yes, therapy helps!
Mycoplasma genitalium: symptoms, causes and treatment of this STD

Mycoplasma genitalium: symptoms, causes and treatment of this STD

July 14, 2024

Speaking of sexually transmitted diseases or infections is common nowadays, and this type of disease is one of the most widespread epidemics and the greatest challenge they pose today at a medical level. When they talk about STDs, we usually think of HIV / AIDS, gonorrhea, syphilis, chlamydia or human papillomavirus (HPV) or other problems that can be sexually transmitted, such as hepatitis. But they are not the only transmission diseases that exist.

In fact, the existence of a new venereal disease or STD has recently come to light, although it was discovered in 1980, until now it has been practically unknown and, in addition to being starting to expand, has the potential to become an antibiotic-resistant superbug. It is mycoplasma genitalium , which we are going to talk about in this article.


  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Mycoplasma genitalium: description and symptoms

It is known as mycoplasma genitalium or genital mycoplasma a a hitherto rare sexually transmitted disease and that it has recently begun to receive media attention when a spectacular increase in its prevalence is observed (nowadays it is estimated that between 1 and 2% of the population suffers it) and to be classified in 2015 as an emerging pathogen on the part of The OMS. This does not imply that it is a new disease, since its discovery dates back to 1980.

It is a disease that may appear as asymptomatic for years, although in cases where symptoms occur it usually appears between one and three weeks after infection. The symptoms of this disease can vary between men and women , although usually in both sexes it is common to share the presence of inflammations in the genitourinary tract, which causes pain when urinating or having sexual intercourse.


In the case of women other than dysuria or pain when urinating may cause pelvic pain, during sexual intercourse or even walking, redness of the urethra and inflammation of the bladder, as well as odorous flow and abnormal bleeding. In addition to this and I feel this especially important, this disease has the ability to be able to cause the loss of fertility in women, as well as premature births. They can also appear bleeding after intercourse or even ectopic pregnancies (something that can be life threatening).

In men in addition to the symptomatology in the form of pain (usually in the form of burning) when urinating is not unusual to inflame the urethra and prostate, in addition to a possible inflammation of the joints and purulent secretions by the urethra. It can cause pelvic inflammatory disease, urethritis, proctitis or pharyngitis.


In addition to all this, in people with a depressed immune system (for example, HIV-positive patients) it can have other repercussions, such as the appearance of pulmonary, bone, dermatological or joint infections .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Chlamydia: what is it, symptoms, causes and treatment of this STD"

Causes, risk population and transmission routes

Mycoplasma genitalis is a disease of bacterial origin, whose main cause is the transmission of the bacterium mycoplasma genitalium through sexual contact. This disease can be transmitted both vaginally and anally or even orally, being able to infect not only the genital tissue but also the pharynx or the anus. In addition, it can also be spread after touching the genitals of the infected person with their hands.

With regard to the existence of populations at risk, this disease can appear in both sexes and It is equally prevalent in heterosexual and homosexual couples . The population at risk would be made up of all those people who have a previous sexually transmitted disease, a person with multiple sexual partners, people who carry out high-risk sexual practices without protection or sex workers.

A little-known disease, now of concern

Although it was discovered in the United Kingdom in 1980, its low prevalence so far and its symptomatic confusion with other sexually transmitted diseases have caused the genital mycoplasma to be a little known and investigated venereal , there being very little information about it until a few years ago and being practically unknown by the population until 2015.

In fact, it is common for mycoplasma genitalium to be confused with chlamydia or sometimes with gonorrhea, although it is different infections caused by different bacteria. This makes mycoplasma genitalium difficult to treat, given that the therapeutic target would be different. Likewise, there are few specific tests to diagnose this disease and most of them are very recent and available are few hospitals and clinics. At a general level, an exudate of the patient's secretions or urine is usually collected and analyzed.

If the genital mycoplasma has suddenly started to be a cause for concern and is beginning to focus part of the scientific and social interest is for several reasons.

One of them is the seriousness and danger that this disease can have, being able to cause sterility or even causing dangerous ectopic pregnancies that could cause the death of those who suffer them. The other, which is becoming increasingly worrisome, is the fact that it has been observed that mycoplasma genitalium is able to acquire resistance to antibiotics, being able to transform into a superbacterium of very complicated elimination. In addition, in many cases there are no symptoms, or the comorbid presence or confusion with another STD such as chlamydia it can generate that you do not look for an adequate treatment.

Treatment

As a general rule, the treatment of this problem is based on taking antibiotics as the most effective method , although the fact that this type of infection can become resistant to treatment can make its resolution complex.

The most common is to use antibiotics of the macrolide family or azithromycin, which could be given during a single oral dose or a daily treatment of five days or a week. After that, it will be necessary to carry out some medical tests and analyzes in order to check if the bacteria has been eliminated.

Another of the main methods to prevent the emergence of this disease is prevention: the use of barrier methods and contraceptives , especially in the case of condoms, will prevent contagion in most cases.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arráiz, N., Colina, S., Marcucci, R., Rondón, N., Reyes, F., Bermúdez, V. and Romero, Z. (2008). Detection of Mycoplasma genitalium and correlation with clinical manifestations in a population of Zulia State, Venezuela. Chilean Journal of Infectology, 25 (4). Santiago.
  • British Association for Sexual Health and HIV. (2018) National guideline for the management of infection with Mycoplasma genitalium. July 2017. Available online at: //www.bashhguidelines.org/media/1182/bashh-mgen-guideline-2018_draft-for-consultation.pdf.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mycoplasma genitalium: symptômes, causes et traitement de cette MST

Mycoplasma genitalium: symptômes, causes et traitement de cette MST

Avril 16, 2021

Parler de maladies sexuellement transmissibles ou d'infections est courant aujourd'hui, et ce type de maladie est l'une des épidémies les plus répandues et le plus grand défi qu'elles posent aujourd'hui au niveau médical. Lorsqu'ils parlent de MST, on pense généralement au VIH / SIDA, à la gonorrhée, à la syphilis, à la chlamydia, au papillomavirus humain (VPH) ou à d'autres problèmes pouvant être transmis sexuellement, comme l'hépatite. Mais ce ne sont pas les seules maladies de transmission qui existent.

En fait, l'existence d'une nouvelle maladie vénérienne, ou MST, a récemment été mise en lumière. Bien qu'elle ait été découverte en 1980, elle était pratiquement inconnue et, en plus de commencer à se développer, pourrait devenir une superbactérie résistante aux antibiotiques. C'est mycoplasma genitalium , dont nous allons parler dans cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Mycoplasma genitalium: description et symptômes

Il est connu sous le nom de mycoplasme génitalium ou mycoplasme génital a une maladie sexuellement transmissible jusqu'ici rare et qu'il a récemment commencé à attirer l'attention des médias quand on observe une augmentation spectaculaire de sa prévalence (on estime aujourd'hui qu'entre 1 et 2% de la population en souffre) et qu'elle sera classée en 2015 comme agent pathogène émergent de la part de QUI Cela ne signifie pas qu'il s'agit d'une nouvelle maladie, car sa découverte remonte à 1980.

C'est une maladie qui peut apparaître asymptomatique pendant des années, bien que dans les cas où des symptômes apparaissent, elle apparaît généralement une à trois semaines après l'infection. Les symptômes de cette maladie peuvent varier entre les hommes et les femmes , bien que ce soit généralement le cas chez les deux sexes, il est courant de partager la présence d’inflammations dans le tractus génito-urinaire, ce qui provoque des douleurs lors de la miction ou des rapports sexuels.


Dans le cas des femmes autres que la dysurie ou la douleur lors de la miction, cela peut provoquer des douleurs pelviennes, pendant les rapports sexuels ou même la marche, des rougeurs de l'urètre et une inflammation de la vessie, ainsi que des écoulements odorants et des saignements anormaux. En plus de cela et je pense que cela est particulièrement important, cette maladie a la capacité de causer la perte de fertilité chez les femmes, ainsi que les naissances prématurées. Ils peuvent également apparaître saignant après un rapport sexuel ou même des grossesses extra-utérines (quelque chose qui peut être la vie en danger).

Chez les hommes, en plus de la symptomatologie sous la forme de douleur (généralement sous la forme de brûlure) lors de la miction n'est pas inhabituel pour enflammer l'urètre et la prostate, en plus d'une possible inflammation des articulations et des sécrétions purulentes par l'urètre. Il peut causer une maladie inflammatoire pelvienne, une urétrite, une rectite ou une pharyngite.


En plus de tout cela, chez les personnes ayant un système immunitaire déprimé (par exemple, les patients séropositifs), cela peut avoir d'autres répercussions, telles que l'apparition d'infections pulmonaires, osseuses, dermatologiques ou articulaires .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Chlamydia: de quoi s'agit-il, symptômes, causes et traitement de cette MST"

Causes, population à risque et voies de transmission

Mycoplasma genitalis est une maladie d'origine bactérienne, dont la cause principale est la transmission de la bactérie Mycoplasma genitalium par contact sexuel. Cette maladie peut être transmise par voie vaginale et anale ou même par voie orale, pouvant infecter non seulement le tissu génital, mais également le pharynx ou l'anus. En outre, il peut également se propager après avoir touché les parties génitales de la personne infectée avec ses mains.

En ce qui concerne l'existence de populations à risque, cette maladie peut apparaître chez les deux sexes et Il est également répandu chez les couples hétérosexuels et homosexuels . La population à risque serait composée de toutes les personnes atteintes d'une maladie transmissible sexuellement, d'une personne ayant plusieurs partenaires sexuels, de personnes qui se livraient à des pratiques sexuelles à haut risque sans protection ou de professionnelles du sexe.

Une maladie peu connue, maintenant préoccupante

Bien qu’il ait été découvert au Royaume-Uni en 1980, sa faible prévalence jusqu’à présent et sa confusion symptomatique avec d’autres maladies sexuellement transmissibles ont provoqué l’apparition de mycoplasmes génitaux. un vénérien peu connu et étudié , il y avait très peu d'informations à ce sujet jusqu'à il y a quelques années et pratiquement inconnu de la population jusqu'en 2015.

En fait, il est fréquent que Mycoplasma genitalium soit confondu avec la chlamydia ou parfois avec la gonorrhée, bien qu'il s'agisse d'infections différentes causées par différentes bactéries. Cela rend le mycoplasme génitalium difficile à traiter, étant donné que la cible thérapeutique serait différente. De même il y a peu de tests spécifiques pour diagnostiquer cette maladie et la plupart d'entre eux sont très récents et peu d'hôpitaux et de cliniques sont disponibles. De manière générale, un exsudat des sécrétions ou de l'urine du patient est généralement collecté et analysé.

Si le mycoplasme génital a soudainement commencé à être une cause de préoccupation et commence à se concentrer une partie de l'intérêt scientifique et social est pour plusieurs raisons.

L'un d'eux est la gravité et le danger que cette maladie peut avoir, pouvant causer la stérilité ou même causer des grossesses extra-utérines dangereuses pouvant causer la mort de celles qui en souffrent. L'autre, qui devient de plus en plus inquiétant, est le fait qu'il a été observé que le mycoplasme génitalium est capable d'acquérir une résistance aux antibiotiques, capable de se transformer en une superbactérie d'élimination très compliquée. De plus, dans de nombreux cas, il n’ya pas de symptômes, ou la présence concomitante ou la confusion avec une autre MST telle que la chlamydia cela peut engendrer que vous ne cherchiez pas un traitement adéquat.

Traitement

En règle générale, le traitement de ce problème est basé sur la prise d'antibiotiques comme méthode la plus efficace , bien que le fait que ce type d’infection puisse devenir résistant au traitement peut rendre sa résolution complexe.

Le plus courant consiste à utiliser des antibiotiques de la famille des macrolides ou de l'azithromycine, qui peuvent être administrés au cours d'une seule dose orale ou d'un traitement quotidien de cinq jours ou d'une semaine. Après cela, il faudra procéder à des tests et analyses médicaux afin de vérifier si la bactérie a été éliminée.

Une autre des méthodes principales pour prévenir l’apparition de cette maladie est la prévention: l'utilisation de méthodes de barrière et de contraceptifs , en particulier dans le cas des préservatifs, empêchera la contagion dans la plupart des cas.

Références bibliographiques:

  • N. Arráiz, S. Colina, R. Marcucci, N. Rondón, F. Reyes, V. Bermúdez et Z Romero (2008). Détection de Mycoplasma genitalium et corrélation avec les manifestations cliniques dans une population de l'État de Zulia, Venezuela. Journal chilien d'infectologie, 25 (4). Santiago.
  • Association britannique pour la santé sexuelle et le VIH. (2018) Ligne directrice nationale pour la gestion de l'infection à Mycoplasma genitalium. Juillet 2017. Disponible en ligne à l'adresse suivante: http://www.bashhguidelines.org/media/1182/bashh-mgen-guideline-2018_draft-for-consultation.pdf.

Une nouvelle infection sexuellement transmissible (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes