yes, therapy helps!
Molding or method of successive approximations: uses and characteristics

Molding or method of successive approximations: uses and characteristics

September 27, 2022

Molding is a technique that is used to promote learning, especially in children with special needs. It was first described by the psychologist B. F. Skinner, father of operant conditioning, and was a fundamental milestone in the development of this behavioral paradigm.

In this article we will explain what is the molding, also called "method of successive approximations" because it basically consists in reinforcing a behavior selectively so that it ends up adopting a certain topography and function. We will also talk about some of the operant techniques that are usually used together with the molding.

  • Related article: "5 behavior modification techniques"

What is the molding?

Molding is a learning paradigm that is part of operant conditioning . In the context of the analysis of applied behavior, which was developed by Burrhus Frederick Skinner, behavior modeling is usually carried out through the method of differential reinforcement by successive approximations.


These procedures are based on the progressive modification of an existing response in the behavioral repertoire of the subject who learns. By selectively reinforcing behaviors that are more and more similar to those to be established, these are strengthened while those that are less precise tend to be extinguished due to the lack of contingency with reinforcements.

A) Yes, the fundamental mechanism of these behavioral techniques is the reinforcement , particularly the differential type. Since the mid-twentieth century we know that it is more efficient to focus the processes of instruction in the reinforcement of desirable behaviors than in the punishment of other incorrect ones, both for ethical and for other purely practical reasons.


Molding is one of the operant techniques that serve to develop behaviors. In this sense, it is similar to chaining, in which learning consists of combining simple behaviors present in the subject's repertoire with the aim of forming complex behavioral chains, such as starting a vehicle or playing a musical instrument.

A special variant of this working paradigm is self-molding, in which a conditioned stimulus is matched as another unconditioned without the behavior of the learning subject influencing the process. So, Self-molding is not included within operant or skinnerian conditioning but the classic or Pavlovian.

The method of successive approximations

To apply the shaping and the method of successive approximations it is necessary first of all to determine what is the final behavior that the subject must learn to execute. Next, their repertoire of answers is evaluated, usually through behavioral tests, to identify one that could be a good starting point for learning.


In particular, the objective is select a behavior that the subject can carry out without problem and that it resembles as much as possible the objective response, both in its topographical aspect (eg, the type of muscular movements involved) and in the functional one; This term refers to the goal or function that meets a certain behavior.

The next step is to determine the steps that will lead from the initial behavior to the final one, that is, the successive approximations to the objective behavior . It is advisable to test the sequence before applying it and, if necessary, it is also convenient to review it during the molding process in order to enhance its effectiveness.

Molding has been used successfully in a large number of different applications. Among the most relevant are special education (such as cases of autism and functional diversity in general), motor rehabilitation after injuries and sexual dysfunctions; The Masters and Johnson method to treat erectile dysfunction is a good example.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

Operant techniques associated

In general, the modeling is not applied in isolation, but in a context of broader intervention: the paradigm of operant conditioning, and in particular in the analysis of applied behavior, which was developed by Skinner and in which originally many of the operating techniques that we know today. This was based on associating certain actions with the stimuli produced by the effects that this behavior has when applied to the environment.

To enhance the effectiveness of the successive approximation method, usually combined with other operating procedures . In this sense, it is worth mentioning the application of discriminative stimuli that inform the subject that if he emits the correct behavior, he will obtain reinforcement and the progressive fading of these.

The final goal is that the target behavior be controlled by natural reinforcements, such as social ones (such as smiles and even attentive looks), and not by discriminative stimuli, which are a good way to develop behaviors but not keep them. This process can be called "transfer of stimulating control".

Other operating techniques that are often associated with molding are modeling , which consists of learning through the observation of the behavior of others, verbal instructions and physical guidance, which would occur when a psychologist moves the hands of the child who is helping to educate to indicate how to use a zipper.


Mod-01 Lec-12 Undamped and damped systems I (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Moulage ou méthode d'approximations successives: usages et caractéristiques

Moulage ou méthode d'approximations successives: usages et caractéristiques

Août 11, 2020

Le moulage est une technique utilisée pour promouvoir l'apprentissage, en particulier chez les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux. Il a été décrit pour la première fois par le psychologue B. F. Skinner, père du conditionnement opérant, et a été une étape fondamentale dans le développement de ce paradigme comportemental.

Dans cet article, nous allons expliquer qu'est-ce que le moulage, appelé aussi "méthode d'approximations successives" parce qu’il consiste essentiellement à renforcer un comportement de manière sélective pour qu’il finisse par adopter une certaine topographie et une certaine fonction. Nous parlerons également de certaines des techniques opérantes habituellement utilisées avec le moulage.

  • Article connexe: "5 techniques de modification du comportement"

Quel est le moulage?

Le moulage est un paradigme d'apprentissage qui fait partie du conditionnement opérant . Dans le contexte de l'analyse du comportement appliqué, développée par Burrhus Frederick Skinner, la modélisation du comportement est généralement effectuée par la méthode du renforcement différentiel par approximations successives.


Ces procédures sont basées sur la modification progressive d'une réponse existante dans le répertoire comportemental du sujet qui apprend. En renforçant de manière sélective les comportements qui ressemblent de plus en plus à ceux à établir, ceux-ci sont renforcés tandis que ceux qui sont moins précis tendent à s'éteindre par manque de contingence avec des renforts.

Ainsi, le mécanisme fondamental de ces techniques comportementales est le renforcement , en particulier le type différentiel. Depuis le milieu du XXe siècle, nous savons qu'il est plus efficace de centrer les processus d'instruction sur le renforcement des comportements souhaitables que sur la punition d'autres comportements incorrects, à la fois pour des raisons éthiques et purement pratiques.


Le moulage est l'une des techniques utilisées pour développer des comportements. En ce sens, cela s'apparente à un chaînage, dans lequel l'apprentissage consiste à associer des comportements simples présents dans le répertoire du sujet dans le but de former des chaînes comportementales complexes, telles que démarrer un véhicule ou jouer d'un instrument de musique.

Une variante spéciale de ce paradigme de travail est l'auto-moulage, dans lequel un stimulus conditionné est associé à un autre inconditionné sans que le comportement du sujet apprenant n'influence le processus. Pourtant, L'auto-moulage n'est pas inclus dans le conditionnement opérant ou skinnerien mais le classique ou Pavlovian.

La méthode des approximations successives

Pour appliquer la mise en forme et la méthode d'approximations successives, il faut tout d'abord déterminer quel est le comportement final que le sujet doit apprendre à exécuter. Ensuite, leur répertoire de réponses est évalué, généralement au moyen de tests de comportement, afin d'identifier celle qui pourrait constituer un bon point de départ pour l'apprentissage.


En particulier, l'objectif est sélectionner un comportement que le sujet peut effectuer sans problème et qu’elle ressemble autant que possible à la réponse objective, à la fois dans son aspect topographique (par exemple, le type de mouvements musculaires impliqués) et dans son fonctionnement; Ce terme fait référence à l’objectif ou à la fonction qui répond à un certain comportement.

La prochaine étape consiste à déterminer les étapes qui mèneront du comportement initial au dernier, c'est-à-dire les approximations successives du comportement objectif . Il est conseillé de tester la séquence avant de l’appliquer et, si nécessaire, de la revoir au cours du processus de moulage afin d’améliorer son efficacité.

Le moulage a été utilisé avec succès dans un grand nombre d'applications différentes. Parmi les plus pertinentes figurent l'éducation spéciale (comme les cas d'autisme et la diversité fonctionnelle en général), la rééducation motrice après des blessures et des dysfonctionnements sexuels; La méthode Masters et Johnson pour traiter la dysfonction érectile en est un bon exemple.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et auteurs principaux"

Techniques opérantes associées

En général, la mise en forme ne s’applique pas de manière isolée, mais dans un contexte d’intervention plus large: celui du paradigme du conditionnement opérant, et en particulier dans l’analyse du comportement appliqué, développée par Skinner et dans laquelle des techniques d'exploitation que nous connaissons aujourd'hui. Cela reposait sur l'association de certaines actions aux stimuli produits par les effets de ce comportement lorsqu'ils sont appliqués à l'environnement.

Pour améliorer l'efficacité de la méthode d'approximation successive, généralement combiné avec d'autres procédures d'exploitation . En ce sens, il convient de mentionner l’application de stimuli discriminants qui informent le sujet que s’il émet le comportement correct, il obtiendra le renforcement et l’atténuation progressive de ceux-ci.

L’objectif final est que le comportement visé soit contrôlé par des renforcements naturels, tels que des facteurs sociaux (tels que des sourires et même des regards attentifs), et non par des stimuli discriminants, qui sont un bon moyen de développer des comportements garde-les. Ce processus peut être appelé "transfert de contrôle stimulant".

D'autres techniques opératoires souvent associées au moulage sont la modélisation. , qui consiste en un apprentissage par l'observation du comportement d'autrui, des instructions verbales et une orientation physique, ce qui se produirait lorsqu'un psychologue bouge les mains de l'enfant qui aide à éduquer pour indiquer comment utiliser une fermeture à glissière.


Comment s'habiller selon sa morphologie (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes