yes, therapy helps!
What is common sense? 3 theories

What is common sense? 3 theories

July 14, 2024

Common sense is what we mean when we want to talk about the knowledge we all share. What we consider basic and evident, conclusions to which we arrived almost automatically when trying to analyze what we perceive.

However, at the moment of truth it is difficult to understand exactly what is common sense . We will discuss this in this article.

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

What is common sense?

There are several ways to define philosophically what is common sense. Let's see them

Aristotle

For example, Aristotle attributed it to our capacity to perceive in an almost identical way the same sensory stimuli when they target our senses. When someone hears the crack of a branch when it breaks, is perceiving the same thing that any other person would have perceived instead .


In a certain sense, this indicates that we all share that way of feeling the impact that the environment has on us, but only if we are referring to the more specific and less abstract aspects of what we live in day to day: the taste of coffee , the views from a balcony, etc.

However, as we will see, other thinkers used the concept of common sense to argue that beyond the senses, we all have a common psychological matrix that allows us to critically analyze several things and extract similar ideas from this. For example, if a truck is speeding towards us, it is urgent to move away.

Rene Descartes

For this famous French philosopher, common sense was that which acts bridge between the rational and immaterial being that according to him governed the body, and the physical world , composed of the human body and everything that surrounds it in time and space.


Thus, while common sense allows the spiritual being to know that there is a physical reality, at the same time the imperfect of this physical world makes it not directly understandable and that rationality is needed to understand it. Common sense is, well, a basic notion that there are things that exist and things that happen , but it is a very vague knowledge from which we can not extract great truths capable of giving meaning to what happens to us. The water wets, the sun shines ... that kind of ideas are those that emanate from common sense.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The valuable contributions of René Descartes to Psychology"

Pragmatists

The pragmatist philosophy that emerged in the Anglo-Saxon world from the nineteenth century has generated a whole series of thinkers who tend to argue that the common sense is simply a set of beliefs about practical and basic aspects of everyday life and that are useful to develop in they. Thus, common sense is not defined so much by its proximity to the truth, as by the consequences of believing in certain ideas.


In theory, it is possible that an idea brings us closer to the truth and that at the same time it is not very useful for us to live well and be happy and, in that case, it would be debatable if it constituted common sense. Definitely, much of what is or is not common sense depends on the context , because it makes believing or not believing in certain things have different effects depending on the place and time in which we live. Since most people live in places that share many characteristics and rules, much of us share those ideas.


The authority argument

Sometimes we forget that the use of language not only serves to communicate ideas, but also have an effect, cause phenomena. Appealing to common sense to sustain an idea can be used, simply, to leave out of discussion a belief or opinion that is considered unquestionable .

This is, in practice, the only certainty we have about the nature of common sense: a rhetorical tool that serves to make it difficult for someone to question widespread ideas that many people consider naturally obvious. In short, a way to impoverish any debate, given that the popularity of a belief does not imply that it is good, true or useful.


conclusion

Common sense is a concept that we use daily to refer to pieces of knowledge that seem obvious, that in theory everyone should be clear. However, the fact that we relate this idea to many day-to-day experiences is what makes the ability of the concept to explain the way of thinking of the human being not very powerful.

In other words, if the concept of common sense is problematic, it's because we take it for granted to think that by living similar experiences, we all draw similar conclusions from them. When it comes to the truth, there is nothing that guarantees us that this is the case.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bernstein, Richard (1983), Beyond Objectivism and Relativism: Science, Hermeneutics, and Praxis.
  • Maroney, Terry A. (2009). "Emotional Common Sense as Constitutional Law". Vanderbilt Law Review. 62: 851.
  • Sachs, Joe (2001), Aristotle's On the Soul and On Memory and Recollection, Green Lion Press.

Top 10 Psychology Theories That Defy Common Sense (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le sens commun? 3 théories

Quel est le sens commun? 3 théories

Novembre 9, 2022

Le sens commun est ce que nous voulons dire lorsque nous voulons parler des connaissances que nous partageons tous. Ce que nous considérons fondamental et évident, conclusions auxquelles nous sommes arrivés presque automatiquement lorsque nous essayons d’analyser ce que nous percevons.

Cependant, au moment de la vérité il est difficile de comprendre exactement ce qu'est le bon sens . Nous en discuterons dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Quel est le sens commun?

Il existe plusieurs façons de définir philosophiquement ce qu'est le sens commun. Voyons les

Aristote

Aristote, par exemple, l'a attribué à notre capacité à percevoir de manière presque identique les mêmes stimuli sensoriels lorsqu'ils ciblent nos sens. Quand quelqu'un entend le craquement d'une branche quand elle se casse, perçoit la même chose que toute autre personne aurait perçu à la place .


Dans un certain sens, cela indique que nous partageons tous cette façon de ressentir l’impact de l’environnement sur nous, mais seulement si nous faisons référence aux aspects plus spécifiques et moins abstraits de notre quotidien: le goût du café. , la vue depuis un balcon, etc.

Cependant, comme nous le verrons, d’autres penseurs ont utilisé le concept de sens commun pour affirmer qu’au-delà des sens, nous avons tous une matrice psychologique commune qui nous permet d’analyser de manière critique plusieurs choses et d’en extraire des idées similaires. Par exemple, si un camion accélère vers nous, il est urgent de s’éloigner.

René Descartes

Pour ce célèbre philosophe français, le bon sens était celui qui agit pont entre l'être rationnel et immatériel qui, selon lui, régit le corps et le monde physique , composé du corps humain et de tout ce qui l’entoure dans le temps et dans l’espace.


Ainsi, alors que le sens commun permet à l’être spirituel de savoir qu’il existe une réalité physique, l’imparfait de ce monde physique ne le rend pas directement compréhensible et la nécessité de la rationalité pour le comprendre. Le bon sens est, eh bien, une notion de base qu'il y a des choses qui existent et des choses qui arrivent , mais c’est une connaissance très vague de laquelle nous ne pouvons pas extraire de grandes vérités capables de donner un sens à ce qui nous arrive. L'eau mouille, le soleil brille ... ce genre d'idées sont celles qui émanent du sens commun.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Les précieuses contributions de René Descartes à la psychologie"

Pragmatiques

La philosophie pragmatiste qui a émergé dans le monde anglo-saxon à partir du XIXe siècle a généré toute une série de penseurs qui ont tendance à affirmer que le sens commun est simplement un ensemble de croyances sur les aspects pratiques et fondamentaux de la vie quotidienne et qu'il est utile de développer. eux. Ainsi, le sens commun ne se définit pas tant par sa proximité de la vérité que par les conséquences de croire à certaines idées.


En théorie, il est possible qu’une idée nous rapproche de la vérité et qu’en même temps, il ne nous soit pas très utile de bien vivre et d’être heureux et que, dans ce cas, il serait discutable qu’elle constitue du bon sens. Finalement, une grande partie de ce qui est ou non du bon sens dépend du contexte , parce que faire croire ou ne pas croire en certaines choses a des effets différents selon le lieu et l’heure dans lesquels nous vivons. Comme la plupart des gens vivent dans des endroits qui partagent de nombreuses caractéristiques et règles, la plupart d’entre nous partageons ces idées.


L'argument de l'autorité

Parfois, nous oublions que l’utilisation du langage ne sert pas seulement à communiquer des idées, mais a aussi un effet, cause des phénomènes. Faire appel au bon sens pour soutenir une idée peut être utilisé, simplement, laisser en dehors de la discussion une croyance ou une opinion considérée comme indiscutable .

En pratique, c’est la seule certitude que nous ayons sur la nature du sens commun: un outil rhétorique qui empêche de remettre en question les idées répandues que beaucoup de gens considèrent comme évidentes. En bref, une façon d’appauvrir tout débat, étant donné que la popularité d’une conviction ne signifie pas qu’elle est bonne, vraie ou utile.


conclusion

Le sens commun est un concept que nous utilisons quotidiennement pour faire référence à des éléments de connaissance qui semblent évidents et qui, en théorie, devraient être clairs. Cependant, le fait que nous associons cette idée à de nombreuses expériences quotidiennes rend la capacité du concept à expliquer la façon de penser de l'être humain peu puissante.

En d'autres termes, si le concept de sens commun est problématique, c'est parce que nous prenons pour acquis de penser qu'en vivant des expériences similaires, nous en tirons tous des conclusions similaires. En ce qui concerne la vérité, rien ne nous garantit que tel est le cas.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bernstein, Richard (1983), Au-delà de l'objectivisme et du relativisme: science, herméneutique et praxis.
  • Maroney, Terry A. (2009). "Le sens commun émotionnel en tant que loi constitutionnelle". Revue de droit de Vanderbilt. 62: 851.
  • Sachs, Joe (2001), De l'âme et du souvenir et du souvenir d'Aristote, Green Lion Press.

Phénomène après la mort (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes