yes, therapy helps!
The negative effects of television on children, according to science

The negative effects of television on children, according to science

June 20, 2024

Psychologists and educators have been warning parents for decades about the harmful effects of television on children in the home. Therefore, many researchers they have invested their time in verifying what is true in this hypothesis .

Is it true that television harms the development of children? And if so, how does television affect their development?

More television, more problems at school

Television used appropriately and with certain limits can be positive, but we must not forget that it is a socializing agent and, therefore, transmits values . Therefore, it is necessary that there is control over what children watch.


It is common for many parents, to have a moment to breathe, feel their children in front of the small screen. You have to be careful when doing this, because a study in which it was published in Archives of Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine, and in which the Sainte Justine University of Quebec and the University of Michigan participated, demonstrated that the children who spent 2, 3 and 4 years of age spent more hours in front of the television had bigger problems at school and had adopted more harmful habits at the age of 10 years.

According to this study, an excess of exposure to television during childhood caused a 7% decrease in commitment to school, a decrease of 6% percent achievement in mathematics, a 10% increase in victimization by peers. class, a 13% decrease in time spent on physical activity on weekends, a 9% increase in soft drink consumption, and a 10% increase in the consumption of unhealthy "snacks".


Childhood is an essential stage in the development of the brain

The authors of the study emphasize that childhood is an essential stage for the development of the brain. During this period, the brain and its neuronal circuits undergo an intense process of selective stabilization of the synapses. The best way to create these connections is through the game. In other words, children develop their intellect Experimenting with the physical world .

Exposure to television can make us more anxious and violent

Television has had a huge impact on our culture. For this reason, Michel Desmurget, doctor in neuroscience and director of research in the INSERM (National Institute of Health and Medical Research) carried out an investigation to know the impact of the "tele" in our life.

His study concluded that the exposure of television seems to make us more competitive, anxious and aggressive individuals . On the other hand, this research also stated that an excess of television during childhood is related to the appearance of attention disorders in the early stages of growth, and, as mentioned, can cause anxiety and delinquency also during adolescence.


The relationship between problems for health and the use of television

But there is still more, because children between 2 and 10 years of age who spend more than two hours a day in front of the TV 30% more likely to suffer high blood pressure . It seems that the cause lies in the relationship between a sedentary lifestyle and the frequent use of television.

On the other hand, television seems to exert a strong influence on the culture of the image. A study conducted in the Republic of the Fiji Islands concluded that 69% of adolescents began to control their weight after continuous exposure to the media . We see then that television also modulates the beliefs of minors.

The recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

As we can see, several scientific studies have shown the negative effects of the use of television: aggressive behavior, anxiety, academic performance, negative perception of the image itself, etc. Nevertheless, an appropriate use of television can be positive . Therefore, for the small screen does not become a negative aspect of the development of children, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) offers several tips for parents:

  • Remove TVs from children's rooms.
  • Only allow the use of television and other audiovisual media one to two hours a day at most. The content must be of quality and, therefore, should control what children and adolescents are seeing. Choose informative and educational content programs.
  • Children under two should not watch television.Instead, parents should encourage them to practice activities that stimulate brain development: talking, playing, reading, etc.
  • If possible. watch television with children and take advantage of programs to initiate debates about family values, violence, sex, drugs, etc.
  • Use videos and DVDs to record educational programs.
  • Support educational programs in the school about the media.
  • Encourage children to develop other activities such as reading, sports or hobbies.

How young is too young to watch television? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets négatifs de la télévision sur les enfants, selon la science

Les effets négatifs de la télévision sur les enfants, selon la science

Juillet 28, 2022

Les psychologues et les éducateurs avertissent les parents depuis des décennies des effets néfastes de la télévision sur les enfants à la maison. Par conséquent, de nombreux chercheurs ils ont investi leur temps à vérifier ce qui est vrai dans cette hypothèse .

Est-il vrai que la télévision nuit au développement des enfants? Et si oui, comment la télévision affecte-t-elle leur développement?

Plus de télévision, plus de problèmes à l'école

La télévision utilisée correctement et avec certaines limites peut être positive, mais il ne faut pas oublier que c'est un agent de socialisation et, par conséquent, transmet des valeurs . Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de pouvoir contrôler ce que regardent les enfants.


Il est courant que de nombreux parents aient le temps de respirer, de sentir leurs enfants devant le petit écran. Vous devez faire attention lorsque vous faites cela, car une étude dans laquelle elle a été publiée dans Archives de pédiatrie et de médecine de l'adolescenceet auquel ont participé l’Université Sainte-Justine du Québec et l’Université du Michigan ont démontré que les enfants qui ont passé 2, 3 et 4 ans ont passé plus d'heures devant la télévision ont eu de plus gros problèmes à l'école et avait adopté des habitudes plus néfastes à l'âge de 10 ans.

Selon cette étude, un excès d'exposition à la télévision pendant l'enfance a entraîné une diminution de 7% de l'engagement envers l'école, une diminution de 6% du rendement en mathématiques et une augmentation de 10% de la victimisation par les pairs. en classe, une réduction de 13% du temps consacré à l'activité physique les week-ends, une augmentation de 9% de la consommation de boissons gazeuses et une augmentation de 10% de la consommation de «collations» malsaines.


L'enfance est une étape essentielle dans le développement du cerveau

Les auteurs de l'étude soulignent que l'enfance est une étape essentielle pour le développement du cerveau. Pendant cette période, le cerveau et ses circuits neuronaux subissent un processus intense de stabilisation sélective des synapses. Le meilleur moyen de créer ces liens consiste à jouer. En d'autres termes, les enfants développent leur intellect Expérimenter avec le monde physique .

L'exposition à la télévision peut nous rendre plus anxieux et violent

La télévision a eu un impact énorme sur notre culture. Pour cette raison, Michel Desmurget, docteur en neurosciences et directeur de recherche à l'INSERM (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale) a mené une enquête pour connaître l'impact de la "télé" sur notre vie.

Son étude a conclu que l'exposition de la télévision semble nous rendre plus compétitifs, anxieux et agressifs . D’autre part, cette recherche a également révélé qu’un excès de télévision pendant l’enfance était lié à l’apparition de troubles de l’attention dans les premiers stades de la croissance et pouvait, comme mentionné, causer de l’anxiété et de la délinquance également à l’adolescence.


La relation entre les problèmes de santé et l'utilisation de la télévision

Mais il y a encore plus, parce que les enfants âgés de 2 à 10 ans qui passent plus de deux heures par jour devant la télévision 30% plus susceptibles de souffrir d'hypertension . Il semble que la cause réside dans la relation entre un mode de vie sédentaire et l'utilisation fréquente de la télévision.

Par ailleurs, la télévision semble exercer une forte influence sur la culture de l'image. Une étude menée dans la République des Îles Fidji a conclu que 69% des adolescents ont commencé à contrôler leur poids après une exposition continue aux médias . Nous voyons alors que la télévision module également les croyances des mineurs.

Les recommandations de l'American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Comme on peut le constater, plusieurs études scientifiques ont montré les effets négatifs de l’utilisation de la télévision: comportement agressif, anxiété, résultats scolaires, perception négative de l’image elle-même, etc. Malgré cela, une utilisation appropriée de la télévision peut être positive . Par conséquent, pour que le petit écran ne devienne pas un aspect négatif du développement des enfants, l'American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) propose plusieurs conseils aux parents:

  • Retirez les téléviseurs des chambres d'enfants.
  • N'autorisez l'utilisation de la télévision et d'autres supports audiovisuels qu'une à deux heures par jour au maximum. Le contenu doit être de qualité et doit donc contrôler ce que les enfants et les adolescents voient. Choisissez des programmes de contenu informatifs et éducatifs.
  • Les enfants de moins de deux ans ne doivent pas regarder la télévision.Les parents devraient plutôt les encourager à pratiquer des activités qui stimulent le développement du cerveau: parler, jouer, lire, etc.
  • Si possible. regarder la télévision avec des enfants et profiter des programmes pour lancer des débats sur les valeurs familiales, la violence, le sexe, les drogues, etc.
  • Utilisez des vidéos et des DVD pour enregistrer des programmes éducatifs.
  • Soutenez les programmes éducatifs dans les écoles sur les médias.
  • Encouragez les enfants à développer d’autres activités telles que la lecture, le sport ou les loisirs.

La télévision est-elle néfaste pour les enfants ? (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes