yes, therapy helps!
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder with psychotic episodes

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder with psychotic episodes

June 21, 2024

All people have ever had some obsessive thought, some thought, fear or doubt that we can not get out of our heads even if we want to. Also, most of us have had thoughts that do not embarrass or dislike us, like wishing someone else does not get what we want for us or the temptation to give four shouts to the unscrupulous person who is talking on the phone at the cinema. Most people do not give them more importance.

However, for those affected by an Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder these ideas generate great anxiety about their possible implications and their possible consequences, so that They try to perform different ritual actions to control their thoughts and take back control.


Most people with OCD consider and recognize that deep down these thoughts and fears have no basis that really should concern them and have no real effects on the world. Others no. Among the latter we can find cases in which obsessive ideas become delusions and may even hallucinate. Although it is something very unusual, There are cases of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder with psychotic episodes . We will discuss this in this article.

  • Related article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?"

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

It is called Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder or OCD to the condition characterized by the continued presence over time of Obsessions, mental contents or ideas that appear intrusively in the mind of the subject without it being able to control them but which are recognized as their own and which in most cases are generators of a high level of anxiety. Frequently appear with these ideas a set of acts or rituals called compulsions that are carried out in order to reduce the anxiety generated by ideas or avoid the possibility that obsessive thoughts occur or have consequences in real life.


It is one of the mental disorders that causes the greatest suffering to those who suffer it, since in most cases the subject is aware that he can not control the appearance of his thoughts and that the acts he performs as a ritual do not they have a real effect beyond a temporary and brief reassurance, which in fact reinforces the future emergence of new thoughts. In fact, a vicious circle is established between obsession and compulsion that increasingly aggravates the anxiety that the subject suffers, feeding back the symptoms of the disorder.

The sensation is of lack of control over their own thinking, or even of confinement within a dynamic from which they can not escape. Much of the problem is in fact the excessive attempt to control thought and actively avoid the appearance of the thought that generates anxiety, which indirectly reinforces its appearance. So we are faced with a disorder of egodistonic character.


It is common for there to be a certain level of magical thinking and thought-action fusion, unconsciously considering that it is possible that one's own thoughts may have an effect on real life despite recognizing at a conscious level that this is not the case.

This disorder has serious repercussions in the daily life of those who suffer it, since the repeated presence of obsessions and compulsions can require a great number of hours and limit their personal, work and academic life. Personal relationships can deteriorate , also tending the subject to isolate himself to avoid social rejection, and his performance and work and academic performance can be greatly diminished by devoting much of his attention and cognitive resources to the avoidance of obsession.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of Psychotic Disorders"

OCD with psychotic episodes: an atypical slope

In general, the subject with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder is aware and recognize that their obsessive thoughts and compulsions are not based on a real basis, may come to consider them a stupidity without being able to control them. This fact generates an even higher level of discomfort and suffering.

However, there are cases in which obsessive ideas are considered true and in which the subject is completely convinced of their veracity, not putting them in doubt and turning them into explanations of reality. In these cases the ideas can be considered delirious, acquiring OCD psychotic characteristics .

In these cases, considered and also called atypical obsessive or schizo-obsessive, it is observed that the insight necessary to detect that their behaviors have no real effect on what they intend to avoid is not present. Also in these cases Compulsions may not be experienced as annoying or egodistonic but simply as something to do, without appearing to be intrusive or forced. Another option is that the continued suffering of an obsessive idea ends up reactively triggering hallucinations or delusions as a way of trying to explain the functioning of the world or the situation experienced.

Three great possibilities

The comorbid presence of obsessive and psychotic symptomatology is not especially common, although in recent years there seems to be some increase in this joint pattern. Studies show that there are three great possibilities:

1. Obsessive disorder with psychotic symptoms

We are facing the most prototypical case of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder with psychotic episodes. In this clinical presentation, people suffering from OCD can present transient psychotic episodes derived from the transformation and elaboration of their ideas, in a comprehensible way depending on the persistence of the obsessive ideation. It would be episodes that will be produced reactively to mental wear generated by anxiety .

2. OCD with lack of insight

Another possibility of presenting an obsessive disorder with psychotic symptoms stems from, as we have said previously, the lack of capacity to perceive the non-correspondence of the obsession with reality . These subjects would have stopped seeing their ideas as anomalous and would consider that their ideas do not contain overvaluation of their influence and responsibility. Generally, they tend to have a family history of severe psychopathology, and it is not surprising that they only show anxiety in the face of the consequences of noncompliance and not the obsession itself.

3. Schizophrenia with obsessive symptoms

A third possible comorbid presentation of psychotic and obsessive symptoms occurs in a context in which obsessive-compulsive disorder does not really exist. It would be those patients with schizophrenia that during the disease or already before the presence of psychotic symptoms present obsessive characteristics, with repetitive ideas that they can not control and some compulsiveness in his performance. It is also possible that some obsessive symptoms appear induced by the use of antipsychotics.

What causes this disorder?

The causes of any type of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, both those with psychotic characteristics and those that do not, are largely unknown. However, there are different hypotheses in this regard, considering that the OCD is not due to a single cause but because it has a multifactorial origin.

At a medical and neurological level , through neuroimaging it has been possible to observe the presence of a hyperactivation of the frontal lobe and the limbic system, as well as an affectation of the serotoninergic systems (reason for which the pharmacological treatment is usually based on antidepressants in those patients who need it) and dopaminergic The implication in this disorder of the basal ganglia has also been observed. With regard to those modalities of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder with psychotic episodes, it has been observed that level of neuroimaging tend to have a smaller left hippocampus.

At a psychosocial level, OCD is more frequent in people with a sensitive nature who have received an education or excessively rigid or very permissive, which has generated in them the need to have control of their own thoughts and behavior. They tend to be hyper-responsible for what happens around them and have a high level of doubt and / or guilt. Nor is it uncommon to suffer bullying or some type of abuse that has led them to need, initially in an adaptive way for them, to control their thoughts. The association with psychotic symptoms may also be due to the condition of traumas or experiences that have generated a rupture with reality , together with a predisposition to this type of symptomatology.

An existing hypothesis regarding the operation of TOC is the bifactor theory of Mowrer , which proposes that the cycle of obsessions and compulsions is maintained by a double conditioning. In the first place there is a classical conditioning in which thought is associated with the anxious response that in turn generates the need to flee from it, and then through operant conditioning to maintain the behavior of avoidance or escape through compulsion. Thus, compulsion is associated with the reduction of immediate discomfort, but has no effect on the real aversive stimulus (the content of thought). In this way it is not prevented but in fact facilitates the appearance of future obsessive thoughts.

Bibliographic references

  • American Psychiatric Association (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-5. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Rincón, D.A. and Salazar, L.F. (2006). Obsessive-compulsive disorder and psychosis: a schizo-obsessive disorder? Colombian Journal of Psychiatry, 35 (4).
  • Toro, E. (1999). Psychotic forms of OCD. Vertex, Revista Argentina e Psiquiatría; 37: 179-186.
  • Yaryura-Tobias, J.A. & Neziroglu, F- (1997). Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders Spectrum.Washington DC, American Psychiatry Press.

Obsessive Compulsive Personality Disorder - OCD - Kati Morton treatment help perfect therapy (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec épisodes psychotiques

Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec épisodes psychotiques

Septembre 18, 2022

Tous les gens ont déjà eu une pensée obsessionnelle, une pensée, une peur ou un doute sur le fait que nous ne pouvons pas nous échapper même si nous le voulons. En outre, la plupart d’entre nous ont eu des pensées qui ne nous embarrassent pas et ne nous déplaisent pas, comme souhaiter que l’autre n’obtienne pas ce que nous voulons ou la tentation de donner quatre cris à la personne sans scrupule qui parle au téléphone au cinéma. La plupart des gens ne leur accordent pas plus d'importance.

Cependant, pour les personnes touchées par un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, ces idées suscitent une grande inquiétude quant à leurs implications éventuelles et à leurs conséquences éventuelles, de sorte que Ils essaient d'effectuer différentes actions rituelles pour contrôler leurs pensées et reprendre le contrôle.


La plupart des personnes atteintes de TOC considèrent et reconnaissent que, au fond de leurs pensées et de leurs peurs, aucune base ne devrait réellement les concerner ni avoir de véritables effets sur le monde. D'autres non Parmi ces derniers, nous pouvons trouver des cas dans lesquels des idées obsessionnelles deviennent des illusions et peuvent même avoir des hallucinations. Bien que ce soit quelque chose de très inhabituel, Il existe des cas de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec épisodes psychotiques . Nous en discuterons dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Il est appelé trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou TOC dans la condition caractérisée par la présence continue de Obsessions, contenus mentaux ou idées qui apparaissent de manière intrusive dans l’esprit du sujet sans qu’il puisse les contrôler mais qui sont reconnus comme tels et qui, dans la plupart des cas, sont générateurs d’un niveau élevé d’anxiété. Apparaissent souvent avec ces idées un ensemble d’actes ou de rituels appelés compulsions qui sont exécutés dans le but de réduire l’anxiété générée par les idées ou d’éviter la possibilité que des pensées obsessionnelles se produisent ou aient des conséquences dans la vie réelle.


C’est l’un des troubles mentaux qui cause le plus de souffrances à ceux qui en souffrent, car dans la plupart des cas, le sujet est conscient du fait qu’il ne peut pas contrôler l’apparence de ses pensées et que les actes qu’il accomplit sous forme de rituel ne le sont pas. ils ont un effet réel au-delà d’une réassurance temporaire et brève, ce qui renforce en fait l’émergence future de nouvelles pensées. En fait, un cercle vicieux s'établit entre l'obsession et la compulsion, qui aggrave de plus en plus l'anxiété ressentie par le sujet et fait remonter les symptômes de la maladie.

La sensation est un manque de contrôle sur leur propre pensée, ou même un enfermement dans une dynamique à laquelle ils ne peuvent pas échapper. Une grande partie du problème est en fait la tentative excessive de contrôler la pensée et évitez activement l'apparition de la pensée qui génère l'anxiété, ce qui renforce indirectement son apparence. Nous sommes donc confrontés à un désordre de caractère égodistonique.


Il est courant qu'il existe un certain niveau de fusion de la pensée magique et de l'action pensée, sachant inconsciemment qu'il est possible que ses propres pensées aient un effet sur la vie réelle, même si elles reconnaissent à un niveau conscient que ce n'est pas le cas.

Ce trouble a de graves répercussions dans la vie quotidienne de ceux qui en souffrent, car la présence répétée d'obsessions et de compulsions peut nécessiter un grand nombre d'heures et limiter leur vie personnelle, leur travail et leurs études. Les relations personnelles peuvent se détériorer , tendant également à ce que le sujet s'isole pour éviter le rejet social, et sa performance, son travail et ses performances académiques peuvent être grandement diminués en consacrant une grande partie de son attention et de ses ressources cognitives à la prévention de l'obsession.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

TOC avec épisodes psychotiques: une pente atypique

En général, le sujet atteint de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif est conscient et reconnaît que ses pensées obsessionnelles et ses compulsions ne reposent pas sur une base réelle. Il peut en venir à les considérer comme une stupidité sans pouvoir les contrôler. Ce fait génère un niveau d'inconfort et de souffrance encore plus élevé.

Cependant, il existe des cas dans lesquels les idées obsessionnelles sont considérées comme vraies et dans lesquelles le sujet est complètement convaincu de leur véracité, sans les mettre en doute ni en faire des explications de la réalité. Dans ces cas, les idées peuvent être considérées délirantes, acquisition de caractéristiques psychotiques OCD .

Dans ces cas, considérés et également appelés obsessionnels atypiques ou schizo-obsédants, il est observé que la compréhension nécessaire pour détecter que leurs comportements n’ont pas d’effet réel sur ce qu’ils entendent éviter est absente. Aussi dans ces cas Les compulsions ne peuvent pas être ressenties comme agaçantes ou égodistoniques mais simplement comme quelque chose à faire, sans sembler être intrusif ou forcé. Une autre option est que la souffrance persistante d'une idée obsessionnelle finisse par déclencher de manière réactive des hallucinations ou des délires comme moyen d'expliquer le fonctionnement du monde ou la situation vécue.

Trois grandes possibilités

La présence concomitante de symptomatologie obsessionnelle et psychotique n’est pas particulièrement fréquente, bien qu’au cours des dernières années, il semble y avoir eu une certaine augmentation de ce schéma articulaire. Des études montrent qu'il existe trois grandes possibilités:

1. Trouble obsessionnel avec symptômes psychotiques

Nous sommes confrontés au cas le plus typique de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec épisodes psychotiques. Dans cette présentation clinique, les personnes souffrant de TOC peuvent présenter des épisodes psychotiques transitoires dérivés de la transformation et de l'élaboration de leurs idées, de manière compréhensible en fonction de la persistance de l'idéation obsessionnelle. Ce seraient des épisodes qui sera produit de manière réactive à l'usure mentale générée par l'anxiété .

2. TOC avec manque de perspicacité

Une autre possibilité de présenter un trouble obsessionnel avec des symptômes psychotiques provient de, comme nous l'avons dit précédemment, le manque de capacité à percevoir la non-correspondance de l'obsession de la réalité . Ces sujets auraient cessé de voir leurs idées comme anormales et considéreraient que leurs idées ne contiennent pas une surévaluation de leur influence et de leur responsabilité. En général, ils ont tendance à avoir des antécédents familiaux de psychopathologie sévère et il n’est pas surprenant qu’ils ne montrent de l’anxiété que face aux conséquences du non-respect et non à l’obsession elle-même.

3. Schizophrénie avec symptômes obsessionnels

Une troisième présentation comorbide possible de symptômes psychotiques et obsessionnels se produit dans un contexte où le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif n'existe pas vraiment. Ce sont les patients atteints de schizophrénie qui, pendant la maladie ou déjà avant la présence de symptômes psychotiques présenter des caractéristiques obsessionnelles, avec des idées répétitives qu’ils ne peuvent pas contrôler et une certaine compulsivité dans sa performance. Il est également possible que certains symptômes obsessionnels apparaissent induits par l'utilisation d'antipsychotiques.

Qu'est-ce qui cause ce trouble?

Les causes de tout type de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, à la fois celles présentant des caractéristiques psychotiques et celles qui ne le sont pas, sont en grande partie inconnues. Cependant, il existe différentes hypothèses à cet égard, considérant que le TOC n'est pas dû à une cause unique mais parce qu'il a une origine multifactorielle.

Au niveau médical et neurologique par neuro-imagerie, il a été possible d’observer la présence d’une hyperactivation du lobe frontal et du système limbique, ainsi que d’une modification du système sérotoninergique (raison pour laquelle le traitement pharmacologique est généralement basé sur des antidépresseurs chez les patients qui en ont besoin) et dopaminergique L'implication dans ce trouble des ganglions de la base a également été observée. En ce qui concerne les modalités du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec épisodes psychotiques, il a été observé que le niveau de neuroimagerie tend à avoir un hippocampe gauche plus petit.

Sur le plan psychosocial, le TOC est plus fréquent chez les personnes de nature sensible qui ont reçu une éducation ou qui sont excessivement rigides ou très permissives, ce qui les a amenées à devoir contrôler leurs pensées et leur comportement. Ils ont tendance à être hyper-responsables de ce qui se passe autour d'eux et ont un niveau élevé de doute et / ou de culpabilité. Il n’est pas rare non plus de subir des brimades ou une forme de violence qui les a amenés à avoir besoin, au début, de manière adaptative, de contrôler leurs pensées. L’association avec des symptômes psychotiques peut également être due à l’état de santé. traumatismes ou expériences qui ont généré une rupture avec la réalité , avec une prédisposition à ce type de symptomatologie.

Une hypothèse existante concernant le fonctionnement du COT est la théorie bifactorielle de Mowrer , qui propose que le cycle des obsessions et des compulsions soit maintenu par un double conditionnement. En premier lieu, il existe un conditionnement classique dans lequel la pensée est associée à la réponse anxieuse qui génère à son tour la nécessité de la fuir, puis à travers un conditionnement opérant pour maintenir le comportement d'évitement ou de fuite par contrainte. Ainsi, la compulsion est associée à la réduction de l’inconfort immédiat, mais n’a aucun effet sur le stimulus aversif réel (le contenu de la pensée). De cette façon, cela n’est pas empêché mais facilite en fait l’apparition de pensées obsessionnelles futures.

Références bibliographiques

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-5. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Rincón, D.A. et Salazar, L.F. (2006). Trouble obsessionnel compulsif et psychose: un trouble schizo-obsessionnel? Journal colombien de psychiatrie, 35 (4).
  • Toro, E. (1999). Formes psychotiques de TOC. Vertex, Revista Argentina e Psiquiatría; 37: 179-186.
  • Yaryura-Tobias, J.A. & Neziroglu, F- (1997). Spectre des troubles obsessionnels-compulsifs.Washington DC, American Psychiatry Press.

MON TROUBLE OBSESSIONNEL COMPULSIF - TÉMOIGNAGE #13 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes