yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Mind-Brain Identity: what is it?

The Theory of Mind-Brain Identity: what is it?

September 13, 2022

The Theory of Mind-Brain Identity is one of the areas of study of the philosophy of the mind, which is, in turn, the branch of philosophy responsible for investigating and reflecting on mental processes and their relation to physical principles, especially those that take place in brain.

These issues have been addressed through very different proposals. One of them holds that mental states and their contents (beliefs, thoughts, meanings, sensations, intentions, etc.) are nothing more than neural processes, that is, the set of complex activities that takes place in a Concrete physical-chemical organ: the brain.


We know this approximation as physicalism, neurological monism, or Theory of Mind-Brain Identity.

What does the Theory of Mind-Brain Identity say?

The philosophy of the mind is responsible for studying and theorizing about the mind-brain relationship , a problem that has been with us for many centuries, but which has become especially acute since the second half of the 20th century, when computer sciences, cognitive sciences and neurosciences began to be part of the same discussion.

This discussion was already the first antecedent for what the American neurologist Eric Kandel would declare in the year 2000: if the 20th century was the century of genetics; The 21st century is the century of the neurosciences, or more specifically, it is the century of the biology of the mind.


However, the main exponents of the Mind-Brain Identity Theory are in the 50's: the British philosopher U.T. Place and the Austrian philosopher Herbert Feigl, among others. A little earlier, at the beginning of the 20th century, it was E.G. Boring the first to use the term "identity theory" in relation to the mind-brain problem.

We could still go a little behind, and find that some bases were conceived by philosophers and scientists like Leucippus, Hobbes, La Matiere or d'Holbach. The latter made a suggestion that would seem a joke, but that, in fact, is quite close to the proposals of the Mind-Brain Identity Theory: just as the liver secretes bile, the brain secretly thinks .

The Theory of Mind-Brain Identity contends that the states and processes of the mind are identical to brain processes, that is, it is not that mental processes have a correlate with the physical processes of the brain, but that , mental processes are nothing more than neuronal activities.


This theory denies that there are subjective experiences with non-physical properties (which in philosophy of the mind are known as "qualia"), which reduces the psychic and intentional acts to the activity of neurons. That is why it is known as a physicalistic theory or also as neurological monism.

Some fundamental principles

One of the central arguments of the Theory of Mind-Brain Identity is that only the physical laws of nature are what allow us to explain what the world is like, including the human being and his cognitive processes (that is why there are those who also call this theory "naturalism").

From here, proposals with different nuances are derived. For example, that mental processes are not phenomena with their own realities, but in any case are accessory phenomena that accompany the main phenomenon (the physical) without any influence on it. The mental processes and subjectivity would then be a set of epiphenomena .

If we go a little further, the next thing that holds is that all the things we call beliefs, intentions, desires, experiences, common sense, etc. they are empty words that we have put to the complex processes that occur in the brain, because that way the scientific community (and not scientific too) can be better understood.

And in one of the most extreme poles, we can find as part of the Theory of Mind-Brain Identity, the materialist eliminativism, philosophical position that even proposes to eliminate the conceptual apparatus with which we have explained the mind, and replace it with the concepts of the neurosciences, so that it has greater scientific rigor.

Are we more than a set of neurons?

One of the criticisms of this philosophical position is that the philosophical practice itself, as well as the construction of theories about the mind, could be denying themselves when they position themselves in physicalism or neurological monism, since, far from being theoretical reflections and rigorous scientific, the philosophy of the mind itself would be nothing more than a set of neural processes.

It has also been criticized for being a strongly reductionist stance , which denies subjective experiences, which may not be enough to understand a large part of social and individual phenomena. Among other things this would occur because practical level is difficult to get rid of notions such as feelings, thoughts, freedom, common sense, etc.because they are notions that have effects in terms of how we perceive ourselves and relate so much to the idea that we have of ourselves, as of others.

Bibliographic references:

  • Sanguineti, J.J. (2008). Philosophy of the Mind. Published in June 2008 in Philosophica, online philosophical Encyclopedia. Retrieved April 24, 2018. Available at // s3.amazonaws.com/academia.edu.documents/31512350/Voz_Filosofia_Mente.pdf?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAIWOWYYGZ2Y53UL3A&Expires=1524565811&Signature=c21BcswSPp1JIGSmQ%2FaI1djoPGE%3D&response-content-disposition=inline%3B%20filename % 3DFilosofia_de_la_mente._Voz_de_Diccionari.pdf
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2007). The Mind / Brain Identity Theory. Originally published January 12, 2000; revised May 18, 2007. Retrieved April 24, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/mind-identity/#His

The Mind-Brain Identity Theory (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'identité esprit-cerveau: qu'est-ce que c'est?

La théorie de l'identité esprit-cerveau: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Septembre 26, 2022

La théorie de l'identité esprit-cerveau est l’un des domaines d’étude de la philosophie de l’esprit, qui est à son tour la branche de la philosophie chargée d’enquêter et de réfléchir sur les processus mentaux et leur relation avec les principes physiques, en particulier ceux qui se déroulent dans le cerveau.

Ces questions ont été abordées dans des propositions très différentes. L’un d’eux soutient que les états mentaux et leurs contenus (croyances, pensées, significations, sensations, intentions, etc.) ne sont rien d’autre que des processus neuronaux, c’est-à-dire l’ensemble des activités complexes qui se déroulent dans Organe physico-chimique concret: le cerveau.


Nous connaissons cette approximation sous le nom de physicalisme, monisme neurologique ou théorie de l'identité de l'esprit et du cerveau.

Que dit la théorie de l'identité esprit-cerveau?

La philosophie de l'esprit est responsable de l'étude et de la théorisation de la relation esprit-cerveau , un problème qui existe depuis des siècles, mais qui est devenu particulièrement aigu depuis la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, lorsque l’informatique, les sciences cognitives et les neurosciences ont commencé à faire partie du même débat.

Cette discussion constituait déjà le premier antécédent de ce que le neurologue américain Eric Kandel déclarerait en 2000: si le XXe siècle était le siècle de la génétique; Le 21ème siècle est le siècle des neurosciences, ou plus précisément, le siècle de la biologie de l'esprit.


Cependant, les principaux représentants de la théorie de l'identité mental-cerveau sont dans les années 50: le philosophe britannique U.T. Place et le philosophe autrichien Herbert Feigl, entre autres. Un peu plus tôt, au début du 20ème siècle, c'était E.G. En ennuyant le premier à utiliser le terme "théorie de l'identité" en relation avec le problème esprit-cerveau.

Nous pourrions encore aller un peu en arrière et constater que certaines bases ont été conçues par des philosophes et des scientifiques comme Leucippe, Hobbes, La Matière ou d'Holbach. Ce dernier a fait une suggestion qui semblerait être une blague, mais qui, en fait, est assez proche des propositions de la théorie de l'identité de l'esprit et du cerveau: tout comme le foie sécrète la bile, le cerveau pense secrètement .

La théorie de l'identité esprit-cerveau soutient que les états et les processus de l'esprit sont identiques aux processus cérébraux, c'est-à-dire que les processus mentaux n'ont pas de corrélation avec les processus physiques du cerveau, mais , les processus mentaux ne sont rien de plus que des activités neuronales.


Cette théorie nie qu'il existe des expériences subjectives avec des propriétés non physiques (appelées "qualia" en philosophie de l'esprit), ce qui réduit les actes psychiques et intentionnels à l'activité des neurones. C'est pourquoi on l'appelle théorie physique ou également monisme neurologique.

Quelques principes fondamentaux

L’un des arguments centraux de la théorie de l’identité esprit-cerveau est que seules les lois physiques de la nature nous permettent d’expliquer à quoi ressemble le monde, y compris l’être humain et ses processus cognitifs (c’est pourquoi certains l'appellent aussi théorie "naturalisme").

De là, des propositions avec différentes nuances sont dérivées. Par exemple, les processus mentaux ne sont pas des phénomènes avec leurs propres réalités, mais sont en tout cas des phénomènes accessoires qui accompagnent le phénomène principal (le physique) sans aucune influence sur celui-ci. Les processus mentaux et la subjectivité seraient alors un ensemble d'épiphénomènes .

Si nous allons un peu plus loin, la chose suivante est que toutes les choses que nous appelons des croyances, des intentions, des désirs, des expériences, du sens commun, etc. ce sont des mots vides que nous avons formulés au sujet des processus complexes qui se produisent dans le cerveau, car cela permet de mieux comprendre la communauté scientifique (et non pas scientifique également).

Et dans l’un des pôles les plus extrêmes, nous trouvons dans la théorie de l’identité esprit-cerveau, l’éliminativisme matérialiste, une position philosophique qui propose même d’éliminer l’appareil conceptuel avec lequel nous avons expliqué l’esprit et de le remplacer par les concepts de les neurosciences, de sorte qu'il a une plus grande rigueur scientifique.

Sommes-nous plus qu'un ensemble de neurones?

L’une des critiques de cette position philosophique est que la pratique philosophique elle-même, ainsi que la construction de théories sur l’esprit, pourraient se nier lorsqu’elles se positionnent dans le physicalisme ou le monisme neurologique, car, loin d’être des réflexions théoriques et scientifique rigoureuse, la philosophie de l’esprit elle-même ne serait plus qu’un ensemble de processus neuronaux.

Il a également été critiqué pour son attitude fortement réductionniste , qui nie les expériences subjectives, ce qui peut ne pas suffire pour comprendre une grande partie des phénomènes sociaux et individuels. Cela se produirait notamment parce qu'il est difficile au niveau pratique de se débarrasser de notions telles que les sentiments, les pensées, la liberté, le sens commun, etc.parce que ce sont des notions qui ont des effets sur notre perception de nous-mêmes et sont tellement liées à l’idée que nous avons de nous-mêmes que des autres.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Sanguineti, J.J. (2008). Philosophie de l'esprit. Publié en juin 2008 dans Philosophica, Encyclopédie philosophique en ligne. Récupéré le 24 avril 2018. % 3DFilosofia_de_la_mente._Voz_de_Diccionari.pdf
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2007). La théorie de l'esprit / cerveau Identité. Publié à l'origine le 12 janvier 2000; révisé le 18 mai 2007. Récupéré le 24 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante:

DU CERVEAU À L'ESPRIT [1/2] (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes