yes, therapy helps!
The history of synapses

The history of synapses

August 1, 2022

The brain contains thousands and thousands of interconnections between its neurons, which are separated by a small space known as synapses. This is where the transmission of information passes from neuron to neuron .

For some time now it has been seen that the activity of the synapse is not static, that is, it is not always the same. It can be enhanced or diminished as a consequence of external stimuli, such as things that we live. This quality of being able to modulate the synapse is known as cerebral plasticity or neuroplasticity.

Until now, it has been assumed that this ability to modulate the synapses participates actively in two activities as important for brain development as learning and memory. I say until now, since there is a new alternative current to this explanatory scheme, according to which to understand the functioning of memory the synapses are not so important as it is normally believed.


The history of synapses

Thanks to Ramón y Cajal, we know that neurons do not form a unified tissue, but all of them are separated by interneuronal spaces, microscopic places that later Sherrington would call "synapses". Decades later, the psychologist Donald Hebb would offer a theory according to which the synapses are not always equal in time and can be modulated, that is, he spoke of what we know as neuroplasticity: Two or more neurons can cause the relationship between them to consolidate or degrade , making certain communication channels more frequent than others. As a curious fact, fifty years before applying this theory, Ramón y Cajal left evidence of the existence of this modulation in his writings.


Today we know two mechanisms that are used in the process of brain plasticity: long-term potentiation (LTP), which is an intensification of the synapse between two neurons; and long-term depression (LTD), which is the opposite of the first, that is, a reduction in the transmission of information.

Memory and neuroscience, empirical evidence with controversy

Learning is the process by which we associate things and events in life to acquire new knowledge. Memory is the activity of maintaining and retaining this knowledge learned over time. Throughout history hundreds of experiments have been conducted in search of how the brain performs these two activities.

A classic in this research is the work of Kandel and Siegelbaum (2013) with a small invertebrate, the marine snail known as Aplysia. In this investigation, they saw that changes in synaptic conductivity were generated as a consequence of how the animal responds to the environment , demonstrating that the synapse is involved in the process of learning and memorizing. But a more recent experiment with Aplysia by Chen et al. (2014) has found something that clashes with the conclusions reached previously. The study reveals that long-term memory persists in the animal in motor functions after the synapse has been inhibited by drugs, casting doubt on the idea that the synapse participates in the entire memory process.


Another case that supports this idea arises from the experiment proposed by Johansson et al. (2014). On this occasion the Purkinje cells of the cerebellum were studied. These cells have among their functions to control the rhythm of movements, and being stimulated directly and under an inhibition of synapses by drugs, against all prognosis, they continued to set the pace. Johansson concluded that his memory is not influenced by external mechanisms, and that it is the Purkinje cells themselves that control the mechanism individually, independently of the influences of the synapses.

Finally, a project by Ryan et al. (2015) served to demonstrate that the strength of the synapse is not a critical point in the consolidation of memory. According to his work, when injecting protein inhibitors in animals a retrograde amnesia is produced, that is, they can not retain new knowledge. But if in this same situation, we apply small flashes of light that stimulate the production of certain proteins (a method known as optogenetics), we can retain the memory despite the induced chemical blockade.

Learning and memory, united or independent mechanisms?

In order to memorize something, we must first learn about it . I do not know if it is because of this, but the current neuroscientific literature tends to put these two terms together and the experiments on which they are based usually have an ambiguous conclusion, which does not allow to distinguish between the learning process and memory, making it difficult to understand if they use a common mechanism or not.

A good example is the work of Martin and Morris (2002) in the study of the hippocampus as a learning center. The research base focused on the receptors of N-Methyl-D-Aspartate (NMDA), a protein that recognizes the neurotransmitter glutamate and participates in the LTP signal. They demonstrated that without a long-lasting potentiation in cells of the hypothalamus, it is impossible to learn new knowledge. The experiment consisted of administering NMDA receptor blockers in rats, which are left in a water drum with a raft, being unable to learn the location of the raft by repeating the test, unlike rats without inhibitors.

Subsequent studies reveal that if the rat receives training prior to the administration of the inhibitors, the rat "compensates" for the loss of the LTP, that is, it has memory. The conclusion that we want to show is that the LTP participates actively in learning, but it is not so clear that it does so in information retrieval .

The implication of cerebral plasticity

There are many experiments that show that neuroplasticity participates actively in the acquisition of new knowledge , for example the aforementioned case or in the creation of transgenic mice in which the gene for the production of glutamate is eliminated, which severely hampers the learning of the animal.

Instead, your role in memory begins to be more in doubt, as you have read with a few examples cited. A theory has begun to emerge that the mechanism of memory is inside cells rather than at synapses. But as the psychologist and neuroscientist Ralph Adolph indicates, neuroscience will solve how learning and memory works in the next fifty years , that is, only time clarifies everything.

Bibliographic references:

  • Chen, S., Cai, D., Pearce, K., Sun, P.Y.-W., Roberts, A.C., and Glanzman, D.L. (2014). Reinstatement of long-term memory following erasure of its behavioral and synaptic expression in Aplysia. eLife 3: e03896. doi: 10.7554 / eLife.03896.
  • Johansson, F., Jirenhed, D.-A., Rasmussen, A., Zucca, R., and Hesslow, G. (2014). Memory trace and timing mechanism localized to cerebellar Purkinje cells. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 111, 14930-14934. doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1415371111.
  • Kandel, E. R., and Siegelbaum, S. A. (2013). "Cellular mechanisms of implicit memory storage and the biological basis of individuality," in Principles of Neural Science, 5th Edn., Eds ER Kandel, JH Schwartz, TM Jessell, Siegelbaum SA, and AJ Hudspeth (New York, NY: McGraw-Hill ), 1461-1486.
  • Martin, S. J., and Morris, R. G. M. (2002). New life in an old idea: the synaptic plasticity and memory hypothesis revisited. Hippocampus 12, 609-636. doi: 10.1002 / hipo.10107.
  • Ryan, T. J., Roy, D. S., Pignatelli, M., Arons, A., and Tonegawa, S. (2015). Engram cells retain memory under retrograde amnesia. Science 348, 1007-1013. doi: 10.1126 / science.aaa5542.

The Nervous System, Part 3 - Synapses!: Crash Course A&P #10 (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'histoire des synapses

L'histoire des synapses

Juin 13, 2021

Le cerveau contient des milliers et des milliers d'interconnexions entre ses neurones, séparés par un petit espace appelé synapses. C’est là que la transmission de l’information passe de neurone à neurone .

Depuis quelque temps, on constate que l’activité de la synapse n’est pas statique, c’est-à-dire qu’elle n’est pas toujours la même. Il peut être amélioré ou diminué en conséquence de stimuli externes, tels que des choses que nous vivons. Cette qualité de capacité à moduler la synapse est connue sous le nom de plasticité cérébrale ou neuroplasticité.

Jusqu'à présent, on supposait que cette capacité à moduler les synapses participait activement à deux activités aussi importantes pour le développement du cerveau que l'apprentissage et la mémoire. Je dis jusqu’à présent, puisqu’il existe une nouvelle alternative à ce schéma explicatif, selon laquelle pour comprendre le fonctionnement de la mémoire, les synapses ne sont pas si importantes comme on le croit normalement.


L'histoire des synapses

Grâce à Ramón y Cajal, nous savons que les neurones ne forment pas un tissu unifié, mais qu'ils sont tous séparés par des espaces interneuronaux, des lieux microscopiques que Sherrington appellerait plus tard "synapses". Des décennies plus tard, le psychologue Donald Hebb proposerait une théorie selon laquelle les synapses ne sont pas toujours égales dans le temps et peuvent être modulées, c'est-à-dire qu'il a parlé de ce que nous appelons neuroplasticité: Deux ou plusieurs neurones peuvent entraîner la consolidation ou la dégradation de la relation entre eux. , rendant certains canaux de communication plus fréquents que d'autres. Fait curieux, cinquante ans avant d'appliquer cette théorie, Ramón y Cajal a laissé la preuve de l'existence de cette modulation dans ses écrits.


Aujourd'hui, nous connaissons deux mécanismes utilisés dans le processus de plasticité cérébrale: la potentialisation à long terme (PLT), qui est une intensification de la synapse entre deux neurones; et la dépression à long terme (LTD), qui est le contraire de la première, à savoir une réduction de la transmission d'informations.

Mémoire et neurosciences, preuves empiriques sujettes à controverse

L'apprentissage est le processus par lequel nous associons des choses et des événements de la vie pour acquérir de nouvelles connaissances. La mémoire est l'activité de maintien et de conservation de ces connaissances acquises au fil du temps. Au cours de l'histoire, des centaines d'expériences ont été menées à la recherche de la manière dont le cerveau effectue ces deux activités.

Un classique de cette recherche est l’œuvre de Kandel et Siegelbaum (2013) avec un petit invertébré, l’escargot marin appelé Aplysia. Dans cette enquête, ils ont vu que des changements dans la conductivité synaptique résultaient de la façon dont l'animal réagissait à l'environnement , démontrant que la synapse est impliquée dans le processus d'apprentissage et de mémorisation. Mais une expérience plus récente avec Aplysia de Chen et al. (2014) a trouvé quelque chose qui contredit les conclusions précédentes. L'étude révèle que la mémoire à long terme persiste dans les fonctions motrices de l'animal après inhibition de la synapse par des médicaments, ce qui jette un doute sur l'idée que la synapse participe à l'ensemble du processus de la mémoire.


Un autre cas qui soutient cette idée provient de l'expérience proposée par Johansson et al. (2014). A cette occasion, les cellules de Purkinje du cervelet ont été étudiées. Ces cellules ont parmi leurs fonctions de contrôle du rythme des mouvements et, stimulées directement et sous l’inhibition des synapses par des médicaments, contre tout pronostic, elles ont continué à donner le ton. Johansson a conclu que sa mémoire n'est pas influencée par des mécanismes externes et que ce sont les cellules de Purkinje elles-mêmes qui contrôlent le mécanisme individuellement, indépendamment des influences des synapses.

Enfin, un projet de Ryan et al. (2015) ont permis de démontrer que la force de la synapse n'est pas un point critique dans la consolidation de la mémoire. Selon ses travaux, lors de l’injection d’inhibiteurs de protéines chez l’animal, une amnésie rétrograde est produite, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne peuvent pas conserver de nouvelles connaissances. Mais si dans cette même situation, nous appliquons de petits éclairs de lumière qui stimulent la production de certaines protéines (une méthode appelée optogénétique), nous pouvons conserver la mémoire malgré le blocage chimique induit.

Apprentissage et mémoire, mécanismes unis ou indépendants?

Afin de mémoriser quelque chose, nous devons d'abord apprendre à ce sujet . Je ne sais pas si c'est à cause de cela, mais la littérature neuroscientifique actuelle tend à associer ces deux termes et les expériences sur lesquelles ils reposent aboutissent généralement à une conclusion ambiguë, ce qui ne permet pas de distinguer le processus d'apprentissage de la mémoire, ce qui rend difficile la compréhension si mécanisme commun ou non.

Les travaux de Martin et Morris (2002) dans l’étude de l’hippocampe en tant que centre d’apprentissage en sont un bon exemple. La base de recherche s'est concentrée sur les récepteurs du N-méthyl-D-aspartate (NMDA), une protéine qui reconnaît le glutamate, un neurotransmetteur, et participe au signal de la LTP. Ils ont démontré que sans une potentialisation durable dans les cellules de l'hypothalamus, il est impossible d'apprendre de nouvelles connaissances. L'expérience consistait à administrer des bloqueurs des récepteurs NMDA à des rats, laissés dans un bidon à eau avec un radeau, sans pouvoir connaître l'emplacement du radeau en répétant l'essai, contrairement aux rats sans inhibiteurs.

Des études ultérieures révèlent que si le rat reçoit une formation avant l'administration des inhibiteurs, il "compense" la perte de la PLT, c'est-à-dire qu'il a de la mémoire. La conclusion que nous voulons montrer est que le LTP participe activement à l'apprentissage, mais il n'est pas aussi clair qu'il le fait pour la recherche d'informations .

L'implication de la plasticité cérébrale

Il y a beaucoup d'expériences qui montrent que la neuroplasticité participe activement à l'acquisition de nouvelles connaissances , par exemple le cas susmentionné ou lors de la création de souris transgéniques dans lesquelles le gène pour la production de glutamate est éliminé, ce qui entrave gravement l'apprentissage de l'animal.

Au lieu de cela, votre rôle dans la mémoire commence à être plus douteux, comme vous l'avez lu avec quelques exemples cités. Une théorie a commencé à émerger selon laquelle le mécanisme de la mémoire est à l'intérieur des cellules plutôt que dans les synapses. Mais comme le psychologue et neuroscientifique Ralph Adolph l'indique, les neurosciences vont résoudre le fonctionnement de l'apprentissage et de la mémoire dans les cinquante prochaines années c'est-à-dire que seul le temps clarifie tout.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chen, S., Cai, D., Pearce, K., Sun, P.Y.W., Roberts, A.C., et Glanzman, D.L. (2014). Rétablissement de la mémoire à long terme après effacement de son expression comportementale et synaptique dans l'Aplysie. eLife 3: e03896. doi: 10,7554 / eLife.03896.
  • Johansson, F., Jirenhed, D.-A., Rasmussen, A., Zucca, R. et Hesslow, G. (2014). Trace mémoire et mécanisme de synchronisation localisés dans les cellules de Purkinje cérébelleuses. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 111, 14930-14934. doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1415371111.
  • Kandel, E. R. et Siegelbaum, S. A. (2013). "Les mécanismes cellulaires de la mémoire implicite et la base biologique de l'individualité", dans Principles of Neural Science, Ve Edn., Eds ER Kandel, JH Schwartz, TM Jessell, Siegelbaum SA et AJ Hudspeth (New York, NY: McGraw-Hill ), 1461-1486.
  • Martin, S.J. et Morris, R.G.M. (2002). Nouvelle vie dans une vieille idée: l'hypothèse de la plasticité synaptique et de la mémoire revisitée. Hippocampe 12, 609-636. doi: 10.1002 / hipo.10107.
  • Ryan, T.J., Roy, D.S., Pignatelli, M., Arons, A. et Tonegawa, S. (2015). Les cellules engrammes conservent la mémoire sous amnésie rétrograde. Science 348, 1007-1013. doi: 10.1126 / science.aaa5542.

[Saga MP3] Synapse Intégral (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes