yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the personality of Marvin Zuckerman

The theory of the personality of Marvin Zuckerman

April 27, 2024

The theory of the personality of Marvin Zuckerman is known especially because it introduced the factor called "Search for sensations", which has had a great influence in the field of personality psychology.

Beyond the relevance of the Search for sensations dimension , the model itself is an interesting alternative to the Big Five, the predominant theory, because it is based on the biological factors of personality described by Hans Eysenck.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

Life and work of Marvin Zuckerman

Marvin Zuckerman was born in Chicago in 1928. After his doctorate in Clinical Psychology at the University of New York, he conducted research on anxiety through personality analysis, mainly through psychological tests.


During your studies on sensory deprivation At the University of Delaware, where he worked for more than 20 years, Zuckerman detected that some subjects tolerated the experimental situation very well, while others showed very negative reactions to the lack of environmental stimulation.

From these results Zuckerman began to hypothesize about the existence of a basic personality factor related to the search for sensations , which would depend on the optimal activation level of each individual. Thus, people who need a lot of stimulation to feel at ease will have a greater tendency to look for sensations.

Zuckerman retired in 2002. He is currently 79 and continues to write articles and book chapters. In addition, he continues to constantly review and expand his theories about personality.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The development of personality during childhood"

An alternative theory to the Big Five

Zuckerman's personality theory emerged as a alternative to the model of the five big personality factors , also known as "Big Five" and "Ocean", which was originally developed by McCrae and Costa. The main critic of this author to the Big Five is the presence of cultural factors, in particular the dimension Openness to experience.

By cons, the theory of Zuckerman focuses on the biological dimensions of personality . In this sense, the influence of Hans Eysenck's PEN model is very remarkable, which defines three main personality factors with a clear biological basis: Psychoticism, Extraversion and Neuroticism.

Zuckerman and his collaborators developed this theory using several psychobiological tests, including the Eysenck Personality Questionnaire (EPQ) and Zuckerman's Sensation Search Scale, and submitting the results to a factorial analysis in order to identify the dimensions of higher order personality.


The 5 personality factors

The work of the Zuckerman team concluded with the detection of a variable number of personality factors, between 3 and 7. They decided that the grouping into 5 dimensions was the most balanced in terms of specificity and parsimoniosity.

The Zuckerman-Kuhlman Personality Questionnaire It is used to measure these traits.

1. Impulsivity-Search for sensations

The search for sensations includes the need to experience new emotions and situations, as well as the tendency to take risks in different areas of life. Impulsivity and the Psychoticism factor of Eysenck would also be included in this dimension, which has been related to alterations in the levels of testosterone, dopamine and serotonin.

  • Related article: "Eysenck's Theory of Personality: the PEN model"

2. Sociability

The Sociability factor is very similar to the Extraversion of the Eysenck model and the Big Five . The Zuckerman questionnaire items that weigh in this dimension measure aspects such as the taste for interaction in large groups of people or the dislike for loneliness.

3. Neuroticism-Anxiety

Zuckerman's Neuroticism is equivalent to that described by Eysenck, which is related to the activity of the sympathetic nervous system and the fight or flight reactions that trigger stress. Neurotic people usually experience sensations of fear, obsessive ruminations, indecision or sensitivity to criticism.

4. Aggression-Hostility

This factor is associated with anger, aggression, impatience, rudeness and antisocial behavior . Correlates inversely with the Agradability dimension of the five major personality factors model.

5. Activity

People with high activity scores feel uneasy when they have nothing to do, have lots of energy and tend to be persistent. further they usually prefer to do activities that involve a challenge or that require a high level of effort.

In the Eysenck model this factor is included in the Extraversion, which depends on the level of brain alert (or arousal). According to Eysenck Extroverts have chronically low levels of activation , so they need a greater degree of environmental stimulation than introverts to feel good.

Validity of the Zuckerman model

In general, it is considered that personality models composed of five independent factors, which are habitual, they are quite useful to explore the personality , since they encompass a number of different facets without exceeding the amount of information.

However, the Zuckerman model includes factors that overlap each other , according to some reviews. This fact is especially marked in the dimensions of Activity and Extraversion; however, the authors defend the separation between the two factors in order to account for sociability and activity level separately.

In any case, the work of the Zuckerman team has been replicated in different populations and has shown its ability to predict facets such as the search for novelties, psychopathy, dependence on reward, self-direction, avoidance of harm or cooperativity.

On the other hand, the factor analyzes have clearly revealed the existence of the factor Opening to experience, whose absence is the key difference of the proposal of Zuckerman compared to the Big Five. In this model, it would be diluted in the rest of the factors, especially Search for sensations.


Sensation seeking by Marvin Zuckerman (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité de Marvin Zuckerman

La théorie de la personnalité de Marvin Zuckerman

Mars 4, 2021

La théorie de la personnalité de Marvin Zuckerman est connu surtout parce qu’il a introduit le facteur appelé "Recherche de sensations", qui a eu une grande influence dans le domaine de la psychologie de la personnalité.

Au-delà de la pertinence de la dimension Recherche de sensations , le modèle lui-même est une alternative intéressante au Big Five, la théorie prédominante, car il est basé sur les facteurs biologiques de la personnalité décrits par Hans Eysenck.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

La vie et l'oeuvre de Marvin Zuckerman

Marvin Zuckerman est né à Chicago en 1928. Après son doctorat en psychologie clinique à l'Université de New York, il a mené des recherches sur l'anxiété grâce à l'analyse de la personnalité, principalement au moyen de tests psychologiques.


Pendant votre études sur la privation sensorielle À l'Université du Delaware, où il travaille plus de 20 ans, Zuckerman a détecté que certains sujets toléraient très bien la situation expérimentale, tandis que d'autres présentaient des réactions très négatives au manque de stimulation de l'environnement.

À partir de ces résultats, Zuckerman a commencé à émettre des hypothèses sur l'existence de un facteur de personnalité fondamental lié à la recherche de sensations , qui dépend du niveau d’activation optimal de chaque individu. Ainsi, les personnes qui ont besoin de beaucoup de stimulation pour se sentir à l'aise auront davantage tendance à rechercher des sensations.

Zuckerman a pris sa retraite en 2002. Il est actuellement âgé de 79 ans et continue d'écrire des articles et des chapitres de livres. En outre, il continue à réviser et à développer constamment ses théories sur la personnalité.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Le développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance"

Une théorie alternative aux Big Five

La théorie de la personnalité de Zuckerman est apparue comme un alternative au modèle des cinq grands facteurs de personnalité , également connu comme "Big Five" et "Ocean", qui a été développé à l'origine par McCrae et Costa. Le principal critique de cet auteur aux Big Five est la présence de facteurs culturels, en particulier la dimension Ouverture à l'expérience.

Par contre, la théorie de Zuckerman se concentre sur les dimensions biologiques de la personnalité . En ce sens, l'influence du modèle PEN de Hans Eysenck est très remarquable. Elle définit trois facteurs principaux de la personnalité ayant une base biologique claire: le psychoticisme, l'extraversion et le neuroticisme.

Zuckerman et ses collaborateurs ont développé cette théorie à l'aide de plusieurs tests psychobiologiques, notamment le questionnaire de personnalité d'Eysenck (EPQ) et l'échelle de recherche de sensations de Zuckerman, et ont soumis les résultats à une analyse factorielle afin d'identifier les dimensions de personnalité d'ordre supérieur.


Les 5 facteurs de personnalité

Les travaux de l'équipe Zuckerman ont abouti à la détection d'un nombre variable de facteurs de personnalité, entre 3 et 7. Ils ont décidé que le regroupement en 5 dimensions était le plus équilibré en termes de spécificité et de parcimoniosité.

Questionnaire sur la personnalité de Zuckerman-Kuhlman Il est utilisé pour mesurer ces traits.

1. Impulsivité-Recherche de sensations

La recherche de sensations inclut le besoin de vivre de nouvelles émotions et situations, ainsi que la tendance à prendre des risques dans différents domaines de la vie. Impulsivité et facteur de psychoticisme de Eysenck serait également inclus dans cette dimension, qui a été liée à des altérations des niveaux de testostérone, de dopamine et de sérotonine.

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN"

2. sociabilité

Le facteur de sociabilité est très similaire à l'Extraversion du modèle Eysenck et le Big Five . Les éléments du questionnaire de Zuckerman qui pèsent dans cette dimension mesurent des aspects tels que le goût pour l’interaction au sein de grands groupes de personnes ou l’aversion pour la solitude.

3. Neuroticism-Anxiety

Le neuroticisme de Zuckerman est équivalent à celui décrit par Eysenck, qui est lié à l'activité du système nerveux sympathique et aux réactions de combat ou de fuite qui déclenchent le stress. Les personnes névrosées éprouvent généralement des sensations de peur, des ruminations obsessionnelles, une indécision ou une sensibilité à la critique.

4. Agression-Hostilité

Ce facteur est associé à la colère, l'agressivité, l'impatience, grossièreté et comportement antisocial . Corrélé inversement avec la dimension Agradabilité du modèle des cinq principaux facteurs de personnalité.

5. Activité

Les personnes ayant des scores d'activité élevés se sentent mal à l'aise lorsqu'elles n'ont rien à faire, ont beaucoup d'énergie et ont tendance à être persistantes. En outre ils préfèrent généralement faire des activités qui impliquent un défi ou qui nécessitent un niveau d'effort élevé.

Dans le modèle d'Eysenck, ce facteur est inclus dans l'extraversion, qui dépend du niveau d'alerte cérébrale (ou d'excitation). Selon Eysenck Les extravertis ont des niveaux d'activation chroniquement bas , ils ont donc besoin d’un plus grand degré de stimulation environnementale que les introvertis pour se sentir bien.

Validité du modèle Zuckerman

En général, on considère que les modèles de personnalité composés de cinq facteurs indépendants, qui sont habituels, ils sont très utiles pour explorer la personnalité , puisqu'elles englobent un certain nombre de facettes différentes sans dépasser la quantité d'informations.

Cependant, le modèle de Zuckerman comprend des facteurs qui se chevauchent , selon certaines critiques. Ce fait est particulièrement marqué dans les dimensions d'activité et d'extraversion; Cependant, les auteurs défendent la séparation entre les deux facteurs afin de prendre en compte séparément la sociabilité et le niveau d'activité.

En tout cas, le travail de l'équipe Zuckerman a été reproduit dans différentes populations et a démontré sa capacité à prédire des aspects tels que la recherche de nouveautés, la psychopathie, la dépendance à l'égard de la récompense, la direction de soi, la prévention du préjudice ou la coopérativité.

Par ailleurs, les analyses factorielles ont clairement révélé l’existence du facteur Ouverture à l’expérience, dont l’absence est la différence essentielle de la proposition de Zuckerman par rapport au Big Five. Dans ce modèle, il serait dilué dans le reste des facteurs, notamment Recherche de sensations.


Marvin Minsky: Health, population and the human mind (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes