yes, therapy helps!
The 10 most effective persuasion techniques

The 10 most effective persuasion techniques

May 7, 2021

Persuasion is the ability of human beings to convince other people to do something they did not plan to do.

I recommend you read this article to enter the subject: "Persuasion: definition and elements of the art of convincing"

How to convince someone? The best persuasion techniques

When persuading tooThe techniques used for this are very important .

These persuasion techniques can be grouped in many different ways, but especially those identified according to the six principles of Cialdini's influence:

  • Principle of coherence . We need to be consistent in our motives and in the speeches that accompany our actions.
  • Principle of reciprocity . It is referred to the need to return to others the favors they give us.
  • Principle of scarcity . Something is more attractive if you have limited availability.
  • Principle of social approval . We seek the support of the majority, so having something with which most agree will be a better option.
  • Principle of authority . As we have seen, someone expert in a subject can make us believe something about it more easily.
  • Principle of sympathy . Someone who is nice to us will be more likely to persuade us.
You can read more about the 6 laws of the social influence of Robert Cialdini in this article

The main persuasion techniques

Next we will see some persuasion techniques, the most studied and effective.


Let's start with the persuasion techniques based on reciprocity, the techniques based on commitment or coherence and we will finish with the techniques based on scarcity. Then we will review elements and techniques used that have to do with the principles of authority, sympathy and social approval, although these are usually integrated into the other types of techniques.

1. Techniques based on reciprocity

The techniques based on reciprocity are those in which the interaction between source and receiver cause in the latter the idea that a concession is being made , which makes it more likely to return the favor.

These techniques are used, of course, by commercial, but sometimes also by political organizations in negotiations or even in the advertising strategies of municipalities and governments that urge the population to take care of public resources and equipment, although if they are used badly they can also have a more sinister role in the maintenance of clientelist networks and corruption schemes.


Within these techniques include:

  • Technique of the door / the slam in the face

This technique is based on the fact that the source makes an initial offer that is very exaggerated and expensive for the receiver who knows that he is going to refuse. Once the receiver rejects it, the source will progressively lower the cost level, to finally reach the point that was the objective from the first moment. A) Yes, the receiver considers that he has been made a big reduction, which facilitates that he ends up accessing the offer .

A clear and easy to understand example that employs this technique is the bargaining of traders in different markets around the world.

  • Technique "this is not all"

It is based on offering, in addition to the initial offer, a small extra gift . The gift is seen as a concession, so that again it is easier for the receiver to feel favored and to accept the offer. We can find an example in the television promotions of some products, in which they often give a small gift (the sheath of the knife we ​​have bought, a second pair of glasses, etc.).


  • Slap technique on the shoulder

This technique is based on establishing an informal and partly emotional link between source and receiver , making the receiver feel the need to correspond to the relationship he has with the source. This technique can be exemplified by the procedure carried out by banks with their clients.

2. Techniques based on commitment

The techniques based on commitment and coherence are based on the receiver's desire to be coherent with their previous attitudes and actions.

They are also the ones that pose the most moral dilemmas in their most extreme versions, since some of them break with the idea that the sender and receiver must start from the same conditions as the first one who knows all the necessary information and plays with advantage. That is why, too, that knowing how to recognize these techniques will help us not to get caught up in them.

The main and most used are the following:

  • Amago technique or "low-ball"

In this technique the receiver accepts an offer from the source, but once accepted the source puts emphasis on information that makes the deal somewhat less attractive . Of course, this information can not go against the data provided at the beginning by the issuer, but they are usually part of "the fine print" of what has been negotiated. The receiver can always reject it, but the desire to be consistent can cause him to decide to accept the offer equally.

  • Technique of the foot in the door

This technique is based on making a small initial offer, easily accepted by the recipient . Once accepted, you can proceed to make increasingly larger offers. A valid simile could be given in the game, where you start by making small bets and then increase the amount of money wagered.

  • Bait technique and switch

It is based on the fact that when the recipient accesses the offer, the product in question that attracted him has been exhausted , although other similar options are offered.

3. Techniques based on scarcity

With regard to the techniques based on scarcity, they intend to increase the value of what is offered to the receiver as long as he accepts it. Two techniques stand out:

  • Technique to "play hard to get something"

In this technique it is implied that the product is scarce and difficult to obtain in order that the receiver is motivated to acquire it. It is very visible in electronic or food products (smartphones, caviar ...).

  • Deadline technique

In this technique it is indicated that the offer is only temporary , with what is invited to acquire it quickly before it is over. A variant uses the number of units instead of time. The clearest example is the television promotions of some products, which together with the strategy of "this is not all" usually indicate the temporary availability of the offer.

4. Techniques based on social approval

The techniques based on social approval aim to use the need of the recipients to feel part of the group and society, using as an argument that a large proportion of the population accepts or accepts the offer that is offered.

In this case, the use of statistics or inclusion techniques in the group stands out.

This resource is frequently used in order to show the popularity of the offer, showing that if accepted, it will be included in the group. It is usually used in conjunction with the elements and techniques based on authority.

It can be seen in many advertisements, in which they show the statistics of satisfied customers or with comments of the type "9 out of 10 recommend it", "we are many partners of ...", "Join us".

5. Techniques based on authority

The techniques based on authority they act under the consideration that an expert in a subject will have a better criterion on this one than others , including the receiver. Regarding this fact, the use of expert testimonies stands out. In this technique, the expertise of one or several individuals is used in order to show the receiver that the offer applied is more valuable, efficient or profitable than others.

A clear example is the use of professionals in a sector to sell a specific product, such as the use of dentists to promote toothpaste or sports professionals to promote sportswear.

6. Techniques based on sympathy

With regard to techniques based on sympathy, they are based on creating a sense of similarity and closeness between the source of persuasion and the receiver . These stand out:

  • Use of elements that foster the feeling of familiarity

Although it is not a technique in itself, it is common to use the environment, the way of dressing and even the behavior and to be able to express oneself in such a way that the receiver feels comfortable enough to accept the offer. One example is found in a large number of brands and stores, which make their employees wear clothes and behave informally.

  • Attractive physicist

The use of the physical and personal appeal of the source facilitates that the recipient is attracted to what comes from him / her, with which he / she frequently accepts the offer. It is frequently seen in fashion advertisements and accessories, although it is customary to apply to a large majority of advertising elements.

  • Use of celebrities

The public recognition of a famous and influential person is used in order to modify the perception of the recipient (s) on a specific offer. They are very frequent in the world of marketing and are used continuously in advertising.

Some conclusions and reflections

All these characteristics and techniques are important and frequent elements in the attempts of persuasion that we find in our daily life, not only in the strategies used by organizations and large companies. Keep in mind that most people try to persuade others to change attitudes, values ​​or acts .

However, it has been valued that persuading does not necessarily imply manipulation, since in a large percentage of the cases we are aware that we are trying to modify our point of view with a clear purpose.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cialdini, R.B., Cacioppo, J.T., Bassett, R., & Miller, J. A. (1978). Low-ball procedure for producing compliance: commitment then cost. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 36 (5), 463.
  • Cialdini, R.B., Vincent, J.E., Lewis, S.K., Catalan, J., Wheeler, D., & Darby, B.L. (1975). Reciprocal concessions procedure for inducing compliance: The door-in-the-face technique. Journal of personality and Social Psychology, 31 (2), 206.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). An information-processing model of advertising effectiveness. In H.L. Davis & A.J. Silk (Eds.), Behavioral and Management Sciences in Marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Rogers, R.W. (1985). Attitude change and information integration in fear appeals. Psychological Reports, 56, 179-182.

Persuasion Techniques - 3 INSANELY Effective Tricks (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 techniques de persuasion les plus efficaces

Les 10 techniques de persuasion les plus efficaces

Janvier 17, 2022

La persuasion est la capacité des êtres humains à convaincre les autres de faire quelque chose qu'ils n'avaient pas l'intention de faire.

Je vous recommande de lire cet article pour entrer dans le sujet: "Persuasion: définition et éléments de l'art de convaincre"

Comment convaincre quelqu'un? Les meilleures techniques de persuasion

En persuadant aussiLes techniques utilisées sont très importantes .

Ces techniques de persuasion peuvent être regroupées de différentes manières, mais en particulier celles identifiées selon les six principes d'influence de Cialdini:

  • Principe de cohérence . Nous devons être cohérents dans nos motivations et dans les discours qui accompagnent nos actions.
  • Principe de réciprocité . Il est fait référence à la nécessité de rendre aux autres les faveurs qu’ils nous accordent.
  • Principe de rareté . Quelque chose est plus attrayant si vous avez une disponibilité limitée.
  • Principe d'approbation sociale . Nous recherchons le soutien de la majorité, donc avoir quelque chose avec lequel la plupart s'accordent sera une meilleure option.
  • Principe de l'autorité . Comme nous l’avons vu, un expert en la matière peut nous faire croire quelque chose plus facilement.
  • Principe de sympathie . Quelqu'un qui est gentil avec nous sera plus susceptible de nous persuader.
Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les 6 lois de l'influence sociale de Robert Cialdini dans cet article

Les principales techniques de persuasion

Nous verrons ensuite quelques techniques de persuasion, les plus étudiées et les plus efficaces.


Commençons par les techniques de persuasion basées sur la réciprocité, les techniques basées sur l'engagement ou la cohérence et nous terminerons avec les techniques basées sur la rareté. Nous passerons ensuite en revue les éléments et techniques utilisés qui ont trait aux principes d’autorité, de sympathie et d’approbation sociale, bien qu’ils soient généralement intégrés aux autres types de techniques.

1. Techniques basées sur la réciprocité

Les techniques basées sur la réciprocité sont celles dans lesquelles l’interaction source-récepteur fait naître chez ce dernier l’idée d’une concession. , ce qui le rend plus susceptible de renvoyer la faveur.

Bien entendu, ces techniques sont utilisées par des organisations commerciales, mais parfois aussi par des organisations politiques lors de négociations ou même dans les stratégies publicitaires des municipalités et des gouvernements qui demandent à la population de s’occuper des ressources et des équipements publics. un rôle plus sinistre dans la maintenance des réseaux clientélistes et des schémas de corruption.


Parmi ces techniques comprennent:

  • Technique de la porte / du slam au visage

Cette technique repose sur le fait que la source fait une offre initiale très exagérée et coûteuse pour le destinataire qui sait qu'il va refuser. Une fois que le destinataire le refuse, la source diminuera progressivement le niveau de coût pour enfin atteindre le point qui était l'objectif dès le premier instant. Ainsi, le destinataire considère qu'il a bénéficié d'une réduction importante, ce qui facilite son accès à l'offre .

Un exemple clair et facile à comprendre qui utilise cette technique est la négociation des négociants sur différents marchés à travers le monde.

  • Technique "ce n'est pas tout"

Il est basé sur l'offre, en plus de l'offre initiale, d'un petit cadeau supplémentaire . Le cadeau est considéré comme une concession, de sorte qu'il est encore plus facile pour le destinataire de se sentir favorisé et d'accepter l'offre. Nous pouvons trouver un exemple dans les promotions télévisées de certains produits, dans lesquels ils offrent souvent un petit cadeau (la gaine du couteau que nous avons acheté, une deuxième paire de lunettes, etc.).


  • Technique slap sur l'épaule

Cette technique repose sur l’établissement d’un lien informel et en partie émotionnel entre la source et le récepteur. , faisant ressentir au destinataire le besoin de correspondre à la relation qu’il entretient avec la source. Cette technique peut être illustrée par la procédure effectuée par les banques avec leurs clients.

2. Techniques basées sur l'engagement

Les techniques basées sur l'engagement et la cohérence sont basées sur la volonté du destinataire d'être cohérent avec leurs attitudes et actions antérieures.

Ce sont également eux qui posent les dilemmes les plus moraux dans leurs versions les plus extrêmes, certains d'entre eux rompant avec l'idée que l'expéditeur et le destinataire doivent partir des mêmes conditions que le premier qui connaît toutes les informations nécessaires et joue avec avantage. C’est pourquoi aussi, savoir reconnaître ces techniques nous aidera à ne pas nous en prendre à nous.

Les principales et les plus utilisées sont les suivantes:

  • Technique Amago ou "low-ball"

Dans cette technique le destinataire accepte une offre de la source, mais une fois accepté, la source met l'accent sur les informations qui rendent l'opération moins attrayante . Bien entendu, ces informations ne peuvent pas aller à l’encontre des données fournies au début par l’émetteur, mais elles font généralement partie des "données en petits caractères" de ce qui a été négocié. Le destinataire peut toujours le refuser, mais le désir de cohérence peut le pousser à accepter l'offre de manière égale.

  • Technique du pied dans la porte

Cette technique consiste à faire une petite offre initiale, facilement acceptée par le destinataire. . Une fois accepté, vous pouvez procéder pour faire des offres de plus en plus grandes. Une comparaison valable peut être donnée dans le jeu, où vous commencez par faire de petites mises puis augmentez le montant des mises.

  • Technique d'appât et commutateur

Il est basé sur le fait que lorsque le destinataire accède à l'offre, le produit en question qui l'a attiré est épuisé , bien que d’autres options similaires soient offertes.

3. Techniques basées sur la rareté

En ce qui concerne les techniques basées sur la rareté, ils entendent augmenter la valeur de ce qui est offert au destinataire tant qu’il l’accepte. Deux techniques se dégagent:

  • Technique pour "jouer dur pour obtenir quelque chose"

Dans cette technique, le produit est rare et difficile à obtenir. afin que le destinataire soit motivé pour l’acquérir. Il est très visible dans les produits électroniques ou alimentaires (smartphones, caviar ...).

  • Technique de délai

Dans cette technique, il est indiqué que l'offre n'est que temporaire , avec ce qui est invité à l’acquérir rapidement avant la fin. Une variante utilise le nombre d'unités au lieu du temps. L'exemple le plus clair est la promotion télévisée de certains produits, qui, associée à la stratégie "ce n'est pas tout", indique généralement la disponibilité temporaire de l'offre.

4. Techniques basées sur l'approbation sociale

Les techniques basées sur l'approbation sociale visent à utiliser le besoin des destinataires de se sentir partie intégrante du groupe. et la société, invoquant comme argument qu'une grande partie de la population accepte ou accepte l'offre proposée.

Dans ce cas, l'utilisation de statistiques ou de techniques d'inclusion dans le groupe se démarque.

Cette ressource est fréquemment utilisée pour montrer la popularité de l'offre, ce qui signifie que si elle est acceptée, elle sera incluse dans le groupe. Il est généralement utilisé en conjonction avec les éléments et les techniques basés sur l'autorité.

On peut le voir dans de nombreuses publicités dans lesquelles ils affichent les statistiques de clients satisfaits ou avec des commentaires du type "9 le recommandent", "nous sommes de nombreux partenaires de ...", "Rejoignez-nous".

5. Techniques basées sur l'autorité

Les techniques basées sur l'autorité ils agissent en considérant qu'un expert dans un sujet aura un meilleur critère sur celui-ci que d'autres , y compris le récepteur. En ce qui concerne ce fait, l’utilisation de témoignages d’experts se distingue. Dans cette technique, le savoir-faire d'un ou de plusieurs individus est utilisé afin de montrer au destinataire que l'offre appliquée est plus utile, plus performante ou plus rentable que les autres.

Un exemple clair est le recours à des professionnels d'un secteur pour vendre un produit spécifique, tel que le recours à des dentistes pour promouvoir des dentifrices ou des professionnels du sport pour promouvoir des vêtements de sport.

6. Techniques basées sur la sympathie

En ce qui concerne les techniques basées sur la sympathie, ils sont basés sur la création d'un sentiment de similitude et de proximité entre la source de persuasion et le destinataire . Ceux-ci se démarquent:

  • Utilisation d'éléments favorisant le sentiment de familiarité

Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une technique en soi, il est courant d’utiliser l’environnement, la manière de s’habiller et même le comportement et de pouvoir s’exprimer de manière à ce que le destinataire se sente suffisamment à l'aise pour accepter l'offre. On en trouve un exemple dans un grand nombre de marques et de magasins, qui obligent leurs employés à porter des vêtements et à se comporter de manière informelle.

  • Physicien attrayant

L’utilisation de l’attrait physique et personnel de la source facilite l’attirance du destinataire pour ce qui lui vient, ce qu’il accepte fréquemment. On le voit fréquemment dans les publicités de mode et les accessoires, bien qu'il soit d'usage d'appliquer à une grande majorité d'éléments publicitaires.

  • Utilisation de célébrités

La reconnaissance publique d'une personne célèbre et influente est utilisée afin de modifier la perception du ou des destinataires sur une offre spécifique. Ils sont très fréquents dans le monde du marketing et sont utilisés continuellement dans la publicité.

Quelques conclusions et réflexions

Toutes ces caractéristiques et techniques sont des éléments importants et fréquents dans les tentatives de persuasion que nous rencontrons dans notre vie quotidienne, pas seulement dans les stratégies utilisées par les organisations et les grandes entreprises. Gardez à l'esprit que la plupart des gens essaient de persuader les autres de changer leurs attitudes, leurs valeurs ou leurs actes .

Cependant, il a été estimé que la persuasion n’implique pas nécessairement la manipulation, car dans un grand pourcentage des cas, nous sommes conscients que nous essayons de modifier notre point de vue dans un but clair.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cialdini, R. B., Cacioppo, J. T., Bassett, R. et Miller, J. A. (1978). Procédure low-ball pour obtenir la conformité: engagement puis coût. Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 36 (5), 463.
  • Cialdini, R. B., Vincent, J. E., Lewis, S. K., Catalan, J., D. Wheeler, et Darby, B. L. (1975). Procédure de concessions réciproques pour inciter au respect: la technique de la porte à face. Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 31 (2), 206.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). Un modèle de traitement de l'information de l'efficacité de la publicité. Dans H.L. Davis et A.J. Silk (Eds.), Sciences du comportement et de la gestion en marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Rogers, R.W. (1985). Changement d'attitude et intégration de l'information dans les appels à la peur. Rapports psychologiques, 56, 179-182.

Comment convaincre un client avec 1 technique de PERSUASION simple & efficace ? (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes