yes, therapy helps!
Medicine: a profession with a high risk of suicide

Medicine: a profession with a high risk of suicide

May 29, 2024

When identifying correctly the factors that can increase or decrease the level of risk of the suicidal cause It has always been of great interest to attend to the close relationship they have with this behavior. Keep in mind that this level increases proportionally to the number of manifest factors and that some have a greater specific weight than others. Knowing them and studying their relevance can be decisive when it comes to understanding the problems that surround each group.

Unfortunately for internal doctors, their profession constitutes an important added risk to suffer a death by suicide. Every year an average of 400 doctors of both sexes commit suicide in the United States, which is equivalent in absolute numbers to an entire medical school. There are also similar dynamics among medical students in which, after accidents, suicide is the most common cause of death.


  • Related article: "What must be done to reduce the suicide rate?"

The relationship between medicine and suicide

The studies carried out by the AFSP in 2002 confirm that Doctors died by suicide more frequently than other people of the same age, gender of the general population and other professions. On average, death by suicide is 70% more common among male doctors than in other professionals, and 250% to 400% higher among female doctors. Unlike other populations, where men commit suicide four times more often than women, doctors have a suicide rate that is very similar between men and women.


Subsequently, in 2004, Schernhammer and Colditz conducted a meta-analysis of 25 quality studies on medical suicide and concluded that the aggregate suicide rate for male doctors compared to that of men in the general population is 1.41: 1, with 95% and a confidence interval of 1.21 to 1.65. For female physicians, the ratio was 2.27: 1 (95% CI = 1.90-2.73) compared to women in the general population; what constitutes a worryingly high rate.

But nevertheless, the singularities with respect to the rest of professional groups do not end here . Several epidemiological studies have found that members of some occupations in particular have a higher risk of suicide than others and that most of this considerable variation in risk is explained by socioeconomic factors, in all cases, except those that belonged to the doctors.


A case-control study with 3,195 suicides and 63,900 matched controls in Denmark (Agerbo et al., 2007) corroborated that the risk of suicide decreases in all occupations if the variables of psychiatric admission, employment status, marital status and gross income are controlled. . But, again, doctors and nurses were the exception, in which, in fact, the suicide rate increased.

Also, between people who have received hospital psychiatric treatment there are modest associations between suicide and occupation, but not for doctors, who have a much more marked risk, up to four times greater.

Finally, the combination of situations with high stress and access to lethal means of suicide such as firearms or medicines is also an indicator of certain occupational groups. Among all the doctors, an even greater risk for anesthetists has been evaluated for having easy access to anesthetic drugs. These studies are reflected with the results obtained from other high-risk groups such as dentists, pharmacists, veterinarians and farmers (Hawton, K. 2009).

A profession very sacrificed

After elaborating a consensus document among experts to assess the state of knowledge of depression and suicide deaths among physicians, it was concluded that the traditional culture of medicine places the mental health of the doctor as a low priority despite the evidence that they have a high prevalence of mood disorders not adequately treated. The barriers to doctors seeking help are usually the fear of social stigma and compromising their career, so they postpone it until the mental disorder has become chronic and complicated with other pathologies.

The etiopathogenic factors that may explain the increased risk of suicide consist of poor coping, or lack of resources for due coping, of the psychosocial risks inherent to clinical activity such as the stress inherent in the same clinical activity, harassment and burnout, as well as institutional pressures (cuts, schedules and forced shifts, lack of support, litigation for malpractice).

It has been recommended to change professional attitudes and change institutional policies to encourage doctors to ask for help when they need it and to help their colleagues recognize and treat them when they need it. The doctors they are as vulnerable to depression as the general population , but they seek help to a lesser extent and the rates of completed suicide are higher (Center et al., 2003).

Bibliographic references:

  • Medicine and Work Safety. Print version ISSN 0465-546X Med. Segur. trab. vol.59 no.231 Madrid abr.-jun. 2013
  • Suicide and Psychiatry. Preventive recommendations and management of suicidal behavior. Bobes García J, Giner Ubago J, Saiz Ruiz J, editors. Madrid: Triacastela; 2011
  • //afsp.org/
  • //www.doctorswithdepression.org/

Does fear of reporting their own mental illness put doctors at risk of suicide? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Médecine: une profession à haut risque de suicide

Médecine: une profession à haut risque de suicide

Juillet 15, 2019

Lors de l'identification correcte les facteurs pouvant augmenter ou diminuer le niveau de risque de la cause suicidaire Il a toujours été très intéressant de s’occuper de la relation étroite qu’ils entretiennent avec ce comportement. N'oubliez pas que ce niveau augmente proportionnellement au nombre de facteurs manifestes et que certains ont un poids spécifique plus élevé que d'autres. Les connaître et étudier leur pertinence peut être déterminant pour comprendre les problèmes qui entourent chaque groupe.

Malheureusement pour les médecins internes, leur profession constitue un risque supplémentaire important se suicider. Chaque année, en moyenne 400 médecins des deux sexes se suicident aux États-Unis, soit l'équivalent absolu d'une école de médecine. Il existe également une dynamique similaire chez les étudiants en médecine dans laquelle, après les accidents, le suicide est la cause de décès la plus fréquente.


  • Article connexe: "Que faut-il faire pour réduire le taux de suicide?"

La relation entre la médecine et le suicide

Les études réalisées par l’AFSP en 2002 confirment que Les médecins se sont suicidés plus souvent que les autres du même âge, du même sexe que la population et des autres professions. En moyenne, le nombre de décès par suicide est de 70% plus fréquent chez les médecins masculins que chez les autres professionnels et de 250% à 400% plus élevé chez les femmes médecins. Contrairement aux autres populations, où les hommes se suicident quatre fois plus que les femmes, le taux de suicide des médecins est très similaire chez les hommes et les femmes.


Par la suite, en 2004, Schernhammer et Colditz ont réalisé une méta-analyse de 25 études de qualité sur le suicide médical et ont conclu que le taux de suicide global des médecins de sexe masculin par rapport à celui de l'homme dans la population générale est de 1,41: 1, avec 95% et un intervalle de confiance de 1,21 à 1,65. Pour les femmes médecins, le ratio était de 2,27: 1 (IC à 95% = 1,90 à 2,73) par rapport aux femmes de la population générale; ce qui constitue un taux inquiétant élevé.

Cependant, les singularités par rapport au reste des groupes professionnels ne s'arrêtent pas là . Plusieurs études épidémiologiques ont montré que les membres de certaines professions, en particulier, présentent un risque de suicide plus élevé que d’autres et que la majeure partie de cette variation considérable du risque s’explique par des facteurs socio-économiques, dans tous les cas, à l’exception aux médecins.


Une étude cas-témoins portant sur 3 195 suicides et 63 900 témoins correspondants au Danemark (Agerbo et al., 2007) a corroboré le fait que le risque de suicide diminue dans toutes les professions si les variables d'admission en psychiatrie, d'emploi, de statut marital et de revenu brut sont contrôlées. . Mais, encore une fois, les médecins et les infirmières étaient l’exception, dans laquelle, en fait, le taux de suicide a augmenté.

Aussi, entre les personnes qui ont reçu un traitement psychiatrique à l'hôpital il existe de modestes associations entre suicide et profession, mais pas pour les médecins, qui courent un risque beaucoup plus marqué, jusqu'à quatre fois plus élevé.

Enfin, la combinaison de situations à stress élevé et d'accès à des moyens de suicide mortels, tels que des armes à feu ou des médicaments, constitue également un indicateur de certains groupes professionnels. Parmi tous les médecins, un risque encore plus grand pour les anesthésistes a été évalué d’avoir facilement accès aux médicaments anesthésiques. Ces études sont reflétées par les résultats obtenus par d'autres groupes à haut risque tels que les dentistes, les pharmaciens, les vétérinaires et les agriculteurs (Hawton, K. 2009).

Un métier très sacrifié

Après avoir élaboré un document de consensus parmi les experts pour évaluer l’état des connaissances sur la dépression et le suicide chez les médecins, il a été conclu que: la culture traditionnelle de la médecine accorde peu d'importance à la santé mentale du médecin malgré la preuve qu'ils présentent une prévalence élevée de troubles de l'humeur non traités de manière adéquate. Les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les médecins qui cherchent de l’aide sont généralement la crainte de la stigmatisation sociale et de leur carrière, ce qui les retarde jusqu’à ce que le trouble mental devienne chronique et se complique avec d’autres pathologies.

Les facteurs étiopathogéniques pouvant expliquer l’augmentation du risque de suicide sont les suivants: mauvaise adaptation ou manque de ressources pour faire face aux risques inhérents à l’activité clinique, tels que le stress inhérent à la même activité clinique, le harcèlement et le harcèlement. l’épuisement professionnel, ainsi que les pressions institutionnelles (coupures, calendriers et quarts de travail forcés, manque de soutien, recours en justice pour faute professionnelle).

Il a été recommandé de changer les attitudes professionnelles et les politiques institutionnelles pour encourager les médecins à demander de l'aide lorsqu'ils en ont besoin et pour aider leurs collègues à les reconnaître et à les traiter lorsqu'ils en ont besoin. Les médecins ils sont aussi vulnérables à la dépression que la population en général , mais ils cherchent de l’aide dans une moindre mesure et les taux de suicide fini sont plus élevés (Centre et al., 2003).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Médecine et sécurité au travail. Version imprimée ISSN 0465-546X Med. Segur. trab. vol.59 n ° 231 Madrid, avril-juin. 2013
  • Suicide et psychiatrie. Recommandations préventives et gestion du comportement suicidaire. Bobes García J, Giner Ubago J, Saiz Ruiz J, éditeurs. Madrid: Triacastela; 2011
  • //afsp.org/
  • //www.doctorswithdepression.org/

Thanatopracteur : la mort, c'est son métier ! - Vis ma vie (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes