yes, therapy helps!
The benefits of caresses (according to science)

The benefits of caresses (according to science)

June 17, 2024

A new investigation of the Association of Neuropsychoanalysis seems to indicate that caresses play an important role in how the brain develops the mental image of the body . This study supports the idea that interoceptive signals such as affective contact are important for understanding the body and help create a coherent sense about oneself.

The decrease in the perception of these signals have been related to problems of body image, phantom pain, anorexia nervosa and bulimia. In addition, other studies related to pain or depression also support the idea that caresses bring benefits to health and well-being .


Caresses help maintain a positive sense of "I"

Caressing with affection, a habitual gesture between mothers and children or between couples, can increase the ability of the brain to build the sense of ownership of one's body and maintain a sense of healthy "I".

The study to which we refer, was published in Frontiers Psychology, and was headed by Dr. Aikaterini Fotopoulou, director of the Association of Neuropsychoanalysis, and by Mark Jenkinson, professor of the Department of Psychology at the University of Hertfordshire in the United Kingdom.

52 healthy adults participated and used an experimental technique known as "rubber hand illusion". In this technique the participant sits at a table with half-closed eyes (to reduce his visual field). Place the arms on the table, but one is hidden, because it has the rubber hand on top. When stimulating the rubber hand, the individual perceives that they are stimulating his real hand, although it is the rubber that receives the caresses. This technique demonstrates the changing nature of the perception of one's body.


In previous studies, it has been shown that affective caress , characterized by a slow stimulation of the skin (between 1 and 10 cm per second), correlates with pleasurable emotions and improves anxious symptoms . Dr. Fotopoulou's team wanted to know if affective caress affected the brain's understanding of the body.

In this investigation the technique of the illusion of the rubber hand was adapted to incorporate different types of caresses: slow and fast caresses (synchronized and not synchronized both), and affective caresses. After the test the participants were asked to complete a questionnaire that measured their subjective experience of the experiment.

This study supports the idea that the perception of interoceptive signals such as emotional contact help to build a mental image of one's own body, since the perception of affective touch in the brain is part of a series of signals that help to monitor the homeostasis .


Caresses help to soothe pain, depression, and strengthen the immune system

Caresses not only make you feel good and communicate positive feelings, but there are several studies that show that these can be effective to combat pain, strengthen the immune system or combat depression.

A study carried out by American Journal of Psychiatry seems to indicate that caresses favor the release of oxytocin, a hormone that induces relaxation and helps us feel full and happy. According to the authors of the study, people who are single and without a romantic relationship tend to be more depressed and sad.

Other benefits of caresses

In addition to the benefits that we have already indicated regarding caresses, science seems to provide more data that supports the idea that caresses favor the well-being of all of us. Here are some examples:

Maternal caresses heal the effects of pregnancy stress on children

The emotions that the mother experiences during pregnancy affect the pregnant baby in one way or another . When living a stressful situation, your body reacts by releasing hormones that reach the baby through the placenta, which is associated with various alterations in its development. A study published in PLOSone it seems to indicate that the caresses of the mothers to their children when they are born reduces the stress and the negative emotions of this one after the birth and favors its physiological adaptability.

Improves lung function

A research from the University of Touch Research Institute in Miami, seems to reveal that caress improves lung function , immune function and improves the health of our heart. The human touch is important for all ages.

Helps control blood pressure

According to a study by the University of North Carolina it seems that people give hugs and caresses regularly to their partner, they have a lower blood pressure and suffer less pathologies associated with the heart.


What You Can Learn By Touching Someone (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les bienfaits des caresses (selon la science)

Les bienfaits des caresses (selon la science)

Mai 25, 2022

Une nouvelle enquête de la Association de Neuropsychoanalyse semble indiquer que les caresses jouent un rôle important dans la manière dont le cerveau développe l'image mentale du corps . Cette étude soutient l'idée que des signaux interoceptifs tels que le contact affectif sont importants pour comprendre le corps et aident à créer un sens cohérent de soi.

La diminution de la perception de ces signaux est liée à des problèmes d’image corporelle, de douleur fantôme, d’anorexie mentale et de boulimie. En outre, d’autres études sur la douleur ou la dépression ont également soutenez l'idée que les caresses ont des effets bénéfiques sur la santé et le bien-être .


Les caresses aident à maintenir un sens positif du "je"

Caresser avec affection, geste habituel entre mères et enfants ou entre couples, peut augmenter la capacité du cerveau à construire le sentiment de propriété de son corps et maintenir un sentiment de "je" en bonne santé.

L’étude à laquelle nous nous référons a été publiée dans Psychologie des frontières, dirigée par le Dr Aikaterini Fotopoulou, directeur du Association de Neuropsychoanalyseet par Mark Jenkinson, professeur au département de psychologie de l'Université de Hertfordshire au Royaume-Uni.

52 adultes en bonne santé ont participé et ont utilisé une technique expérimentale appelée "illusion des mains en caoutchouc". Dans cette technique, le participant est assis à une table avec les yeux mi-clos (pour réduire son champ visuel). Placez les bras sur la table, mais l'un d'eux est caché, car la main en caoutchouc est sur le dessus. En stimulant la main en caoutchouc, l'individu s'aperçoit qu'il stimule sa vraie main, bien que ce soit le caoutchouc qui reçoit les caresses. Cette technique démontre la nature changeante de la perception de son corps.


Dans des études précédentes, il a été démontré que caresse affective , caractérisée par une stimulation lente de la peau (entre 1 et 10 cm par seconde), corrèle avec les émotions agréables et améliore les symptômes anxieux . L'équipe du Dr Fotopoulou a voulu savoir si la caresse affective affectait la compréhension du corps par le cerveau.

Dans cette étude, la technique de l'illusion de la main en caoutchouc a été adaptée pour incorporer différents types de caresses: caresses lentes et rapides (synchronisées et non synchronisées) et caresses affectives. Après le test, les participants ont été invités à remplir un questionnaire qui mesurait leur expérience subjective de l'expérience.

Cette étude soutient l’idée que la perception de signaux interoceptifs tels que le contact émotionnel aide à construire une image mentale de son propre corps, car la perception du toucher affectif dans le cerveau fait partie d’une série de signaux qui aident à surveiller la homéostasie .


Les caresses aident à soulager la douleur et la dépression et renforcent le système immunitaire

Les caresses permettent non seulement de se sentir bien et de communiquer des sentiments positifs, mais plusieurs études ont montré qu'elles pouvaient être efficaces pour combattre la douleur, renforcer le système immunitaire ou combattre la dépression.

Une étude réalisée par American Journal of Psychiatry semble indiquer que les caresses favorisent la libération de l'ocytocine, une hormone qui induit la relaxation et nous aide à nous sentir rassasiés et heureux. Selon les auteurs de l'étude, les personnes célibataires sans relation amoureuse ont tendance à être plus déprimées et plus tristes.

Autres avantages des caresses

En plus des avantages que nous avons déjà indiqués en ce qui concerne les caresses, la science semble fournir davantage de données à l’appui de l’idée selon laquelle les caresses favorisent le bien-être de tous. Voici quelques exemples:

Les caresses maternelles guérissent les effets du stress de la grossesse sur les enfants

Les émotions que la mère éprouve pendant sa grossesse affecter le bébé enceinte d'une manière ou d'une autre . Lorsque vous vivez une situation stressante, votre corps réagit en libérant des hormones qui atteignent le bébé par le placenta, ce qui entraîne diverses altérations de son développement. Une étude publiée dans PLOSone cela semble indiquer que les caresses des mères envers leurs enfants à la naissance réduisent le stress et les émotions négatives de celui-ci après la naissance et favorisent sa faculté d'adaptation physiologique.

Améliore la fonction pulmonaire

Une recherche de l’Institut de recherche de l’Université du Touch à Miami semble révéler que la caresse améliore la fonction pulmonaire , la fonction immunitaire et améliore la santé de notre cœur. Le contact humain est important pour tous les âges.

Aide à contrôler la pression artérielle

Selon une étude de l’Université de Caroline du Nord, il semblerait que les gens embrassent régulièrement leur partenaire, ils ont une abaisser la pression artérielle et souffrent moins de pathologies associées au coeur.

Articles Connexes