yes, therapy helps!
The F scale: the measurement test of fascism

The F scale: the measurement test of fascism

March 26, 2024

Everyone and every one of us are unique beings, who will live different lives and experience different situations. Also the way we see and interpret the world, and how we relate to the environment, is distinctive of each person. The same applies to our opinions and attitudes towards different areas and situations in life.

All this has an enormous interest for sciences such as psychology, which throughout its history has been generating a large number of instruments and methods in order to measure and assess the existence of personality traits and the tendency to believe and value reality in certain ways. There are a large number of them, some of them serving to assess the degree of predisposition towards a particular personality type or trait. An example of the latter is The F scale, by Theodor Adorno , which aims to measure the predisposition to fascism and authoritarianism.


  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

The F scale of fascism

It is known as scale F an instrument of evaluation of human personality created with the aim of generating a method that would allow to assess the existence of what he called an authoritarian personality or, rather, the tendency or predisposition to fascism (coming from the F of the scale of this word).

This scale was born in 1947 by Adorno, Levinson, Frenkel-Brunswik and Sanford, after the end of World War II and having to live a long time in exile. The scale aims to value the presence of a personality that allows predicting fascist tendencies from the measurement of prejudices and opinions contrary to democracy, seeking to assess the existence of an authoritarian personality.


Specifically, the test measures the existence of rigid adherence to the values ​​of the middle class, the tendency to reject and aggression towards those opposed to conventional values, the harshness and the preoccupation with power and domination, superstition, contrariety in the face of emotive or subjective and ascription to a rigid rationality, cynicism, predisposition to consider the projection of impulses as a cause of situations of danger, the rejection of divergent sexuality, the idealization of one's own group of belonging and authority and submission to norms generated by this .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 warning signs of fascism according to Umberto Eco"

The authoritarian personality

The creation of the F scale starts from the consideration of the existence of an authoritarian personality, a theory defended among others by Adorno, which can generate a trend towards fascism .


This author considered that social attitudes and ideologies formed part of the personality to some extent, something that in the case of fascism could explain a type of personality tending to conservatism, exaltation to the ingroup, aggression and rejection towards unconventional values. So, although something cultural the emergence of attitudes such as fascism or democracy would be products of a personality type .

The author, with an orientation of psychoanalytic character, considered that the authoritarian personality is the product of an unconscious repression that is intended to be resolved through intolerance. The authoritarian subject presents an extreme attitude derived from the outward projection of his own internal conflicts. For this philosopher, authoritarianism would be linked to neuroticism and to a childhood being dominated .

Throughout his childhood, the subject has been subjected to a superego has not allowed the ego (drives, desires and impulses) of the child itself to develop normally, this being insecure and requiring a superego to guide their behavior. This will cause them to generate attitudes of domination and hostility to what the subject considers outside his group of belonging .

The characteristics of an authoritarian person are resentment, conventionalism, authoritarianism, rebellion and psychopathic aggressiveness, tendency to the compulsivity of intolerant and maniacal habits and manipulation of reality in pursuit of developing a dictatorial stance .

A scientifically debatable scale

Although the scale aims to offer a valid measurement instrument, the fact is that scientifically it suffers from a series of characteristics that have made it the object of a wide variety of criticisms.

First of all, it highlights the fact that taking into account the bases from which it was elaborated, it is pathologizing a concrete type of something that is not based on something psychiatric but in a kind of concrete political attitude or ideology. It also highlights the fact that the political opinion of a person can be highly modifiable, something that does not seem to take into account.

Also, another reason for criticism is the fact that the items of the test were not previously tested , and that there are certain prejudices in its formulation that reduce its validity and objectivity. The items are not mutually exclusive either, something that hinders the interpretation of the test and can either inflate or devalue their results. Likewise, its elaboration was subsidized by the American Jewish Committee, something that does not stop being an element that implies the existence of a conflict of interest.

Another criticism is that the interviewer can use the results in a discriminatory way, being an instrument with a certain burden of blame and criminalization of the evaluated depending on their results . Thus, the evaluator is not totally partial during his passage.

A final criticism is made taking into account that the scale only value the authoritarianism linked to right-wing political conservatism, not valuing the option of authoritarianism by leftist groups.

Bibliographic references:

Adorno, T. W .; Frenkel-Brunswik, E .; Levinson, D.J. & Sanford, N.R. (2006). The Authoritarian Personality (Preface, Introduction and Conclusions). EMPIRIA Journal of Methodology of Social Sciences, 12 :. 155-200. National University of Distance Education. Madrid Spain.


MW vs the F Scale (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'échelle F: le test de mesure du fascisme

L'échelle F: le test de mesure du fascisme

Février 28, 2021

Chacun et chacun d'entre nous sont des êtres uniques, qui vivront des vies différentes et vivront des situations différentes. De plus, la façon dont nous voyons et interprétons le monde et nos relations avec l'environnement est propre à chaque personne. La même chose s'applique à nos opinions et attitudes vis-à-vis de différents domaines et situations de la vie.

Tout cela a un intérêt énorme pour les sciences telles que la psychologie, qui tout au long de son histoire a généré un grand nombre d'instruments et de méthodes permettant de mesurer et d'évaluer l'existence de traits de personnalité et la tendance à croire et à valoriser. la réalité à certains égards. Ils sont nombreux, certains servant à évaluer le degré de prédisposition à un type de personnalité ou à un trait particulier. Un exemple de ce dernier est La gamme F de Theodor Adorno , qui vise à mesurer la prédisposition au fascisme et à l'autoritarisme.


  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

L'échelle F du fascisme

Elle est connue sous le nom d’échelle F, un instrument d’évaluation de la personnalité humaine créé dans le but de générer une méthode permettant d’évaluer l’existence de ce qu’il a appelé une personnalité autoritaire ou, au contraire, la tendance ou la prédisposition au fascisme l'échelle de ce mot).

Cette balance est née en 1947 par Adorno, Levinson, Frenkel-Brunswik et Sanford, après la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et a dû vivre longtemps en exil. La balance vise à valoriser la présence d'une personnalité qui permet de prédire les tendances fascistes de la mesure des préjugés et des opinions contraires à la démocratie, cherchant à évaluer l’existence d’une personnalité autoritaire.


Plus précisément, le test mesure l’existence d’une adhésion rigide aux valeurs de la classe moyenne, de la tendance au rejet et à l’agression envers les valeurs opposées aux valeurs conventionnelles, à la dureté et à la préoccupation du pouvoir et de la domination, à la superstition, à la contrariété. émotif ou subjectif et imputable à une rationalité rigide, cynisme, prédisposition à considérer la projection d'impulsions comme une cause de situations dangereuses, le rejet d'une sexualité divergente, l'idéalisation de son propre groupe de appartenance et autorité et soumission aux normes générées par cette .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 12 signes avant-coureurs du fascisme selon Umberto Eco"

La personnalité autoritaire

La création de la gamme F commence par la prise en compte de l’existence d’une personnalité autoritaire, théorie défendue entre autres par Adorno, qui peut générer une tendance au fascisme .


Cet auteur a estimé que les attitudes sociales et les idéologies faisaient en partie partie de la personnalité, ce qui, dans le cas du fascisme, pourrait expliquer un type de personnalité tendant au conservatisme, à l'exaltation du groupe, à l'agression et au rejet de valeurs non conventionnelles. Donc, bien que quelque chose de culturel l'émergence d'attitudes telles que le fascisme ou la démocratie serait le produit d'un type de personnalité .

L'auteur, avec une orientation à caractère psychanalytique, a estimé que la personnalité autoritaire est le produit d'un refoulement inconscient destiné à être résolu par l'intolérance. Le sujet autoritaire présente une attitude extrême dérivée de la projection extérieure de ses propres conflits internes. Pour ce philosophe, l'autoritarisme serait lié au neuroticisme et à une enfance dominée .

Tout au long de son enfance, le sujet a été soumis à un surmoi qui n'a pas permis à l'ego (pulsions, désirs et impulsions) de l'enfant lui-même de se développer normalement, ce qui est peu sûr et nécessite un surmoi pour guider son comportement. Cela les amènera à générer attitudes de domination et d'hostilité envers ce que le sujet considère en dehors de son groupe d'appartenance .

Les caractéristiques d'une personne autoritaire sont le ressentiment, le conventionnalisme, l'autoritarisme, la rébellion et l'agressivité psychopathique, la tendance à la compulsivité d'habitudes intolérantes et maniaques et la manipulation de la réalité. dans le but de développer une position dictatoriale .

Une échelle scientifiquement discutable

Bien que l’échelle ait pour objectif de proposer un instrument de mesure valable, le fait est qu’elle souffre scientifiquement d’une série de caractéristiques qui en ont fait l’objet de nombreuses critiques.

Tout d’abord, il souligne le fait que, compte tenu des bases à partir desquelles il a été élaboré, il pathologise un type concret de quelque chose qui ne repose pas sur quelque chose de psychiatrique mais dans une sorte d'attitude ou d'idéologie politique concrète. Cela met également en évidence le fait que l'opinion politique d'une personne peut être hautement modifiable, ce qui ne semble pas être pris en compte.

En outre, un autre motif de critique est le fait que les éléments du test n'ont pas été testés auparavant et que sa formulation comporte certains préjugés qui en réduisent la validité et l’objectivité. Les éléments ne sont pas non plus mutuellement exclusifs, ce qui entrave l'interprétation du test et peut soit gonfler, soit dévaluer leurs résultats. De même, son élaboration a été subventionnée par le Comité juif américain, ce qui ne cesse d’être un élément qui implique l’existence d’un conflit d’intérêts.

Une autre critique est que l’enquêteur puisse utiliser les résultats de manière discriminatoire, étant un instrument avec une certaine charge de travail. blâme et criminalisation des évalués en fonction de leurs résultats . Ainsi, l’évaluateur n’est pas totalement partial lors de son passage.

Une dernière critique est faite en tenant compte du fait que l'échelle ne valorise que l'autoritarisme lié au conservatisme politique de droite, sans valoriser l'option de l'autoritarisme des groupes de gauche.

Références bibliographiques:

Adorno, T. W; Frenkel-Brunswik, E.; Levinson, D.J. & Sanford, N.R. (2006). La personnalité autoritaire (préface, introduction et conclusions). EMPIRIA Journal de méthodologie des sciences sociales, 12:. 155-200. Université nationale d'enseignement à distance. Madrid Espagne.


L'ENTRETIEN EUROPÉEN - LE MÉDIA REÇOIT FRANÇOIS ASSELINEAU (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes