yes, therapy helps!
Neuromuscular diseases: what they are, how they are treated, and examples

Neuromuscular diseases: what they are, how they are treated, and examples

February 5, 2024

Relatively few years ago, specifically in 2014, the so-called Ice Bucket Challange became popular. It was a solidarity campaign aimed at seeking support for patients with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or ALS, a disease that progressively damages the neurons that govern voluntary muscle movement.

This condition is part of the so-called neuromuscular diseases, of which we will talk throughout this article .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fibromyalgia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

Neuromuscular diseases: basic definition

Neuromuscular diseases are understood as an extensive group of disorders characterized by the presence of motor alterations generated by injuries or other alterations of neuronal origin . This type of disease occurs due to problems in the peripheral nervous system, either at the level of the neuromuscular junction, the spinal cord or the peripheral nerve itself.


The specific symptoms will depend on the disorder itself, but usually include the presence of hypotonia or muscle weakness of one or more parts of the body , the difficulty or inability to relax the muscles (the muscles remain contracted) which in turn can generate contractures and the possible presence of alterations in sensitivity and tactile perception. Nor is it uncommon for spasms to appear. In some diseases it may also affect the functioning of the respiratory system and even the heart, and the subject may need assisted breathing and life support.

This set of diseases and disorders they are usually progressive and neurodegenerative, causing a worsening of the symptoms over time. They usually generate great difficulties in daily life and some type of disability and dependency.


In general, these are diseases considered rare diseases, and in many cases the existing knowledge about them and their functioning is scarce. It must be borne in mind that the deficits implied by these disorders are of the motor type, maintaining cognitive functioning preserved unless there are other concomitant pathologies that produce it.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Causes

Neuromuscular diseases can have very diverse causes , both genetic and environmental factors may be involved.

A large proportion of these disorders are caused by genetic factors, both at the level of genetic inheritance and at the level of de novo mutations, and appear as a primary disorder.

However, we can also find many cases in which the neuromuscular disorder is secondary to another medical condition, due to the existence of diseases or infections acquired throughout life (for example, diabetes, HIV infection, neurosyphilis ... ). They can also appear as a consequence of the consumption of certain substances or reactions to medications.


Some neuromuscular diseases

Within the category of neuromuscular diseases we can find a large number of disorders, exceeding 150. Some of them are relatively known by the population and by the medical community, while others hardly have any information. Below are some known neuromuscular disorders .

1. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

This disease, which we have already mentioned in the introduction, has become relatively well-known due to campaigns such as the Ice Bucket Challenge or the fact of being suffered by well-known personalities such as Stephen Hawking.

Disorder affects and attacks the subject's motor cells , causing its progressive degeneration and subsequent death. This generates that little by little all the motor muscles go atrophy until they prevent the movement of the voluntary musculature. In the long run, this disease ends up affecting the movement of the diaphragm and the thorax muscles, requiring the use of artificial respiration.

2. Duchenne muscular dystrophy

Within this group of diseases we find those that are generally due to the absence or deficit of some muscle fiber protein, affecting the striated muscle. The most common and known of all of them is Duchenne muscular dystrophy, in which Progressive and generalized muscle weakness and loss of strength occurs that usually begins in childhood and that ends up producing that the subject is able to walk and over time cardiorespiratory problems that may require assisted breathing.

  • Related article: "Duchenne muscular dystrophy: what it is, causes and symptoms"

3. Congenital myopathies

Of generally genetic origin, this type of myopathies is detected shortly after birth and are characterized by alterations in the development of the muscle itself .

Depending on the disorder, it may not produce a progressive worsening (as occurs in congenital nemaline myopathy, in which there is generalized hypotonia in different parts of the body), or become fatal as congenital myotubular myopathy (in which there is respiratory failure).

4. Congenital myotonias

The congenital myotonies are alterations in which it is observed a great difficulty to relax muscles and muscle tone after a contraction of these . Relaxing the muscles becomes complicated and slow. Exercise, eating or traveling becomes complex. The causes are mainly genetic.

5. Westphal disease

A group of disorders characterized by the presence of episodes of paralysis in more or less concrete situations such as exercise, consumption of rich foods, exposure to extreme temperatures or traumas (as in Westphal's disease). It may end up disappearing with time.

6. Progressive ossifying myositis

Also known as stone man's disease, this disorder is characterized by the progressive ossification of muscle and tissues such as tendons and ligaments , which ends up greatly limiting the movement.

7. Metabolic myopathy

Disorder in which the problem is in the difficulty or inability of the muscles to obtain energy .

8. Myasthenia gravis

It is a neuromuscular disease in which the immune system attacks the neuromuscular junction , reacting against the postsynaptic membrane.

Consequences in daily life

The suffering of a neuromuscular disease involves, in addition to the damage generated by the symptomatology itself, a series of repercussions in the daily life of the patient whose severity may vary depending on the disorder and its effects. Keep in mind that most people with this type of disorders usually have cognitive abilities preserved , with which they are aware of their difficulties.

One of the most commented by many patients is the loss of autonomy and increased difficulty in doing things that (except in congenital diseases) could have done without difficulty before. In many cases, neuromuscular diseases end up making the patient need external help, having a variable level of dependence.

It is expected that a period of mourning will appear before the knowledge of the existence of the disease and the progressive loss of capabilities . In addition, it is relatively frequent that anxiety and / or depressive symptoms arise after the diagnosis and as the disease progresses or remains in time. In addition, the relatively little knowledge about this type of syndromes means that many patients do not know what to expect, generating a deep sense of uncertainty about what is to come.

Your social and work life can vary greatly affected, both due to the difficulties generated by the disorder itself and its consequences at an emotional level , which can make the subject want to isolate himself from the environment.

  • You may be interested: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

In search of a treatment

Most of the neuromuscular diseases do not have a curative treatment today. However, the symptoms can be worked on , so as to optimize the level and quality of life of people suffering from these problems, promote an increase in their level of autonomy and independence, enhance their resources and provide mechanisms and aids they may need to facilitate their lives. Also, in many cases a correct treatment can increase your life expectancy.

One of the treatments to be used is physiotherapy and neurorehabilitation . Efforts are thus made to promote and maintain motor functions for as long as possible and with the maximum possible level of optimization, as well as to strengthen the musculature in order to prevent its degeneration. It is usually advisable to promote and improve the exercise of the respiratory muscles, since in a large part of the neuromuscular diseases according to the disorder this aspect can be more difficult for the patient.

The provision of adapted aids such as wheelchairs and computer communicators can allow those affected by these diseases to be able to move with greater or lesser freedom and autonomy, allowing them to maintain their relationship and participation in the social environment and avoiding the apathy and apathy that It could arise in the absence of mechanisms of locomotion or communication.

From psychological therapy it is possible to treat psychic problems derived from the experience of the disease , such as depressive symptomatology and aspects such as cognitive distortions, beliefs derived from the suffering of the disease and the expression of fears, doubts and insecurities.

Psychoeducation is fundamental both for the affected and their environment, requiring the maximum possible information and validation and response to the doubts, feelings and thoughts that everyone may have. It is essential to favor the social support of the affected person and to provide guidelines and specific resources to be taken into account.


Developing Treatment for Hereditary Neuromuscular Disease (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladies neuromusculaires: ce qu’elles sont, comment elles sont traitées et des exemples

Maladies neuromusculaires: ce qu’elles sont, comment elles sont traitées et des exemples

Novembre 22, 2019

Il y a relativement peu d'années, en particulier en 2014, le fameux Ice Bucket Challange est devenu populaire. Il s'agissait d'une campagne de solidarité visant à rechercher un soutien pour les patients atteints de sclérose latérale amyotrophique ou SLA, une maladie qui endommage progressivement les neurones qui régissent le mouvement musculaire volontaire.

Cette condition fait partie de la soi-disant maladies neuromusculaires, dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Fibromyalgie: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Maladies neuromusculaires: définition de base

Les maladies neuromusculaires sont comprises comme un groupe étendu de troubles caractérisés par la présence de altérations motrices générées par des blessures ou d'autres altérations d'origine neuronale . Ce type de maladie est dû à des problèmes du système nerveux périphérique, soit au niveau de la jonction neuromusculaire, de la moelle épinière ou du nerf périphérique lui-même.


Les symptômes spécifiques dépendront du trouble lui-même, mais comprennent généralement la présence d'une hypotonie ou d'une faiblesse musculaire d'une ou de plusieurs parties du corps , la difficulté ou l’incapacité à relâcher les muscles (les muscles restent contractés), ce qui peut générer des contractures et la présence possible de modifications de la sensibilité et de la perception tactile. Il n'est pas rare non plus que des spasmes apparaissent. Dans certaines maladies, cela peut également affecter le fonctionnement du système respiratoire et même du cœur, et le sujet peut nécessiter une assistance respiratoire et un soutien de la vie.

Cet ensemble de maladies et de troubles ils sont généralement progressifs et neurodégénératifs, entraînant une aggravation des symptômes avec le passage du temps. Ils génèrent généralement de grandes difficultés dans la vie quotidienne et un certain type de handicap et de dépendance.


En général, il s’agit de maladies considérées comme des maladies rares et, dans de nombreux cas, les connaissances existantes à leur sujet et leur fonctionnement sont rares. Il faut garder à l'esprit que les déficits impliqués par ces troubles sont de type moteur, maintenant le fonctionnement cognitif préservé sauf s'il existe d'autres pathologies concomitantes qui le produisent.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Les causes

Les maladies neuromusculaires peuvent avoir des causes très diverses , des facteurs à la fois génétiques et environnementaux peuvent être impliqués.

Une grande partie de ces troubles sont causés par des facteurs génétiques, tant au niveau du patrimoine génétique que des mutations de novo, et apparaissent comme un trouble primaire.

Cependant, on peut également trouver de nombreux cas dans lesquels la maladie neuromusculaire est secondaire à une autre maladie, en raison de l'existence de maladies ou d'infections acquises au cours de la vie (par exemple, diabète, infection par le VIH, neurosyphilis ... ). Ils peuvent également apparaître à la suite de la consommation de certaines substances ou réactions aux médicaments.


Certaines maladies neuromusculaires

Dans la catégorie des maladies neuromusculaires, nous pouvons trouver un grand nombre de troubles, dépassant 150. Certains sont relativement connus de la population et de la communauté médicale, alors que d'autres ne disposent que de peu d'informations. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des troubles neuromusculaires connus. .

1. Sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA)

Cette maladie, que nous avons déjà mentionnée dans l'introduction, est devenue relativement connue grâce à des campagnes telles que le Ice Bucket Challenge ou au fait que des personnalités telles que Stephen Hawking en aient été victimes.

Le désordre affecte et attaque les cellules motrices du sujet , provoquant sa dégénérescence progressive et sa mort ultérieure. Cela génère que peu à peu tous les muscles moteurs s'atrophient jusqu'à empêcher le mouvement de la musculature volontaire. À long terme, cette maladie finit par affecter les mouvements du diaphragme et des muscles thoraciques, nécessitant le recours à la respiration artificielle.

2. Dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne

Dans ce groupe de maladies, nous trouvons celles qui sont généralement dues à l’absence ou au déficit de certaines protéines des fibres musculaires, affectant le muscle strié. La plus commune et connue de toutes est la dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne, dans laquelle Une faiblesse musculaire progressive et généralisée et une perte de force se produisent cela commence généralement dans l'enfance et finit par produire que le sujet est capable de marcher et avec le temps des problèmes cardiorespiratoires pouvant nécessiter une respiration assistée.

  • Article connexe: "La dystrophie musculaire de Duchenne: qu'est-ce que c'est, ses causes et ses symptômes"

3. Myopathies congénitales

Généralement d’origine génétique, ce type de myopathies est détecté peu après la naissance et se caractérise par altérations dans le développement du muscle lui-même .

En fonction du trouble, il peut ne pas entraîner d'aggravation progressive (comme dans la myopathie congénitale à la némaline, caractérisée par une hypotonie généralisée dans différentes parties du corps) ni devenir fatal en cas de myopathie myotubulaire congénitale (dans laquelle il existe une insuffisance respiratoire).

4. myotones congénitales

Les myotonies congénitales sont des altérations dans lesquelles on observe une grande difficulté à détendre les muscles et le tonus musculaire après une contraction de ceux-ci . Détendre les muscles devient compliqué et lent. Faire de l'exercice, manger ou voyager devient complexe. Les causes sont principalement génétiques.

5. maladie de Westphal

Un groupe de troubles caractérisés par la présence de épisodes de paralysie dans des situations plus ou moins concrètes tels que l'exercice, la consommation d'aliments riches, l'exposition à des températures extrêmes ou des traumatismes (comme dans la maladie de Westphal). Il peut finir par disparaître avec le temps.

6. Myosite ossifiante progressive

Aussi connu comme la maladie de l'homme de pierre, ce trouble est caractérisé par l'ossification progressive des muscles et des tissus tels que les tendons et les ligaments , ce qui finit par limiter grandement le mouvement.

7. Myopathie métabolique

Trouble dans lequel le problème réside dans la difficulté ou l'incapacité des muscles à obtenir de l'énergie .

8. Myasthénie grave

C’est une maladie neuromusculaire dans laquelle le système immunitaire attaque la jonction neuromusculaire , réagissant contre la membrane postsynaptique.

Conséquences dans la vie quotidienne

La souffrance d'une maladie neuromusculaire implique, outre les dommages engendrés par la symptomatologie elle-même, une série de répercussions dans la vie quotidienne du patient dont la gravité peut varier en fonction du trouble et de ses effets. N'oubliez pas que la plupart des personnes atteintes de ce type de troubles ont généralement des capacités cognitives préservées , avec lequel ils sont conscients de leurs difficultés.

L'un des cas les plus commentés par de nombreux patients est la perte d'autonomie et la difficulté accrue d'accomplir des tâches qui (sauf dans les cas de maladies congénitales) auraient pu se faire sans difficulté auparavant. Dans de nombreux cas, les maladies neuromusculaires finissent par faire que le patient ait besoin d'une aide externe, avec un niveau de dépendance variable.

On s'attend à ce qu'une période de deuil apparaisse avant que l'on sache l'existence de la maladie et la perte progressive de capacités . De plus, il est relativement fréquent que des symptômes d'anxiété et / ou de dépression se manifestent après le diagnostic et à mesure que la maladie progresse ou reste dans le temps. De plus, le peu de connaissances sur ce type de syndromes signifie que de nombreux patients ne savent pas à quoi s'attendre, ce qui génère un profond sentiment d'incertitude quant à l'avenir.

Votre vie sociale et professionnelle peut varier grandement, à la fois en raison des difficultés générées par le trouble lui-même et de ses conséquences sur le plan émotionnel , ce qui peut amener le sujet à vouloir s’isoler de l’environnement.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

À la recherche d'un traitement

La plupart des maladies neuromusculaires n'ont pas de traitement curatif aujourd'hui. Cependant, les symptômes peuvent être travaillés , afin d’optimiser le niveau et la qualité de vie des personnes souffrant de ces problèmes, promouvoir le renforcement de leur niveau d’autonomie et de leur indépendance, renforcer leurs ressources et leur fournir les mécanismes et aides dont ils pourraient avoir besoin pour leur vie plus facilement. En outre, dans de nombreux cas, un traitement correct peut augmenter votre espérance de vie.

Un des traitements à utiliser est la physiothérapie et la neurorééducation . Des efforts sont donc faits pour promouvoir et maintenir les fonctions motrices le plus longtemps possible et avec le niveau d'optimisation maximal, ainsi que pour renforcer la musculature afin d'empêcher sa dégénérescence. Il est généralement conseillé de promouvoir et d'améliorer l'exercice des muscles respiratoires, car dans une grande partie des maladies neuromusculaires en fonction du trouble, cet aspect peut être plus difficile pour le patient.

La fourniture d’aides adaptées telles que des fauteuils roulants et des communicateurs informatiques peut permettre aux personnes touchées par ces maladies de se déplacer avec plus ou moins de liberté et d’autonomie, leur permettant de maintenir leur relation et leur participation à l’environnement social tout en évitant l’apathie et l’apathie Cela pourrait survenir en l'absence de mécanismes de locomotion ou de communication.

De la thérapie psychologique, il est possible de traiter des problèmes psychiques dérivés de l'expérience de la maladie , tels que la symptomatologie dépressive et des aspects tels que les distorsions cognitives, les croyances découlant de la souffrance de la maladie et l’expression de peurs, de doutes et d’insécurités.

La psychoéducation est fondamentale à la fois pour les personnes touchées et pour leur environnement, nécessitant le maximum d’informations, de validation et de réponse aux doutes, sentiments et pensées de tous. Il est essentiel de favoriser le soutien social de la personne touchée et de fournir des lignes directrices et des ressources spécifiques à prendre en compte.


10 Signes Alarmants Qui Indiquent Que Ton Animal Crie à au Secours (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes