yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of envy: 5 keys to understanding it

Psychology of envy: 5 keys to understanding it

May 6, 2021

"I wish I had it too", "I should have gotten it", "Why he / she and I do not?" These and other similar phrases have been thought and expressed by a large number of people throughout their lives.

All of them have one element in common: they express the desire to possess something that is not possessed by oneself and if by others . In other words, all these expressions refer to envy. Then proceed to make a brief analysis of the meaning of envy, as well as what some research reflects on it.

Defining envy

When we talk about envy we refer to a feeling of pain and frustration due to the non-possession of a property, characteristic, relationship or desired event that we would like to have and another person does possess, seeing this situation as unfair.


Thus, we can consider that for envy to appear, there are three basic conditions, the first being that there must be someone alien to the individual who possesses a good, characteristic or concrete achievement, the second that this phenomenon, characteristic or possession is object of desire for the individual and finally, the third condition is that a feeling of discomfort, frustration or pain appears before the comparison between the two subjects.

The feeling of envy is born of another feeling, that of inferiority, before the comparison between subjects. In general, feelings of envy are directed towards people who are in levels and strata relatively similar to their own, since individuals very far from their own characteristics do not usually awaken the sense of inequality that someone with circumstances similar to those of oneself.


Considered one of the seven deadly sins by various religious confessions, this feeling implies a focus on the characteristics of others, ignoring their own qualities . It is an obstacle to the establishment of a healthy relationship, undermining interpersonal relationships, as well as the maintenance of positive self-esteem.

1. Different types of envy

However, one wonders if envy is the same in all people, it seems that it has a negative response.

This is due to what is known as healthy envy. This term refers to a type of envy centered on the envied element, without wishing any harm to the person who owns it. On the other hand, pure envy supposes the belief that we are more deserving of the object of desire than the one we envy, and joy can be produced in the face of its failure.


2. Disadvantages to consider

Envy has traditionally been conceptualized as a negative element, due to the deep discomfort that it causes together with the hostile relationship it implies towards other people, which is related to lack of self-esteem and the fact that it comes from the feeling of inferiority and inequity. Likewise, according to numerous studies envy can be behind the existence and the creation of prejudices .

Likewise, envy towards other people can cause defensive reactions to appear in the form of irony, mockery, hetero-aggressiveness (ie aggressiveness directed at other people, be it physical or psychological) and narcissism. It is common for envy to turn into resentment, and if it is a prolonged situation over time it can induce the existence of depressive disorders. In the same way it can induce feelings of guilt in people who are aware of their envy (which correlates with the desire that the envied go badly), as well as anxiety and stress.

3. Evolutionary sense of envy

However, even though all these considerations are scientifically based, Envy can also be used in a positive way .

Envy seems to have an evolutionary sense: this feeling has driven the competition for the search of resources and the generation of new strategies and tools, elements that have been essential for survival since the beginning of humanity.

Also, in this sense envy makes a situation that we consider unjust can motivate to try to reach a situation of equity in areas such as labor (for example, it may lead to struggle to reduce wage differences, avoid favorable treatment or establish clear promotion criteria).

4. Neurobiology of envy

Reflecting on envy can lead to wondering, And what happens in our brain when we envy someone?

This reflection has led to the realization of various experiments. Thus, in this sense a series of experiments carried out by researchers from the National Institute of Radiological Sciences of Japan have indicated that in the face of the feeling of envy, various areas involved in the perception of physical pain are activated at the brain level.In the same way, when volunteers were asked to imagine that the envied subject suffered a failure, the release of dopamine in cerebral areas of the ventral striatum was triggered, activating the cerebral reward mechanism. In addition, the results show that the perceived intensity of envy correlated with the pleasure obtained by the failure of the envied.

5. Jealousy and envy: fundamental differences

It is relatively frequent, especially when the object of desire is a relationship with someone, that envy and jealousy are used indistinctly to refer to the feeling of frustration that causes not enjoy that personal relationship.

The reason that envy and jealousy are often confused is that they usually occur jointly . That is, jealousy is given to people who are considered more attractive or qualities than oneself, with which the alleged rival is envied. However, these are two concepts that, although related, do not refer to the same.

The main difference is found in that while envy is given regarding an attribute or element that is not possessed, jealousy occurs when there is fear of the loss of an element with which it was counted (usually personal relationships). Also, another difference can be found in the fact that envy occurs between two people (envied and subject who envies) with respect to an element, in the case of jealousy a triadic relationship is established (person with jealousy, person with respect to the that they are jealous and third person that could snatch the second). The third difference would be in the fact that the lattice comes together with a sense of betrayal, while in the case of envy this does not usually happen.

Bibliographic references:

  • Burton, N. (2015). Heaven and Hell: The Psychology of the Emotions. United Kingdom: Acheron Press.
  • Klein, M. (1957). Envy and gratitude. Buenos Aires. Paidos.
  • Parrott, W.G. (1991). The emotional experiences of envy and jealousy, The psychology of jealousy and envy. Ed. P. Salovey. New York: Guilford.
  • Parrot, W.G. & Smith, R.H. (1993) .Distinguishing the experiences of envy and jealousy. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 64.
  • Rawls, J. (1971). A Theory of Justice, Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press.
  • Schoeck, H. (1966). Envy: A Theory of Social Behavior, Glenny and Ross (trans.), New York: Harcourt, Brace
  • Smith, R.H. (Ed.) (2008). Envy: Theory and research. New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
  • Takahashi, H .; Kato, M .; Mastuura, M .; Mobbs, D .; Suhara, T. & Okubo, Y. (2009) .When Your Gain Is My Pain and Your Pain Is My Gain: Neural Correlates of Envy and Schadenfreude. Science, 323; 5916; 937-939.
  • Van de Ven, N .; Hoogland, C.E .; Smith, R.H .; van Dijk, W.W .; Breugelmans, S.M .; Zeelenberg, M. (2015). When envy leads to schadenfreude. Cogn.Emot .; 29 (6); 1007-1025
  • West, M. (2010). Envy and difference. The Society of Analytical Psychology.

The emotion at the heart of narcissism (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie de l'envie: 5 clés pour la comprendre

Psychologie de l'envie: 5 clés pour la comprendre

Décembre 9, 2021

"J'aurais aimé l'avoir aussi", "J'aurais dû l'obtenir", "Pourquoi lui / elle et moi pas?" Ces phrases et d'autres expressions similaires ont été pensées et exprimées par un grand nombre de personnes tout au long de leur vie.

Tous ont un élément en commun: ils expriment le désir de posséder quelque chose qui n'est pas possédé par soi-même et par les autres. . En d'autres termes, toutes ces expressions font référence à l'envie. Passez ensuite à une brève analyse de la signification de l’envie, ainsi que de ce que certaines recherches en pensent.

Définir l'envie

Quand on parle d'envie nous nous référons à un sentiment de douleur et de frustration en raison de la non possession d'un bien, d'une caractéristique, d'une relation ou d'un événement souhaité que nous aimerions avoir et qu'une autre personne possède, considérant cette situation comme injuste.


Ainsi, nous pouvons considérer que pour que l’envie apparaisse, il existe trois conditions de base, la première étant qu’il doit y avoir une personne étrangère à l’individu qui possède un bien, une caractéristique ou une réalisation concrète, la seconde que ce phénomène, cette caractéristique ou cette possession est objet de désir pour l'individu et enfin, la troisième condition est qu'un sentiment d'inconfort, de frustration ou de douleur apparaisse avant la comparaison entre les deux sujets.

Le sentiment d'envie est né d'un autre sentiment, celui d'infériorité, avant la comparaison entre les sujets. En général, les sentiments d’envie s’adressent aux personnes qui se trouvent dans des niveaux et des strates relativement similaires aux leurs, car des personnes très éloignées de leurs propres caractéristiques n’éveillent généralement pas le sentiment d’inégalité qu’une personne ayant des circonstances semblables à celles des hommes. soi


Considéré comme l'un des sept péchés capitaux par diverses confessions religieuses, ce sentiment implique de mettre l'accent sur les caractéristiques des autres, en ignorant leurs propres qualités . C'est un obstacle à l'établissement d'une relation saine, qui mine les relations interpersonnelles, ainsi que le maintien d'une estime de soi positive.

1. Différents types d'envie

Cependant, on se demande si l'envie est la même chez toutes les personnes, il semble qu'il y ait une réponse négative.

Cela est dû à ce qu'on appelle l'envie saine. Ce terme fait référence à un type d’envie centré sur l’élément envié, sans aucun préjudice à la personne qui en est propriétaire. D'un autre côté, l'envie pure suppose la conviction que nous méritons davantage l'objet du désir que celui que nous envions et que la joie peut être produite face à son échec.


2. Inconvénients à considérer

L'envie a traditionnellement été conçue comme un élément négatif, en raison du profond malaise qu'elle engendre, ainsi que de la relation hostile qu'elle implique avec les autres, qui est liée au manque d'estime de soi et au fait qu'elle provient d'un sentiment d'infériorité et d'iniquité. De même selon de nombreuses études, l'envie peut être derrière l'existence et la création de préjugés .

De même, l’envie envers d’autres personnes peut entraîner l’apparition de réactions défensives sous forme d’ironie, de moquerie, d’hétéroagressivité (l’agressivité dirigée contre d’autres personnes, qu’elle soit physique ou psychologique) et de narcissisme. Il est courant que l'envie se transforme en ressentiment et que, si elle se prolonge dans le temps, elle peut induire l'existence de troubles dépressifs. De la même manière, cela peut induire des sentiments de culpabilité chez des personnes conscientes de leur envie (ce qui est en corrélation avec le désir que les enviés se sentent mal), ainsi que de l'anxiété et du stress.

3. Sens évolutif de l'envie

Cependant, même si toutes ces considérations sont scientifiquement fondées, Envy peut aussi être utilisé de manière positive .

L'envie semble avoir un sens évolutif: ce sentiment a poussé la concurrence à la recherche de ressources et à la génération de nouvelles stratégies et de nouveaux outils, éléments essentiels à la survie depuis le début de l'humanité.

Aussi, dans ce sens l'envie rend une situation que nous considérons comme injuste peut motiver à essayer d'atteindre une situation d'équité dans des domaines tels que le travail (par exemple, il peut être difficile de réduire les écarts de salaire, d'éviter un traitement de faveur ou d'établir des critères de promotion clairs).

4. Neurobiologie de l'envie

Réfléchir sur l’envie peut conduire à se demander, Et que se passe-t-il dans notre cerveau lorsque nous envions quelqu'un?

Cette réflexion a conduit à la réalisation de différentes expériences. Ainsi, dans ce sens, une série d’expériences menées par des chercheurs de l’Institut national des sciences radiologiques du Japon a montré que, face au sentiment d’envie, divers domaines impliqués dans la perception de la douleur physique sont activés au niveau du cerveau.De la même manière, lorsque des volontaires ont été invités à imaginer que le sujet envié subissait un échec, la libération de dopamine dans les zones cérébrales du striatum ventral a été déclenchée, activant le mécanisme de récompense cérébrale. De plus, les résultats montrent que l'intensité perçue de l'envie est en corrélation avec le plaisir obtenu par l'échec de l'envie.

5. Jalousie et envie: différences fondamentales

Il est relativement fréquent, surtout lorsque l'objet du désir est une relation avec quelqu'un, que l'envie et la jalousie soient indistinctement utilisées pour désigner le sentiment de frustration qui empêche de profiter de cette relation personnelle.

La raison pour laquelle l'envie et la jalousie sont souvent confondues est qu'elles se produisent généralement conjointement . C'est-à-dire que la jalousie est donnée à des gens qui sont considérés plus attirants ou aux qualités que soi-même et dont le prétendu rival est envié. Cependant, ce sont deux concepts qui, bien que liés, ne font pas référence au même.

La principale différence réside dans le fait que, si un attribut ou un élément qui n’est pas possédé suscite l’envie, la jalousie se produit quand on craint de perdre un élément avec lequel il a été compté (généralement des relations personnelles). En outre, une autre différence peut être trouvée dans le fait que l'envie existe entre deux personnes (envié et sujet qui envie) à l'égard d'un élément, dans le cas de la jalousie, une relation triadique est établie (personne à la jalousie, personne à l'égard de la qu’ils sont jaloux et que la troisième personne pourrait saisir la seconde). La troisième différence réside dans le fait que le réseau s'accompagne d'un sentiment de trahison, alors que dans le cas de l'envie, cela ne se produit généralement pas.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Burton, N. (2015). Ciel et Enfer: La psychologie des émotions. Royaume-Uni: Acheron Press.
  • Klein, M. (1957). Envie et gratitude. Buenos Aires. Paidos.
  • Parrott, W.G. (1991). Les expériences émotionnelles de l'envie et de la jalousie, La psychologie de la jalousie et de l'envie. Ed. P. Salovey. New York: Guilford.
  • Parrot, W.G. & Smith, R.H. (1993). Distinguer les expériences d'envie et de jalousie. Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 64.
  • Rawls, J. (1971). Une théorie de la justice, Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press.
  • Schoeck, H. (1966). L'envie: une théorie du comportement social, Glenny et Ross (trans.), New York: Harcourt, Brace
  • Smith, R.H. (Ed.) (2008). Envie: Théorie et recherche. New York, NY: Presse d'Université d'Oxford.
  • Takahashi, H .; Kato, M .; Mastuura, M .; Mobbs, D .; Suhara, T. & Okubo, Y. (2009). Quand votre gain est ma douleur et votre douleur est mon gain: Corrélats neuraux de l'envie et de Schadenfreude. Science, 323; 5916; 937-939.
  • Van de Ven, N .; Hoogland, C.E .; Smith, R.H .; van Dijk, W.W.; Breugelmans, S.M .; Zeelenberg, M. (2015). Quand l'envie mène à schadenfreude. Cogn.Emot.; 29 (6); 1007-1025
  • West, M. (2010). Envie et différence. Société de psychologie analytique.

L’inconscient (1/2): 5 clés pour comprendre comment utiliser sa puissance ! 1/2 (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes