yes, therapy helps!
Personal strengths: what are they and how to empower them in therapy?

Personal strengths: what are they and how to empower them in therapy?

August 16, 2022

Each and every one of us knows that there are things that we are good at and that we are not good at. Likewise, we all have aspects of our way of being that are remarkable for both good and bad, and that are considered as positive as well as negative not only by us but also by our peers and even by our culture. In the first case we are talking about aspects that we consider or consider to be our personal strengths.

But What exactly is a personal strength? Is it possible to train it or improve it? In this article we are going to make a brief comment about it.

  • Related article: "Personal Development: 5 reasons for self-reflection"

Personal strength: definition and basic characteristics

Personal strengths are understood as that set of skills, characteristics or aspects of a psychological or attitudinal type in which we excel and that suppose some kind of virtue or adaptive advantage. It is about those abilities that represent positive and desirable elements in terms of personality.


For a characteristic to be considerable as a personal strength, it must be recognizable in a transcultural manner as something positive and desirable, valuable in itself and not only for its results and be able to generate satisfaction for the person who owns it. Likewise they must also be measurable and have an undesired opposite . Another necessary element is the fact that it is a stable characteristic, generalizable to the way of acting of the subject, and that is remarkable in some people and not so much (or even non-existent) in others. They must be something exemplifiable and visible and there must be people who express it in a precocious way.

Personal strengths have a strong cultural background, and are often linked to virtually universal values ​​and can even be related to virtues. The study from the psychology of this type of elements from the psychological field is relatively recent, framed within positive psychology.


This is a current or movement within psychology that advocates the analysis and study of the factors that contribute to generate and maintain well-being , focusing on these elements, being different from the more traditional approach in which the studies focused on the presence of deficits and mental disorders.

Within the analysis of mental strengths, the figures of Seligman and Csikszentmihalyi (two fundamental authors within this paradigm) stand out, which even generated the Values ​​in Action Project and even a questionnaire of personal strengths based on these studies.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to adopt a positive mental attitude, in 6 tips"

Examples of personal strengths

There are a large number of aspects that meet the necessary conditions to be considered personal strengths. The aforementioned authors even drew up a list in this regard, although this can be perfectly expandable based on the values ​​that are considered positive in a majority way. Then we will indicate eight examples of personal strength that can be very useful in our day to day.


1. Ability to work in a team

Probably one of the most demanded skills at work is also considered a powerful personal strength linked to interpersonal relationships and productivity. Being able to work in a team involves a lot of elements such as the ability to negotiate, but highlights the fact of being able to coordinate one's own effort with that of others to achieve a specific objective.

2. Hope

One of the personal strengths that most help us on a daily basis and when it comes to training and helping us meet goals is hope, more specifically the ability to have it. This strength implies being able to look to the future and establish positive predictions about it that will help us guide and motivation to fight . This aspect is important: it is not only to wait for good things to happen, but also to work for them.

3. Mental flexibility and openness to experience

The mental flexibility and openness to experience, although they are not exactly the same and can be considered separate strengths, have a common ground: in both cases it implies that the person is able to accept the existence of new possibilities alien to those previously held consider. In the case of openness to experience there is also a component of curiosity, this being another possible personal strength.

4. Curiosity

Linked as facts said to the previous ones, the curiosity is the force or impulse that allows us to approach learning, seeing or trying new possibilities . This interest in the new allows us to be more flexible, learn and live much more diverse experiences.

5. Impartiality

Linked to the concept of justice, impartiality is a strength that allows relatively objective judgments. It implies being able to put aside personal opinions and get our judgment of the situation do not take into account our own emotional involvement in the case .

6. Persistence

Persistence or perseverance can be a personal strength of great interest. It implies the ability to initiate, continue and finish a determined course of action even though difficulties may arise. Remain even if it is hard and fight for the objectives set without losing heart.

7. Goodness

A complex concept but without doubt one of the most recognized and difficult to maintain strengths. Goodness implies the ability to focus on helping the other, having a good disposition toward what surrounds us and pretending not to cause damages or harm to others. It implies a certain level of compassion and love . Sometimes also kindness, although many people have the strength of kindness without necessarily being cordial or friendly in their dealings.

8. Love

One of the forces that moves the world. Mainly love as strength refers to the ability to give and receive esteem and positive emotionality in interactions with our loved ones and the environment. While strength is usually focused on the ability to give and receive others, it must also include being able to love oneself.

How to strengthen these personal qualities?

Each of us has its own strengths and weaknesses, and it may be more than advisable to decrease the second ones and strengthen the first ones. However, for many people it can be complicated strengthen and strengthen (worth the redundancy) our personal strengths . In order to achieve this, both personally and in the case that we are in therapy and we want our patient to train them, we must take into account the following issues.

1. Identify the strength

Understanding which aspects of us are a strength may seem intuitive and logical but the truth is that if we put ourselves to it, in many cases we will find certain difficulties to find them. And it is that thinking about what we are good at is not as habitual as it seems, not valuing us or recognizing us often some highly recognizable aspects of our way of being and doing.

Thus, the first step to strengthen our strengths is none other than that of make us aware of them . For this we can go to different sources of information, including our own perception of things we do and in which we consider that we highlight and contrast these beliefs with the opinions of others, or asking others and assessing whether their opinion is correct.

2. Analyze the different factors that are part of it

Besides being aware of what we are good at or what aspects of our being are more remarkable, It is advisable to try to fragment these capacities in such a way that we can see, already within said capacity, in which aspects we stand out more and in which it would be more advisable to work to further enhance them.

3. Work the specific aspects

It is not viable to indicate a unitary way of working all the strengths, being these different from each other and requiring specific ways and elements to work them. For example, in the case of love, kindness or even teamwork the relationship with others and emotional expression must be worked on , as well as some work in empathy.

In the same way, justice or impartiality may require practice based on exposure to situations that involve ethical dilemmas, observing the existence of different positions equally valid and taking into account the possibility of taking various courses of action.

Perseverance would require the setting of realistic goals and of the visualization, planning and preparation before possible difficulties, as well as ways of acting in this regard.

Creativity could be trained through the realization of exercises that stimulate lateral thinking or with expressive therapies or in which art is used. The ability to imagine, read and visualize are also trainable and facilitate both this and for example curiosity (which we can also strengthen through deepening the aspects that cause us interest).

4. Put your strengths to the test

To be able to empower ourselves we not only have to know our strengths but also the limits of these. This involves exposing oneself to the practice of activities and behavioral experiments in that we observe how far we can go and what it means, so that we can work to try to improve ourselves.

5. Train and practice

As with most things in life (such as the physical form or level of proficiency in a non-native language), what is not trained is often lost or lowered. That is why we should try put our strengths into practice with some frequency .

Bibliographic references:

  • Clariano, S.M. and de los Ríos, P. (2012), Health Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 04. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Peterson, C. & Seligman, M.E.P. (2004). Character Strengths and Virtues: A Handbook and Classification. OUP USA.
  • Seligman, M.E.P.(2003). The authentic happiness. Barcelona: Bergara.

The Secret of Becoming Mentally Strong | Amy Morin | TEDxOcala (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Forces personnelles: que sont-elles et comment les habiliter en thérapie?

Forces personnelles: que sont-elles et comment les habiliter en thérapie?

Mai 25, 2022

Chacun d'entre nous sait qu'il y a des choses pour lesquelles nous sommes bons et que nous ne sommes pas bons. De même, nous avons tous des aspects de notre façon d'être qui sont remarquables à la fois pour le bien et pour le mal, et qui sont considérés comme positifs et négatifs non seulement par nous, mais également par nos pairs et même par notre culture. Dans le premier cas, nous parlons d'aspects que nous considérons ou que nous considérons être nos forces personnelles.

Mais Qu'est-ce qu'une force personnelle? Est-il possible de l'entraîner ou de l'améliorer? Dans cet article, nous allons faire un bref commentaire à ce sujet.

  • Article connexe: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons d'auto-réflexion"

Force personnelle: définition et caractéristiques de base

Les forces personnelles sont comprises comme l’ensemble de compétences, caractéristiques ou aspects de type psychologique ou comportemental dans lequel nous excellons et qui supposent une sorte de vertu ou un avantage adaptatif. Il s’agit des capacités qui représentent des éléments positifs et souhaitables en termes de personnalité.


Pour qu’une caractéristique soit considérable en tant que force personnelle, elle doit être reconnaissable de manière transculturelle comme quelque chose de positif et de souhaitable, de valeur en soi et non seulement pour ses résultats et pour pouvoir générer une satisfaction pour la personne qui la possède. De même ils doivent également être mesurables et avoir un contraire indésirable . Un autre élément nécessaire est le fait qu’il s’agit d’une caractéristique stable, généralisable à la manière d’agir du sujet, et qui est remarquable chez certaines personnes et pas tellement (ou même inexistante) chez d’autres. Ils doivent être quelque chose d’exemplaire et de visible et il doit y avoir des gens qui l’expriment de manière précoce.

Les forces personnelles ont un fort arrière-plan culturel et sont souvent liées à des valeurs pratiquement universelles et peuvent même être liées à des vertus. L'étude de la psychologie de ce type d'éléments du champ psychologique est relativement récente, encadrée par la psychologie positive.


C’est un courant ou un mouvement au sein de la psychologie qui préconise l’analyse et l’étude des facteurs qui contribuer à générer et à maintenir le bien-être , en se concentrant sur ces éléments, étant différents de l’approche plus traditionnelle dans laquelle les études portaient sur la présence de déficits et de troubles mentaux.

Dans l'analyse des forces mentales, les figures de Seligman et de Csikszentmihalyi (deux auteurs fondamentaux de ce paradigme) se démarquent, ce qui a même généré le projet Values ​​in Action et même un questionnaire des forces personnelles basé sur ces études.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment adopter une attitude mentale positive en 6 conseils"

Exemples de forces personnelles

Un grand nombre d'aspects remplissent les conditions nécessaires pour être considérés comme des forces personnelles. Les auteurs susmentionnés ont même établi une liste à cet égard, bien que celle-ci puisse être parfaitement extensible sur la base de valeurs considérées comme positives dans la plupart des cas. Ensuite, nous indiquerons huit exemples de force personnelle qui peuvent être très utiles au quotidien.


1. Capacité à travailler en équipe

L’une des compétences les plus demandées au travail est probablement considérée comme une force personnelle puissante liée aux relations interpersonnelles et à la productivité. Etre capable de travailler en équipe implique de nombreux éléments tels que la capacité de négociation, mais souligne le fait de pouvoir coordonner ses propres efforts avec ceux des autres atteindre un objectif spécifique.

2. Espoir

L’espoir, plus précisément la capacité de l’atteindre, est l’un des atouts personnels qui nous aident le plus quotidiennement et qui nous aident à atteindre nos objectifs. Cette force implique de pouvoir regarder vers l’avenir et d’établir des prédictions positives à ce sujet, qui nous aideront à guide et motivation à se battre . Cet aspect est important: il ne s'agit pas seulement d'attendre que de bonnes choses se produisent, mais aussi de travailler pour elles.

3. Souplesse mentale et ouverture à l'expérience

La flexibilité mentale et l'ouverture à l'expérience, même si elles ne sont pas exactement les mêmes et peuvent être considérées comme des forces distinctes, ont un fondement commun: dans les deux cas, cela signifie que la personne est capable d'accepter l'existence de nouvelles possibilités étrangères à celles précédemment offertes. en compte. En cas d'ouverture à l'expérience, il y a aussi un élément de curiosité, qui est une autre force personnelle possible.

4. Curiosité

Liés comme des faits dits aux précédents, la curiosité est la force ou impulsion qui nous permet d'aborder l'apprentissage, voir ou essayer de nouvelles possibilités . Cet intérêt pour le nouveau nous permet d’être plus flexibles, d’apprendre et de vivre des expériences beaucoup plus diverses.

5. Impartialité

Liée à la notion de justice, l'impartialité est une force qui permet des jugements relativement objectifs. Cela implique de pouvoir mettre de côté ses opinions personnelles et de pouvoir juger de la situation. ne pas prendre en compte notre propre implication émotionnelle dans l'affaire .

6. Persistance

La persistance ou la persévérance peut être une force personnelle d'un grand intérêt. Cela implique la capacité d'initier, de poursuivre et d'achever un plan d'action déterminé, même si des difficultés peuvent survenir. Restez même si c'est difficile et luttez pour les objectifs fixés sans perdre courage.

7. la bonté

Un concept complexe mais certainement l'un des atouts les plus reconnus et les plus difficiles à maintenir. La bonté implique la capacité de se concentrer sur l'aide à l'autre, d'avoir une bonne disposition à l'égard de ce qui nous entoure et de prétendre ne pas causer de dommages ni causer de préjudice à autrui. Cela implique un certain niveau de compassion et d'amour . Parfois aussi, la gentillesse, bien que beaucoup de gens ont la force de la gentillesse sans nécessairement être cordial ou amical dans leurs relations.

8. l'amour

Une des forces qui fait bouger le monde. Principalement, l'amour en tant que force fait référence à la capacité de donner et de recevoir de l'estime et une émotion positive dans les interactions avec nos proches et l'environnement. Si la force est généralement centrée sur la capacité de donner et de recevoir les autres, elle doit aussi inclure la capacité de s’aimer soi-même.

Comment renforcer ces qualités personnelles?

Chacun de nous a ses propres forces et faiblesses, et il serait peut-être plus que souhaitable de réduire les secondes et de renforcer les premières. Cependant, pour beaucoup de gens, cela peut être compliqué renforcer et renforcer (mérite la redondance) nos forces personnelles . Pour y parvenir, tant personnellement que dans le cas où nous sommes en thérapie et que nous souhaitons que notre patient les forme, nous devons prendre en compte les points suivants.

1. Identifier la force

Comprendre quels aspects de nous sont une force peut sembler intuitif et logique, mais la vérité est que si nous nous y mettons nous-mêmes, nous aurons souvent de la difficulté à les trouver. Et c’est que penser à ce en quoi nous sommes bons n’est pas aussi habituel qu’il semble, ne pas nous valoriser ou nous reconnaître souvent des aspects très reconnaissables de notre façon d’être et de faire.

Ainsi, le premier pas pour renforcer nos forces n’est autre que celui de nous en rendre compte . Pour cela, nous pouvons nous adresser à différentes sources d’information, y compris notre propre perception des choses que nous faisons et dans lesquelles nous considérons que nous soulignons et contrastons ces croyances avec les opinions des autres, ou que nous demandons aux autres et évaluons si leur opinion est correcte.

2. Analyser les différents facteurs qui en font partie

En plus d’être conscients de ce en quoi nous excellons ou des aspects de notre être qui sont plus remarquables, Il est conseillé d'essayer de fragmenter ces capacités de manière à ce que nous puissions déjà voir, dans les limites de ces capacités, quels aspects nous distinguent davantage et dans lesquels il serait préférable de travailler pour les améliorer davantage.

3. Travailler les aspects spécifiques

Il n’est pas viable d’indiquer une méthode unitaire pour exploiter toutes les forces, qui sont différentes les unes des autres et qui nécessitent des méthodes et des éléments spécifiques pour les exploiter. Par exemple, dans le cas d'amour, de gentillesse ou même de travail d'équipe la relation avec les autres et l'expression émotionnelle doivent être travaillées , ainsi que certains travaillent dans l'empathie.

De la même manière, la justice ou l'impartialité peuvent exiger une pratique basée sur l'exposition à des situations impliquant des dilemmes éthiques, en observant l'existence de positions différentes, également valables et en tenant compte de la possibilité de prendre diverses mesures.

La persévérance nécessiterait la fixation d'objectifs réalistes et de la visualisation, de la planification et de la préparation avant d'éventuelles difficultés, ainsi que des façons d'agir à cet égard.

La créativité peut être formée à travers la réalisation d’exercices stimulant la pensée latérale ou avec des thérapies expressives ou dans lesquels l’art est utilisé. La capacité d'imaginer, de lire et de visualiser peut également être formée et facilitée à la fois par curiosité (que nous pouvons également renforcer en approfondissant les aspects qui nous intéressent).

4. Mettez vos forces à l'épreuve

Pour pouvoir nous autonomiser, nous devons non seulement connaître nos forces, mais également les limites de celles-ci. Cela implique de s’exposer à la pratique d’activités et à des expériences comportementales en ce sens, nous observons jusqu'où nous pouvons aller et ce que cela signifie, afin de pouvoir travailler pour nous améliorer.

5. Former et pratiquer

Comme pour la plupart des choses de la vie (comme la forme physique ou le niveau de maîtrise d'une langue non autochtone), ce qui n'est pas formé est souvent perdu ou diminué. C'est pourquoi nous devrions essayer mettre nos forces en pratique avec une certaine fréquence .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clariano, S.M. et de los Ríos, P. (2012), Psychologie de la santé. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 04. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Peterson, C. & Seligman, M.E.P. (2004). Forces et vertus du caractère: manuel et classification. OUP USA.
  • Seligman, M.E.P.(2003). Le bonheur authentique. Barcelone: ​​Bergara.

Narcissistic Abuse: An Unspoken Reality (Short Documentary) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes