yes, therapy helps!
Speak in public and overcome stage fear, in 8 steps

Speak in public and overcome stage fear, in 8 steps

May 6, 2021

Many people have serious difficulties speaking in public , because they feel stage fright when speaking in front of an audience.

This type of anxiety can produce great discomfort, which affects their self-confidence and the perception they have of their own abilities. But not everyone feels bad when speaking in public. There are individuals who enjoy the attention and feel very comfortable when communicating in front of a group of people. What do these people do to feel this good in a seemingly tense situation?

Tips for public speaking

If you are one of the people that speaking in public is complicated, The tips shown below can help you feel more confident and leave behind the fears of speaking in front of an audience. You should know that the fear you feel is a normal response of your nervous system, and that learning to speak in public is possible based on practice and a little courage.


1. Prepare well what you have to say

If you have to make a speech for your best friend's wedding or you have to make a presentation for your final year project, Prepare well what you say can help you gain confidence in yourself .

Therefore, investigate well what you are going to say so that you can master the subject. Prepare that speech so that you have an idea of ​​what you are going to say, and it will be much easier for you to remember and express your ideas in a clear and fluid way.

2. Practice it, practice as many times as necessary

But preparing what you say in public may not make much sense if you do not practice . In addition to organizing information and structuring both on paper and mentally what you want to express, practice it will be very useful when it comes to gaining tranquility and confidence.


It is clear that practicing requires time, but every time you practice you will realize that you have improved. When you have to make that presentation or speech, everything will be more fluid and you will be more comfortable. If you want feedback, It is highly recommended that you practice in front of family or friends who can give you their opinion . You can also videotape yourself to see how you do it. The same surprises you in a positive way.

3. Focus on breathing

Focusing on breathing is one of the most used techniques to reduce anxiety. Therefore, if you have a command over your breathing, it is possible that you control the times better.

When you focus your attention on breathing your voice will sound better and you will be calmer. Breathe calmly and pay attention to the rhythm you impose when talking .

4. Attend classes to learn to speak in public

Public speaking training will help you become more aware of what you do right or wrong and what you can improve. Not only that, but you will discover what is the "art of public speaking" .


If you shape yourself properly, you will master body language, you will know how to use your voice more efficiently and you will learn different techniques that will allow you to feel better and more confident when facing the audience.

5. Admit that you are nervous

One of the best ways to overcome the fear of speaking in public is to admit it . It is normal to feel some tension when you have to speak in front of a group of people you do not know.

But iron out the matter and apply the above advice. Acceptance helps reduce anxiety and helps you not be so hard on yourself. Do not be such a perfectionist, give yourself time and do not demand so much .

Maybe you're interested: "Perfectionist personality: the disadvantages of perfectionism"

6. Change your audience mentally

People feel anxiety about how we evaluate the events that happen to us . So if we take the presentation as something in which life goes, because we are evaluated by a group of experts and we play our final score, it is very likely that our anxiety increases.

Maybe you can convince yourself that your audience is just a group of students who are just as nervous as you are, or maybe you can imagine that they are friends that you have not seen for years . That way you will not put extra pressure when speaking in public.

7. Lean on visual aids

Imagine that you make a presentation with a PowerPoint very worked and pleasant to the eye or make it with notes delivered to each member of the audience.

This will make the audience not so watchful to look at you and, in addition, will allow you to lean on these visual aids to guide you and take your pressure off .

8. Take it as a fun experience

To feel more comfortable speaking in public, the first thing you should do is change the attitude and turn fear into something stimulating , and if it can be, even fun.

This is the most important advice, since if you are comfortable and you take this experience as something fun, it is likely that the audience will connect with you. The fun hooks . So if you can, get a little bit of your sense of humor out. You will see how it will be well received.


8 Ways to Overcome Stage Fright-How to Get Over Stage Fright and Performance Anxiety (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Parlez en public et surmontez la peur de la scène en 8 étapes

Parlez en public et surmontez la peur de la scène en 8 étapes

Janvier 27, 2023

Beaucoup de gens ont de sérieuses difficultés à parler en public , parce qu’ils ont le trac quand ils parlent devant un public.

Ce type d'anxiété peut produire un grand inconfort, ce qui affecte leur confiance en soi et la perception qu'ils ont de leurs propres capacités. Mais tout le monde ne se sent pas mal en parlant en public. Certaines personnes apprécient l'attention et se sentent très à l'aise pour communiquer devant un groupe de personnes. Que font ces personnes pour se sentir aussi bien dans une situation apparemment tendue?

Conseils pour parler en public

Si vous êtes une des personnes qui parle en public est compliqué, Les conseils ci-dessous peuvent vous aider à vous sentir plus en confiance et laisser derrière eux la peur de parler devant un public. Vous devez savoir que la peur que vous ressentez est une réponse normale de votre système nerveux et que l'apprentissage de la parole en public est possible grâce à la pratique et à un peu de courage.


1. Préparez bien ce que vous avez à dire

Si vous devez faire un discours pour le mariage de votre meilleur ami ou si vous devez faire une présentation pour votre projet de dernière année, Bien préparer ce que tu dis peut t'aider à prendre confiance en toi .

Par conséquent, étudiez bien ce que vous allez dire pour pouvoir maîtriser le sujet. Préparez ce discours pour que vous ayez une idée de ce que vous allez dire, et il vous sera beaucoup plus facile de vous souvenir et d'exprimer vos idées de manière claire et fluide.

2. Pratiquez-le, pratiquez autant de fois que nécessaire

Mais préparer ce que vous dites en public n’a pas vraiment de sens si vous ne pratiquez pas . En plus d’organiser des informations et de structurer à la fois sur papier et sur le plan mental ce que vous souhaitez exprimer, sa pratique sera très utile pour gagner en tranquillité et en confiance.


Il est clair que la pratique demande du temps, mais chaque fois que vous pratiquez, vous réaliserez que vous vous êtes amélioré. Lorsque vous devrez faire votre exposé ou votre discours, tout sera plus fluide et vous serez plus à l'aise. Si tu veux commentaires, Il est fortement recommandé de pratiquer devant des membres de la famille ou des amis qui peuvent vous donner leur avis. . Vous pouvez également vous enregistrer sur vidéo pour voir comment vous le faites. La même chose vous surprend de manière positive.

3. Se concentrer sur la respiration

Se concentrer sur la respiration est l’une des techniques les plus utilisées pour réduire l’anxiété. Par conséquent, si vous maîtrisez votre respiration, il est possible que vous contrôliez mieux les temps.

Lorsque vous concentrez votre attention sur le fait de respirer, votre voix sera meilleure et vous serez plus calme. Respirez calmement et faites attention au rythme que vous imposez lorsque vous parlez .

4. Assistez aux cours pour apprendre à parler en public

La formation à la parole en public vous aidera à prendre conscience de ce que vous faites, bien ou mal, et de ce que vous pouvez améliorer. Non seulement cela, mais vous découvrirez ce qu'est "l'art de parler en public" .


Si vous vous formez correctement, vous maîtriserez le langage corporel, vous saurez utiliser votre voix plus efficacement et vous apprendrez différentes techniques qui vous permettront de vous sentir mieux et plus confiant face à l'auditoire.

5. Admettez que vous êtes nerveux

L’un des meilleurs moyens de surmonter la peur de parler en public est de l’admettre. . Il est normal de ressentir une certaine tension lorsque vous devez parler devant un groupe de personnes que vous ne connaissez pas.

Mais résolvez le problème et appliquez les conseils ci-dessus. L'acceptation aide à réduire l'anxiété et vous aide à ne pas être trop dur avec vous-même. Ne soyez pas aussi perfectionniste, donnez-vous du temps et n'exigez pas autant .

Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Personnalité perfectionniste: les inconvénients du perfectionnisme"

6. Changez votre public mentalement

Les gens sont inquiets de la façon dont nous évaluons les événements qui nous arrivent . Donc, si nous prenons la présentation comme un élément de la vie, parce que nous sommes évalués par un groupe d’experts et que nous jouons notre score final, il est très probable que notre anxiété augmente.

Peut-être pouvez-vous vous convaincre que votre public n’est qu’un groupe d’étudiants aussi nerveux que vous, ou peut-être pouvez-vous imaginer qu'ils sont des amis que vous n'avez pas vus depuis des années . De cette façon, vous ne ferez pas une pression supplémentaire lorsque vous vous exprimerez en public.

7. Appuyez-vous sur les aides visuelles

Imaginez que vous fassiez une présentation avec une présentation PowerPoint très travaillée et agréable à regarder ou que vous la fassiez avec des notes livrées à chaque membre du public.

Cela rendra le public moins attentif à vous regarder et, en plus, vous permettra de vous appuyer sur ces aides visuelles pour vous guider et vous soulager .

8. Prends ça comme une expérience amusante

Pour vous sentir plus à l'aise en public, la première chose à faire est de: changer d'attitude et transformer la peur en quelque chose de stimulant , et si cela peut être, même amusant.

C'est le conseil le plus important, car si vous êtes à l'aise et que vous considérez cette expérience comme quelque chose d'amusant, il est probable que le public communiquera avec vous. Les crochets amusants . Alors, si vous le pouvez, évoquez un peu votre sens de l'humour. Vous verrez comment il sera bien reçu.


Comment SURMONTER la PEUR de parler en PUBLIC et vous AMUSER sur scène :) (99/365) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes