yes, therapy helps!
Postpartum or puerperal psychosis: causes, symptoms and treatment

Postpartum or puerperal psychosis: causes, symptoms and treatment

May 2, 2024

On rare occasions, symptoms of psychosis appear in women who are in the period immediately after delivery. Although psychiatric textbooks do not collect puerperal psychosis as a specific disorder, many professionals use this concept to refer to such situations.

In this article we will analyze the symptoms and the main causes of puerperal psychosis , as well as other of its basic characteristics. We will also briefly review the therapeutic options currently available to handle this problem.

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia"

What is puerperal psychosis?

Puerperal or postpartum psychosis is a type of psychotic disorder that occurs in women who have just had a baby, usually in the two weeks after delivery. It is characterized by typical symptoms of psychosis such as hallucinations, delusions, disorganization of thought , behavioral disinhibition and catatonia.


In psychotic disorders there is a loss of contact with reality that can manifest itself in different areas and has a variable severity. It is believed that there is a strong genetic influence that determines the development of psychosis symptoms.

This form of psychosis was described by German obstetrician Friedrich Benjamin Osiander in 1797. In the past, puerperal psychosis was attributed to infections, thyroid disorders or eclampsia, a seizure disorder of pregnancy; Although these hypotheses have been ruled out (except for the thyroid), the causes remain unclear.

It is a relatively rare alteration, given that affects 1 in every 1000 women who give birth . In comparison, postpartum depression, a subtype of major depressive disorder, occurs in approximately 15% of mothers. Although psychotic symptoms may appear in the setting of postpartum depression, they are different disorders.


The DSM manuals do not include the diagnosis of puerperal psychosis; using these guidelines, these cases should be classified as "Psychotic disorders not specified". In the ICD-10 we find the category "Mental and behavioral disorders in the puerperium", which also includes postpartum depression.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Baby blues: sadness after childbirth"

Symptoms and usual signs

The referred symptoms and observable signs of puerperal psychosis vary greatly depending on the specific case, and even along the course of the disorder in the same person. Opposite symptoms, such as euphoria and the depressive state, sometimes occur together.

The most common early signs of postpartum psychosis they include the appearance of feelings of euphoria, the reduction in the amount of sleep, the mental confusion and the verbiage.


In addition to being classifiable in a psychotic type of picture similar to that of schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder, the usual symptoms of puerperal psychosis are sometimes they also resemble those of mania and depression , the main alterations of mood.

  • Delusions and other strange beliefs
  • Hallucinations, especially of the auditory type
  • Paranoia and suspicion
  • Irritability and emotional instability
  • Low mood, even depressive
  • Mania: feeling of euphoria, increased energy and psychological agitation
  • Accelerated thinking and serious confusion
  • Difficulties for communication
  • Motor hyperactivity and behavioral disinhibition
  • Decreased need or ability to sleep
  • Lack of recognition of alterations
  • Increased risk of suicide and infanticide

Causes and risk factors

Research reveals that puerperal psychosis is associated with schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and schizoaffective ; About a third of women with these disorders suffer severe psychotic episodes after childbirth. In addition, people with postpartum psychosis have a 30% chance of having another episode in subsequent pregnancies.

It is believed that there is a genetic component to this disorder, since the fact that a close relative has been diagnosed with puerperal psychosis increases the risk of developing it by approximately 3%. The family history of depression in pregnancy or postpartum, psychotic-affective disorders and thyroid dysfunctions are also risk factors.

However, half of women who suffer from puerperal psychosis do not have any risk factor; a hypothesis that could explain this would be the one that associates this disorder with the hormonal changes and the sleep cycle that occur after childbirth . First-time mothers seem to have a greater chance of developing this type of psychosis.

  • Related article: "Schizoaffective disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Treatment of postpartum psychosis

When a case of postpartum psychosis is detected, it is more usual for the hospital stay to be extended, or for the mother to be hospitalized again. In general, the management of this alteration is carried out through pharmacotherapy, although there are programs of psychological emergency intervention for psychosis that can be very useful as a complement.

Among the medications used to treat this alteration, two categories stand out: antipsychotics and mood stabilizers , reference psychopharmaceuticals in bipolar disorder. Antidepressants can also be useful for managing symptoms such as depressed mood, irritability, sleeping difficulties and cognitive problems.

Cases resistant to drug treatment that are also serious, such as those that carry a manifest risk of suicide, are sometimes treated with electroconvulsive therapy.

Most people who suffer this alteration recover completely after six months to a year, while the severity of symptoms usually decreases clearly before three months after delivery. The risk of suicide remains high during the recovery period .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy"

Postpartum Depression: What You Need to Know (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychose post-partum ou puerpérale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Psychose post-partum ou puerpérale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Août 3, 2022

En de rares occasions, des symptômes de psychose apparaissent chez les femmes qui se trouvent immédiatement après l'accouchement. Bien que les manuels psychiatriques ne considèrent pas la psychose puerpérale comme un trouble spécifique, de nombreux professionnels utilisent ce concept pour faire référence à de telles situations.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les symptômes et les principales causes de psychose puerpérale , ainsi que d’autres caractéristiques de base. Nous examinerons également brièvement les options thérapeutiques actuellement disponibles pour traiter ce problème.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie"

Qu'est-ce que la psychose puerpérale?

La psychose puerpérale ou postnatale est un type de trouble psychotique qui survient chez les femmes qui viennent d'avoir un bébé, généralement dans les deux semaines suivant l'accouchement. Il se caractérise par des symptômes typiques de psychose tels que hallucinations, délires, désorganisation de la pensée , désinhibition comportementale et catatonie.


Dans les troubles psychotiques, il existe une perte de contact avec la réalité qui peut se manifester dans différents domaines et dont la gravité varie. On pense qu'il existe une forte influence génétique qui détermine le développement des symptômes de psychose.

L'obstétricien allemand Friedrich Benjamin Osiander a décrit cette forme de psychose en 1797. Dans le passé, la psychose puerpérale était attribuée à des infections, des troubles de la thyroïde ou une éclampsie, une crise convulsive de la grossesse; Bien que ces hypothèses aient été écartées (à l'exception de la thyroïde), les causes demeurent obscures.

C'est une altération relativement rare, étant donné que affecte 1 femme sur 1000 qui accouche . En comparaison, environ 15% des mères souffrent de dépression postpartum, un sous-type de trouble dépressif majeur. Bien que des symptômes psychotiques puissent apparaître dans le contexte de la dépression post-partum, il s’agit de troubles différents.


Les manuels DSM n'incluent pas le diagnostic de psychose puerpérale; En utilisant ces lignes directrices, ces cas doivent être classés dans la catégorie "Troubles psychotiques non spécifiés". Dans la CIM-10, nous trouvons la catégorie "Troubles mentaux et du comportement au cours de la puerpéralité", qui comprend également la dépression post-partum.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Baby blues: tristesse après l'accouchement"

Symptômes et signes habituels

Les symptômes et les signes observables de psychose puerpérale varient considérablement selon les cas et même au cours de l'évolution de la maladie chez la même personne. Des symptômes opposés, tels que l'euphorie et l'état dépressif, se manifestent parfois ensemble.

Les premiers signes les plus communs de la psychose post-partum ils comprennent l'apparition de sentiments d'euphorie, la réduction de la quantité de sommeil, la confusion mentale et le verbiage.


En plus d’être classés dans un type de tableau psychotique semblable à celui de la schizophrénie ou du trouble schizoaffectif, les symptômes habituels de la psychose puerpérale sont parfois ils ressemblent aussi à ceux de la manie et de la dépression , les principales altérations de l'humeur.

  • Délires et autres croyances étranges
  • Hallucinations, en particulier du type auditif
  • Paranoïa et suspicion
  • Irritabilité et instabilité émotionnelle
  • Humeur basse, même dépressive
  • Manie: euphorie, augmentation de l'énergie et agitation psychologique
  • Pensée accélérée et confusion grave
  • Difficultés de communication
  • Hyperactivité motrice et désinhibition comportementale
  • Diminution du besoin ou de la capacité de dormir
  • Manque de reconnaissance des modifications
  • Risque accru de suicide et d'infanticide

Causes et facteurs de risque

La recherche révèle que la psychose puerpérale est associé à la schizophrénie, au trouble bipolaire et à la schizoaffectivité ; Environ le tiers des femmes atteintes de ces troubles souffrent d'épisodes psychotiques graves après l'accouchement. En outre, les personnes atteintes de psychose post-partum ont 30% de chances d’avoir un autre épisode lors de grossesses ultérieures.

On pense qu'il existe une composante génétique dans cette maladie, car le fait qu'un parent proche ait été diagnostiqué avec une psychose puerpérale augmente le risque de la développer d'environ 3%. Les antécédents familiaux de dépression pendant la grossesse ou après l'accouchement, les troubles psychotiques affectifs et les dysfonctionnements de la thyroïde sont également des facteurs de risque.

Cependant, la moitié des femmes atteintes de psychose puerpérale ne présentent aucun facteur de risque; une hypothèse qui pourrait expliquer ce serait celle qui associe ce trouble à la les changements hormonaux et le cycle du sommeil qui surviennent après l'accouchement . Les nouvelles mères semblent avoir plus de chances de développer ce type de psychose.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble schizo-affectif: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Traitement de la psychose post-partum

Lorsqu'un cas de psychose post-partum est détecté, il est plus courant de prolonger le séjour à l'hôpital ou d'hospitaliser à nouveau la mère. En général, la gestion de cette altération est assurée par la pharmacothérapie, bien qu'il existe des programmes d'intervention d'urgence psychologique pour la psychose qui peuvent être très utiles en complément.

Parmi les médicaments utilisés pour traiter cette altération, deux catégories se distinguent: antipsychotiques et stabilisateurs de l'humeur , référence psychopharmaceutique dans le trouble bipolaire. Les antidépresseurs peuvent également être utiles pour gérer les symptômes tels que l'humeur dépressive, l'irritabilité, les difficultés de sommeil et les problèmes cognitifs.

Les cas résistants à un traitement médicamenteux qui sont également graves, tels que ceux qui présentent un risque manifeste de suicide, sont parfois traités par thérapie électroconvulsive.

La plupart des personnes touchées par cette altération guérissent complètement entre six mois et un an, alors que la gravité des symptômes diminue généralement nettement avant trois mois après l'accouchement. Le risque de suicide reste élevé pendant la période de récupération .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce qui provoque une psychose? (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes