yes, therapy helps!
Overdiagnosis in mental health: main causes and consequences

Overdiagnosis in mental health: main causes and consequences

September 2, 2022

Overdiagnosis in mental health is the tendency to diagnose in a generalized and disproportionate way one or several clinical categories of psychiatry. It is a practice recently questioned within the specialist association due to the recent increases in different psychiatric diagnoses .

However, this is a trend that occurs not only in the field of mental health, but in other specialties due to some elements that characterize contemporary medical practice.

Specifically, overdiagnosis in mental health can have different impacts at the individual, economic and social level , issues that we will see developed below


  • Related article: "Antipsychiatry: history and concepts of this movement"

Overdiagnosis in mental health

The overdiagnosis in mental health has been revised especially in the Mood Disorders of adulthood, in the Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in childhood, and in the Autism Spectrum Disorder in the same stage of development . The above, after his figures increased alarmingly and disproportionately in the last decade, especially in the United States, Canada and some European countries (Peñas, JJ and Domínguez, J., 2012).

According to Pascual-Castroviejo (2008), in a few years the prevalence of ADHD increased from 4% - 6% up to 20%, according to different epidemiological studies. When it comes to Attention Deficit Disorder, it is more diagnosed in girls; whereas Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder is more diagnosed in children.


At the same time, depression is more diagnosed in women than in men . In this case, Leon-Sanromà, Fernández, Gau and Gomà (2015) question the tendency to show overdiagnoses in specialized journals. For example, a study conducted in the southern area of ​​Catalonia and published in the journal Atención Primaria, alerted of a prevalence of 46.7% of depression in the general population (53% in women and 40% in men), which meant that almost half of the total population of this area was in depression.

In contrast, according to the same authors, other studies conducted with the consulting population show a prevalence of only 14.7% for major depression, and 4.6% for dysthymia, which adds up to a total of 19.3%. This figure continues to be alarming; nevertheless, it distances us from considering that almost half of the population lives with this diagnosis.


Following different authors, we will see below some of the practices that lead to overdiagnosis and what are its main risks in physiological, psychological, social and economic terms .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Health Psychology: history, definition and areas of application"

Why is overdiagnosis generated?

Overdiagnosis is a consequence of methodological problems present in the study and / or definition of mental disorders, in the detection of them, and in the investigation of their prevalence. In other words, the study and promotion of diseases is frequently mediated by their definition processes, as well as by the strategic use of detection tools and statistics (García Dauder and Pérez Saldaño, 2017, Leon-Sanromà, et al., 2015).

Specifically in the field of mental health the validity of the category "disorder", its non-specificity and its differentiation with respect to the term "disease", as well as the criteria that define what "healthy" , and what is not. The same thing happened when discussing how mental disorders are diagnosed.

For example, some cases of depression have been confirmed after using inaccurate techniques such as the application of a test to which the quality of offering definitive diagnoses is mistakenly attributed (the tests are tools of detection and differentiation, they are not in themselves diagnostic techniques ) (Leon-Sanromà, et al., 2015).

On the other hand, when evaluating the proportion of individuals who have depression, techniques have also been used that are not very precise, such as telephone surveys or structured interviews that easily overestimate their prevalence (Ezquiaga, García, Díaz de Neira and García, 2011). ). In addition to this, the scientific literature usually pays more attention to insufficient diagnoses than to overdiagnosis .

In line with the above, the methodological problem related to the definition of mental disorders becomes visible in the ease with which they are generalized.An example of this is the tendency to consider that any state of decayed mood is pathological, when it is not always the case (Leon-Sanromà, et al., 2015). This state may be an adaptive and normal response to a painful event, and not necessarily a disproportionate and pathological response.

In the same sense, another of the methodological problems related to overdiagnosis in mental health has to do with the tendency to exaggerate, or, to minimize the differences between groups according to different variables such as sex, gender, social class, among others. . Frequently this tendency is implicit in the designs, the hypothesis, the collection and the analysis of data in the investigations , generating a set of biases on the development and prevalence of different diseases (García Dauder and Pérez Sedeño, 2017).

5 ways to know what this practice is happening

There are different factors that can alert you that a disease is being overdiagnosed. Likewise, these factors make visible some processes that contribute to this trend. To explain this we will follow the work of Glasziou and Richards (2013); Leon-Sanromà, et al. (2015); and Martínez, Galán, Sánchez and González de Dios (2014).

1. There are more intervention techniques, but diseases do not decrease

It is possible to warn of the possible overdiagnosis of a disease when there is an important contradiction between the intervention and the prevalence of the diseases: there is an increase in the number of intervention techniques of the disease (for example, greater production of drugs and greater medicalization indexes). However, this increase does not translate into a decrease in the prevalence of the disorder .

2. Increase the diagnostic threshold

On the contrary, it can happen that there is no significant and constant innovation on intervention techniques; however, the diagnostic threshold does not diminish, or even increases. In other words, changes in the diagnostic criteria increase the number of people affected. This is a common case in mental disorders , but it can also be seen in other medical classifications such as osteoporosis, obesity or high blood pressure.

Likewise, the biases crossed by mental health stigma, present both in health personnel and in the non-specialized population, can contribute to a generalized diagnosis (Tara, Bethany and Nosek, 2008).

3. Even risk factors are considered a disease

Another indicator is when risk factors, or substances that indicate biological processes or states (biomarkers) are presented as diseases. Related to this, the definitions of the diseases are modified under unclear distinctions between them; which generates little evidence on the benefits of such modifications in the face of the negative effects they can cause. The latter is partly a consequence of the poor diagnostic accuracy that surrounds some discomforts .

At the same time, and as we have said, this imprecision is a consequence of the methodology used in the study and the definition of them. That is, it has to do with how it determines what is and what is not a disease, what elements are used for its explanation and what elements are excluded.

4. Clinical variability is not considered

The diagnostic spectrum of mental disorders is not only very broad, but also its definition and criteria are based primarily on agreements between specialists , beyond the objective tests.

Likewise, the severity of their symptoms is determined by the intensity, by the number of symptoms and by the degree of functional impairment. However, this severity is often generalized or considered as the only face of diagnoses, which not only increases the number of people diagnosed but also the number of people with severe diagnoses.

5. The role of specialists

According to Martínez, Galán, Sánchez and González de Dios (2014), something that contributes to overdiagnosis is the part of medical practice whose interest is purely scientific and continues the inertia of searching for diagnoses under the rigidity of the organicist model .

In the same sense, the position of the professional during the consultations plays an important role (ibidem). This is the case since a health profile occupied by emotional restraint does not generate the same effect as the health profile when it goes through the re-production of demand. In the first case, the pseudourgency is not favored and, therefore, it is not transmitted to the user. In a second can easily generate a trivialization of medical practice .

Finally, in view of the growing participation of the pharmaceutical industry in mental health, conflicts of interest have increased considerably in some professionals, health and research centers and public administrations, which sometimes promote or support medicalization through overdiagnosis.

Several of its consequences

Overdiagnosis in mental health is a phenomenon that manifests itself in the short and long term, as it has consequences not only at an individual level but also at an economic and social level. In their analysis of the overdiagnosis of depression, Adán-Manes and Ayuso-Mateos (2010), they establish three main impacts:

1. Medical impact

It refers to the increased risk of iatrogenesis, while Excessive medical attention and overmedicalization can generate a chronification of discomfort . Similarly, the overdiagnosis of certain disorders can go hand in hand with the underdiagnosis of others, and their consequent lack of attention.

2. Psychological and social impact

It translates into a greater stigmatization, with the possible decrease of the autonomy of the user, and a lack of responsibility of the social factors involved in the discomfort. It also refers to the generalization of psychopathology as a more immediate response in the questions of everyday life , even outside the specialized field.

3. Economic impact

It occurs in two senses: the first is the high costs involved in mental health care, especially in primary care services but also in specialized services, which implies an expense in infrastructure as well as in human resources and pharmacological treatments . And the second impact is the progressive decrease in the productivity of people with diagnosis.

conclusion

Taking into account these elements and consequences does not mean denying the discomforts and suffering, nor does it mean that it is necessary to stop investing efforts in detections and timely and respectful interventions. It means that it is necessary to stay alert in view of the possible negative effects of extrapolating biomedical practices towards understanding and approaching all aspects of human life.

In addition, it warns us about the need to constantly review the criteria and methodology that defines and intervenes in mental health.

Bibliographic references:

  • Adán-Manes, J. and Ayuso-Mateos, J.L. (2010). Overdiagnosis and overtreatment of major depressive disorder in primary care: a phenomenon on the rise. Primary Care, 42 (1): 47-49.
  • Ezquiaga, E., Garcia, A., Diaz de la Neira, M. and Garcia, M. J. (2011). "Depression". Diagnostic and therapeutic imprecision. Important consequences in clinical practice. Journal of the Spanish Association of Neuropsychiatry, 31 (111): 457-475.
  • García Dauder. (S) and Pérez Sedeño, E. (2017). The scientific lies about women. Waterfall: Madrid.
  • García Peñas, J. J. and Domínguez Carral, J. (2012). Is there an overdiagnosis of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)? Evidence in Pediatrics, 8 (3): 1-5.
  • Glasziou, P. and Moynihan, R. (2013). Too much medicine; too little care, British Medical Journal, 7915: 7
  • Leon-Sanromà, M., Fernández, M.J., Gau, A. and Gomà, J. (2015). Half of the population diagnosed with depression? Primary Care, 47 (4): 257-258.
  • Martínez, C., Riaño, R., Sánchez, M. and González de Dios, J. (2014). Quaternary prevention. Containment as an ethical imperative. Spanish Association of Pediatrics, 81 (6): 396.e1-396.e8.
  • Pascual-Castroviejo, I. (2008). Disorders of attention deficit and hyperactivity. Spanish Association of Pediatrics. Retrieved September 18, 2018. Available at //www.aeped.es/sites/default/files/documentos/20-tdah.pdf.
  • Valdecasas, J. (2018). Mental health at the crossroads: looking for a new psychiatry for an increasingly sick world. Platform No Thanks. Retrieved September 18, 2018. Available at //www.nogracias.eu/2018/01/07/la-salud-mental-la-encrucijada-seeking-a-new-psiquiatria-mundo-vez-mas-enfermo-jose -valdecasas /.

Are people being over diagnosed? Website/YouTube Wednesday! #KatiFAQ (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le surdiagnostic en santé mentale: principales causes et conséquences

Le surdiagnostic en santé mentale: principales causes et conséquences

Juin 13, 2021

Le surdiagnostic en santé mentale est la tendance à diagnostiquer de manière généralisée et disproportionnée une ou plusieurs catégories cliniques de psychiatrie. C’est une pratique récemment remise en question au sein de l’association de spécialistes en raison de la récente augmentation de différents diagnostics psychiatriques .

Cependant, il s’agit d’une tendance qui se manifeste non seulement dans le domaine de la santé mentale, mais aussi dans d’autres spécialités en raison de certains éléments qui caractérisent la pratique médicale contemporaine.

Plus précisément le surdiagnostic en santé mentale peut avoir des impacts différents au niveau individuel, économique et social , questions que nous verrons développées ci-dessous


  • Article connexe: "Antipsychiatrie: histoire et concepts de ce mouvement"

Surdiagnostic en santé mentale

Le surdiagnostic en santé mentale a été révisé, en particulier dans les troubles de l'humeur de l'âge adulte, dans le trouble déficitaire de l'attention et l'hyperactivité (TDAH) chez l'enfant et dans le trouble du spectre de l'autisme au même stade de développement. . Ce qui précède, après ses chiffres ont augmenté de façon alarmante et disproportionnée au cours de la dernière décennie, notamment aux États-Unis, au Canada et dans certains pays européens (Peñas, JJ et Domínguez, J., 2012).

Selon Pascual-Castroviejo (2008), la prévalence du TDAH a augmenté de 4% à 6% jusqu'à 20%, selon différentes études épidémiologiques. En ce qui concerne le trouble déficitaire de l'attention, il est davantage diagnostiqué chez les filles; Alors que le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention est plus diagnostiqué chez les enfants.


À son tour, la dépression est plus diagnostiquée chez les femmes que chez les hommes . Dans ce cas, Leon-Sanromà, Fernández, Gau et Gomà (2015) s'interrogent sur la tendance à montrer des surdiagnèses dans des revues spécialisées. Par exemple, une étude menée dans le sud de la Catalogne et publiée dans la revue Atención Primaria, signalait une prévalence de 46,7% de la dépression dans la population en général (53% chez les femmes et 40% chez les hommes), ce qui signifie que près de la moitié de la population totale de cette région était en dépression.

En revanche, d’après les mêmes auteurs, d’autres études menées auprès de la population de consultants indiquent une prévalence de seulement 14,7% pour la dépression majeure et de 4,6% pour la dysthymie, ce qui donne un total de 19,3%. Ce chiffre continue d’être alarmant; Néanmoins, cela nous éloigne de considérer que près de la moitié de la population vit avec ce diagnostic.


Après différents auteurs, nous verrons ci-dessous certaines des pratiques menant au surdiagnostic et à la quels sont ses principaux risques en termes physiologiques, psychologiques, sociaux et économiques .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie de la santé: historique, définition et domaines d'application"

Pourquoi le surdiagnostic est-il généré?

Le surdiagnostic est une conséquence des problèmes méthodologiques présents dans l’étude et / ou la définition des troubles mentaux, dans leur détection et dans la recherche de leur prévalence. En d’autres termes, l’étude et la promotion de maladies dépendent souvent de leurs processus de définition, ainsi que des l'utilisation stratégique des outils de détection et des statistiques (García Dauder et Pérez Saldaño, 2017, Leon-Sanromà et al., 2015).

En particulier dans le domaine de la santé mentale, la validité de la catégorie "trouble", sa non-spécificité et sa différenciation par rapport au terme "maladie", ainsi que les critères définissant ce que "sain" et ce qui ne l'est pas. La même chose s’est produite lorsqu’on a parlé de la manière dont les troubles mentaux sont diagnostiqués.

Par exemple, certains cas de dépression ont été confirmés après avoir utilisé des techniques inexactes, telles que l'application d'un test auquel la qualité des diagnostics définitifs est attribuée par erreur (les tests sont des outils de détection et de différenciation, ils ne sont pas en eux-mêmes des techniques de diagnostic. ) (Leon-Sanromà, et al., 2015).

D'autre part, lors de l'évaluation de la proportion de personnes souffrant de dépression, des techniques peu précises ont également été utilisées, telles que des enquêtes téléphoniques ou des entretiens structurés qui surestiment facilement leur prévalence (Ezquiaga, García, Díaz de Neira et García, 2011). ). En plus de cela, la littérature scientifique accorde généralement plus d'attention aux diagnostics insuffisants qu'au surdiagnostic .

Conformément à ce qui précède, le problème méthodologique lié à la définition des troubles mentaux devient visible dans la facilité avec laquelle ils sont généralisés.Un exemple de cela est la tendance à considérer que tout état d'humeur dégradée est pathologique, alors que ce n'est pas toujours le cas (Leon-Sanromà, et al., 2015). Cet état peut être une réponse adaptative et normale à un événement douloureux, et pas nécessairement une réponse disproportionnée et pathologique.

Dans le même sens, un autre des problèmes méthodologiques liés au surdiagnostic en santé mentale concerne la tendance à exagérer ou à minimiser les différences entre les groupes en fonction de différentes variables telles que le sexe, le sexe, la classe sociale. . Fréquemment cette tendance est implicite dans les conceptions, les hypothèses, la collecte et l'analyse des données dans les enquêtes , générant un ensemble de biais sur le développement et la prévalence de différentes maladies (García Dauder et Pérez Sedeño, 2017).

5 façons de savoir ce que cette pratique se passe

Différents facteurs peuvent vous avertir qu’une maladie est sur-diagnostiquée. De même, ces facteurs rendent visibles certains processus qui contribuent à cette tendance. Pour expliquer cela, nous suivrons les travaux de Glasziou et Richards (2013); Leon-Sanromà et al. (2015); et Martínez, Galán, Sánchez et González de Dios (2014).

1. Il y a plus de techniques d'intervention, mais les maladies ne diminuent pas

Il est possible de mettre en garde contre le surdiagnostic possible d’une maladie en cas de contradiction importante entre l’intervention et la prévalence de la maladie: le nombre de techniques d’intervention de la maladie augmente (par exemple, une plus grande production index de médicalisation). Cependant, cette augmentation ne se traduit pas par une diminution de la prévalence de la maladie .

2. Augmenter le seuil de diagnostic

Au contraire, il peut arriver qu’il n’y ait pas d’innovation significative et constante dans les techniques d’intervention; cependant, le seuil de diagnostic ne diminue pas, ni n'augmente. En d'autres termes, les modifications des critères de diagnostic augmentent le nombre de personnes touchées. C'est un cas fréquent dans les troubles mentaux , mais on peut également le voir dans d’autres classifications médicales telles que l’ostéoporose, l’obésité ou l’hypertension.

De même, les biais liés à la stigmatisation liée à la santé mentale, présents tant chez le personnel de santé que chez la population non spécialisée, peuvent contribuer à un diagnostic généralisé (Tara, Bethany et Nosek, 2008).

3. Même les facteurs de risque sont considérés comme une maladie

Un autre indicateur est le moment où les facteurs de risque, ou les substances indiquant des processus ou des états biologiques (biomarqueurs), sont présentés comme des maladies. À cet égard, les définitions des maladies sont modifiées en fonction de distinctions peu claires entre elles. ce qui génère peu de preuves sur les avantages de telles modifications face aux effets négatifs qu'elles peuvent avoir. Ce dernier est en partie une conséquence de la faible précision de diagnostic qui entoure certains malaises .

En même temps, et comme nous l’avons dit, cette imprécision est une conséquence de la méthodologie utilisée dans l’étude et de sa définition. En d'autres termes, il s'agit de déterminer comment déterminer ce qui est ou non une maladie, quels éléments sont utilisés pour l'expliquer et quels éléments sont exclus.

4. La variabilité clinique n'est pas prise en compte

Le spectre diagnostique des troubles mentaux est non seulement très large, mais aussi sa définition et ses critères reposent principalement sur des accords entre spécialistes , au-delà des tests objectifs.

De même, la gravité de leurs symptômes est déterminée par l'intensité, le nombre de symptômes et le degré de déficience fonctionnelle. Cependant, cette gravité est souvent généralisée ou considérée comme le seul visage des diagnostics, ce qui non seulement augmente le nombre de personnes diagnostiquées, mais également le nombre de personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic grave.

5. Le rôle des spécialistes

Selon Martínez, Galán, Sánchez et González de Dios (2014), un élément contribuant au surdiagnostic est la partie de la pratique médicale dont l'intérêt est purement scientifique et social. poursuit l'inertie de la recherche de diagnostics sous la rigidité du modèle organiciste .

Dans le même sens, la position du professionnel lors des consultations joue un rôle important (ibidem). C’est le cas puisqu’un profil de santé soumis à une contrainte émotionnelle ne génère pas le même effet que le profil de santé lorsqu’il passe par la reproduction de la demande. Dans le premier cas, la pseudo-autorité n'est pas favorisée et, par conséquent, elle n'est pas transmise à l'utilisateur. Dans le second peut facilement générer une banalisation de la pratique médicale .

Enfin, compte tenu de la participation croissante de l’industrie pharmaceutique à la santé mentale, les conflits d’intérêts se sont considérablement multipliés chez certains professionnels, centres de santé et de recherche et administrations publiques, qui favorisent ou soutiennent parfois la médicalisation par surdiagnostic.

Plusieurs de ses conséquences

Le surdiagnostic en santé mentale est un phénomène qui se manifeste à court et à long terme, dans la mesure où il a des conséquences non seulement au niveau individuel mais également au niveau économique et social. Dans leur analyse du surdiagnostic de la dépression, Adán-Manes et Ayuso-Mateos (2010), ils établissent trois impacts principaux:

1. Impact médical

Il fait référence au risque accru de iatrogénèse, alors que Une attention médicale excessive et une surmédicalisation peuvent générer une chronification de l’inconfort . De même, le surdiagnostic de certains troubles peut aller de pair avec le sous-diagnostic d’autres troubles et, par conséquent, leur manque d’attention.

2. Impact psychologique et social

Cela se traduit par une plus grande stigmatisation, avec la diminution possible de l'autonomie de l'utilisateur et un manque de responsabilité des facteurs sociaux impliqués dans le malaise. Il fait également référence à la généralisation de la psychopathologie comme réponse plus immédiate aux questions de la vie quotidienne , même en dehors du domaine spécialisé.

3. Impact économique

Cela se produit sous deux aspects: le premier est le coût élevé des soins de santé mentale, en particulier des services de soins primaires mais également des services spécialisés, ce qui implique une dépense en infrastructures ainsi qu'en ressources humaines et en traitements pharmacologiques . Et le deuxième impact est la diminution progressive de la productivité des personnes diagnostiquées.

conclusion

Prendre en compte ces éléments et conséquences ne signifie pas nier les inconforts et les souffrances, ni qu'il soit nécessaire de cesser d'investir des efforts dans la détection et les interventions opportunes et respectueuses. Signifie que il faut rester vigilant compte tenu des effets négatifs possibles de l’extrapolation des pratiques biomédicales sur la compréhension et l’approche de tous les aspects de la vie humaine.

En outre, il nous avertit de la nécessité de revoir en permanence les critères et la méthodologie qui définissent et interviennent en matière de santé mentale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Adán-Manes, J. et Ayuso-Mateos, J. L. (2010). Le surdiagnostic et le traitement excessif du trouble dépressif majeur en soins de première ligne: un phénomène en augmentation. Soins primaires, 42 (1): 47-49.
  • Ezquiaga, E., Garcia, A., Diaz de la Neira, M. et Garcia, M. J. (2011). "Dépression." Imprécision diagnostique et thérapeutique. Conséquences importantes en pratique clinique. Journal de l'Association espagnole de neuropsychiatrie, 31 (111): 457-475.
  • García Dauder. (S) et Pérez Sedeño, E. (2017). Les mensonges scientifiques sur les femmes. Chute d'eau: Madrid.
  • García Peñas, J. J. et Domínguez Carral, J. (2012). Existe-t-il un surdiagnostic du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (THADA)? Evidence in Pediatrics, 8 (3): 1-5.
  • Glasziou, P. et Moynihan, R. (2013). Trop de médicaments; trop peu de soins, British Medical Journal, 7915: 7
  • Leon-Sanromà, M., Fernández, M.J., Gau, A. et Gomà, J. (2015). La moitié de la population diagnostiquée avec une dépression? Soins primaires, 47 (4): 257-258.
  • Martínez, C., Riaño, R., Sánchez, M. et González de Dios, J. (2014). Prévention quaternaire. Le confinement en tant qu'impératif éthique. Association espagnole de pédiatrie, 81 (6): 396.e1-396.e8.
  • Pascual-Castroviejo, I. (2008). Troubles du déficit de l'attention et de l'hyperactivité. Association espagnole de pédiatrie. Récupéré le 18 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.aeped.es/sites/default/files/documentos/20-tdah.pdf.
  • Valdecasas, J. (2018). La santé mentale à la croisée des chemins: à la recherche d'une nouvelle psychiatrie pour un monde de plus en plus malade. Plateforme non merci. Récupéré le 18 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.nogracias.eu/2018/01/07/la-salud-mental-la-encrucijada-seeking-a-new-psiquiatria-mundo-vez-mas-enfermo-jose -valdecasas /.

REPÉRER UN AVC (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes