yes, therapy helps!
Premenstrual syndrome: causes, symptoms, treatment and remedies

Premenstrual syndrome: causes, symptoms, treatment and remedies

June 24, 2022

3 out of 4 women report symptoms such as anxiety, headache, acne, fatigue or sadness, among others, when menstruation approaches; these cases are known as premenstrual syndrome .

In this article we will analyze the causes and symptoms of premenstrual syndrome, including its most serious form, premenstrual dysphoric disorder . Also we will detail the treatments and home remedies by means of which these alterations can be fought.

  • Related article: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

Premenstrual syndrome and premenstrual dysphoric disorder

Premenstrual syndrome is defined as a varied set of physical, emotional and behavioral symptoms that appear after ovulation , between one and two weeks before menstruation. They usually cease after the period begins.


It is estimated that approximately 80% of women have suffered symptoms of premenstrual syndrome at some point in their lives. It is more usual to occur after 30 years , in women who have had children or with a history of depression, both personal and family. Symptoms tend to get worse as menopause approaches.

Premenstrual dysphoric disorder is a severe variant of premenstrual syndrome that affects about 3-8% of women of childbearing age . Unlike premenstrual syndrome, premenstrual dysphoric disorder is considered pathological insofar as it interferes with the normal functioning of those who suffer it.


In 2013, premenstrual dysphoric disorder was included in the DSM-5. This conception of disorder has been criticized by many people who think that it may have negative consequences for women at a socioeconomic level and that it was invented by pharmacists to sell medicines. On the other hand, some people think that the existence of this diagnosis will increase awareness of the biological basis of this type of symptoms.

Symptoms and signs

Among the most frequent physical symptoms and signs We found the appearance of acne breakouts, fatigue, distension and abdominal cramps, colic, constipation, diarrhea, headache, back, muscles and joints, swelling and sensitivity in the breasts, food cravings and weight gain due to fluid retention.

The psychological symptoms of premenstrual syndrome They include concentration difficulties, decreased mood, anxiety, tension, insomnia, irritability, aggression, mood swings, crying, social withdrawal and variations in sexual desire.


The majority of women who feel symptoms of premenstrual syndrome claim that they only suffer from some of the alterations that we have mentioned. In general, the pattern of appearance of symptoms is predictable.

In cases of premenstrual dysphoric disorder the psychological and emotional symptoms are usually especially intense ; For example, feelings of sadness can become hopeless, and irritability and anger can facilitate the appearance of conflicts with other people.

Causes of premenstrual syndrome

The alterations of the premenstrual syndrome are related to the luteal phase of the menstrual cycle, also called 'postovulation'. During this time the unfertilized egg disintegrates to be subsequently expelled in the bleeding.

In the luteal phase, the ovules secrete progesterone, a hormone involved in pregnancy, the sexual impulse, the regeneration of the dermal tissue, the coagulation of the blood, the growth of the breasts and breast cancer.

It is believed that dysregulation in the production of progesterone and other hormones , which affects different women in a variable way, influences the development of premenstrual syndrome. On the other hand, fluctuations in the neurotransmitter serotonin could partly explain symptoms such as fatigue, emotional lability, insomnia and cravings.

The emotional symptoms would be intensified by the presence of stress or depression, while alterations in the levels of sodium, minerals or vitamins would increase some of the physical signs, such as fluid retention and abdominal swelling derived from it.

There are also hypotheses that affirm that sociocultural factors could also contribute to the appearance of premenstrual syndrome and premenstrual dysphoric disorder.

Treatment and remedies

Are used different medical and psychological treatments, as well as home remedies , to reduce the symptoms of premenstrual syndrome. Below you can see the most common and effective.

1. Changes in diet

Limiting the consumption of salt and copious meals can reduce fluid retention, belly swelling and the feeling of having a full stomach. In contrast, it is recommended to eat foods rich in calcium and complex carbohydrates. Avoid coffee and alcohol It can also relieve some symptoms.

2. Physical exercise

Do moderate aerobic exercise , such as swimming, cycling or brisk walking, is useful to treat fatigue, depressed mood and weight gain. It is recommended to play sports for half an hour a day at least 5 days a week.

  • Related article: "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise"

3. Stress reduction

To relieve stress and related symptoms, such as anxiety, insomnia, irritability and headache, it is effective Sleep between 7 and 9 hours each night and do relaxation exercises . The progressive muscular relaxation, the slow and deep breathing, the yoga and the massages are some options endorsed by the investigation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "6 easy relaxation techniques to combat stress"

4. Non-steroidal anti-inflammatories (NSAIDs)

Taking non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs can be effective in relieving cramps, cramps and headaches, back and sinuses. Ibuprofen, naproxen and diclofenac are included in this category of analgesics.

5. Diuretics

Diuretics such as spironolactone may be recommended to reduce swelling and weight gain caused by fluid retention in cases where the exercise and limitation of salt intake are insufficient.

6. Antidepressants

Research has found that selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, such as fluoxetine, sertraline, or paroxetine, are effective in treating the emotional symptoms of premenstrual syndrome, although can cause side effects such as nausea and vomiting .

Although the effect of antidepressants is more potent if taken daily, for moderate cases of premenstrual syndrome it is usually sufficient to do so during the days before menstruation, when symptoms are expected to occur. Yes, it is essential to have the medical indication to use these products.

7. Hormonal contraceptives

Contraceptive pills are prescribed in cases of premenstrual syndrome and premenstrual dysphoric disorder in which the physical symptoms are severe. However, the consumption of these drugs may increase the risk of developing cardiovascular diseases and cancer . In the same way, it is necessary to have the corresponding medical indication.

8. Nutritional supplements

Supplements of calcium, magnesium, vitamin E and vitamin B6 They can help reduce the symptoms of premenstrual syndrome, especially breast tenderness, cramping and fluid retention.

9. Herbal remedies

Among the most used herbal remedies to treat premenstrual syndrome are ginger, ginkgo, soy, St. John's wort, chasteberry and evening primrose oil.

It must be borne in mind that scientific studies have not endorsed this type of therapies at the moment, so that their efficacy, side effects and interactions with other drugs are not clear.


PreMenstrual Syndrome (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome prémenstruel: causes, symptômes, traitement et remèdes

Syndrome prémenstruel: causes, symptômes, traitement et remèdes

Juin 26, 2022

3 femmes sur 4 signalent des symptômes tels que anxiété, maux de tête, acné, fatigue ou tristesse, entre autres, à l'approche de la menstruation; ces cas sont appelés syndrome prémenstruel .

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les causes et les symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel, y compris sa forme la plus grave, le trouble dysphorique prémenstruel . Nous allons également détailler les traitements et les remèdes à la maison au moyen desquels ces altérations peuvent être combattues.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

Syndrome prémenstruel et trouble dysphorique prémenstruel

Le syndrome prémenstruel est défini comme un ensemble varié de symptômes physiques, émotionnels et comportementaux apparaissent après l'ovulation , entre une et deux semaines avant les règles. Ils cessent généralement après le début de la période.


On estime qu'environ 80% des femmes ont souffert des symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel à un moment de leur vie. Il est plus fréquent de se produire après 30 ans chez les femmes qui ont eu des enfants ou qui ont des antécédents de dépression, tant personnelle que familiale. Les symptômes ont tendance à s'aggraver à l'approche de la ménopause.

Le trouble dysphorique prémenstruel est une variante grave du syndrome prémenstruel qui affecte environ 3-8% des femmes en âge de procréer . Contrairement au syndrome prémenstruel, le trouble dysphorique prémenstruel est considéré comme pathologique dans la mesure où il perturbe le fonctionnement normal de ceux qui en souffrent.


En 2013, le trouble dysphorique prémenstruel était inclus dans le DSM-5. Cette conception du désordre a été critiqué par beaucoup de gens qui pensent que cela peut avoir des conséquences négatives pour les femmes au niveau socio-économique et que les pharmaciens ont inventé cela pour vendre des médicaments. D'autre part, certaines personnes pensent que l'existence de ce diagnostic augmentera la prise de conscience de la base biologique de ce type de symptômes.

Symptômes et signes

Parmi les symptômes et les signes physiques les plus fréquents Nous avons constaté l'apparition de poussées d'acné, de fatigue, de distension et de crampes abdominales, de coliques, de constipation, de diarrhée, de maux de tête, de muscles et articulations, de gonflements et de sensibilité dans les seins, de fringales et d'une prise de poids due à la rétention d'eau.

Les symptômes psychologiques du syndrome prémenstruel Ils comprennent les difficultés de concentration, une baisse de l'humeur, l'anxiété, la tension, l'insomnie, l'irritabilité, l'agressivité, les sautes d'humeur, les pleurs, le repli sur soi et les variations du désir sexuel.


La majorité des femmes qui ressentent les symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel déclarent ne souffrir que de certaines des altérations mentionnées précédemment. En général, l'apparition de symptômes est prévisible.

En cas de trouble dysphorique prémenstruel les symptômes psychologiques et émotionnels sont généralement particulièrement intenses ; Par exemple, les sentiments de tristesse peuvent devenir sans espoir et l'irritabilité et la colère peuvent faciliter l'apparition de conflits avec d'autres personnes.

Causes du syndrome prémenstruel

Les altérations du syndrome prémenstruel sont liées à la phase lutéale du cycle menstruel, également appelée «postovulation». Pendant cette période l'oeuf non fécondé se désintègre pour être ensuite expulsé dans le saignement.

Dans la phase lutéale, les ovules sécrètent de la progestérone, une hormone impliquée dans la grossesse, l'impulsion sexuelle, la régénération du tissu dermique, la coagulation du sang, la croissance des seins et le cancer du sein.

Se croit que dysrégulation dans la production de progestérone et d'autres hormones , qui affecte différentes femmes de manière variable, influence le développement du syndrome prémenstruel. D'autre part, les fluctuations de la sérotonine, un neurotransmetteur, pourraient en partie expliquer des symptômes tels que la fatigue, la labilité émotionnelle, l'insomnie et les envies de fumer.

Les symptômes émotionnels seraient intensifiés par la présence de stress ou de dépression, tandis que des modifications des niveaux de sodium, de minéraux ou de vitamines augmenteraient certains signes physiques, tels que la rétention de liquide et le gonflement abdominal qui en découlerait.

Certaines hypothèses affirment également que des facteurs socioculturels pourraient également contribuer à l'apparition du syndrome prémenstruel et du trouble dysphorique prémenstruel.

Traitement et remèdes

Ils s'utilisent différents traitements médicaux et psychologiques, ainsi que des remèdes à la maison , pour réduire les symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel. Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir le plus commun et efficace.

1. Changements de régime

Limiter la consommation de repas salés et copieux peut réduire la rétention d'eau, le gonflement du ventre et la sensation d'avoir l'estomac plein. En revanche, il est recommandé de consommer des aliments riches en calcium et en glucides complexes. Évitez le café et l'alcool Il peut également soulager certains symptômes.

2. exercice physique

Faites de l'exercice aérobique modéré , comme la natation, le vélo ou la marche rapide, est utile pour traiter la fatigue, l’humeur déprimée et la prise de poids. Il est recommandé de faire du sport pendant une demi-heure par jour au moins 5 jours par semaine.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique"

3. Réduction du stress

Pour soulager le stress et les symptômes associés, tels que l'anxiété, l'insomnie, l'irritabilité et les maux de tête, il est efficace Dormir entre 7 et 9 heures chaque nuit et faire des exercices de relaxation . La relaxation musculaire progressive, la respiration lente et profonde, le yoga et les massages sont quelques options validées par l'enquête.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "6 techniques de relaxation faciles pour combattre le stress"

4. Anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS)

La prise d'anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens peut être efficace pour soulager les crampes, les crampes et les maux de tête, le dos et les sinus. L'ibuprofène, le naproxène et le diclofénac entrent dans cette catégorie d'analgésiques.

5. Diurétiques

Des diurétiques tels que la spironolactone peuvent être recommandés réduire l'enflure et la prise de poids causée par la rétention d'eau dans les cas où l'exercice et la limitation de l'apport en sel sont insuffisants.

6. antidépresseurs

La recherche a montré que des inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine, tels que la fluoxétine, la sertraline ou la paroxétine, sont efficaces dans le traitement des symptômes émotionnels du syndrome prémenstruel. peut causer des effets secondaires tels que des nausées et des vomissements .

Bien que l'effet des antidépresseurs soit plus puissant s'il est pris quotidiennement, dans les cas modérés de syndrome prémenstruel, il est généralement suffisant de le faire les jours précédant la menstruation, au moment où les symptômes risquent de se produire. Ça oui, il est essentiel d'avoir l'indication médicale d'utiliser ces produits.

7. Contraceptifs hormonaux

Les pilules contraceptives sont prescrites dans les cas de syndrome prémenstruel et de trouble dysphorique prémenstruel dans lequel les symptômes physiques sont graves. Cependant, la consommation de ces drogues peut augmenter le risque de développer des maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer . De la même manière, il est nécessaire d'avoir l'indication médicale correspondante.

8. Suppléments nutritionnels

Suppléments de calcium, magnésium, vitamine E et vitamine B6 Ils peuvent aider à réduire les symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel, en particulier la sensibilité des seins, les crampes et la rétention d'eau.

9. plantes médicinales

Parmi les plantes médicinales les plus utilisées pour traiter le syndrome prémenstruel sont le gingembre, le ginkgo, le soja, le millepertuis, l'huile de gattilier et l'huile d'onagre.

Il faut garder à l'esprit que les études scientifiques n'ont pas approuvé ce type de thérapies pour le moment, de sorte que leur efficacité, leurs effets secondaires et leurs interactions avec d'autres médicaments ne sont pas claires.


Remèdes naturels contre le SYNDROME PRÉMENSTRUEL (SPM) (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes