yes, therapy helps!
How much smarter, less religious?

How much smarter, less religious?

November 27, 2021

The construct of intelligence is one of the great triumphs of scientific psychology and, at the same time, a subject that generates great debates and controversies.

When this type of discussion includes the religion , the mixture is explosive. Especially if it is based on a meta-analysis published in the journal Personality and Social Psychology Review, whose conclusions point to the fact that the most intelligent people tend to be, also, less believers than the rest. At least, that's what the statistics show.

Related article: "The people" of the left "are more intelligent"

How does the study was realized?

This investigation is an analysis of a multitude of studies already done on intelligence and belief in religions . That is, it is a kind of summary in which a conclusion is offered that includes the results of many investigations that deal with a similar topic.


Specifically, to obtain the results, 63 studies were selected that approach a somewhat different topic from a somewhat different approach: the relationship between the IQ (or, in some cases, the performance on exams) and the degree to which people believe in a religion , in various parts of the planet. With this data, the scientists synthesized all the information obtained about the different variables and compared the results on both scales.

The results

Of the 63 studies, 33 showed a negative correlation between intelligence and religiosity statistically significant . That is to say, that in these investigations a general tendency had been detected that the most intelligent people were less religious. In another 10 cases, the correlation was positive, since they revealed an inverse trend to the rest.


Why does this happen?

The researchers propose three explanations, although none of them has been put to the test (since that was not the objective of the study).

The first explanation highlights the fact that the most intelligent people are also the most curious and most likely to question certain rules and thought patterns imposed from outside. In this sense, it is easy for someone with a high level of intellectual quotient to reject certain ideas from the religious tradition and prefer to "go it alone" with regard to explanations about reality, especially if in the society in which Live religious orthodoxy is very strong.

The second explanation relates a high intelligence to the tendency to think logically and base their beliefs on empirical tests. That is, the most intelligent people would tend to resist ideas that can not be rejected or validated through traditional logic and analytical thinking.


The third explanation, and perhaps the most interesting one, is born from the idea that, although religion has been useful for humanity throughout great stages of our history, there are more and more people whose mental capacities make unnecessary the belief in a beyond . That is to say, that intelligence is replacing religion in the functions it once fulfilled: providing an explanation about the world, giving an orderly and predictable vision of reality, and even generating well-being through self-esteem and a feeling of lace in society.

Does that mean that if I am a believer I am less intelligent?

Not at all. This investigation it is still a meta-analysis whose objective is to detect statistical trends , which means that only patterns that are visible in a very large number of people are described.

In addition, there is something that always has to be taken into account: Correlation does not imply causality . This means that less believers can be statistically more ready simply because, for social and economic reasons, they tend to live in richer societies than the rest, which means that they have enjoyed a better quality of education and health than the rest. The intelligence, remember, does not exist isolated from the physical world, and if it can not develop well because of a context full of deficiencies, this will be reflected in the IQ tests.

However, it must be borne in mind that in this meta-study the influence of three relevant variables was isolated at the time of seeing the relationship between religiosity and intelligence. These variables were sex, level of education and race.

Bibliographic references:

  • Zuckerman, M., Silberman, J and Hall, J. A. (2013). The Relation Between Intelligence and Religiosity. A Meta-Analysis and Some Proposed Explanations. Personality and Social Psychology Review, 17 (4), pp. 325-354.

Are Atheists Smarter Than Religious People? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Combien plus intelligent, moins religieux?

Combien plus intelligent, moins religieux?

Juillet 23, 2019

La construction de l'intelligence est l'un des grands triomphes de la psychologie scientifique et, en même temps, un sujet qui génère de grands débats et controverses.

Lorsque ce type de discussion inclut la la religion , le mélange est explosif. Surtout si elle est basée sur une méta-analyse publiée dans la revue Personality and Social Psychology Review, dont les conclusions montrent que les personnes les plus intelligentes ont tendance à être moins croyantes que les autres. Du moins, c'est ce que montrent les statistiques.

Article connexe: "Le peuple" de gauche "est plus intelligent"

Comment s'est déroulée l'étude?

Cette enquête est une analyse d’une multitude d’études déjà réalisées sur l’intelligence et les convictions religieuses . En d’autres termes, c’est une sorte de résumé dans lequel une conclusion est proposée, qui inclut les résultats de nombreuses enquêtes portant sur un sujet similaire.


Plus précisément, pour obtenir les résultats, 63 études ont été sélectionnées qui abordent un sujet quelque peu différent d’une approche légèrement différente: la relation entre le QI (ou, dans certains cas, la performance aux examens) et le degré de confiance des gens en une religion. , dans diverses parties de la planète. Avec ces données, les scientifiques ont synthétisé toutes les informations obtenues sur les différentes variables et comparé les résultats sur les deux échelles.

Les résultats

Sur les 63 études, 33 ont montré une corrélation négative entre intelligence et religiosité statistiquement significative . C'est-à-dire que dans ces enquêtes une tendance générale avait été détectée que les personnes les plus intelligentes étaient moins religieuses. Dans 10 autres cas, la corrélation était positive, car ils révélaient une tendance inverse au reste.


Pourquoi cela se produit-il?

Les chercheurs proposent trois explications, mais aucune n’a été mise à l’épreuve (ce n’était pas l’objectif de l’étude).

La première explication met en évidence le fait que les personnes les plus intelligentes sont aussi les plus curieuses et les plus susceptibles de remettre en question certaines règles et certains modes de pensée imposé de l'extérieur. En ce sens, il est facile pour une personne ayant un quotient intellectuel élevé de rejeter certaines idées de la tradition religieuse et de préférer "faire cavalier seul" en ce qui concerne les explications sur la réalité, surtout si dans la société dans laquelle Vivre l'orthodoxie religieuse est très fort.

La deuxième explication relie une intelligence élevée à la tendance à penser de manière logique et à fonder leurs croyances sur des tests empiriques. Autrement dit, les personnes les plus intelligentes auraient tendance à résister aux idées qui ne peuvent être ni rejetées ni validées par la logique traditionnelle et la pensée analytique.


La troisième explication, et peut-être la plus intéressante, découle de l’idée que, bien que la religion ait été utile à l’humanité tout au long des grandes étapes de notre histoire, de plus en plus de personnes dont les capacités mentales rendent inutile la croyance en un au-delà . En d'autres termes, l'intelligence remplace la religion dans les fonctions qu'elle remplissait autrefois: fournir une explication du monde, donner une vision ordonnée et prévisible de la réalité et même générer un bien-être grâce à l'estime de soi et à un sentiment de dentelle dans la société.

Cela signifie-t-il que si je suis croyant, je suis moins intelligent?

Pas du tout. Cette enquête c'est toujours une méta-analyse dont l'objectif est de détecter les tendances statistiques , ce qui signifie que seuls les motifs visibles chez un très grand nombre de personnes sont décrits.

De plus, il y a toujours quelque chose à prendre en compte: La corrélation n'implique pas la causalité . Cela signifie que moins de croyants peuvent être statistiquement plus prêts simplement parce que, pour des raisons sociales et économiques, ils ont tendance à vivre dans des sociétés plus riches que les autres, ce qui signifie qu'ils ont bénéficié d'une meilleure qualité d'éducation et de santé que les autres. Rappelez-vous que l'intelligence n'existe pas isolée du monde physique, et si elle ne peut pas bien se développer en raison d'un contexte de carences, cela se reflétera dans les tests de QI.

Cependant, il faut garder à l'esprit que dans cette méta-étude, l'influence de trois variables pertinentes était isolée au moment de voir la relation entre la religiosité et l'intelligence. Ces variables étaient le sexe, le niveau d'éducation et la race.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Zuckerman, M., Silberman, J et Hall, J.A. (2013). La relation entre intelligence et religiosité. Une méta-analyse et quelques explications proposées. Revue de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 17 (4), pp. 325-354.

Le Vodou Comme Moteur du Developpement Africain? À Faire Circuler !!! (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes