yes, therapy helps!
Buspirone: description, uses and side effects

Buspirone: description, uses and side effects

August 6, 2022

In recent years, the use of azapirones has become popular in the treatment of generalized anxiety disorder and as adjuvant drugs in problems such as depression or social phobia. In this article we will analyze therapeutic uses, side effects and contraindications of buspirone , the best known of these anxiolytics.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is buspirone?

Buspirone is a drug with anxiolytic effects that in recent years has begun to be used to treat a wide variety of psychological disorders related to emotional aspects. It is also frequently combined with other medications to enhance its therapeutic action, particularly in the case of depression.


This psychopharmaceutical is part of the group of azapirones , to which belong other medicines that contain the ending "-pirone" in its nomenclature, such as gepirone, ipsapirone or tandospirone, which is used to maximize the effectiveness of antipsychotics. In any case, buspirone is the most used and studied azapirone.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of anxiolytics: the drugs that fight anxiety"

Pharmacology and mechanism of action

The mechanism of action of buspirone depends on its high affinity with the 5-HT1A serotonergic receptors, as a result of which it exerts an antagonistic effect in this neurotransmitter. In turn, this allows a increase in dopamine and norepinephrine levels . However, its activity is complex and depends on the dose administered.


Maximum pharmacological potency occurs between 60 and 90 minutes after taking the medication. The effects decrease considerably after about 3 hours, although there are studies that indicate that the metabolization is slower, being able to take more than two weeks to completely eliminate buspirone from the organism.

Unlike other psychotropic drugs that are used for the management of anxiety, such as benzodiazepines and barbiturates, Buspirone has a low potential for addiction and dependence and it interferes to a lesser extent in the lives of the people who consume it. It is for these reasons that the popularity of this medication is increasing progressively.

  • Related article: "Dopamine: 7 essential functions of this neurotransmitter"

What is it for?

Buspirone was designed and used primarily to treat symptoms related to anxiety. However, recent research suggests that its effects on neuronal transmission may also be beneficial in psychological problems of another type.


1. Generalized anxiety disorder

The main indication of buspirone is the treatment of generalized anxiety disorder, which is characterized by excessive and uncontrollable worry and tends to cause physical symptoms, such as muscle tension, gastrointestinal difficulties and fatigue. In these cases, pharmacological therapy can take almost a month to take effect.

2. Major depression

Currently, the possibility of using buspirone as medication is being studied adjuvant to selective inhibitors of serotonin reuptake (SSRI) in the treatment of depression, especially to counteract problems in the sexual response, very common side effects of these drugs.

Also, other studies suggest that the long-term administration of buspirone may be effective in itself in relieving the symptoms of this disorder. The results are promising, although more research is required to confirm the effectiveness of these applications.

  • Related article: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

3. Attention deficit with hyperactivity

Another perspective for the use of buspirone is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, better known by its abbreviation "ADHD". This alteration is related to the neurotransmission of dopamine , which could explain the good preliminary results that are being obtained in this field.

4. Sexual dysfunctions

In addition to being useful for managing the problems of excitatory and orgasmic dysfunction associated with the use of antidepressant drugs, the research suggests that buspirone could be effective in cases of hypoactive sexual desire, and not necessarily only in those with a pharmacological origin.

5. Agitation and aggressiveness

In the scientific literature we can find references to the use of buspirone in the management of alterations related to psychophysiological agitation, irritability and aggression, particularly in children and the elderly with dementia .

6. Social anxiety disorder

Some studies suggest that buspirone may also be useful in treating social phobia. However, as with depression, in this case, the drugs of choice for this disorder would be administered as a coadjuvant drug to selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors or SSRIs.

Side effects and contraindications

Among the most common side effects of buspirone they emphasize drowsiness, dizziness sensations, headaches , fatigue, nausea, abdominal pain, tachycardia, tremors, insomnia, confusion, irritability and paresthesias (abnormal sensory perceptions such as numbness, tingling or burning).

The symptoms of the previous paragraph often disappear after a few days of starting the consumption. It is advisable to consult a doctor when side effects are severe, remain after several weeks of treatment or include Notable cardiovascular problems , difficulties of motor coordination or explosions of anger, among others.

The use of buspirone in combination with drugs of the MAOI class (inhibitors of the enzyme monoamine oxidase) or in people with severe problems in the liver or kidneys, such as metabolic acidosis, more frequent in cases of diabetes is not recommended.


Buspirone or Buspar Medication Information (dosing, side effects, patient counseling) (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Buspirone: description, utilisations et effets secondaires

Buspirone: description, utilisations et effets secondaires

Septembre 26, 2022

Ces dernières années, l'utilisation d'azapirones est devenue populaire dans le traitement du trouble d'anxiété généralisé et en tant que médicaments adjuvants dans des problèmes tels que la dépression ou la phobie sociale. Dans cet article, nous analyserons usages thérapeutiques, effets secondaires et contre-indications de la buspirone , le plus connu de ces anxiolytiques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que le buspirone?

Buspirone est un médicament ayant des effets anxiolytiques que ces dernières années a commencé à être utilisé pour traiter une grande variété de troubles psychologiques liés aux aspects émotionnels. Il est également fréquemment associé à d'autres médicaments pour renforcer son action thérapeutique, en particulier dans les cas de dépression.


Ce psychopharmaceutique fait partie du groupe des azapirones , auxquels appartiennent d'autres médicaments contenant la terminaison "-pirone" dans sa nomenclature, tels que gépirone, ipsapirone ou tandospirone, qui sont utilisés pour maximiser l'efficacité des antipsychotiques. Dans tous les cas, le buspirone est l’azapirone le plus utilisé et le plus étudié.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types d'anxiolytiques: les médicaments qui combattent l'anxiété"

Pharmacologie et mécanisme d'action

Le mécanisme d'action de la buspirone dépend de sa grande affinité avec les récepteurs sérotoninergiques 5-HT1A, ce qui a pour effet d'exercer un effet antagoniste sur ce neurotransmetteur. Cela permet à son tour augmentation des niveaux de dopamine et de noradrénaline . Cependant, son activité est complexe et dépend de la dose administrée.


L'activité pharmacologique maximale se produit entre 60 et 90 minutes après la prise du médicament. Les effets diminuent considérablement après environ 3 heures, bien que certaines études indiquent que le métabolisme est plus lent et qu’il peut prendre plus de deux semaines pour éliminer complètement la buspirone de l’organisme.

Contrairement aux autres médicaments psychotropes utilisés pour la gestion de l’anxiété, tels que les benzodiazépines et les barbituriques, La buspirone a un faible potentiel de dépendance et de dépendance et il interfère dans une moindre mesure dans la vie des gens qui le consomment. C'est pour ces raisons que la popularité de ce médicament augmente progressivement.

  • Article connexe: "Dopamine: 7 fonctions essentielles de ce neurotransmetteur"

À quoi sert-il?

La buspirone a été conçue et utilisée principalement pour traiter les symptômes liés à l’anxiété. Cependant, des recherches récentes suggèrent que ses effets sur la transmission neuronale pourraient également être bénéfiques dans des problèmes psychologiques d'un autre type.


1. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé

L'indication principale de buspirone est le traitement du trouble anxieux généralisé, caractérisé par des inquiétudes excessives et incontrôlables et qui a tendance à provoquer des symptômes physiques, tels que la tension musculaire, des difficultés gastro-intestinales et la fatigue. Dans ces cas, le traitement pharmacologique peut prendre presque un mois pour prendre effet.

2. dépression majeure

Actuellement, la possibilité d'utiliser le buspirone comme médicament est à l'étude adjuvant aux inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) dans le traitement de la dépression, en particulier pour contrer les problèmes de réponse sexuelle, effets secondaires très fréquents de ces médicaments.

En outre, d’autres études suggèrent que l’administration à long terme de buspirone pourrait être efficace en soi pour soulager les symptômes de ce trouble. Les résultats sont prometteurs, mais des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour confirmer l'efficacité de ces applications.

  • Article connexe: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

3. Déficit de l'attention avec hyperactivité

Une autre perspective pour l'utilisation de la buspirone est le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention, mieux connu sous son abréviation "TDAH". Cette altération est liée à la neurotransmission de la dopamine , ce qui pourrait expliquer les bons résultats préliminaires obtenus dans ce domaine.

4. Dysfonctionnements sexuels

En plus d'être utiles pour gérer les problèmes de dysfonctionnement excitateur et orgasmique associés à l'utilisation d'antidépresseurs, la recherche suggère que la buspirone pourrait être efficace dans les cas de désir sexuel hypoactif, et pas nécessairement uniquement chez ceux d'origine pharmacologique.

5. Agitation et agressivité

Dans la littérature scientifique, on peut trouver des références à l’utilisation de la buspirone dans la gestion des altérations liées à l’agitation psychophysiologique, à l’irritabilité et à l’agressivité, en particulier chez les enfants et les personnes âgées atteintes de démence .

6. trouble d'anxiété sociale

Certaines études suggèrent que la buspirone pourrait également être utile dans le traitement de la phobie sociale. Cependant, comme dans le cas de la dépression, dans ce cas, les médicaments de choix pour ce trouble seraient administrés en tant que médicament coadjuvant à des inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la sérotonine ou à des ISRS.

Effets secondaires et contre-indications

Parmi les effets secondaires les plus courants de buspirone ils soulignent la somnolence, les sensations de vertige, les maux de tête , fatigue, nausées, douleurs abdominales, tachycardie, tremblements, insomnie, confusion, irritabilité et paresthésies (perceptions sensorielles anormales telles qu'engourdissements, fourmillements ou brûlures).

Les symptômes du paragraphe précédent disparaissent souvent quelques jours après le début de la consommation. Il est conseillé de consulter un médecin lorsque les effets secondaires sont graves, persistent après plusieurs semaines de traitement ou incluent Problèmes cardiovasculaires notables , difficultés de coordination motrice ou explosions de colère, entre autres.

L'utilisation de buspirone en association avec des médicaments de la classe des IMAO (inhibiteurs de l'enzyme monoamine oxydase) ou chez les personnes présentant de graves problèmes au foie ou aux reins, tels que l'acidose métabolique, plus fréquente dans les cas de diabète, n'est pas recommandée.


Words at War: The Hide Out / The Road to Serfdom / Wartime Racketeers (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes