yes, therapy helps!
Microchimerism: other cells living in our body

Microchimerism: other cells living in our body

July 19, 2024

Most of us know that during pregnancy, the mother is transmitting different substances such as food and oxygen to the fetus. They allow the latter to nourish and survive. In this transmission, the fetus receives cells from the mother, which participate in its survival, growth and maturation. But since the late nineties it has been detected that the transmission of genetic information is not unidirectional, but it is possible to find that the baby's cells also pass and interact with those of the mother in the mother's body. In other words, something called microchimerism occurs .

  • Related article: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

Microchimerism: cells in a foreign body

The concept of microchimerism refers to that situation in which a person or creature It has cells of other individuals in its organism , having in its interior a small percentage of DNA different from its own. These cells establish a relationship with the genetically characteristic of the subject, being able to create a link between both cell types, which leads to both positive and negative consequences.


Microchimerism occurs in both humans and other animal species , like rodents or dogs. It is a mechanism that probably existed for millions of years, although it was discovered at the end of the last century.

The natural microchimerism

Although the first signs of this phenomenon were discovered through the performance of transplants in animals, the microchimerism that most often occurs in nature between two multicellular organisms is the one that occurs during pregnancy .

During pregnancy, mother and child are connected by the umbilical cord and the placenta, and through this connection they exchange some cells that pass into the body of the other and become integrated into it. It is suspected that it has a greater incidence than thought and even some experts consider that it occurs in all pregnancies. Specifically, it has been found that from the fourth week of gestation and Fetal cells can be found in the maternal organism , and in general it is considered that from the seventh week it can be identified in all pregnancies.


This relationship between mother and child cells is not transient and is lost after a few months or years after birth: the presence of the child's cells has been observed in the mother's body for more than twenty years after giving birth . These cells expand throughout the body, being in heart, liver or even brain and interacting with the cells of the subject.

The cells from the other organism come to be integrated into the structures and tissues , including the nervous system. Different experts have wondered about the effect that these cells can have on the behavior, being possible that it is also associated with the emergence of affection between mother and child. One could speculate on the fact that part of the DNA itself is in the other can imply a higher rate of protection at the behavioral level, generating a higher level of connection and the perception of greater similarity.


It is relevant the fact that it is not even necessary that the pregnancy comes to fruition for this cell exchange to take place: even in women who have lost the baby the existence of cells with a different DNA has been found, which seems to correspond with that of the baby.

The studies carried out at the moment have been carried out generally in mothers who have given birth to male children. It is not that microquimerism does not happen between mother and daughter, but it is much easier to locate cells with the sexual chromosome Y in a female body instead of trying to differentiate two XX cells.

  • Related article: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Effects on the mother

It can be logical to think that in the interaction that takes place between mother and child, it will be the cells of the mother that will provide beneficial effects to the baby, since the mother's organism is already formed and the baby's body is in the process of being trained. But the truth is that the transmission of cells by the baby to his mother also can have great effects on your health .

It has been proven, for example, that fetal cells usually contribute to healing wounds and internal injuries, as well as to participate in the reduction of symptoms of disorders such as pain in osteoarthritis both at the time of pregnancy and in the long term. It also improves the immune system and facilitates the development of future pregnancies.

It has also been proposed that the presence of these cells may help to explain why women have a greater capacity for resistance and a longer life expectancy, noting that many women who had given birth and possessed these microchemical cells usually have a better hope of life. life (possibly due to an improvement of the autoimmune system, although this is mere speculation at the moment). It has also been detected that it reduces the likelihood of cancer and that tend to participate in tissue regeneration , observing its involvement in the recovery of cardiac or hepatic diseases.

However, microchimerism can also affect negatively.It has been observed that the immune system of some women react to these cells as if they were invasive, linked to the emergence of some autoimmune diseases. These are more common in the mother than in the fetus. They could also be linked to some types of cancer , although its existence itself is a protective factor against this type of disease.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of cancer: definition, risks and how they are classified"

Effects on the baby

The transmission of cells from the mother makes the organism of the future baby has a great importance for this. Interestingly, it is the microchimerism that has received less attention, focusing more on the effects of this transmission with the mother. A probable explanation for this is the difficulty of establishing differences between what the organism itself and the subject's cells achieve per se and the concrete influence of the maternal cells.

It has been detected that the presence of maternal cells in the body of the son or daughter help, for example, diabetic children to fight against his condition. On the other hand, this transmission has also been linked to the emergence of diseases such as severe immunodeficiency, neonatal lupus syndrome, dermatomyositis and biliary atresia.

Acquired microquimerism

As we have indicated, microchimerism occurs naturally during pregnancy, this being the main form of existing microchimerism but also during this process it is possible to find this phenomenon in other types of situations, being able to talk about an acquired microquimerism .

We are talking about the performance of organ and tissue transplants or blood transfusions, in which a part or a product of a certain organism is inserted in another. The donated organ or blood contains the donor's DNA, which enters interacts with the body of the subject that receives it said organ . In this case the relationship is not symbiotic between individuals, since it is the one who receives the donation who receives the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

However, this type of microchimerism has its risks, since the body can recognize the foreign DNA as something external that is invading and react by attacking, which would lead to the rejection of the organ, tissue or blood. That is why it is important to take into account the blood type and the compatibility between donor and recipient, as well as the use of medication that allows such rejection to not occur.

For this, the administration of drugs that reduce the role of the alloreactive T cells (ie, the lymphocytes that react to the presence of DNA other than their own) should be used, in order to facilitate the emergence of graft tolerance. A common way to do this is to inhibit the replication of these lymphocytes.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carter, A. and Fuggle, S. (1999). Detection of microchimism after blood transfusion and solid organ transplantation: A delicate balance between sensitivity and specificity. Transplantation Reviews, 13, 98-108.
  • Khosrotehrani, K .; Johnson, K.L .; Cha, D.H .; Salomon, R.N. & Bianchi, D.W. (2004). Transfer of fetal cells with multilineage potential to maternal tissue. Journal of the American Medical Association 292 (1): 75-80.
  • Quirós, J.L. and Arce, I.C. (2010). Natural microchimerism Is there a human with several genomes? Bibliographic review. Legal Medicine of Costa Rica, 27 (1). Heredia, Costa Rica.
  • Rodríguez-Barbosa, J.I .; Domínguez-Perles, R .; del Río, M.L .; Peñuelas, G .; Valdor, R .; Source, C .; Muñoz, A .; Ramírez, P .: Pons, J.A. & Parrilla, P. (2004). Induction of tolerance in the transplant of solid organs. Gastroenterology and Hepatology, 27 (Suppl 4): 66-72. Elsevier
  • Rowland, K. (2018). We are crowds. Aeon.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Microchimérisme: autres cellules vivant dans notre corps

Microchimérisme: autres cellules vivant dans notre corps

Mai 11, 2021

La plupart d'entre nous savons que pendant la grossesse, la mère transmet différentes substances telles que la nourriture et l'oxygène au fœtus. Ils permettent à ces derniers de se nourrir et de survivre. Dans cette transmission, le fœtus reçoit des cellules de la mère qui participent à sa survie, à sa croissance et à sa maturation. Mais depuis la fin des années quatre-vingt-dix, il a été détecté que la transmission d'informations génétiques n'était pas unidirectionnelle, mais il est possible de constater que les cellules du bébé passent et interagissent également avec celles de la mère dans le corps de la mère. En d'autres termes, quelque chose appelé microchimérisme se produit .

  • Article connexe: "Comment prendre soin de soi pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 astuces"

Microchimérisme: cellules dans un corps étranger

Le concept de microchimérisme fait référence à la situation dans laquelle une personne ou une créature Il a des cellules d'autres individus dans son organisme , ayant à l’intérieur un faible pourcentage d’ADN différent du sien. Ces cellules établissent une relation avec les caractéristiques génétiques du sujet et peuvent créer un lien entre les deux types de cellules, ce qui entraîne des conséquences à la fois positives et négatives.


Le microchimérisme survient chez l'homme et d'autres espèces animales , comme les rongeurs ou les chiens. C'est un mécanisme qui existe probablement depuis des millions d'années, bien qu'il ait été découvert à la fin du siècle dernier.

Le microchimérisme naturel

Bien que les premiers signes de ce phénomène aient été découverts grâce aux performances de greffes chez les animaux, le microchimérisme qui se produit le plus souvent dans la nature entre deux organismes multicellulaires est celui qui se produit pendant la grossesse .

Pendant la grossesse, la mère et l’enfant sont reliés par le cordon ombilical et le placenta et échangent par ce biais des cellules qui passent dans le corps de l’autre et s’y intègrent. On soupçonne qu'il a une incidence plus grande que prévu et même certains experts estiment que cela se produit pendant toutes les grossesses. Plus précisément, il a été constaté que, à partir de la quatrième semaine de gestation et de Les cellules fœtales peuvent être trouvées dans l'organisme maternel et, en général, on considère qu’à partir de la septième semaine, il peut être identifié pour toutes les grossesses.


Cette relation entre les cellules de la mère et de l'enfant n'est pas transitoire et se perd quelques mois ou quelques années après la naissance: la présence des cellules de l'enfant a été observée dans le corps de la mère pendant plus de vingt ans après l'accouchement. . Ces cellules se développent dans tout le corps, qu'elles soient dans le cœur, le foie ou même le cerveau et interagissent avec les cellules du sujet.

Les cellules de l'autre organisme venir pour être intégré dans les structures et les tissus , y compris le système nerveux. Différents experts se sont interrogés sur l’effet que ces cellules peuvent avoir sur le comportement, étant donné qu’il est également associé à l’émergence d’une affection entre mère et enfant. On pourrait spéculer sur le fait qu'une partie de l'ADN lui-même est dans l'autre peut impliquer un taux de protection plus élevé au niveau comportemental, générant un niveau de connexion plus élevé et la perception d'une plus grande similarité.


Il est pertinent de noter qu'il n'est même pas nécessaire que la grossesse se concrétise pour que cet échange de cellules ait lieu: même chez les femmes qui ont perdu le bébé l'existence de cellules avec un ADN différent a été trouvée, ce qui semble correspondre à celle du bébé.

Les études menées à ce jour ont généralement été menées chez des mères ayant donné naissance à des enfants de sexe masculin. Ce n'est pas que le microquimerisme ne se produise pas entre mère et fille, mais il est beaucoup plus facile de localiser des cellules avec le chromosome sexuel Y dans un corps de femme au lieu d'essayer de différencier deux cellules XX.

  • Article connexe: "Types de cellules principales du corps humain"

Effets sur la mère

Il peut être logique de penser que dans l'interaction entre la mère et l'enfant, ce sont les cellules de la mère qui apporteront des effets bénéfiques au bébé, puisque l'organisme de la mère est déjà formé et que le corps du bébé est en cours de formation. Mais la vérité est que la transmission de cellules par le bébé à sa mère a également peut avoir de grands effets sur votre santé .

Il a été prouvé, par exemple, que les cellules fœtales contribuent généralement à la guérison des plaies et des lésions internes, ainsi qu’à la réduction des symptômes de troubles tels que la douleur liée à l’arthrose, à la fois pendant la grossesse et à long terme. Il améliore également le système immunitaire et facilite le développement de grossesses futures.

Il a également été suggéré que la présence de ces cellules pourrait aider à expliquer pourquoi les femmes ont une plus grande capacité de résistance et une espérance de vie plus longue, notant que beaucoup de femmes qui ont accouché et possèdent ces cellules microchimiques ont généralement un meilleur espoir de vie. vie (probablement en raison d’une amélioration du système auto-immunitaire, bien que ce ne soit qu’une pure spéculation pour le moment). Il a également été détecté que cela réduit la probabilité de cancer et que ont tendance à participer à la régénération des tissus , en observant son implication dans le rétablissement des maladies cardiaques ou hépatiques.

Cependant, le microchimérisme peut également avoir un effet négatif.Il a été observé que le système immunitaire de certaines femmes réagissait à ces cellules comme si elles étaient invasives, liées à l’émergence de certaines maladies auto-immunes. Celles-ci sont plus courantes chez la mère que chez le fœtus. Ils pourraient également être liés à certains types de cancer , bien que son existence même soit un facteur de protection contre ce type de maladie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Les types de cancer: définition, risques et classification"

Effets sur le bébé

La transmission des cellules de la mère fait de l'organisme du futur bébé une grande importance pour cela. Fait intéressant, c'est le microchimérisme qui a reçu moins d'attention, en se concentrant davantage sur les effets de cette transmission à la mère. Une explication probable de cette situation est la difficulté d'établir des différences entre ce que l'organisme lui-même et les cellules du sujet réalisent en soi et l'influence concrète des cellules maternelles.

Il a été détecté que la présence de cellules maternelles dans le corps du fils ou de la fille aidant, par exemple, les enfants diabétiques lutter contre son état. D'autre part, cette transmission a également été liée à l'émergence de maladies telles que le déficit immunitaire sévère, le syndrome de lupus néonatal, la dermatomyosite et l'atrésie biliaire.

Microquimerisme acquis

Comme nous l'avons indiqué, le microchimérisme se produit naturellement pendant la grossesse. Il s'agit de la principale forme de microchimérisme existant, mais il est également possible de retrouver ce phénomène dans d'autres types de situation. être capable de parler d'un microquimerisme acquis .

Nous parlons de la performance des greffes d’organes et de tissus ou des transfusions sanguines, dans lesquelles une partie ou un produit d’un certain organisme est inséré dans un autre. L’organe ou le sang donné contient l’ADN du donneur, qui entre interagit avec le corps du sujet qui le reçoit, dit organe . Dans ce cas, la relation n'est pas symbiotique entre les individus, puisque c'est celui qui reçoit le don qui bénéficie des avantages et des inconvénients de ce phénomène.

Cependant, ce type de microchimérisme a ses risques, car le corps peut reconnaître l'ADN étranger comme quelque chose d'extérieur qui envahit et réagir en attaquant, ce qui conduirait au rejet de l'organe, du tissu ou du sang. C'est pourquoi il est important de prendre en compte le groupe sanguin et la compatibilité entre le donneur et le receveur, ainsi que l'utilisation de médicaments permettant d'éviter un tel rejet.

Pour cela, l'administration de médicaments réduisant le rôle des lymphocytes T alloréactifs (c'est-à-dire des lymphocytes réagissant à la présence d'ADN autre que le leur) devrait être utilisée afin de faciliter l'émergence d'une tolérance au greffon. Une méthode courante consiste à inhiber la réplication de ces lymphocytes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carter, A. et Fuggle, S. (1999). Détection de microchimisme après transfusion sanguine et transplantation d’organe solide: un équilibre délicat entre sensibilité et spécificité. Transplantation Reviews, 13, 98-108.
  • Khosrotehrani, K .; Johnson, K.L .; Cha, D.H .; Salomon, R.N. & Bianchi, D.W. (2004). Transfert de cellules foetales présentant un potentiel de lignées multiples dans les tissus maternels. Journal de l'American Medical Association 292 (1): 75-80.
  • Quirós, J.L. et Arce, I.C. (2010). Microchimérisme naturel Y a-t-il un humain à plusieurs génomes? Revue de la littérature. Médecine légale du Costa Rica, 27 (1). Heredia, Costa Rica.
  • Rodríguez-Barbosa, J.I .; Domínguez-Perles, R; del Río, M.L .; Peñuelas, G .; Valdor, R .; Source, C .; Muñoz, A .; Ramírez, P.: Pons, J.A. & Parrilla, P. (2004). Induction de la tolérance lors de la greffe d'organes solides. Gastroenterology and Hepatology, 27 (Suppl 4): 66-72. Elsevier
  • Rowland, K. (2018). Nous sommes des foules. Aeon.

Les chimères de la Science - In Cellulo #10 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes