndrome de Münchhausen

Diagnostic du patient de Münchhausen il est basé sur l'élimination d'autres syndromes psychiatriques une fois qu'il a été détecté que le patient a un trouble de cette nature .


D'une part, les médecins spécialistes doivent exclure d'autres pathologies présentant des caractéristiques très similaires, telles que le trouble de la somatisation, où se manifestent des symptômes physiques sans que la maladie ne les explique. La principale différence entre le trouble de la somatisation et le syndrome de Münchhausen réside dans le fait que, dans le premier cas, il existe une symptomatologie physique réelle, bien que d'origine inconnue.

En revanche, le patient hypocondriaque exagère les symptômes qu’il croit avoir, alors que dans le syndrome de Münchhausen, malgré les plaintes récurrentes, le patient est pleinement conscient du fait que ses symptômes sont simulés. Nous devons également le distinguer des cas classiques d’hystérie, dans lesquels la production et la motivation des symptômes sont inconscientes.

Les critères de diagnostic

Normalement, une fois les autres maladies exclues, les critères de diagnostic sont les suivants:

1. Tableau clinique dramatique , qui décrit des maladies spectaculaires.

2. Désir d'avoir des tests, des interventions, des examens ... même si on leur dit qu'ils ne sont pas nécessaires.

3. Antécédents de nombreuses hospitalisations.

4. Preuve de l'automédication ou de l'automutilation comme: coupures, cicatrices, ecchymoses ...

5. Il est généralement considéré comme un mauvais patient car il ne collabore pas aux traitements et met en jugement les décisions médicales.

Traitement du syndrome

Cette phase présente des difficultés particulières, car la personne qui présente le syndrome de Münchhausen Une fois que vous vous sentez nu, vous avez tendance à être agressif . Il disparaît ensuite de la clinique et se rend dans une autre clinique où il explique à nouveau ses symptômes.

Dans le traitement des patients atteints de ce syndrome, il existe deux alternatives:

Confrontation directe

Une option dans laquelle le problème principal est que le patient, comme nous l’avons dit, quitte l’hôpital pour se rendre dans un autre établissement, ou accepte un traitement psychiatrique qui ne suivra plus et auquel il ne reviendra pas.

Confrontation indirecte

Dans cette stratégie, le patient est traité en psychiatrie mais sans que cela soit connu. L'objectif est que, au lieu de simuler les symptômes, les patients apprennent à attirer l'attention des autres de manière différente. En outre, ils doivent apprendre à mieux combattre les situations stressantes et à ignorer les pensées qui les poussent à rechercher le rôle du malade et de l'hospitalisation, le tout avec l'aide de psychologues et de psychiatres.

Finalement, les professionnels devraient contribuer à améliorer l'estime de soi de ces personnes et lutter contre les comportements phobiques, l'insécurité et la dépendance.


Le Trouble Factice, c'est quoi ? ( Syndrome de Münchhausen) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes