yes, therapy helps!
The effect of religion on the perception of reality

The effect of religion on the perception of reality

June 12, 2024

A team of US researchers has conducted a study on the effect of religious indoctrination during childhood, a crucial stage with regard to the way of thinking and the affirmation of one's own identity that will then define the adult person.

Religion and education

The research was aimed at obtaining evidence on a possible openness to any type of beliefs by children who spend more time in educational institutions linked to religious education: that is, if these children are more likely to accept as valid stories Mystics or fantasies that are not directly related to the worldview beliefs of their religion.


To this end, children between 5 and 6 years old were selected and divided into 4 groups, according to their degree of exposure to religious education:

1- Children who come to a public school and that do not attend catechesis .

2- Children who come to a public school and that attend catechesis .

3- Children who come to a religious school and that they do not attend catechesis

4- Children who come to a religious school and that attend catechesis .

All the children of these 4 groups were told three stories. One of them did not contain any magic element and was realistic , the second was a religious variant in which the performance of miracles was explained, and the third was another variant that contained fantastic elements but that they were not explained by a divine intervention.


The great majority of the children in group 1 considered the protagonist of realist history to be real and showed a clear tendency to consider the protagonists of the other two variants, the fantastic and the religious, fictional. In the other groups, however, there was a tendency to consider religious history as real. The belief in fantastic history, despite being relatively low in the four groups, increased in proportion to exposure to a religious education, reaching its peak (48% of the children in the group) in those boys and girls who attended a religious school and also the parish. The same happened with the belief in religious history, although its variability between groups 2, 3 and 4 was lower when it was already close to 100% in group 2.

Do we allow ourselves to be influenced by religious beliefs?

The conclusion that the research seems to lead is that indoctrination linked to religion It has a psychological impact on children, making them more gullible before any assumption without foundation. However, it should be noted that the study is based on self-report, information provided verbally by the minors. Therefore, it is not known to what extent children internalize these beliefs and begin to perceive the world and act accordingly. However, the hypothesis that a degree of verbalized and conscious acceptance of all kinds of unfounded beliefs can subconsciously reverberate in an inadequate worldview is not unreasonable.


Currently there is some evidence that people with strong religious or paranormal beliefs are also prone to commit cognitive biases, such as confusing metaphors with reality or believing that any process is intentional and leads to an objective, even if it is not carried out by an agent (that a tree loses leaves, for example).


John Trudell " Religious vs Spiritual" Perception of Reality (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'effet de la religion sur la perception de la réalité

L'effet de la religion sur la perception de la réalité

Mai 16, 2022

Une équipe de chercheurs américains a mené une étude sur la effet de l'endoctrinement religieux pendant l'enfance, une étape cruciale en ce qui concerne la façon de penser et l'affirmation de sa propre identité qui va ensuite définir la personne adulte.

Religion et éducation

La recherche visait à obtenir des preuves d'une possible ouverture à tout type de croyances d'enfants qui passent plus de temps dans des établissements d'enseignement liés à l'éducation religieuse: si ces enfants sont plus susceptibles d'accepter des histoires valides Mystiques ou fantasmes qui ne sont pas directement liés aux convictions du monde de leur religion.


À cette fin, les enfants de 5 à 6 ans ont été sélectionnés et répartis en 4 groupes, en fonction de leur degré d'exposition à l'éducation religieuse:

1- Les enfants qui viennent à collège public et que n'assiste pas à la catéchèse .

2- Les enfants qui viennent à collège public et que assister à la catéchèse .

3- Les enfants qui viennent à école religieuse et que ils n'assistent pas à la catéchèse

4- Les enfants qui viennent à école religieuse et que assister à la catéchèse .

Trois histoires ont été racontées à tous les enfants de ces 4 groupes. L’un d’eux ne contenait aucun élément magique et était réaliste , le second était un variante religieuse dans lequel la performance de miracles a été expliquée, et la troisième était une autre variante qui contenait éléments fantastiques mais qu'ils n'étaient pas expliqués par une intervention divine.


La grande majorité des enfants du groupe 1 considéraient le protagoniste de l'histoire réaliste comme une réalité et manifestaient une nette tendance à considérer les protagonistes des deux autres variantes, le fantastique et le religieux, le fictif. Dans les autres groupes, cependant, on avait tendance à considérer l'histoire religieuse comme une réalité. La croyance en une histoire fantastique, bien qu’elle soit relativement faible dans les quatre groupes, augmenté proportionnellement à l'exposition à un enseignement religieux, atteignant son apogée (48% des enfants du groupe) chez les garçons et les filles qui fréquentaient une école religieuse ainsi que la paroisse. La même chose s’est produite avec la croyance en l’histoire religieuse, bien que sa variabilité entre les groupes 2, 3 et 4 soit plus faible qu’elle était déjà proche de 100% dans le groupe 2.

Est-ce que nous nous permettons d'être influencés par des croyances religieuses?

La conclusion à laquelle la recherche semble aboutir est que l'endoctrinement lié à la religion Il a un impact psychologique sur les enfants, les rendant plus crédules avant toute hypothèse sans fondement. Toutefois, il convient de noter que l’étude est basée sur des informations autodéclarées, fournies verbalement par les mineurs. Par conséquent, on ignore dans quelle mesure les enfants intériorisent ces croyances et commencent à percevoir le monde et à agir en conséquence. Cependant, l'hypothèse selon laquelle un degré d'acceptation verbale et consciente de toutes sortes de croyances non fondées peut résonner inconsciemment dans une vision du monde inadéquate n'est pas déraisonnable.


Il existe actuellement des preuves selon lesquelles les personnes ayant de fortes convictions religieuses ou paranormales sont également enclines à commettre des biais cognitifs, telles que la confusion des métaphores avec la réalité ou la conviction que tout processus est intentionnel et conduit à un objectif, même s'il n'est pas exécuté par un agent. (qu'un arbre perd des feuilles, par exemple).


Philosophie - Terminale : La religion (3/4) : pourquoi croyons-nous ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes