yes, therapy helps!
The 4 differences between abuse and abuse

The 4 differences between abuse and abuse

June 12, 2024

Even today it is relatively frequent that we hear in the news cases of mistreatment and violence of gender or couple, abuse of minors or different types of aggression to some type of individual.

Terms such as abuse and abuse often appear, which are usually used as synonyms . However, these two concepts, although they are effectively related, do not imply exactly the same.

In this article we intend to establish some of the main differences between abuse and abuse.

  • Related article: "Profile of the psychological abuser: 21 features in common"

Defining both concepts

To understand the possible differences between the terms abuse and abuse, it is necessary to first understand what they correspond to or how they are defined.


Definition of abuse

We understand by abuse any act performed by one person towards another in which violence is used or that aims to cause damage to the abused subject. The goal of damage causation can be highly variable. It can be physical, psychic, sexual, patrimonial ...

And not only is it considered abuse the performance of acts, but also its omission as long as it causes harm in the mistreated. It is possible that in some cases the abuse is not voluntary (for example you can ignore the needs of someone causing harm without necessarily having intentionality to provoke them). Although power relations can mediate, it does not have to imply a situation of inequality between both parties of which one of them takes advantage, in which case it would be talking about abuse.


Definition of abuse

Regarding abuse, when we use this word we are referring to the existence of an overreach with respect to something or someone, taking advantage of the subject that carries it out of a specific element, attribute or situation that it has or has been assigned to perform an act or achieve something that does not correspond to it.

It assumes the existence of an unequal relationship. In the interpersonal field, an abuse towards a person implies the use or causation of damages to it by some means, generally employing some type of physical, psychological, sexual, socio-economic or vicarious violence.

Main differences between abuse and abuse

Although often used as synonyms, the concepts of abuse and abuse have a series of differences that make them slightly different concepts. Below we explain some of the main differences between the two.


1. Level of specificity

The term mistreatment includes, as we have seen, all that harmful act caused voluntarily to a person , being or property by a subject. This would also include abuse as a type of abuse in which the inequality between the abuser and the abused is mediated.

2. Relationship of power

One of the main differences between abuse and abuse is that although both terms refer to the presence of some type of violence or harm caused to someone or something, the concept of abuse includes the notion that there is an element that causes There is a relationship of inequality between both subjects.

The element in question can be very variable, from aspects such as physical strength, age and experience, class or social position, position in the hierarchy of power or simply the ability to manipulate or coercion to the existence of an emotional link between both of them. The abusive party takes advantage of this inequality to harm the abused .

3. Intentionality

In general, both in situations of abuse and abuse, we can find that the aggressor intends to harm the aggrieved party. However, there are some types of maltreatment in which this is not necessary, for example due to ignorance of the needs of the affected party (as is the case with some mistreatment of animals) or carelessness.

Although sometimes it is possible that someone is abusing without knowing it (for example that due to his power another person does something for him even if it was not the intention of the subject to take advantage of his position), It is much more common for abuse to be completely conscious and voluntary .

4. Usual use of the term

It is common that when we talk about abuse the first thing we think is the existence of sexual violence . This is because, in order to perpetrate this type of abuse, the abuser uses for his benefit and at the expense of the other his greatest physical strength, age, power, the existence of an affective bond, of emotions such as fear or fear or simply of the surprise to achieve dominate the affected party and achieve commit the act. Examples of this can be found in cases of rape, sexual harassment or child sexual abuse. It is also frequently used to talk about abuses of authority.

On the other hand, when it comes to abuse or mistreatment, it is usually referred to the existence of physical and psychological violence, in which beatings, insults and humiliations appear.

Despite this, we must bear in mind that at this point we are talking about the habitual use of the terms, while the abuse is a type of abuse.


Substance Abuse vs Substance Dependence (DSM-IV) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 différences entre abus et abus

Les 4 différences entre abus et abus

Juin 13, 2022

Même aujourd'hui, il est relativement fréquent que nous entendions dans les nouvelles des cas de maltraitance et de violence de genre ou de couple, de maltraitance de mineurs ou de différents types d'agression perpétrée contre un type quelconque d'individu.

Des termes tels que abus et abus apparaissent souvent, qui sont généralement utilisés comme synonymes . Cependant, ces deux concepts, bien qu’ils soient effectivement liés, n’impliquent pas exactement les mêmes.

Dans cet article, nous avons l’intention d’établir certaines des principales différences entre abus et abus.

  • Article connexe: "Profil de l'agresseur psychologique: 21 caractéristiques communes"

Définir les deux concepts

Pour comprendre les différences possibles entre les termes abus et abus, il faut d'abord comprendre ce à quoi ils correspondent ou comment ils sont définis.


Définition d'abus

Nous entendons par abus tout acte accompli par une personne envers une autre dans laquelle la violence est utilisée ou qui vise à causer des dommages au sujet maltraité. L’objectif de la causalité des dommages peut être très variable. Cela peut être physique, psychique, sexuel, patrimonial ...

Et non seulement est considéré comme un abus l'exécution d'actes, mais aussi son omission tant qu'il cause un préjudice à la maltraitée. Il est possible que, dans certains cas, les abus ne soient pas volontaires (par exemple, vous pouvez ignorer les besoins d’une personne qui cause un préjudice sans nécessairement avoir l’intention de les provoquer). Bien que les relations de pouvoir puissent jouer un rôle de médiation, elles ne doivent pas nécessairement impliquer une situation d'inégalité entre les deux parties, dont l'une tire parti, auquel cas il s'agirait d'abus.


Définition d'abus

En ce qui concerne les abus, lorsque nous utilisons ce mot, nous faisons référence à l'existence d'une portée excessive à l'égard de quelque chose ou de quelqu'un, profitant du sujet qui l'exécute d'un élément, attribut ou situation spécifique qui a été ou a été assigné pour accomplir un acte ou réaliser quelque chose qui ne correspond pas à celui-ci.

Cela suppose l'existence d'une relation inégale. Dans le domaine interpersonnel, un abus envers une personne implique l'utilisation ou la causation de dommages qui lui sont causés par un moyen quelconque, généralement au moyen d'un type de violence physique, psychologique, sexuelle, socio-économique ou par procuration.

Principales différences entre abus et abus

Bien que souvent utilisés comme synonymes, les concepts d'abus et d'abus présentent une série de différences qui les rendent légèrement différents. Nous expliquons ci-dessous certaines des principales différences entre les deux.


1. Niveau de spécificité

Comme nous l'avons vu, le terme maltraitance comprend tout acte préjudiciable causé volontairement à une personne. , être ou bien par un sujet. Cela inclurait également l'abus en tant que type d'abus dans lequel l'inégalité entre l'agresseur et l'abus est compensée.

2. Relation de pouvoir

L'une des principales différences entre l'abus et l'abus réside dans le fait que, bien que les deux termes désignent la présence d'un type de violence ou de préjudice causé à quelqu'un ou à quelque chose, le concept d'abus comprend la notion qu'il existe un élément qui cause Il existe une relation d'inégalité entre les deux sujets.

L'élément en question peut être très variable, qu'il s'agisse de force physique, d'âge et d'expérience, de classe ou de position sociale, de position dans la hiérarchie du pouvoir ou simplement de capacité à manipuler ou à contraindre à l'existence d'un lien affectif entre les deux Le parti abusif profite de cette inégalité pour nuire aux victimes d'abus .

3. Intentionnalité

En général, dans les situations d'abus et d'abus, on peut constater que l'agresseur a l'intention de nuire à la partie lésée. Cependant, il existe certains types de mauvais traitements pour lesquels cela n'est pas nécessaire, par exemple en raison de la méconnaissance des besoins de la partie affectée (comme c'est le cas avec certains mauvais traitements infligés aux animaux) ou de la négligence.

Bien qu'il soit parfois possible que quelqu'un abuse sans le savoir (par exemple, en raison de son pouvoir, une autre personne fait quelque chose pour lui, même si le sujet n'avait pas l'intention de tirer avantage de sa position), Il est beaucoup plus courant que les abus soient totalement conscients et volontaires. .

4. Utilisation habituelle du terme

Il est courant que lorsque nous parlons d’abus, la première chose que nous pensons est l’existence de violences sexuelles . En effet, pour commettre ce type d’abus, l’agresseur utilise à son profit et au détriment de l’autre sa plus grande force physique, son âge, son pouvoir, l’existence d’un lien affectif, d’émotions telles que la peur ou la peur ou simplement de la surprise à réaliser dominer la partie touchée et à réaliser commettre l'acte. On peut en trouver des exemples dans les cas de viol, de harcèlement sexuel ou d’abus sexuel d’enfants. Il est également fréquemment utilisé pour parler d'abus d'autorité.

D'autre part, lorsqu'il s'agit d'abus ou de mauvais traitements, il est généralement fait référence à l'existence de violences physiques et psychologiques dans lesquelles des coups, des insultes et des humiliations apparaissent.

Malgré cela, nous ne devons pas oublier qu’à ce stade-ci nous parlons de l’usage habituel des termes, alors que l’abus est un type d’abus.


Comparaison ABUS 84IB/40 - ABUS 88/40 (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes