yes, therapy helps!
The effects of ecstasy (short and long term)

The effects of ecstasy (short and long term)

November 27, 2021

Concerts, discos, parties ... In all these situations most people move for hours spending large amounts of energy until in some cases to exhaustion. However, some people use different drugs and substances in order to endure energy expenditure for hours and at the same time cause feelings of euphoria and companionship.

One of the most used substances in this regard is ecstasy or MDMA. However, this hallucinogenic substance is not harmless, but it greatly alters our organism and sometimes in a dangerous way for our health and our own life. In this article we present some of the effects of ecstasy both short and long term .


  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Ecstasy or MDMA

Ecstasy or MDMA is a psychodisleptic psychoactive substance (or disturbing), a type of substances that generate changes in the activity of the brain and causes perceptual alterations and mood. Due to its chemical composition, it is part of mescaline and other drugs of the phenylalkylamines group.

This substance (3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine) generates an expansive and euphoric mood , increased self-confidence and ego, hyperactivation, hallucinations, alteration in the perception of time and feelings of peace and trust with others. It speeds up the heart and breathing, and reduces the feeling of hunger, thirst and physical fatigue. However, at the same time it generates a state of tranquility and relaxation.


Ecstasy is one of the most widespread hallucinogen types , being along with marijuana and cocaine one of the most consumed illegal drugs. Said consumption is generally carried out in a recreational manner, although they have sometimes been used in various investigations and even explored for therapeutic use in the 1960s.

However, ecstasy is not considered as an element with proven therapeutic properties, so it is only used as recreational drug especially at parties and discos .

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Mechanism of action

The main mechanism of action of this substance is based on the acceleration and increase in the synthesis of monoamines , affecting dopamine and serotonin.

This increase in the synthesis and transmission of these neurotransmitters explains the activating effects of ecstasy, as well as the feeling of peace, tranquility, empathy and social approach .


In addition, it is observed that the continued use of this substance causes a degradation of serotonergic neurons , which explains the presence of different side effects in chronic users and intoxications.

Short-term effects of MDMA

The immediate effects of ecstasy They are widely known and some have been mentioned previously. MDMA generates an increase in nervous activity, causing excitement and euphoria. It also generates feeling of closeness and confidence both with oneself and with others, tranquility and calmness.

In addition, another effect of ecstasy is that alters the perception of fatigue, hunger and thirst , which diminish to the point of being noticed.

Ecstasy causes an increase in heart rate and blood pressure, which generates an increase in the level of energy we can spend and an increase in activity. However, this increase can generate severe injuries and hemorrhages muscles, kidneys, and viscera, as well as cause heart lesions in case of overdose . This factor is one of the most dangerous when MDMA is consumed.

Another of the short-term effects of ecstasy is the increase in body temperature, which is also aggravated by the increase in physical energy that the substance causes and the use that is usually given to it (usually at parties and concerts in the that jumps and dances, things that raise the temperature even more). This hyperthermia can generate fever, seizures and even death, being one of the most frequent causes of death due to this drug.

On the other hand, it can also induce visual hallucinations, confusion and an intense fear towards those around them of paranoid characteristics, especially in what is called "bad trip" .

Finally, other typical symptoms in the short term are bruxism and increased tension in the jaw, as well as hyperreflexia and muscle tension. As well Amnesia and loss of consciousness may occur , in extreme cases reaching the coma.

Effects of long-term ecstasy

Beyond the effects produced by the consumption of ecstasy immediately, it is necessary to take into account that if the consumption of this substance is prolonged in time can cause serious alterations in the body .

It has been observed through various studies that its prolonged consumption causes modifications and deterioration in serotonergic neurons, specifically producing damage to their axons, some damages that can become permanent . These modifications can generate depressive and anxious symptomatology.

The consumption of MDMA has also been linked to the loss of mental faculties such as memory and decision-making capacity, as well as sleep disturbances It has also been stated that frequent consumption of this substance can cause psychosis in a chronic manner, as well as intermittent hallucinations, increased impulsivity and aggressiveness and anxious symptomatology.

The use of ecstasy also causes damage to the blood-brain barrier while it can cause inflammation of brain tissue. It can also cause and / or facilitate the occurrence of serious or even fatal strokes or hemorrhages. Other organs that are damaged by the action of ecstasy are the liver and the heart.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychotic outbreak: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment"

Bibliographic references:

  • Colado, M.I. (2008). Ecstasy (MDMA) and design drugs: structure, pharmacology, mechanisms of action and effects on the human being. Addictive Disorders, vol.10 (3): 175-182. Madrid.

Ecstasy Effects - long-term and short-term effects of MDMA (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets de l'ecstasy (court et long terme)

Les effets de l'ecstasy (court et long terme)

Novembre 22, 2022

Concerts, discothèques, fêtes ... Dans toutes ces situations, la plupart des gens bougent pendant des heures et dépensent beaucoup d’énergie jusqu’à épuisement dans certains cas. Cependant, certaines personnes utilisent des drogues et des substances différentes pour supporter des dépenses énergétiques pendant des heures tout en provoquant des sentiments d'euphorie et de camaraderie.

L'une des substances les plus utilisées à cet égard est l'ecstasy ou la MDMA. Cependant, cette substance hallucinogène n'est pas inoffensive, mais elle altère grandement notre organisme et parfois de manière dangereuse pour notre santé et notre vie. Dans cet article, nous présentons certaines des effets de l'ecstasy à court et à long terme .


  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Ecstasy ou MDMA

L'ecstasy ou la MDMA est une substance psychoactive psychodisleptique (ou perturbant), un type de substances qui génèrent des changements dans l'activité du cerveau et cause des altérations de la perception et de l'humeur. En raison de sa composition chimique, il fait partie de la mescaline et d'autres médicaments du groupe des phénylalkylamines.

Cette substance (3,4-méthylènedioxyméthamphétamine) génère une humeur expansive et euphorique , augmentation de la confiance en soi et de l'ego, hyperactivation, hallucinations, altération de la perception du temps et des sentiments de paix et de confiance avec les autres. Il accélère le cœur et la respiration et réduit la sensation de faim, de soif et de fatigue physique. Cependant, il génère en même temps un état de tranquillité et de détente.


L'ecstasy est un des types d'hallucinogènes les plus répandus , avec la marijuana et la cocaïne, une des drogues illégales les plus consommées. Cette consommation est généralement pratiquée de manière récréative, bien qu’elle ait parfois été utilisée dans diverses enquêtes et même explorée à des fins thérapeutiques dans les années soixante.

Cependant, l’ecstasy n’est pas considérée comme un élément aux propriétés thérapeutiques éprouvées; elle n’est donc utilisée drogue récréative en particulier lors des fêtes et des discos .

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Mécanisme d'action

Le mécanisme d’action principal de cette substance repose sur la accélération et augmentation de la synthèse des monoamines , affectant la dopamine et la sérotonine.

Cette augmentation de la synthèse et de la transmission de ces neurotransmetteurs explique les effets d'activation de l'ecstasy, ainsi que la sentiment de paix, de tranquillité, d'empathie et d'approche sociale .


En outre, il a été observé que l'utilisation continue de cette substance provoque une dégradation des neurones sérotoninergiques , ce qui explique la présence de différents effets secondaires chez les utilisateurs chroniques et les intoxications.

Effets à court terme de la MDMA

Les effets immédiats de l'ecstasy Ils sont largement connus et certains ont déjà été mentionnés. La MDMA génère une augmentation de l'activité nerveuse, provoquant excitation et euphorie. Il génère également sentiment de proximité et de confiance à la fois avec soi-même et avec les autres, la tranquillité et le calme.

En outre, un autre effet de l'ecstasy est que modifie la perception de fatigue, de faim et de soif , qui diminuent au point d’être remarqués.

L'ecstasy provoque une augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque et de la pression artérielle, ce qui génère une augmentation du niveau d'énergie que nous pouvons dépenser et une augmentation de l'activité. Cependant, cette augmentation peut générer des blessures graves et des hémorragies aux muscles, aux reins et aux viscères, ainsi que provoquer des lésions cardiaques en cas de surdosage . Ce facteur est l’un des plus dangereux lorsque la MDMA est consommée.

Un autre effet à court terme de l'ecstasy est l'augmentation de la température corporelle, qui est également aggravée par l'augmentation de l'énergie physique provoquée par la substance et par l'utilisation qui lui est habituellement donnée (généralement lors de fêtes et de concerts dans les salles à manger). qui saute et danse, des choses qui font monter la température encore plus). Cette hyperthermie peut provoquer de la fièvre, des convulsions et même la mort, constituant l’une des causes les plus fréquentes de décès dus à ce médicament.

D'autre part, il peut également provoquer des hallucinations visuelles, de la confusion et une peur intense envers ceux qui les entourent, de caractéristiques paranoïaques. surtout dans ce qu'on appelle "le mauvais voyage" .

Enfin, d'autres symptômes typiques à court terme sont le bruxisme et l'augmentation de la tension dans la mâchoire, ainsi que l'hyperréflexie et la tension musculaire. Aussi Une amnésie et une perte de conscience peuvent survenir , dans les cas extrêmes, atteindre le coma.

Effets de l'ecstasy à long terme

Au-delà des effets produits immédiatement par la consommation d’ecstasy, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte le fait que si la consommation de cette substance est prolongée dans le temps peut causer des altérations graves dans le corps .

Diverses études ont montré que sa consommation prolongée provoque des modifications et une détérioration des neurones sérotoninergiques, entraînant en particulier des lésions de leurs axones. certains dommages qui peuvent devenir permanents . Ces modifications peuvent générer une symptomatologie dépressive et anxieuse.

La consommation de MDMA a également été liée à la perte de facultés mentales telles que la mémoire et capacité décisionnelle, ainsi que les perturbations du sommeil. Il a également été dit que la consommation fréquente de cette substance peut causer une psychose de manière chronique, ainsi que des hallucinations intermittentes, une impulsivité et une agressivité accrues et une symptomatologie anxieuse.

L’utilisation de l’ecstasy endommage également la barrière hémato-encéphalique et peut provoquer une inflammation des tissus cérébraux. Elle peut également provoquer et / ou faciliter la survenue d’AVC ou d’hémorragies graves, voire mortelles. Le foie et le cœur sont d'autres organes endommagés par l'action de l'ecstasy.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Épidémie psychotique: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Colado, M.I. (2008). Ecstasy (MDMA) et drogues de synthèse: structure, pharmacologie, mécanismes d’action et effets sur l’être humain. Addictive Disorders, vol. 10 (3): 175-182. Madrid

Les drogues et leurs effets sur le cerveau *** (Documentaire instructif) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes