yes, therapy helps!
The 13 types of learning: what are they?

The 13 types of learning: what are they?

May 6, 2021

Some people think that there is only one way to learn.

Surely, many, when we think about learning, we imagine someone studying or performing memory learning. But nevertheless, There are different types of learning with very different characteristics . In today's article, we will review and explain them.

Psychology and learning

Learning refers to the acquisition of knowledge, skills, values ​​and attitudes , and human beings could not adapt to changes if it were not for this process.

Psychology has been interested in this phenomenon for several decades and many authors have contributed valuable knowledge about what is and how such learning is constructed. Ivan Pavlov, John Watson or Albert Bandura are clear examples of this marked interest.


If you are interested in knowing more about the contribution of psychology to learning, we recommend reading the following articles:

  • Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories
  • The Theory of Learning by Jean Piaget
  • The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky
  • Piaget vs Vygotsky: similarities and differences between their theories

The different types of learning

Over the years, the studies of many of these researchers have allowed us to decipher how our memory works and how observation or experience influences when it comes to building knowledge and changing our way of acting.

But, What ways of learning exist? What kinds of learning are there? Next we explain it to you.


  • Recommended article: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

1. Implicit learning

Implicit learning refers to a type of learning that is generally unintentional learning and where the apprentice is not aware of what is learned.

The result of this learning is the automatic execution of a motor behavior. The truth is that many of the things we learn happen without realizing, For example, talk or walk. Implicit learning was the first to exist and was key to our survival. We are always learning without realizing it.

2. Explicit learning

Explicit learning is characterized by the learner's intention to learn and is aware of what he learns .

For example, this type of learning allows us to acquire information about people, places and objects. That is why this way of learning requires sustained and selective attention of the most evolved area of ​​our brain, that is, it requires the activation of the prefrontal lobes.


3. Associative learning

This is a process by which an individual learns the association between two stimuli or a stimulus and behavior . One of the great theorists of this type of learning was Ivan Pavlov, who devoted part of his life to the study of classical conditioning, a type of associative learning.

  • You can learn more about this type of learning in our article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

4. Non-associative learning (habituation and sensitization)

Non-associative learning is a type of learning that is based on a change in our response to a stimulus that is presented continuously and repeatedly . For example. When someone lives near a disco, at first you may be upset by the noise. Over time, after prolonged exposure to this stimulus, you will not notice the noise pollution, as you will have become accustomed to the noise.

Within non-associative learning we find two phenomena: the habituation and the sensitization.

  • To know more, visit our post: "Habituation: a key process in pre-associative learning"

5. Meaningful learning

This type of learning is characterized by the fact that the individual collects the information, selects it, organizes it and establishes relations with the knowledge that it previously had. . In other words, it is when a person relates the new information with the one he already has.

  • You can learn more about meaningful learning by clicking here

6. Cooperative learning

Cooperative learning is a type of learning that allows each student to learn but not only, but with their classmates .

Therefore, it is usually carried out in the classrooms of many educational centers, and groups of students usually do not exceed five members. The teacher is the one who forms the groups and who guides them, directing the performance and distributing roles and functions.

7. Collaborative learning

Collaborative learning is similar to cooperative learning. Now, the first differs from the second in the degree of freedom with which the groups are constituted and work.

In this type of learning, It is the teachers or educators who propose a topic or problem and the students decide how to approach it

8. Emotional learning

Emotional learning means learning to know and manage emotions more efficiently . This learning brings many benefits mentally and psychologically, because it positively influences our well-being, improves interpersonal relationships, promotes personal development and empowers us.

  • Recommended article: "The 10 benefits of emotional intelligence"

9. Observational learning

This type of learning is also known as vicarious learning, by imitation or modeling or , and is based on a social situation in which at least two individuals participate: the model (the person from whom it is learned) and the subject who performs the observation of said behavior, and learns it.

10. Experiential learning

Experiential learning is the learning that occurs as a result of experience , As its name indicates.

This is a very powerful way to learn. In fact, when we talk about learning mistakes, we are referring to the learning produced by the experience itself. However, experience can have different consequences for each individual, because not everyone will perceive the facts in the same way. What brings us from the simple experience to learning is self-reflection.

  • Recommended article: "Personal Development: 5 reasons for self-reflection"

11. Learning by discovery

This learning refers to active learning , in which the person instead of learning the contents passively discovers, relates and reorders the concepts to adapt them to their cognitive scheme. One of the great theorists of this type of learning is Jerome Bruner.

12. Memory learning

The rote learning means learning and set in memory different concepts without understanding what they mean , so it does not perform a process of significance. It is a type of learning that takes place as a mechanical and repetitive action.

13. Receptive learning

With this type of learning called receptive learning the person receives the content that has to be internalized .

It is a type of imposed, passive learning. In the classroom it happens when the student, mainly because of the professor's explanation, the printed material or the audiovisual information, only needs to understand the content in order to reproduce it.

:


13 Types of (Beginner) Music Students (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 types d'apprentissage: de quoi s'agit-il?

Les 13 types d'apprentissage: de quoi s'agit-il?

Novembre 22, 2022

Certaines personnes pensent qu'il n'y a qu'une seule façon d'apprendre.

Certes, nombreux sont ceux qui pensent à apprendre, imaginons quelqu'un qui étudie ou exécute l'apprentissage de la mémoire. Cependant, Il existe différents types d'apprentissage avec des caractéristiques très différentes . Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous allons les examiner et les expliquer.

Psychologie et apprentissage

L'apprentissage fait référence à l'acquisition de connaissances, de compétences, de valeurs et d'attitudes , et les êtres humains ne pourraient pas s’adapter aux changements s’il n’y avait pas ce processus.

La psychologie s'intéresse à ce phénomène depuis plusieurs décennies et de nombreux auteurs ont apporté de précieuses connaissances sur ce qui est construit et comment cet apprentissage est construit. Ivan Pavlov, John Watson ou Albert Bandura illustrent clairement cet intérêt marqué.


Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l'apport de la psychologie à l'apprentissage, nous vous recommandons de lire les articles suivants:

  • Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories
  • La théorie de l'apprentissage par Jean Piaget
  • La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky
  • Piaget vs Vygotsky: similitudes et différences entre leurs théories

Les différents types d'apprentissage

Au fil des ans, les études de nombre de ces chercheurs nous ont permis de déchiffrer le fonctionnement de notre mémoire et l’influence de l’observation ou de l’expérience sur la construction du savoir et la modification de notre façon de faire.

Mais Quelles sont les méthodes d'apprentissage existantes? Quels types d'apprentissage existe-t-il? Ensuite, nous vous l'expliquons.


  • Article recommandé: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

1. Apprentissage implicite

L'apprentissage implicite fait référence à un type d'apprentissage qui est généralement l'apprentissage non intentionnel. et où l'apprenti n'est pas au courant de ce qui est appris.

Le résultat de cet apprentissage est l'exécution automatique d'un comportement moteur. La vérité est que beaucoup des choses que nous apprenons se produisent sans que nous nous rendions compte, par exemple, parler ou marcher. L'apprentissage implicite a été le premier à exister et a été la clé de notre survie. Nous apprenons toujours sans nous en rendre compte.

2. Apprentissage explicite

L'apprentissage explicite est caractérisé par l'intention de l'apprenant d'apprendre et est conscient de ce qu'il apprend .

Par exemple, ce type d’apprentissage nous permet d’acquérir des informations sur des personnes, des lieux et des objets. C’est pourquoi cette méthode d’apprentissage exige une attention soutenue et sélective de la région la plus évoluée de notre cerveau, c’est-à-dire qu’elle nécessite l’activation des lobes préfrontaux.


3. Apprentissage associatif

C'est un processus par lequel un individu apprend l'association entre deux stimuli ou un stimulus et un comportement . Ivan Pavlov, l'un des grands théoriciens de ce type d'apprentissage, a consacré une partie de sa vie à l'étude du conditionnement classique, un type d'apprentissage associatif.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce type d'apprentissage dans notre article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

4. Apprentissage non associatif (habituation et sensibilisation)

L'apprentissage non associatif est un type d'apprentissage qui repose sur un changement de réponse de notre part à un stimulus présenté de manière continue et répétée. . Par exemple. Quand quelqu'un habite près d'une discothèque, le bruit peut vous contrarier au début. Au fil du temps, après une exposition prolongée à ce stimulus, vous ne remarquerez pas la pollution sonore, vous vous serez habitué au bruit.

Dans l’apprentissage non associatif, nous trouvons deux phénomènes: le accoutumance et la prise de conscience.

  • Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre article: "L'habituation: un processus clé dans l'apprentissage pré-associatif"

5. Apprentissage significatif

Ce type d'apprentissage se caractérise par le fait que l'individu recueille les informations, les sélectionne, les organise et établit des relations avec les connaissances qu'il possédait auparavant. . En d’autres termes, c’est quand une personne relie la nouvelle information à celle qu’elle a déjà.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur l'apprentissage significatif en cliquant ici

6. Apprentissage coopératif

L'apprentissage coopératif est un type d'apprentissage qui permet à chaque élève d'apprendre, mais pas seulement, mais avec ses camarades de classe. .

Par conséquent, il est généralement effectué dans les salles de classe de nombreux centres éducatifs et les groupes d’élèves ne comptent généralement pas plus de cinq membres. L'enseignant est celui qui forme les groupes et qui les guide, dirige la performance et répartit les rôles et les fonctions.

7. Apprentissage collaboratif

L'apprentissage collaboratif est similaire à l'apprentissage coopératif. Or, le premier diffère du second par le degré de liberté avec lequel les groupes sont constitués et travaillent.

Dans ce type d'apprentissage, Ce sont les enseignants ou les éducateurs qui proposent un sujet ou un problème et ce sont les étudiants qui décident de la manière dont ils abordent le sujet.

8. Apprentissage émotionnel

L'apprentissage émotionnel signifie apprendre à connaître et à gérer les émotions plus efficacement . Cet apprentissage présente de nombreux avantages sur les plans mental et psychologique, car il influence positivement notre bien-être, améliore les relations interpersonnelles, favorise le développement personnel et nous responsabilise.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 10 avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle"

9. Apprentissage par observation

Ce type d’apprentissage est également appelé apprentissage par procuration, par imitation ou par modélisation. o , et est basé sur une situation sociale à laquelle participent au moins deux individus: le modèle (la personne de qui il est appris) et le sujet qui effectue l’observation dudit comportement et l’apprend.

10. Apprentissage par l'expérience

L'apprentissage par l'expérience est l'apprentissage qui résulte de l'expérience. , comme son nom l'indique.

C'est un moyen très puissant d'apprendre. En fait, lorsque nous parlons d’erreurs d’apprentissage, nous faisons référence à l’apprentissage produit par l’expérience elle-même. Cependant, l'expérience peut avoir des conséquences différentes pour chaque individu, car tous ne percevront pas les faits de la même manière. De la simple expérience à l’apprentissage, c’est la réflexion sur soi-même.

  • Article recommandé: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons de réfléchir sur soi"

11. Apprendre par la découverte

Cet apprentissage fait référence à un apprentissage actif , dans lequel la personne au lieu d’apprendre passivement le contenu découvre, relie et réordonne les concepts pour les adapter à leur schéma cognitif. Jerome Bruner est l'un des grands théoriciens de ce type d'apprentissage.

12. apprentissage de la mémoire

L'apprentissage par cœur signifie apprendre et mémoriser différents concepts sans comprendre ce qu'ils signifient , de sorte qu'il n'effectue pas un processus d'importance. C'est un type d'apprentissage qui se déroule comme une action mécanique et répétitive.

13. Apprentissage réceptif

Avec ce type d’apprentissage appelé apprentissage réceptif, la personne reçoit le contenu à intérioriser .

C'est un type d'apprentissage imposé et passif. En classe, cela se produit lorsque l'élève, principalement à cause des explications du professeur, du matériel imprimé ou des informations audiovisuelles, n'a besoin que de comprendre le contenu pour le reproduire.

:


L' adverbe : première partie (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes