yes, therapy helps!
The problem of positive thinking: 4 keys to understanding it

The problem of positive thinking: 4 keys to understanding it

June 25, 2022

Positive thinking can be a very beneficial mental disposition if we are realistic with the environment that surrounds us and the situation in which we find ourselves. After all, many of the problems that we usually deal with on a day-to-day basis are more fictitious and manufactured by ourselves than real.

But nevertheless, Positive thinking can become a trap that invites us to avoid facing the problems with which we find ourselves in our day to day life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How would you like to be? Work your skills from positive psychology"

Positive thinking as an excuse

While the popular saying says "bad weather, good face", it is necessary to analyze this phrase and be aware that not only is it enough to put a good face on bad weather. Imagine a rainy day when we have to go to work on foot. If we do not make use of an umbrella we will get wet, so that in bad weather we have to find a solution: remove the umbrella.


As Bárbara Ehrenreich, author of the book says Smile or die: The trap of positive thinking"When we have problems, looking the other way can make us feel better at the beginning, but not in the long run. Being emotionally intelligent will allow us to be connected with reality and our emotions, which in the long run will be better than avoiding the problems that may appear in our lives. " We must face the delicate situations, it is not enough to put a smile and hope that they will solve themselves.

  • Related article: "80 short positive thoughts to motivate you"

How are positive people

Our attitude can help us overcome bad times in life, but it is not the only requirement to solve the problems that are presented to us. That said, it is always better to look forward with a positive mentality than with a negative mentality. When the positive mentality adds to the ability to solve problems, realism and courage, our welfare increases .


But, how are people with a positive mentality? These individuals have a series of characteristics that you can find below.

  • Do not deceive yourself , because they are sincere with themselves and make use of self-reflection.
  • They have a high self-esteem and are valued in a positive way.
  • They fall when they get up, and see in the failures opportunities to grow and learn.
  • They fight for their own dreams and for its vital objectives.
  • They self-motivate despite the adversities and obstacles encountered along the way.
  • They do not compare themselves with others because they have found peace with themselves.
  • Live the present moment and enjoy their day to day.
  • They know and manage their own emotions well and understand those of others.

If you want to delve into these characteristics, you can read this article: "11 characteristics of optimistic people"


The problems of positive thinking: its limitations

Positive thinking can be good in some situations, but not in all, because sometimes we get carried away by beliefs based on falsehoods. Let's see what are the limitations of this type of thinking.

1. Positive thinking is more than just attitude

To think that with positive attitude we will obtain everything in the life and we will avoid that the difficult situations disappear is an error. Positive thinking must always be accompanied by a strong personality and good self-esteem , in addition to a realistic thought. Therefore, one of the positive mentality can prevail and hope that everything happens in their favor.

In this sense, having your feet on the ground is a key factor to avoid irrational expectations . Positive people can also fail, the key is to get up, grow as people and follow their path.

2. Positive thinking does not solve problems

Positive thinking can help to be motivated to move forward, but It is not the only aspect that we must take into account to solve problems . We have to do our part so that things are solved and go as we want, so the will and realism are necessary.

Likewise, believing in oneself is also necessary in order not to break down in difficult moments, because otherwise we would be talking about false self-confidence, and we would use positive thinking to excuse ourselves and not have to face reality. If you want to know more about false self-confidence you can read the article "False self-confidence: the heavy mask of self-deception".

3. Positive thinking does not equal happiness

There are many factors that influence the happiness of a person, and believe that with positive thinking everything will be rosy is irrational. As I said, positive thinking it is not something that one must impose on oneself , but that the person must possess a strong personality and a healthy self-esteem and, in addition, adopt this way of thinking.Of course, always realistically.

Positive thinking is not looking to other sides when when things are not going well, but to face reality and accept it as it is. Afterwards, one can look to the future with hope and work on the path he wants for himself.

4. One can not have positive thinking all the time

You can not live life with a smile on your face all the time , as if the context in which one lives does not matter. There are situations in which one must suffer and cry if necessary, as a way to get rid of the emotions that affect him. Experiencing pain at some point in our life is totally normal. In fact, the best learnings are those that occur after an adverse situation.

As I said in the previous lines, false optimism is an attempt to hide low self-esteem . It is not necessary to show a smile and pretend that everything is going well. That, sooner or later, disappoints, despairs and frustrates a person.


Positive Thinking - The Key To Thinking Positive (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le problème de la pensée positive: 4 clés pour le comprendre

Le problème de la pensée positive: 4 clés pour le comprendre

Avril 26, 2019

La pensée positive peut être une disposition mentale très bénéfique si nous sommes réalistes avec l'environnement qui nous entoure et la situation dans laquelle nous nous trouvons. Après tout, bon nombre des problèmes auxquels nous sommes généralement confrontés au quotidien sont plus fictifs et fabriqués par nous-mêmes que réels.

Cependant, La pensée positive peut devenir un piège cela nous invite à éviter de faire face aux problèmes avec lesquels nous nous trouvons dans notre vie quotidienne.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Comment voudriez-vous être? Travaillez vos compétences en psychologie positive"

La pensée positive comme excuse

Alors que le dicton populaire dit "mauvais temps, bon visage", il est nécessaire d’analyser cette phrase et de prendre conscience que non seulement il suffit de faire bonne figure face au mauvais temps. Imaginez un jour de pluie où nous devons aller travailler à pied. Si nous n'utilisons pas de parapluie, nous serons mouillés. Par mauvais temps, nous devrons trouver une solution: retirez-le.


Comme dit Bárbara Ehrenreich, l'auteur du livre Sourire ou mourir: le piège de la pensée positive«Lorsque nous avons des problèmes, regarder de l’autre côté peut nous aider à nous sentir mieux au début, mais pas à long terme. Etre émotionnellement intelligent nous permettra d'être connectés à la réalité et à nos émotions, ce qui sera mieux à long terme que d'éviter les problèmes qui peuvent apparaître dans nos vies. " Il faut faire face aux situations délicates, il ne suffit pas de mettre un sourire et espère qu'ils vont se résoudre.

  • Article connexe: "80 courtes pensées positives pour vous motiver"

Comment sont les gens positifs

Notre attitude peut nous aider à surmonter les mauvais moments de la vie, mais ce n’est pas la seule exigence pour résoudre les problèmes qui nous sont présentés. Cela dit, il est toujours préférable d’avoir une mentalité positive plutôt qu’une mentalité négative. Quand la mentalité positive ajoute à la capacité de résoudre les problèmes, le réalisme et le courage, notre bien-être augmente .


Mais comment sont les gens avec une mentalité positive? Ces personnes ont une série de caractéristiques que vous pouvez trouver ci-dessous.

  • Ne vous trompez pas , parce qu’ils sont sincères avec eux-mêmes et se servent de leur propre réflexion.
  • Ils ont une haute estime de soi et sont valorisés de manière positive.
  • Ils tombent quand ils se lèvent et voient dans les échecs des opportunités de croissance et d'apprentissage.
  • Ils se battent pour leurs propres rêves et pour ses objectifs vitaux.
  • Ils s'auto-motivent malgré les difficultés et les obstacles rencontrés en cours de route.
  • Ils ne se comparent pas avec les autres parce qu'ils ont trouvé la paix avec eux-mêmes.
  • Vivre le moment présent et profiter de leur jour en jour.
  • Ils connaissent et gèrent bien leurs propres émotions et comprennent celles des autres.

Si vous voulez approfondir ces caractéristiques, vous pouvez lire cet article: "11 caractéristiques des gens optimistes"


Les problèmes de la pensée positive: ses limites

La pensée positive peut être bonne dans certaines situations, mais pas dans toutes, car nous sommes parfois emportés par des croyances basées sur des mensonges. Voyons quelles sont les limites de ce type de pensée.

1. La pensée positive est plus qu'une simple attitude

Penser qu'avec une attitude positive, nous obtiendrons tout dans la vie et nous éviterons que les situations difficiles disparaissent est une erreur. Pensée positive doit toujours être accompagné d'une forte personnalité et d'une bonne estime de soi , en plus d’une pensée réaliste. Par conséquent, une des mentalités positives peut prévaloir et espère que tout se passe en leur faveur.

Dans ce sens, avoir les pieds sur terre est un facteur clé pour éviter les attentes irrationnelles . Les personnes séropositives peuvent également échouer. La clé est de se lever, de grandir en tant que personne et de suivre son chemin.

2. La pensée positive ne résout pas les problèmes

La pensée positive peut aider à être motivé pour aller de l'avant, mais Ce n’est pas le seul aspect à prendre en compte pour résoudre les problèmes . Nous devons faire notre part pour que les choses soient résolues et se déroulent à notre guise, ainsi la volonté et le réalisme sont nécessaires.

De même, croire en soi est également nécessaire pour ne pas sombrer dans les moments difficiles, car sinon on parlerait de fausse confiance en soi, et nous utiliserions la pensée positive pour nous excuser et ne pas avoir à faire face à la réalité. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la fausse confiance en vous, lisez l'article "Fausse confiance en soi: le masque lourd de l'auto-illusion".

3. La pensée positive n'est pas synonyme de bonheur

De nombreux facteurs influent sur le bonheur d’une personne et estiment qu’avec une pensée positive, tout ira pour le mieux, c’est irrationnel. Comme je le disais, la pensée positive ce n'est pas quelque chose qu'on doit s'imposer , mais que la personne doit posséder une forte personnalité et une saine estime de soi et, en outre, adopter cette façon de penser.Bien sûr, toujours de manière réaliste.

La pensée positive ne consiste pas à regarder ailleurs lorsque les choses ne vont pas bien, mais à faire face à la réalité et à l'accepter telle qu'elle est. Ensuite, on peut envisager l'avenir avec espoir et travailler sur le chemin qu'il se propose.

4. On ne peut pas avoir une pensée positive tout le temps

Vous ne pouvez pas vivre la vie avec un sourire sur votre visage tout le temps , comme si le contexte dans lequel on vit importait peu. Il y a des situations dans lesquelles il faut souffrir et pleurer si nécessaire, afin de se débarrasser des émotions qui l'affectent. Vivre la douleur à un moment de notre vie est tout à fait normal. En fait, les meilleurs enseignements sont ceux qui se produisent après une situation défavorable.

Comme je l'ai dit dans les lignes précédentes, le faux optimisme est une tentative de dissimulation d'une faible estime de soi . Il n'est pas nécessaire de sourire et de prétendre que tout va bien. Tôt ou tard, cela déçoit, désespère et frustre une personne.


4 clés pour retrouver de la sérénité (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes