yes, therapy helps!
Heart of ice: why some people find it difficult to express affection

Heart of ice: why some people find it difficult to express affection

May 6, 2024

For a long time we have known to what extent our physical and psychological well-being can be eroded by the effect of loneliness, and that the expression of affection is the main way to create connections that link us to others beyond formal relationships.

But nevertheless, Many people have problems expressing affection , and they adopt a distant attitude automatically and involuntarily despite the fact that a part of them asks for the opposite.

Why does this happen? As practically all psychological phenomena, there is no single explanation, since there are several ways that lead to the same result, depending on the path that each person has traveled throughout his life. But nevertheless, there are very common causes to this phenomenon that affects both the couple relationships , and then we will see one of them.


  • Related article: "The power struggle in couple relationships"

The problems when expressing affection

The human mind is a cluster of contradictions, and that is why we are able to prefer one option to another in a theoretical way while at the same time we practice the opposite. This happens, for example, by postponing visits to the dentist or by skipping the gym sessions we are paying, and it also happens in the emotional aspect of our lives.

We know that connecting emotionally with someone is something pleasant , and despite this there are many people who in their day to day prefer to avoid it, refusing invitations to leave, fleeing from intense hugs, giving up on meeting people who show interest, or even showing a distant attitude with the family that can not be explained. for important conflicts.


This curious phenomenon has been addressed by a team of American researchers led by Anna Luerssen. They started from an initial hypothesis: that, When managing relationships, each individual is moved by one of two objectives Priorities that are mutually exclusive.

These objectives are, on the one hand, to develop a satisfactory relationship and, on the other, minimize the risk to the feeling of rejection . In general, expressing affection generates well-being, but if it is interpreted that this affection is not reciprocated, a feeling of vulnerability and of having little value that damages self-esteem can appear.

Luerssen and his family understood that someone with low self-esteem will tend to stay more defensive in their love relationships, and that is why, anticipating the high risk of rejection, it will be easier for them to renounce the idea of ​​having a very intimate relationship and satisfactory.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional vacuum: when we lack something that we can not explain"

The experiment

For this research, the Luerssen team counted with the participation of 60 couples who were taken care of in a psychology laboratory. There, the members of each couple were separated and a role was offered to each of them: one person would be "the speaker" and the other, "the one who listens".

To the participants who should speak they were asked to choose three compliments or compliments what to say to your partners The people who received them, in addition to asking them to listen without offering any response, were told that their partner had chosen to talk about "things that I really like about my partner" from a list of possible topics. In this way, they would believe that compliments were spontaneous.

After this phase, both members of the couple filled out questionnaires about how the activity had made them feel, they underwent a test to collect data about their hormone levels at that time, and the "speakers" filled in A questionnaire designed to measure your self-esteem.

The harmful power of vulnerability in the couple

According to the results obtained, people with less self-esteem tended to offer less affectionate compliments and to manifest greater discomfort produced by the experiment.

Progesterone levels , a hormone segregated in greater quantities before affective behaviors and linked with attachment, did not rise significantly in these people, as it usually happens with most people. In fact, both the "hearing" people of couples with low self-esteem and those linked to couples with good self-esteem did experience that sudden rise in progesterone levels. On the other hand, "speakers" with less self-esteem tended to believe to a lesser degree that their partner benefited from their compliments

How is this interpreted? Everything seems to indicate that people with less self-esteem are much more aimed at the goal of avoiding the feeling of rejection , and that the actions that expose them to this type of danger cause an upset that is not compensated by the good that is believed to be being done; hence the biased idea that the other person benefits little from compliments despite hormonal evidence to the contrary.

A good part of the solution to this type of affective and relational problems, then, is to work on self-esteem and build an idea of ​​oneself (a self-concept) that is realistic and unconcealed. Thus, everyone will win.

  • Maybe you're interested: "23 signs that you have a 'toxic relationship' as a couple"

Bibliographic references:

  • Luerssen, A., Jhita, G. J., & Ayduk, O. (2017). Putting yourself on the line: Self-esteem and expressing affection in romantic relationships. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 43 (7), 940-956.

3 Man-Melting Phrases That Make A Guy Fall For You - Matthew Hussey, Get The Guy (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cœur de glace: pourquoi certaines personnes ont du mal à exprimer leur affection

Cœur de glace: pourquoi certaines personnes ont du mal à exprimer leur affection

Septembre 23, 2019

Nous savons depuis longtemps à quel point notre bien-être physique et psychologique peut être compromis par l'effet de la solitude et l'expression de l'affection est le principal moyen de créer des liens qui nous lient à d'autres que des relations formelles.

Cependant, Beaucoup de gens ont des problèmes pour exprimer leur affection , et ils adoptent automatiquement et involontairement une attitude lointaine malgré le fait qu’une partie d’eux demande le contraire.

Pourquoi cela se produit-il? Comme pratiquement tous les phénomènes psychologiques, il n’ya pas d’explication unique, puisqu’il existe plusieurs manières d’aboutir au même résultat, en fonction du chemin parcouru par chacun au cours de sa vie. Cependant, il y a des causes très communes à ce phénomène qui affecte à la fois les relations de couple et ensuite nous en verrons un.


  • Article connexe: "La lutte de pouvoir dans les relations de couple"

Les problèmes pour exprimer son affection

L'esprit humain est un amas de contradictions et c'est pourquoi nous pouvons préférer une option à une autre de manière théorique tout en pratiquant le contraire. Cela se produit, par exemple, en reportant les visites chez le dentiste ou en sautant les séances de gymnastique que nous payons, et cela se produit également dans l'aspect émotionnel de nos vies.

Nous savons que communiquer émotionnellement avec quelqu'un est une chose agréable Malgré cela, nombreux sont ceux qui, au quotidien, préfèrent l'éviter, refusent les invitations à partir, fuient des câlins intenses, renoncent à rencontrer des personnes qui manifestent de l'intérêt, voire manifestent une attitude lointaine qu'on ne peut expliquer. pour les conflits importants.


Ce phénomène curieux a été abordé par une équipe de chercheurs américains dirigée par Anna Luerssen. Ils sont partis d'une hypothèse initiale: que Lors de la gestion des relations, chaque individu est déplacé par l'un des deux objectifs Des priorités qui s'excluent mutuellement.

Ces objectifs consistent, d’une part, à développer une relation satisfaisante et, d’autre part, à minimiser le risque de sentiment de rejet . En général, l'expression de l'affection engendre le bien-être, mais si l'on interprète cette affection sans réciprocité, un sentiment de vulnérabilité et de perte de valeur susceptible de nuire à l'estime de soi peut apparaître.

Luerssen et sa famille ont compris qu'une personne ayant une faible estime de soi aura tendance à rester plus défensive dans ses relations amoureuses. C'est pourquoi, en anticipant le risque élevé de rejet, il sera plus facile pour eux de renoncer à l'idée d'avoir une relation très intime. et satisfaisant.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Vide émotionnel: quand il nous manque quelque chose que nous ne pouvons pas expliquer"

L'expérience

Pour cette recherche, l’équipe de Luerssen a compté avec la participation de 60 couples qui ont été pris en charge dans un laboratoire de psychologie. Là, les membres de chaque couple ont été séparés et un rôle a été offert à chacun d'entre eux: une personne serait "l'orateur" et l'autre, "celui qui écoute".

Aux participants qui devraient parler ils ont été invités à choisir trois compliments ou compliments quoi dire à vos partenaires Les personnes qui les ont reçues, en plus de leur demander d'écouter sans donner de réponse, ont été informées que leur partenaire avait choisi de parler de "sujets que j'aime beaucoup chez mon partenaire" à partir d'une liste de sujets possibles. De cette façon, ils croiraient que les compliments sont spontanés.

Après cette phase, les deux membres du couple ont rempli des questionnaires sur l’impact de l’activité, ont passé un test permettant de collecter des données sur leurs niveaux hormonaux à ce moment-là, et les "intervenants" ont rempli le questionnaire. Un questionnaire conçu pour mesurer votre estime de soi.

Le pouvoir néfaste de la vulnérabilité dans le couple

Selon les résultats obtenus, les personnes ayant moins d'estime de soi avaient tendance à offrir des compliments moins affectueux et pour manifester un plus grand inconfort produit par l'expérience.

Niveaux de progestérone , une hormone séparée en plus grande quantité avant les comportements affectifs et liée à l'attachement, n'a pas augmenté de manière significative chez ces personnes, comme cela se produit généralement chez la plupart des gens. En fait, les personnes "auditives" des couples ayant une faible estime de soi et celles liées aux couples ayant une bonne estime de soi ont connu cette augmentation soudaine des niveaux de progestérone. Par contre, les "orateurs" ayant moins d'estime de soi avaient tendance à croire dans une moindre mesure que leur partenaire bénéficiait de leurs compliments.

Comment est-ce interprété? Tout semble indiquer que les personnes ayant moins d'estime de soi sont beaucoup plus visant à éviter le sentiment de rejet et que les actes qui les exposent à ce type de danger causent un désagrément qui n’est pas compensé par le bien que l’on pense être fait; d’où l’idée biaisée selon laquelle l’autre personne tire peu d’avantages des compliments malgré les preuves hormonales du contraire.

Une bonne partie de la solution à ce type de problèmes affectifs et relationnels consiste donc à travailler sur l'estime de soi et à se construire une idée de soi (un concept de soi) réaliste et non dissimulée. Ainsi, tout le monde va gagner.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "23 signes indiquant que vous avez une" relation toxique "en tant que couple"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Luerssen, A., Jhita, G. J. et Ayduk, O. (2017). Mettez-vous en danger: l'estime de soi et l'expression de l'affection dans les relations amoureuses. Personnalité et Social Psychology Bulletin, 43 (7), 940-956.

Comment gérer sa colère : L'exercice qui va changer votre vie ! (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes