yes, therapy helps!
Pediophobia: the fear of dolls (causes and symptoms)

Pediophobia: the fear of dolls (causes and symptoms)

February 7, 2023

There are different types of phobias, and some of these can be really strange . The hexakosioihexekontahexafobia or fear of the number 666, the coulrophobia or fear of clowns or turofobia or fear of cheese, are some examples. Another phobia that may seem strange is pediophobia or fear of dolls.

The dolls are adorable objects that remind us of childhood and innocence, but some people may suffer an irrational fear of these toys that represent the human figure although in smaller dimensions. In the cinema, some films have based their stories around these objects, sometimes possessed or possessed in their scripts.

What is pediophobia

The pediophobia is the irrational fear of the dolls, and not only the dolls with diabolic image, but any of them . In many cases, in addition, pediofóbicos can also feel a great fear of robots and mannequins. This phobia should not be confused with pedophobia, which is the fear of children.


Sigmund Freud thought that this disorder had its origin in the fear that this object will come alive. However, to understand the pediophobia, which is part of the phobic disorders, the behaviorist seems to be more effective, because phobias usually originate from classical conditioning.

A phobia similar to coulrophobia

Like clowns, dolls are associated with children and produce different sensations and emotions in us. We usually associate them with fun and endearing moments; and the dolls are ideal as a form of entertainment.

But despite this image we have of clowns and dolls, these figures are also associated with negative and unpleasant images, leading to cause real fear. Clowns and dolls are also horror figures in the world of cinema, and have acted as assassins in some movies. In the case of clowns, reality has surpassed fiction, and John Wayne Gacy is known, the grim case of the murderous clown, who disguised himself to commit his crimes.


What causes a phobia

A phobia is an irrational fear towards some object, situation or activity, that is, towards a phobic stimulus. It is an anxiety disorder and can be very disabling. People with some type of phobia usually avoid phobic stimulation because of the great discomfort that this makes them feel.

Phobias usually develop due to a series of environmental factors, although some experts say that genetic predisposition is crucial. However, the hypothesis of environmental factors has more weight, and the cause of someone developing a phobic disorder is usually a traumatic experience lived around that stimulus. Generally, this precipitating event occurs in childhood, and the phobia appears by associative learning or classical conditioning.

The dolls, likewise, can provoke the phobia indirectly, since in some films they can represent evil, being possessed or being murderers, but they can also be associated with voodoo and, therefore, with black magic or witchcraft.


And is that many movies or science fiction novels have as protagonists diabolic dolls or evil for example, Chucky movies, so some children are terrified by this image so evil.

Symptoms of doll phobia

Individuals who suffer this irrational fear of dolls they feel great anxiety or discomfort when being near them, when seeing them on television or imagining them . Therefore, fear and panic attached to anxiety are the main symptoms. In addition, like any type of phobia, the person suffering from this disorder avoids the feared stimulus, and performs behaviors so as not to have to be exposed to the source of discomfort.

The symptoms of phobias are practically the same for all phobic disorders, and they are the following:

  • Dry mouth
  • Loss of concentration and disorientation
  • Excess of sweating
  • Terror and intense fear
  • Feeling of shortness of breath and hyperventilation
  • Catastrophic thinking
  • Anxiety and anguish
  • Increased heart rate and pulse acceleration
  • Intestinal discomfort
  • Muscle tension
  • Behaviors to avoid the feared stimulus

Treatment of this disorder

Since this disorder can become disabling and cause an intense feeling of discomfort, it is necessary to go to a psychology professional to be able to overcome it . Generally, the psychologist will perform a treatment that includes cognitive behavioral therapy techniques, such as systematic desensitization or expository techniques; however, some professionals also make use of mindfulness or hypnotherapy.

Without a doubt, systematic desensitization is the most popular technique to overcome the fear of dolls or pediophobia. This technique involves slow and gradual exposure to the feared stimulus and fosters more useful coping skills in the patient. For example, the patient may start by looking at pictures of dolls and dolls, reading books or watching movies about these toys. Once they are able to control this fear in these situations, they can expose themselves to the real feared stimulus. In severe cases, treatment may include drugs for anxiety, but never as an alternative to psychological therapy.

Some apps to treat phobias

With the inclusion of new technologies in our lives, these not only have a recreational use, but also can be used for clinical or psychotherapeutic purposes . In recent years, different apps have appeared that help overcome phobias.

If you suffer from some kind of phobia, our article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone" may interest you. " So check it out if you wish.


Do You Have Trypophobia (The Fear Of Tiny Holes)? (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pédiophobie: la peur des poupées (causes et symptômes)

Pédiophobie: la peur des poupées (causes et symptômes)

Septembre 22, 2020

Il existe différents types de phobies, dont certaines peuvent être vraiment étranges . L'hexakosioihexekontahexafobia ou la peur du chiffre 666, la coulrophobie ou la peur des clowns ou de la turofobie ou la peur du fromage en sont des exemples. Une autre phobie qui peut paraître étrange est la pédophobie ou la peur des poupées.

Les poupées sont des objets adorables qui nous rappellent l’enfance et l’innocence, mais certaines personnes peuvent avoir une peur irrationnelle de ces jouets qui représentent la figure humaine bien que de plus petite taille. Au cinéma, certains films ont basé leurs histoires sur ces objets, parfois possédés ou possédés dans leurs scripts.

Qu'est-ce que la pédophobie?

La pédophobie est la peur irrationnelle des poupées, et pas seulement des poupées à l’image diabolique, mais de toutes les poupées. . Dans de nombreux cas, les pediofóbicos peuvent également ressentir une grande peur des robots et des mannequins. Cette phobie ne doit pas être confondue avec la pédophobie, qui est la peur des enfants.


Sigmund Freud pensait que ce désordre avait son origine dans la peur que cet objet prenne vie. Cependant, pour comprendre la pédiophobie, qui fait partie des troubles phobiques, le comportementaliste semble être plus efficace, car les phobies proviennent généralement du conditionnement classique.

Une phobie semblable à la coulrophobie

Comme les clowns, les poupées sont associées aux enfants et produisent différentes sensations et émotions en nous. Nous les associons généralement à des moments amusants et attachants; et les poupées sont idéales comme forme de divertissement.

Mais malgré cette image que nous avons des clowns et des poupées, ces chiffres sont également associés à des images négatives et désagréables, ce qui entraîne une réelle peur. Les clowns et les poupées sont également des figures d'horreur dans le monde du cinéma et ont servi d'assassins dans certains films. Dans le cas des clowns, la réalité a dépassé la fiction, et John Wayne Gacy est connu, le sinistre cas du clown meurtrier, qui s'est déguisé pour commettre ses crimes.


Qu'est-ce qui cause une phobie?

Une phobie est une peur irrationnelle envers un objet, une situation ou une activité, c'est-à-dire un stimulus phobique. C'est un trouble anxieux et peut être très handicapant. Les personnes atteintes d'une phobie évitent généralement la stimulation phobique en raison du grand inconfort que cela leur fait ressentir.

Les phobies se développent généralement en raison d'une série de facteurs environnementaux, bien que certains experts affirment que la prédisposition génétique est cruciale. Cependant, l'hypothèse de facteurs environnementaux a plus de poids et la cause de l'apparition d'un trouble phobique est généralement une expérience traumatisante vécue autour de ce stimulus. Généralement, cet événement précipitant survient dans l'enfance et la phobie se manifeste par apprentissage associatif ou conditionnement classique.

De même, les poupées peuvent provoquer indirectement la phobie, car dans certains films, elles peuvent représenter le mal, être possédées ou être des meurtrières, mais elles peuvent aussi être associées au vaudou et, par conséquent, à la magie noire ou à la sorcellerie.


Et est-ce que beaucoup de films ou de romans de science-fiction ont comme protagonistes des poupées diaboliques ou diaboliques par exemple, les films Chucky, de sorte que certains enfants sont terrifiés par cette image si perverse.

Symptômes de la phobie de la poupée

Les individus qui souffrent de cette peur irrationnelle des poupées ils se sentent très angoissés ou mal à l'aise lorsqu'ils sont près d'eux, lorsqu'ils les voient à la télévision ou les imaginent . Par conséquent, la peur et la panique liées à l'anxiété sont les principaux symptômes. En outre, comme toute forme de phobie, la personne atteinte de ce trouble évite le stimulus redouté et adopte des comportements qui évitent de devoir être exposée à la source de l'inconfort.

Les symptômes des phobies sont pratiquement les mêmes pour tous les troubles phobiques et ils sont les suivants:

  • Bouche sèche
  • Perte de concentration et désorientation
  • Excès de transpiration
  • Terreur et peur intense
  • Sensation d'essoufflement et d'hyperventilation
  • Pensée catastrophique
  • Anxiété et angoisse
  • Augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque et de l'accélération du pouls
  • Malaise intestinal
  • Tension musculaire
  • Comportements pour éviter le stimulus redouté

Traitement de ce trouble

Étant donné que ce trouble peut devenir invalidant et provoquer une sensation intense de malaise, il faut aller chez un professionnel de la psychologie pour pouvoir le surmonter . Généralement, le psychologue effectuera un traitement qui comprend des techniques de thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, telles que des techniques de désensibilisation systématique ou de présentation Cependant, certains professionnels utilisent également la pleine conscience ou l'hypnothérapie.

La désensibilisation systématique est sans aucun doute la technique la plus populaire pour vaincre la peur des poupées ou de la pédophobie. Cette technique implique une exposition lente et progressive au stimulus redouté et favorise des capacités d'adaptation plus utiles chez le patient. Par exemple, le patient peut commencer par regarder des images de poupées et des poupées, lire des livres ou regarder des films sur ces jouets. Une fois qu'ils sont capables de contrôler cette peur dans ces situations, ils peuvent s'exposer au véritable stimulus redouté. Dans les cas graves, le traitement peut inclure des médicaments contre l’anxiété, mais jamais en tant qu’alternative au traitement psychologique.

Certaines applications pour traiter les phobies

Avec l’inclusion de nouvelles technologies dans nos vies, celles-ci ont non seulement un usage récréatif, mais aussi peut être utilisé à des fins cliniques ou psychothérapeutiques . Ces dernières années, différentes applications sont apparues pour aider à surmonter les phobies.

Si vous souffrez d'une sorte de phobie, notre article: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone" peut vous intéresser. " Alors, vérifiez si vous le souhaitez.


N'AI PAS PEUR - LES POUPÉES (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes