yes, therapy helps!
Canavan disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

Canavan disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 27, 2024

The inherited defects in the ASPA gene alter the myelin sheaths, which has a significant effect on the functioning of the nervous system.

In this article we will describe the symptoms, causes and treatment of Canavan's disease , name with which this alteration of neural transmission is known.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is Canavan disease?

Canavan's disease is the most prevalent neurological degenerative disorder in childhood . It is a serious genetic alteration, often fatal, that causes the deterioration of myelin, a substance that surrounds the axons of neurons to facilitate the transmission of nerve impulses, so they do not propagate properly.


This disorder is included in the group of leukodystrophies, diseases associated with alterations in the development and maintenance of myelin sheaths. Other diseases belonging to this group are Alexander, Krabbe, Pelizaeus-Merzbacher and adrenoleukodystrophy.

They have differentiated Two variants of Canavan's disease: neonatal / infantile and juvenile . While the former involves more severe symptoms and is detected early, the juvenile subtype is considered a mild variant in which only modest delays in motor and verbal development may appear; It also has a better prognosis.

Many of the children with the severe variant of Canavan's disease they die before their 10th birthday . Others manage to survive until approximately 20 years, while life expectancy does not seem to be reduced in mild cases.


This disease is much more frequent in people who have a genetic heritage of Ashkenazi Jewish origin, from central and eastern Europe. This population group has been well studied by the medical community because of its high degree of inbreeding.

  • You may be interested: "11 symptoms of mental illness in children"

Symptoms and main signs

Although the first symptoms of Canavan's disease Commonly appear during the first year of life , the rapid and progressive degeneration of cerebral white matter causes more severe alterations, mainly related to the loss of motor and sensory abilities.

The symptoms and signs of this disorder can vary greatly depending on whether we talk about the child or juvenile variant, as well as the particular characteristics of each case. Some of the most common are the following:


  • Severe alterations in motor development
  • Inability to speak
  • Lack of development of the ability to crawl, walk and sit
  • Increased muscle tone (hypertonia, rigidity) or decreased (hypotonia, flaccidity)
  • Increase in head size (macrocephaly)
  • Deficit in motor control of the head
  • Reduction of visual responsiveness
  • Difficulty swallowing and eating
  • Appearance of epileptic seizures
  • Development of paralysis
  • Progressive blindness and deafness
  • Problems to reconcile or maintain sleep
  • Irritability

Causes of this disease

Canavan's disease occurs as a result of anomalies in the ASPA gene , which contains the information necessary to synthesize the enzyme aspartoacylase. This compound allows the metabolization of the amino acid N-acetyl-L-aspartate, probably involved in cerebral homeostasis and in the synthesis of oligodendrocytes, which form myelin.

In people suffering from this disease mutations in the ASPA gene prevent that amino acid can be processed properly. By concentrating excessively on the nervous system interferes with the formation of myelin sheaths and causes them to deteriorate progressively. Consequently, neuronal transmission is also affected.

This alteration is transmitted through a mechanism of autosomal recessive inheritance, which implies that a baby has a 25% chance of developing the disease if both his mother and father are carriers of the defective gene.

Treatment and management

At present it is not entirely clear if there are effective methods to treat the genetic alterations that cause Canavan's disease. Because of this the treatment is basically symptomatic and supportive and it depends on the concrete manifestations of each case.

Swallowing difficulties can be very problematic; In some cases it is necessary to apply feeding and hydration probes to ensure patient survival. The care of the respiratory tract and the prevention of infectious diseases are also particularly important.

Physical therapy is very useful to enhance motor and postural abilities of children with Canavan disease. It can also relieve contractures, which are very frequent due to alterations in muscle tone.

Interventions are more effective if they begin to be applied at an early stage of the development of the affected children, since in this way it is possible to minimize to some degree the appearance or progress of some of the symptoms, such as muscle and related symptoms. the communication.

Currently there are treatments in experimental phase that focus on genetic alterations and metabolic associated with defects in the ASPA gene. These therapeutic approaches require more research, although they are providing promising data for the future management of Canavan disease.


Canavan Disease : Causes, Diagnosis, Symptoms, Treatment, Prognosis (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Canavan: symptômes, causes et traitement

Maladie de Canavan: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 27, 2022

Les défauts hérités du gène ASPA altèrent les gaines de myéline, ce qui a un effet significatif sur le fonctionnement du système nerveux.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les symptômes, les causes et le traitement de la maladie de Canavan , nom avec lequel cette altération de la transmission neuronale est connue.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que la maladie de Canavan?

La maladie de Canavan est le trouble neurologique dégénératif le plus répandu dans l'enfance . C'est une altération génétique grave, souvent fatale, qui provoque la détérioration de la myéline, une substance qui entoure les axones des neurones pour faciliter la transmission des impulsions nerveuses, afin qu'elles ne se propagent pas correctement.


Ce trouble fait partie du groupe des leucodystrophies, maladies associées à des altérations du développement et du maintien des gaines de myéline. Les autres maladies appartenant à ce groupe sont Alexander, Krabbe, Pelizaeus-Merzbacher et l'adrénoleucodystrophie.

Ils ont différencié Deux variantes de la maladie de Canavan: néonatale / infantile et juvénile . Alors que le premier implique des symptômes plus graves et est détecté tôt, le sous-type juvénile est considéré comme une variante légère dans laquelle seuls des retards modestes dans le développement moteur et verbal peuvent apparaître; Il a également un meilleur pronostic.

Beaucoup d'enfants atteints de la variante grave de la maladie de Canavan ils meurent avant leur 10e anniversaire . D'autres réussissent à survivre jusqu'à environ 20 ans, tandis que l'espérance de vie ne semble pas être réduite dans les cas bénins.


Cette maladie est beaucoup plus fréquente chez les personnes possédant un patrimoine génétique d'origine juive ashkénaze, d'Europe centrale et orientale. Ce groupe de population a été bien étudié par la communauté médicale en raison de son degré élevé de consanguinité.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "11 symptômes de maladie mentale chez les enfants"

Symptômes et principaux signes

Bien que les premiers symptômes de la maladie de Canavan Apparaissent généralement au cours de la première année de vie , la dégénérescence rapide et progressive de la substance blanche cérébrale provoque des altérations plus graves, principalement liées à la perte de capacités motrices et sensorielles.

Les symptômes et les signes de ce trouble peuvent varier considérablement selon que l’on parle de la variante enfant ou juvénile, ainsi que des caractéristiques propres à chaque cas. Certains des plus communs sont les suivants:


  • Altérations sévères du développement moteur
  • Incapacité de parler
  • Manque de développement de la capacité à ramper, marcher et s'asseoir
  • Augmentation du tonus musculaire (hypertonie, rigidité) ou diminution (hypotonie, flaccidité)
  • Augmentation de la taille de la tête (macrocéphalie)
  • Déficit en contrôle moteur de la tête
  • Réduction de la réactivité visuelle
  • Difficulté à avaler et à manger
  • Apparition de crises d'épilepsie
  • Développement de la paralysie
  • Cécité et surdité progressives
  • Problèmes pour concilier ou maintenir le sommeil
  • L'irritabilité

Causes de cette maladie

La maladie de Canavan se produit à la suite d'anomalies dans le gène ASPA , qui contient les informations nécessaires à la synthèse de l’enzyme aspartoacylase. Ce composé permet la métabolisation de l'acide aminé N-acétyl-L-aspartate, probablement impliqué dans l'homéostasie cérébrale et dans la synthèse des oligodendrocytes, qui forment la myéline.

Chez les personnes souffrant de cette maladie, les mutations du gène ASPA empêchent que l'acide aminé puisse être traité correctement. En se concentrant excessivement sur le système nerveux interfère avec la formation des gaines de myéline et les fait se détériorer progressivement. Par conséquent, la transmission neuronale est également affectée.

Cette altération est transmise par un mécanisme de transmission autosomique récessive, ce qui implique qu'un bébé a 25% de chances de développer la maladie si ses deux parents sont porteurs du gène défectueux.

Traitement et gestion

À l'heure actuelle, on ne sait pas très bien s'il existe des méthodes efficaces pour traiter les altérations génétiques responsables de la maladie de Canavan. À cause de cela le traitement est essentiellement symptomatique et favorable et cela dépend des manifestations concrètes de chaque cas.

Les difficultés d'ingestion peuvent être très problématiques. Dans certains cas, il est nécessaire d'appliquer des sondes d'alimentation et d'hydratation pour assurer la survie du patient. Les soins des voies respiratoires et la prévention des maladies infectieuses sont également particulièrement importants.

La thérapie physique est très utile pour améliorer les capacités motrices et posturales des enfants atteints de la maladie de Canavan. Il peut également soulager les contractures, qui sont très fréquentes en raison d'altérations du tonus musculaire.

Les interventions sont plus efficaces si elles commencent à être appliquées à un stade précoce du développement des enfants affectés, car il est ainsi possible de minimiser dans une certaine mesure l’apparition ou la progression de certains symptômes, tels que les symptômes musculaires et connexes. la communication.

Actuellement il y a traitements en phase expérimentale axés sur les altérations génétiques et métabolique associé à des défauts dans le gène ASPA. Ces approches thérapeutiques nécessitent davantage de recherche, bien qu'elles fournissent des données prometteuses pour la gestion future de la maladie de Canavan.


Celiac disease - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes