yes, therapy helps!
The philosophy of Karl Popper and psychological theories

The philosophy of Karl Popper and psychological theories

October 5, 2022

It is common to associate philosophy with a world of speculations without any connection with science, but the truth is that this is not the case. This discipline is not only the mother of all sciences from a historical perspective; it is also what allows to defend the robustness or weakness of scientific theories.

In fact, from the first half of the twentieth century, with the emergence of a group of thinkers known as the Vienna Circle, there is even a branch of philosophy that is responsible for monitoring not only scientific knowledge, but what is meant by science.

It's about the philosophy of science, and one of its earliest representatives, Karl Popper did much to examine the question of the extent to which psychology generates scientifically endorsed knowledge . In fact, his confrontation with psychoanalysis was one of the main causes of the entrance into crisis of this current.


Who was Karl Popper?

Karl Popper was born in Vienna during the summer of 19002, when psychoanalysis was gaining strength in Europe. In that same city he studied philosophy, discipline to which he dedicated himself until his death in 1994.

Popper was one of the most influential philosophers of science of the generation of the Vienna Circle, and his first works were very much taken into account when developing a demarcation criterion, that is, when defining a way to demarcate what is that which distinguishes scientific knowledge from that which is not?

Thus, the problem of demarcation is a subject to which Karl Popper tried to respond by devising ways in which you can know what kind of statements are scientific and which are not. .


This is an unknown that crosses the entire philosophy of science, regardless of whether it is applied to relatively well-defined objects of study (such as chemistry) or others in which the phenomena to be investigated are more open to interpretation (such as paleontology). And, of course, psychology, being on a bridge between neurology and the social sciences, is very affected depending on whether a demarcation or other criterion is applied to it.

Thus, Popper devoted much of his work as a philosopher to devising a way to separate scientific knowledge from metaphysics and simple unfounded speculation. This led him to a series of conclusions that left in bad place much of what in his time was considered to be psychology and that they emphasized the importance of falsification in scientific research.


The falsificationism

Although the philosophy of science was born in the 20th century with the appearance of the Vienna Circle, the main attempts to know how to access knowledge (in general, not specifically "scientific knowledge") and to what extent this is true appeared many centuries, with the birth of epistemology.

Auguste Comte and inductive reasoning

Positivism, or the philosophical doctrine according to which the only valid knowledge is scientific, was one of the consequences of the development of this branch of philosophy. Appeared in the early nineteenth century by the French thinker Auguste Comte and, of course, generated many problems ; so many that, in fact, nobody could act in a way that was slightly consistent with it.

In the first place, the idea that the conclusions we make through experience outside of science are irrelevant and do not deserve to be taken into account is devastating for anyone who wants to get out of bed and make relevant decisions in your day to day.

The truth is everydayness requires us to make hundreds of inferences quickly without having to go through something similar to the kind of empirical tests necessary to do science, and the fruit of this process is still knowledge, more or less successful that makes us act in one way or another. In fact, we do not even bother to make all our decisions based on logical thinking: we constantly take mental shortcuts.

Secondly, positivism placed at the center of the philosophical debate the problem of demarcation, which is already very complicated to solve. In what way was it understood from Comte's positivism that true knowledge should be accessed? Through the accumulation of simple observations based on observable and measurable facts. That is to say, It is fundamentally based on induction .

For example, if after making several observations about the behavior of the lions we see that whenever they need food they resort to hunting other animals, we will come to the conclusion that the lions are carnivores; from individual facts we will reach a broad conclusion that covers many other cases not observed .

However, one thing is to recognize that inductive reasoning can be useful, and another is to argue that by itself it allows one to arrive at true knowledge about how reality is structured. It is at this point that Karl Popper enters the scene, his principle of falsifiability and his rejection of positivist principles.

Popper, Hume and falsificationism

The cornerstone of the demarcation criterion developed by Karl Popper is called falsificationism. Falsacionismo is an epistemological current according to which scientific knowledge should not be based so much on the accumulation of empirical evidence as on the attempts to refute ideas and theories to find samples of its robustness.

This idea takes certain elements of David Hume's philosophy , according to which it is impossible to demonstrate a necessary connection between an event and a consequence that derives from it. There is no reason for us to say with confidence that an explanation of the reality that works today will work tomorrow. Although lions eat meat very often, perhaps in a while it is discovered that in exceptional situations some of them are able to survive a long time eating a special variety of plant.

In addition, one of the implications of Karl Popper's falsificationism is that it is impossible to definitively prove that a scientific theory is true and faithfully describes reality. Scientific knowledge will be defined by how well it works to explain things at a given time and context, n or in the degree to which it reflects reality as it is, since knowing the latter is impossible .

Karl Popper and psychoanalysis

Although Popper had certain encounters with behaviorism (specifically, with the idea that learning is based on repetitions through conditioning, although this is not a fundamental premise of this psychological approach) the school of psychology that attacked with more vehemence was that of Freudian psychoanalysis , that during the first half of the 20th century had a lot of influence in Europe.

Fundamentally, what Popper criticized of psychoanalysis was his inability to stick to explanations that could be falsified, something that he considered cheating. A theory that can not be falsified is able to contort itself and adopt all possible forms in order not to show that the reality does not fit with their proposals , which means that it is not useful to explain phenomena and, therefore, is not science.

For the Austrian philosopher, the only merit of Sigmund Freud's theories was that they had a good capacity to perpetuate themselves, taking advantage of their own ambiguities to fit into any explanatory framework and to adapt to all contingencies without being challenged. The effectiveness of psychoanalysis had nothing to do with the degree to which they served to explain things, but with the ways in which I found ways to self-justify .

For example, the theory of the Oedipus complex does not have to be resented if, after having identified the father as a source of hostility during childhood, it is discovered that in fact the relationship with the father was very good and that there was never any contact with the father. mother beyond the day of birth: she simply identifies herself as a fatherly and maternal figure to other people, since, as psychoanalysis is based on the symbolic, it does not have to fit with "natural" categories such as biological parents.

Blind faith and circular reasoning

In short, Karl Popper did not believe that psychoanalysis was not a science because it did not serve to explain well what happens, but for something even more basic: because it was not possible to even consider the possibility that these theories are false .

Unlike Comte, who assumed that it was possible to unravel faithful and definitive knowledge about what is real, Karl Popper took into account the influence that the biases and starting points of different observers have on what they study, and that is why he understood that certain theories were more a historical construction than a useful tool for science.

Psychoanalysis, according to Popper, was a kind of mixture of the argument ad ignorantiam and the fallacy of a request for principle: it always asks to accept premises in advance to demonstrate that, As there is no evidence to the contrary, they must be true . That is why he understood that psychoanalysis was comparable to religions: both were self-confirming and based on circular reasoning to get out of any confrontation with the facts.


Karl Popper, Science, and Pseudoscience: Crash Course Philosophy #8 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La philosophie de Karl Popper et les théories psychologiques

La philosophie de Karl Popper et les théories psychologiques

Juillet 23, 2022

Il est courant d'associer la philosophie à un monde de spéculations sans aucun lien avec la science, mais la vérité est que ce n'est pas le cas. Cette discipline n’est pas seulement la mère de toutes les sciences d’un point de vue historique; c'est aussi ce qui permet de défendre la robustesse ou la faiblesse des théories scientifiques.

En fait, depuis la première moitié du XXe siècle, avec l’émergence d’un groupe de penseurs connu sous le nom de cercle de Vienne, il existe même une branche de la philosophie chargée de surveiller non seulement les connaissances scientifiques, mais aussi ce que l’on entend par: science

Il s'agit de la philosophie de la science, et l'un de ses premiers représentants, Karl Popper a beaucoup étudié la question de savoir dans quelle mesure la psychologie génère des connaissances scientifiquement reconnues. . En fait, sa confrontation avec la psychanalyse a été l’une des causes principales de l’entrée en crise de ce courant.


Qui était Karl Popper?

Karl Popper est né à Vienne au cours de l'été 1900. La psychanalyse commençait à se renforcer en Europe. Dans cette même ville, il étudie la philosophie, discipline à laquelle il se consacra jusqu'à sa mort en 1994.

Popper est l’un des philosophes des sciences les plus influents de la génération du cercle de Vienne et ses premiers travaux sont largement pris en compte lors de l’élaboration d’un critère de démarcation, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’il définit un moyen de démarcation. qu'est-ce qui distingue la connaissance scientifique de celle qui ne l'est pas?

Ainsi, le problème de la démarcation est un sujet auquel Karl Popper a tenté de réagir en concevant des moyens permettant de savoir quels types de déclarations sont scientifiques et lesquelles ne le sont pas. .


Il s’agit d’une inconnue qui traverse toute la philosophie des sciences, qu’elle s’applique à des objets d’étude relativement bien définis (comme la chimie) ou à d’autres objets dans lesquels les phénomènes à étudier sont plus facilement interprétables (comme la paléontologie). Et, bien sûr, la psychologie, étant un pont entre la neurologie et les sciences sociales, est très affectée selon que l’on applique une démarcation ou un autre critère.

Ainsi, Popper a consacré une grande partie de son travail de philosophe à concevoir un moyen de séparer les connaissances scientifiques de la métaphysique et de la simple spéculation non fondée. Cela le conduisit à une série de conclusions qui laissèrent en mauvais état une grande partie de ce qu’il considérait à son époque comme de la psychologie. ils ont souligné l'importance de la falsification dans la recherche scientifique.


Le falsificationnisme

Bien que la philosophie de la science soit née au 20e siècle avec l’apparition du cercle de Vienne, les principales tentatives pour savoir comment accéder au savoir (en général, pas spécifiquement le "savoir scientifique") et dans quelle mesure cela est vrai sont apparues plusieurs siècles, avec la naissance de l'épistémologie.

Auguste Comte et le raisonnement inductif

Le positivisme, ou doctrine philosophique selon laquelle la seule connaissance valable est scientifique, a été l’une des conséquences du développement de cette branche de la philosophie. Apparu au début du XIXe siècle par le penseur français Auguste Comte, il a bien sûr généré de nombreux problèmes ; tellement que, en fait, personne ne pouvait agir de manière légèrement compatible avec cela.

En premier lieu, l'idée que les conclusions que nous tirons de l'expérience acquise en dehors de la science ne sont pas pertinentes et ne méritent pas d'être prises en compte est dévastatrice pour quiconque veut se lever du lit et prendre des décisions pertinentes. dans votre quotidien.

Ce qui est certain, c'est que le quotidien exige que nous fassions rapidement des centaines d'inférences sans avoir à passer par quelque chose de similaire aux types de tests empiriques nécessaires pour faire de la science, et le fruit de ce processus est toujours la connaissance, plus ou moins réussie, qui nous fait agir d’une manière ou d’une autre. En fait, nous ne prenons même pas la peine de prendre toutes nos décisions en fonction de la pensée logique: nous prenons constamment des raccourcis mentaux.

Deuxièmement, le positivisme a placé au centre du débat philosophique le problème de la démarcation, qui est déjà très compliqué à résoudre. De quelle manière le positivisme de Comte a-t-il été compris qu'il fallait accéder à la vraie connaissance? Par l'accumulation d'observations simples basées sur des faits observables et mesurables. C'est-à-dire, Il est fondamentalement basé sur l'induction .

Par exemple, si après avoir observé plusieurs fois le comportement des lions, nous voyons que chaque fois qu'ils ont besoin de nourriture, ils ont recours à la chasse à d'autres animaux, nous en viendrons à la conclusion que les lions sont des carnivores; à partir de faits individuels, nous arriverons à une conclusion large qui couvre de nombreux autres cas non observés .

Cependant, une chose est de reconnaître que le raisonnement inductif peut être utile, et une autre de faire valoir que cela en soi permet de parvenir à une vraie connaissance de la structure de la réalité. C'est à ce moment que Karl Popper entre en scène, son principe de falsifiabilité et son rejet des principes positivistes.

Popper, Hume et le falsificationnisme

La pierre angulaire du critère de démarcation développé par Karl Popper s'appelle le falsificationnisme. Le falsacionismo est un courant épistémologique selon lequel les connaissances scientifiques ne devraient pas être fondées autant sur l'accumulation de preuves empiriques que sur les tentatives de réfuter les idées et les théories pour trouver des échantillons de sa robustesse.

Cette idée reprend certains éléments de la philosophie de David Hume , selon lequel il est impossible de démontrer un lien nécessaire entre un événement et une conséquence qui en découle. Nous n'avons aucune raison de dire avec confiance qu'une explication de la réalité qui fonctionne aujourd'hui fonctionnera demain. Bien que les lions mangent très souvent de la viande, on découvre peut-être que dans certains cas exceptionnels, certains d'entre eux sont capables de survivre longtemps en mangeant une variété spéciale de plantes.

En outre, l'une des implications du falsificationnisme de Karl Popper est qu'il est impossible de prouver définitivement qu'une théorie scientifique est vraie et décrit fidèlement la réalité. La connaissance scientifique sera définie par son efficacité à expliquer les choses à un moment et dans un contexte donnés, n ou dans la mesure où il reflète la réalité telle qu'elle est, sachant que celle-ci est impossible .

Karl Popper et la psychanalyse

Bien que Popper ait eu certaines rencontres avec le behaviorisme (en particulier avec l’idée que l’apprentissage est basé sur la répétition par le conditionnement, bien que ce ne soit pas une prémisse fondamentale de cette approche psychologique) l'école de psychologie qui attaquait avec plus de véhémence était celle de la psychanalyse freudienne , que pendant la première moitié du 20ème siècle a eu beaucoup d'influence en Europe.

Fondamentalement, ce que Popper a critiqué pour la psychanalyse, c'est son incapacité à s'en tenir à des explications qui pourraient être falsifiées, ce qu'il considérait comme de la triche. Une théorie qui ne peut être falsifiée est capable de se contourner et d'adopter toutes les formes possibles pour ne pas montrer que la réalité ne correspond pas à leurs propositions , ce qui signifie qu’il n’est pas utile d’expliquer les phénomènes et n’est donc pas une science.

Pour le philosophe autrichien, le seul mérite des théories de Sigmund Freud est qu’elles ont la capacité de se perpétuer, en tirant parti de leurs propres ambiguïtés pour s’intégrer dans n’importe quel cadre explicatif et s’adapter à toutes les éventualités sans être contestées. L’efficacité de la psychanalyse n’a rien à voir avec le degré auquel elle sert à expliquer les choses, mais avec les moyens par lesquels j'ai trouvé des moyens de me justifier .

Par exemple, la théorie du complexe d'Œdipe ne doit pas être contrariée si, après avoir identifié le père comme une source d'hostilité pendant son enfance, on découvre qu'en fait la relation avec le père était très bonne et qu'il n'y a jamais eu de contact avec le père. mère au-delà du jour de sa naissance: elle s’identifie simplement comme une figure paternelle et maternelle à d’autres personnes, car, la psychanalyse étant basée sur le symbolique, elle n’a pas à s’inscrire dans les catégories "naturelles" telles que les parents biologiques.

Foi aveugle et raisonnement circulaire

En bref, Karl Popper ne croyait pas que la psychanalyse n'était pas une science car elle ne servait pas à bien expliquer ce qui se passait, mais pour quelque chose d'encore plus fondamental: car il n’était même pas possible d’envisager la possibilité que ces théories soient fausses .

Contrairement à Comte, qui pensait qu'il était possible de démêler une connaissance fidèle et définitive de ce qui est réel, Karl Popper a pris en compte l'influence des préjugés et des points de départ de différents observateurs sur ce qu'ils étudient, et c'est pourquoi il a compris que certaines théories étaient davantage une construction historique qu'un outil utile pour la science.

Selon Popper, la psychanalyse était une sorte de mélange de l'argument ad ignorantiam et de l'erreur d'une demande de principe: elle demande toujours d'accepter des locaux à l'avance pour démontrer que, En l'absence de preuve du contraire, ils doivent être vrais. . C'est pourquoi il a compris que la psychanalyse était comparable aux religions: toutes deux se confirmaient d'elles-mêmes et reposaient sur un raisonnement circulaire pour sortir de toute confrontation avec les faits.


Les Sciences Cognitives (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes