yes, therapy helps!
Paris syndrome: the strange disorder suffered by some Japanese tourists

Paris syndrome: the strange disorder suffered by some Japanese tourists

May 9, 2021

The Japanese culture offers a multitude of singularities that are difficult to find anywhere else in the world, and the Japanese country is today one of the most industrialized and advanced societies on the planet. Japan It is a highly urbanized country and famous for its technological advances, which mixes its modernity with a millenary past.

Its millenary culture coexists with the capitalist and consumerist model that characterizes it , which can cause pathologies as strange as the Hikikomori. Well, in today's article, we will talk about a condition that almost exclusively suffer the tourists of this Asian country: the Paris syndrome .

Recommended articles: "Hikikomori in Spain: social isolation syndrome does not only affect Japan"

Paris syndrome: what is it?

The Paris Syndrome It is a psychological condition experienced almost exclusively by Japanese tourists who are very disappointed when they visit the city of light , that is, Paris.


In 1986, a Japanese psychiatrist Hiroaki Ota gave name to a new disease, which according to this happens because Japanese tourists are disappointed when they visit this European city and does not meet their romantic expectations. This condition is considered an extreme case of cultural shock, which causes symptoms such as anxiety, dizziness, sweating, delusions and even hallucinations, according to medical reports. But, Why does the Parisian city make the Nipponese sick?

According to the French psychiatric journal Nervure, the Japanese feel a tremendous disappointment when they visit Paris, caused by the unreal expectations about the city of the Seine. Paris is the city of love, fashion and glamorous people, and for that reason it is a very popular destination for Japanese tourists. In Tokyo, the capital of Japan, it is possible to find French patisseries or luxury shops such as Chanel or Louis Vuitton due to the great admiration they feel towards the Parisian culture. Around six million Japanese visit Paris every year.


An idyllic image of Paris that does not correspond to reality

The Japanese media associate the city of Paris with romantic films such as Amelie, in which romance is present on every corner.

They think that French citizens are very kind and the city is governed by a harmony in which order is part of everyday life. But when the reality of the modern city of Paris does not match the expectations that many tourists have and are able to experience in their own flesh the rude behavior of some waiters or the confusing transport system, they begin to suffer the symptoms of the Paris Syndrome . Japanese tourists they are not able to withstand the exhaustion that the language barrier and culture shock pose , which causes them serious problems of psychological stress.


An article in the newspaper ABC reports that the Japanese embassy in the French capital offers emergency hospitalization services for the treatment of this syndrome. In fact, the Japanese embassy located in Paris repatriates up to 12 Japanese citizens a year to recover from the shock, says the magazine. Very interesting. This institution has an assistance telephone 24 hours a day.

Causes of Paris Syndrome

Paris is an incredible city, with very romantic cafes and restaurants and beautiful places to visit, such as the Eiffel Tower. Paris is a culturally rich city, but it is far from meeting the expectations that the Japanese have of the city of love. Japanese society is very disciplined, and Japanese citizens are very calm and are accustomed to living in a very vertical and hierarchical society that values ​​the group over the individual, thus relieving tensions and conflicts and achieve social harmony.

Japanese tourists are greatly impacted by the quality of service in Paris and when they experience the behavior of some French citizens they are not able to understand it. The French can seem rude even without wanting to be .

In addition, the level of English is poor in France, so the communication barrier is a reality. The atmosphere in Paris can be tense, Parisians can be really aggressive and verbal aggression is a reality. This becomes very visible in some subway stops that connect to the suburbs, where the presence of pickpockets and common criminals can be really dangerous. The truth is that the level of unemployment is high in this country and racial conflicts exist, especially at night. This makes Paris unsafe , and tourists are easy prey for pickpockets because they always carry money and are a bit confused.

Visit Paris: a bad experience for some Japanese citizens

In the idyllic vision of Paris that Japanese citizens have, the streets are full of attractive people, something that is not always the case.

The Japanese hope that everything is beautiful, and to cross the depressed zones of the city (for example, in train) can get to hit them enormously. Paris is a city worth visiting, but for some Japanese it can be a bad experience .


10 of the Strangest Mental Disorders (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Paris: l'étrange trouble subi par certains touristes japonais

Syndrome de Paris: l'étrange trouble subi par certains touristes japonais

Mai 22, 2019

La culture japonaise offre une multitude de singularités qu'il est difficile de trouver ailleurs dans le monde, et le pays japonais est aujourd'hui l'une des sociétés les plus industrialisées et les plus avancées de la planète. Le japon C’est un pays très urbanisé et réputé pour ses avancées technologiques, qui associent sa modernité à un passé millénaire.

Sa culture millénaire coexiste avec le modèle capitaliste et consumériste qui la caractérise , ce qui peut provoquer des pathologies aussi étranges que les Hikikomori. Dans l’article d’aujourd’hui, nous allons parler d’une condition qui touche presque exclusivement les touristes de ce pays asiatique: le Syndrome de Paris .

Articles recommandés: "Hikikomori en Espagne: le syndrome de l'isolement social ne concerne pas que le Japon"

Syndrome de Paris: c'est quoi?

Le syndrome de paris C'est une condition psychologique vécue presque exclusivement par les touristes japonais qui sont très déçus quand ils visitent la ville lumière c'est-à-dire Paris.


En 1986, un psychiatre japonais, Hiroaki Ota, a donné son nom à une nouvelle maladie, ce qui serait dû au fait que les touristes japonais sont déçus lorsqu'ils visitent cette ville européenne et ne répondent pas à leurs attentes romantiques. Selon les rapports médicaux, cette condition est considérée comme un cas extrême de choc culturel, qui provoque des symptômes tels que l'anxiété, les vertiges, la transpiration, les délires et même des hallucinations. Mais Pourquoi la ville parisienne rend-elle les Nippons malades?

Selon le journal psychiatrique français Nervure, les Japonais ressentent une immense déception lors de leur visite à Paris, causés par les attentes irréelles concernant la ville de la Seine. Paris est la ville de l’amour, de la mode et des glamours. C’est pour cette raison qu’elle est une destination très prisée des touristes japonais. À Tokyo, la capitale du Japon, il est possible de trouver des pâtisseries françaises ou des magasins de luxe tels que Chanel ou Louis Vuitton en raison de la grande admiration qu’ils éprouvent pour la culture parisienne. Environ six millions de Japonais visitent Paris chaque année.


Une image idyllique de Paris qui ne correspond pas à la réalité

Les médias japonais associent la ville de Paris à des films romantiques tels que Amélie, dans lesquels la romance est présente à tous les coins.

Ils pensent que les citoyens français sont très gentils et que la ville est régie par une harmonie dans laquelle l'ordre fait partie de la vie quotidienne. Mais lorsque la réalité de la ville moderne de Paris ne correspond pas aux attentes de nombreux touristes et est en mesure de ressentir le comportement impoli de certains serveurs ou le système de transport déroutant, ils commencent à souffrir des symptômes du syndrome de Paris. . Touristes japonais ils ne sont pas capables de supporter l'épuisement que la barrière de la langue et le choc culturel posent , ce qui leur cause de graves problèmes de stress psychologique.


Un article du journal ABC rapporte que l’ambassade du Japon dans la capitale française offre des services d’hospitalisation d’urgence pour le traitement de ce syndrome. En fait, l’ambassade du Japon à Paris rapatrie jusqu’à 12 citoyens japonais par an pour se remettre du choc, rapporte le magazine. Très interessant. Cet établissement dispose d'un téléphone d'assistance 24 heures par jour.

Causes du syndrome de Paris

Paris est une ville incroyable, avec des cafés et des restaurants très romantiques et de beaux endroits à visiter, tels que la Tour Eiffel. Paris est une ville culturellement riche, mais elle est loin de répondre aux attentes que les Japonais ont de la ville de l'amour. La société japonaise est très disciplinée et ses citoyens sont très calmes et habitués à vivre dans une société très verticale et hiérarchisée qui valorise le groupe par rapport à l'individu, soulageant ainsi les tensions et les conflits et assurant l'harmonie sociale.

Les touristes japonais sont fortement touchés par la qualité du service à Paris et ne peuvent pas comprendre le comportement de certains citoyens français. Les Français peuvent sembler impolis même sans vouloir être .

De plus, le niveau d'anglais est faible en France, la barrière de la communication est donc une réalité. L'atmosphère à Paris peut être tendue, les Parisiens peuvent être vraiment agressifs et l'agression verbale est une réalité. Cela devient très visible dans certaines stations de métro qui se connectent aux banlieues, où la présence de pickpockets et de criminels de droit commun peut être très dangereuse. La vérité est que le taux de chômage est élevé dans ce pays et que des conflits raciaux existent, en particulier la nuit. Cela rend Paris dangereux et les touristes sont des proies faciles pour les voleurs à la tire, car ils transportent toujours de l’argent et sont un peu confus.

Visiter Paris: une mauvaise expérience pour certains citoyens japonais

Dans la vision idyllique de Paris des citoyens japonais, les rues sont pleines de gens attrayants, ce qui n’est pas toujours le cas.

Les Japonais espèrent que tout est beau et que traverser les zones défavorisées de la ville (par exemple en train) peut arriver à les frapper énormément. Paris est une ville à visiter, mais pour certains Japonais cela peut être une mauvaise expérience .


Le Livre Noir de l'Industrie Rose (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes