yes, therapy helps!
Regression: what is according to psychoanalysis (and critiques)

Regression: what is according to psychoanalysis (and critiques)

July 12, 2024

The Freudian concept of regression is well known at present, although it is in clear decline because of the theoretical and practical advances that have taken place in clinical psychology and psychoanalysis.

In this article we will analyze the concept of regression according to psychoanalysis and we will review the different nuances of this term. To finish we will review some of the most representative criticisms that have been made about the regression.

  • Related article: "The 9 types of Psychoanalysis (theories and main authors)"

Defining the regression

According to Sigmund Freud, considered the founder of psychoanalysis, regression is a defense mechanism that consists of the retreat of the ego to a previous stage development. This process would occur in response to unacceptable thoughts or impulses that the person can not face in an adaptive way, and could be transient or chronic.


Freud affirmed that, throughout psychosexual development, young people run the risk of being psychologically anchored in one of the stadiums, without achieving complete progress through subsequent ones. This is known as "fixation," and the more intense the risk of reacting to psychosocial stress with regression, the greater the risk.

In the original psychoanalytic approach regression in adulthood is presented as intimately associated with neurosis. Later it has been proposed that this change is not always pathological or negative, but rather that Sometimes transient regressions could be beneficial for overcoming the discomfort or the promotion of creativity.


Michael Balint, a Hungarian psychoanalyst who is considered a relevant member of the school of object relations, proposed the existence of two types of regression. One of them would be benign (like those of childhood or artistic ones), while the malignant or pathological variant would be related to neurosis and specifically to the Oedipus complex.

  • Related article: "Defense mechanisms: 10 ways of not facing reality"

Typical behaviors of regression

A very remarkable feature of this phenomenon is the emergence of typically infantile behaviors and attitudes . However, depending on the psychosexual stages in which a fixation occurs, some regressive or other behaviors will appear; For example, Freud considered that nail biting and smoking are signs of fixation in the oral phase.


Oral regression would also manifest itself in behaviors related to food intake and speech. In contrast, fixation in the anal stage could lead to a compulsive tendency to order or disorder, accumulation and extreme stinginess, while conversion hysteria would be characteristic of regression to the phallic period.

Although it can occur in adulthood, regression is more common in childhood. Examples of regression would be a girl who starts wetting herself in bed after the birth of her little brother or a preadolescent who cries every time her classmates make fun of him.

It should be borne in mind that, theoretically, the fixation can occur simultaneously in several stages of psychosexual development . In these cases, regressive behaviors characteristic of each of the phases in question would appear, although not always in the same temporal moment.

Regression as a therapeutic method

Several followers of Freud's proposals explored the potential of his concept of regression as a therapeutic tool in several alterations associated with neurosis. Sometimes hypnosis was used as a means to try to achieve regression , whereas in other cases the process had a more tangible character.

Sandor Ferenczi said that regression could be a good method to enhance the effectiveness of psychotherapy. In this sense, Ferenczi advocated the practice of pseudo-parent behaviors by the therapist, such as giving verbal comfort and even embracing patients to help them overcome traumas or stressful situations.

In addition to Ferenczi, other authors such as Balint, Bowlby, Bettelheim, Winnicott or Laing also proposed the use of regression as an instrument that allowed a new "paternal reeducation" more satisfying than the original. These theorists believed that regression could be sufficient for the maturation of individuals, even in cases of autism.

From this point of view, regression is associated with the famous cathartic method, which consists in helping patients to process traumatic events of the past through reexperiencing through imagination or suggestion, including hypnosis. At present, similar techniques are applied to this in cases of post-traumatic stress disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The myth of memories" unlocked "by hypnosis"

Criticisms of this Freudian concept

According to Inderbitzin and Levy (2000), the popularization of the term "regression" has made its use extended to a large number of signifiers, which has decimated the clarity of the concept. These authors highlight that the regression is part of an obsolete development model (the theory of Freud's stadiums) and that the concept itself can be harmful.

Rizzolo (2016) states that the concept of regression should be abandoned and replaced by the study of the person as a whole, instead of focusing on impulses or abstract needs, and that this is not possible if the relationship between a person is not understood. determined conduct and the circumstances that determine it in the present.

In his analysis of the therapeutic use of regression, Spurling (2008) concludes that this method has been surpassed at present even in the field of psychoanalysis. However, the concept of regression as a defense mechanism is still used today from an explanatory point of view by many people related to this orientation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Inderbitzin, L. B. & Levy, S.T. (2000). Regression and psychoanalytic technique: The concretization of a concept. Psychoanalytic Quarterly, 69: 195-223.
  • Rizzolo, G. S. (2016). The critique of regression: the person, the field, the lifespan. Journal of the American Psychoanalytic Association, 64 (6): 1097-1131.
  • Spurling, L.S. (2008). Is there still a place for the concept of therapeutic regression in psychoanalysis? The International Journal of Psychoanalysis, 89 (3): 523-540.

Psychoanalytic Theory by Sigmund Freud (Hindi Version) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Régression: qu'y a-t-il selon la psychanalyse (et les critiques)

Régression: qu'y a-t-il selon la psychanalyse (et les critiques)

Mai 11, 2021

Le concept freudien de régression est bien connu à l'heure actuelle, bien qu'il soit en net déclin en raison des avancées théoriques et pratiques survenues en psychologie clinique et en psychanalyse.

Dans cet article nous analyserons le concept de régression selon la psychanalyse et nous passerons en revue les différentes nuances de ce terme. Pour finir, nous passerons en revue certaines des critiques les plus représentatives formulées à propos de la régression.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de psychanalyse (théories et auteurs principaux)"

Définir la régression

Selon Sigmund Freud, considéré comme le fondateur de la psychanalyse, la régression est un mécanisme de défense qui consiste en un retrait du moi à un stade antérieur de développement. Ce processus se produirait en réponse à des pensées ou impulsions inacceptables que la personne ne pourrait pas affronter de manière adaptative et pourrait être transitoire ou chronique.


Freud a affirmé que, tout au long du développement psychosexuel, les jeunes courent le risque d'être ancrés psychologiquement dans l'un des stades sans parvenir à un progrès complet à travers les stades suivants. C'est ce que l'on appelle la "fixation" et plus le risque de réaction au stress psychosocial par la régression est intense, plus le risque est grand.

Dans l'approche psychanalytique originale, la régression à l'âge adulte est présentée comme étant intimement associée à la névrose. Plus tard, il a été suggéré que ce changement n’est pas toujours pathologique ou négatif, mais plutôt que Parfois, des régressions transitoires peuvent être bénéfiques pour surmonter l'inconfort ou la promotion de la créativité.


Michael Balint, un psychanalyste hongrois considéré comme un membre important de l’école des relations d’objet, a proposé l’existence de deux types de régression. L'un d'eux serait bénin (comme ceux de l'enfance ou artistique), tandis que la variante maligne ou pathologique serait liée à la névrose et spécifiquement au complexe d'Œdipe.

  • Article connexe: "Mécanismes de défense: 10 façons de ne pas faire face à la réalité"

Comportements typiques de régression

Une caractéristique très remarquable de ce phénomène est la émergence de comportements et d'attitudes typiquement infantiles . Cependant, en fonction des étapes psychosexuelles dans lesquelles se produit une fixation, certains comportements régressifs ou autres apparaîtront; Par exemple, Freud considérait que le fait de se ronger les ongles et de fumer était un signe de fixation pendant la phase orale.


La régression orale se manifesterait également dans les comportements liés à la prise de nourriture et à la parole. En revanche, la fixation au stade anal pourrait entraîner une tendance compulsive à l'ordre ou au désordre, une accumulation et une avarice extrême, alors que l'hystérie de conversion serait caractéristique d'une régression vers la période phallique.

Bien que cela puisse se produire à l'âge adulte, la régression est plus courante chez les enfants. Par exemple, une fille qui commence à se mouiller au lit après la naissance de son petit frère ou une préadolescente qui pleure chaque fois que ses camarades se moquent de lui sont des exemples de régression.

Il faut garder à l’esprit que, théoriquement, la fixation peut se produire simultanément à plusieurs stades de développement psychosexuel . Dans ces cas, des comportements régressifs caractéristiques de chacune des phases en question apparaîtront, bien que pas toujours au même moment temporel.

La régression en tant que méthode thérapeutique

Plusieurs adeptes des propositions de Freud ont exploré le potentiel de son concept de régression en tant qu'outil thérapeutique dans plusieurs altérations associées à la névrose. Parfois l'hypnose a été utilisée comme moyen d'essayer d'obtenir une régression , alors que dans d’autres cas, le processus avait un caractère plus tangible.

Sandor Ferenczi a déclaré que la régression pourrait être une bonne méthode pour améliorer l'efficacité de la psychothérapie. En ce sens, Ferenczi a préconisé que le thérapeute adopte des comportements pseudo-parentaux, tels que réconfort verbal et même embrasser les patients pour les aider à surmonter des traumatismes ou des situations stressantes.

Outre Ferenczi, d’autres auteurs tels que Balint, Bowlby, Bettelheim, Winnicott ou Laing ont également proposé l'utilisation de la régression comme instrument permettant une nouvelle "rééducation paternelle" plus satisfaisant que l'original. Ces théoriciens pensaient que la régression pourrait être suffisante pour la maturation des individus, même en cas d'autisme.

De ce point de vue, la régression est associée à la célèbre méthode cathartique, qui consiste à aider les patients à traiter les événements traumatisants du passé en les faisant revivre par l'imagination ou par la suggestion, y compris l'hypnose. Actuellement, des techniques similaires sont appliquées à cela dans les cas de syndrome de stress post-traumatique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le mythe de la mémoire" débloqué "par l'hypnose"

Critiques de ce concept freudien

Selon Inderbitzin et Levy (2000), la vulgarisation du terme "régression" a étendu son utilisation à un grand nombre de signifiants, ce qui a décimé la clarté du concept. Ces auteurs soulignent que la régression fait partie d'un modèle de développement obsolète (la théorie des stades de Freud) et que le concept lui-même peut être nuisible.

Rizzolo (2016) affirme que le concept de régression devrait être abandonné et remplacé par l'étude de la personne dans son ensemble, au lieu de se concentrer sur des impulsions ou des besoins abstraits, et que cela n'est pas possible si la relation entre une personne n'est pas comprise. conduite déterminée et les circonstances qui la déterminent dans le présent.

Dans son analyse de l'utilisation thérapeutique de la régression, Spurling (2008) conclut que cette méthode a été dépassée à l'heure actuelle, même dans le domaine de la psychanalyse. Cependant, le concept de régression en tant que mécanisme de défense est encore utilisé aujourd'hui d'un point de vue explicatif par de nombreuses personnes liées à cette orientation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Inderbitzin, L. B. et Levy, S.T. (2000). Régression et technique psychanalytique: La concrétisation d'un concept. Psychanalytic Quarterly, 69: 195-223.
  • Rizzolo, G. S. (2016). La critique de la régression: la personne, le champ, la durée de vie. Journal de l'Association psychanalytique américaine, 64 (6): 1097-1131.
  • Spurling, L.S. (2008). Le concept de régression thérapeutique en psychanalyse a-t-il encore sa place? The International Journal of Psyanalysis, 89 (3): 523-540.

Psychanalyse du Nouvel Antisemitisme (pt. 4) (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes