yes, therapy helps!
This is how stress can cause strokes

This is how stress can cause strokes

May 18, 2024

Myocardial infarcts are the leading cause of death worldwide. It is a type of coronary accident related to lifestyle; in particular, the appearance of heart attacks is directly influenced by the stress maintained and with unhealthy habits.

In this article we will analyze the mechanisms by which Stress can make heart attacks easier . For this it is necessary that we stop previously in the definition of these two concepts.

  • Related article: "Types of stress and its triggers"

What is stress?

We can define stress as a set of physiological responses that occur before the appearance of stimuli or situations that the organism perceives as threatening or demanding .


These body reactions are nonspecific and stereotyped; This means that they do not depend on a specific type of environmental stimulation and that they are very similar regardless of the causes that cause them.

The physiological stress responses depend on the activation of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis and of the autonomic nervous system . The short-term effects consist of an increase in heart rate and the consumption of stored energy, as well as other signs of physical activation.

The physiologist Hans Selye described three phases of stress in his model of the General Adaptation Syndrome. During the alarm phase the body recognizes the stressor and mobilizes to face it; if stress still persists, it is passed to the resistance phase, in which the activation decreases a bit in order to maintain itself in the long term.


When the agency has consumed its resources appears the third phase, called "depletion" and characterized by the reappearance of the intense symptoms characteristic of the alarm phase. Although the advanced stages of the stress response harm the organism, the alterations usually disappear after a period of rest during which the person generates new energy reserves.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of arrhythmias: symptoms, causes and severity"

Consequences of stress

When stress is sustained, it causes what we know as stress syndrome, consisting of the appearance of peptic ulcer, the increase in the size of the adrenal gland and the decrease in the thymus. These alterations are related to the massive secretion of glucocorticoids and the suppression of the immune response , which facilitates the development of diseases.


The current lifestyle, increasingly stressful, has promoted a clear increase in the prevalence of disorders of blood circulation, such as heart attacks and hypertension. Having high blood pressure increases the likelihood of atherosclerotic plaque accumulating, and therefore cardiovascular events.

There are also many psychological symptoms that can be influenced by stress: anxiety, irritability, apathy, sadness, emotional instability ... Among the disorders caused by stress stress anxiety and depression which, like cardiovascular disorders, are considered lifestyle diseases.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

Definition of infarction

Heart attacks are the leading cause of death worldwide, according to the World Health Organization, and its frequency does not stop growing; while in 1990 accounted for 12% of deaths, in 2013 this figure was close to 17%.

The infarction consists of the death (or necrosis) of part of the tissue of an organ. Generally, necrosis occurs as consequence of the obstruction of the artery that irrigates it .

When the necrotic tissue is in the musculature of the heart we speak of myocardial infarction. Heart attacks can also occur in other organs; Besides the heart, the most common are the brain, the kidneys and the intestine.

If the accident takes place in the kidneys we speak of renal infarction, whereas if they occur in the intestine the correct term is "mesenteric intestinal infarction". Cerebral infarcts are known as "cerebrovascular accidents" or "encephalic vascular accidents".

The arterial obstruction is usually due to the accumulation of atheromatous plaques (or atherosclerosis) but it can also be a consequence of hernias, the presence of tumors or the deformation of the organ.

Among the most relevant factors that predispose to the appearance of heart attacks are tobacco and alcohol consumption, obesity, sedentary lifestyle , diabetes and high cholesterol levels. They also occur more frequently in men, in people over 40 years of age, and in those with a family history of cardiovascular disease.

How does heart attack cause stress?

The appearance of infarcts as a result of stress is due to the conjunction of a series of interrelated causal mechanisms. In particular, scientific research has linked heart attacks with increased levels of cortisol and amygdala hyperreactivity.

Cortisol is a steroid hormone It is produced in the adrenal gland and is released in response to stress conditions. Although it is essential for the body to be able to consume energy, the excessive and continuous secretion of cortisol can inflame the arteries, narrowing them and making them easier to block.

Tonsils are two brain structures that are located in the temporal lobes and are involved in the learning emotional responses , including those of fear, anxiety and stress. When stress levels are high for much of the time, the amygdala neurons learn by classical conditioning to provoke stress responses to stimuli that do not really pose a threat.

Therefore, continued stress in itself negatively affects the cardiovascular system, but also facilitates that the amygdala associates the fear response to harmless stimuli . In this way a vicious circle takes place in which stress causes more stress, increasing the risk of heart attacks and other circulatory problems.

However, the continued practice of physical and cognitive relaxation exercises can help the body stop emitting stress responses at inappropriate times. Scientific research particularly supports the procedures of progressive muscle relaxation and slow and deep breathing.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ressler, K. J. (2010). Amygdala Activity, Fear, and Anxiety: Modulation by Stress. Biological Psychiatry, 67 (12); 1117-1119.
  • Tawakol, A. et al. (2017). Relation between resting amygdalar activity and cardiovascular events: a longitudinal and cohort study. The Lancet, 389 (10071); 834-845.

Effects of Smoking : How Does Smoking Cause a Stroke? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Voici comment le stress peut provoquer des accidents vasculaires cérébraux

Voici comment le stress peut provoquer des accidents vasculaires cérébraux

Juillet 20, 2022

Les infarctus du myocarde sont la principale cause de décès dans le monde. C'est un type d'accident coronaire lié au mode de vie; en particulier, l'apparition de crises cardiaques est directement influencée par le stress maintenu et par les habitudes malsaines.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les mécanismes par lesquels Le stress peut faciliter les crises cardiaques . Pour cela, il est nécessaire que nous nous arrêtions auparavant dans la définition de ces deux concepts.

  • Article connexe: "Types de stress et ses déclencheurs"

Qu'est ce que le stress?

On peut définir le stress comme un ensemble de réponses physiologiques qui se produisent avant l’apparition de stimuli ou situations que l'organisme perçoit comme menaçantes ou exigeantes .


Ces réactions corporelles sont non spécifiques et stéréotypées; Cela signifie qu'ils ne dépendent pas d'un type spécifique de stimulation environnementale et qu'ils sont très similaires quelles que soient les causes qui les provoquent.

Les réponses au stress physiologique dépendent de la activation de l'axe hypothalamo-hypophyso-surrénalien et du système nerveux autonome . Les effets à court terme consistent en une augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque et de la consommation d'énergie stockée, ainsi que d'autres signes d'activation physique.

Le physiologiste Hans Selye a décrit trois phases de stress dans son modèle du syndrome général d'adaptation. Pendant la phase d’alarme, le corps reconnaît le facteur de stress et se mobilise pour y faire face; si le stress persiste encore, il passe à la phase de résistance, dans laquelle l'activation diminue un peu pour se maintenir à long terme.


Quand l'agence a consommé ses ressources apparaît la troisième phase, appelée "épuisement" et caractérisée par la réapparition des symptômes intenses caractéristiques de la phase d'alerte. Bien que les étapes avancées de la réponse au stress nuisent à l'organisme, les altérations disparaissent généralement après une période de repos au cours de laquelle la personne génère de nouvelles réserves d'énergie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types d'arythmie: symptômes, causes et sévérité"

Conséquences du stress

Lorsque le stress est maintenu, il provoque ce que nous appelons le syndrome de stress, consistant en l'apparition d'un ulcère peptique, l'augmentation de la taille de la glande surrénale et la diminution du thymus. Ces modifications sont liées à la sécrétion massive de glucocorticoïdes et la suppression de la réponse immunitaire , ce qui facilite le développement de maladies.


Le mode de vie actuel, de plus en plus stressant, a entraîné une nette augmentation de la prévalence des troubles de la circulation sanguine, tels que les crises cardiaques et l’hypertension. Une hypertension artérielle augmente le risque d'accumulation de plaque athéroscléreuse, et donc d'événements cardiovasculaires.

Il existe également de nombreux symptômes psychologiques pouvant être influencés par le stress: anxiété, irritabilité, apathie, tristesse, instabilité émotionnelle… Parmi les troubles causés par le stress stress anxiété et dépression qui, comme les troubles cardiovasculaires, sont considérés comme des maladies liées au mode de vie.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Définition d'infarctus

Les crises cardiaques sont la principale cause de décès dans le monde, selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, et leur fréquence ne cesse de croître; alors qu'en 1990, ils représentaient 12% des décès, en 2013, ce chiffre était proche de 17%.

L’infarctus consiste en la mort (ou la nécrose) d’une partie du tissu d’un organe. En général, la nécrose se produit sous forme de conséquence de l'obstruction de l'artère qui l'irrigue .

Lorsque le tissu nécrotique est dans la musculature cardiaque, on parle d'infarctus du myocarde. Les crises cardiaques peuvent également se produire dans d'autres organes; Outre le cœur, les plus communs sont le cerveau, les reins et l'intestin.

Si l'accident a lieu dans les reins, on parle d'infarctus du rein, alors que s'ils se produisent dans l'intestin, le terme correct est "infarctus intestinal mésentérique". Les infarctus cérébraux sont appelés "accidents cérébrovasculaires" ou "accidents vasculaires encéphaliques".

L'obstruction artérielle est généralement due à l'accumulation de plaques d'athérome (ou athérosclérose), mais peut aussi être une conséquence de hernie, de la présence de tumeurs ou de la déformation de l'organe.

Parmi les facteurs les plus importants qui prédisposent à l’apparition de crises cardiaques figurent consommation de tabac et d'alcool, obésité, sédentarité , diabète et taux de cholestérol élevé. Ils surviennent également plus fréquemment chez les hommes, chez les personnes de plus de 40 ans et chez ceux ayant des antécédents familiaux de maladie cardiovasculaire.

Comment une crise cardiaque cause-t-elle du stress?

L'apparition d'infarctus résultant d'un stress est due à la conjonction d'une série de mécanismes de causalité interdépendants. En particulier, des recherches scientifiques ont établi un lien entre les crises cardiaques et l’augmentation des niveaux de cortisol et d’hyperréactivité aux amygdales.

Le cortisol est une hormone stéroïde Il est produit dans la glande surrénale et est libéré en réponse à des conditions de stress. Bien qu'il soit essentiel que le corps puisse consommer de l'énergie, la sécrétion excessive et continue de cortisol peut enflammer les artères, les rétrécir et les rendre plus faciles à bloquer.

Les amygdales sont deux structures cérébrales situées dans les lobes temporaux et impliquées dans la apprendre des réponses émotionnelles , y compris ceux de la peur, de l’anxiété et du stress. Lorsque les niveaux de stress sont élevés pendant une grande partie du temps, les neurones amygdales apprennent par un conditionnement classique à provoquer des réponses de stress à des stimuli qui ne représentent pas vraiment une menace.

Par conséquent, le maintien du stress en soi affecte négativement le système cardiovasculaire, mais facilite également la que l'amygdale associe la réaction de peur aux stimuli inoffensifs . De cette manière, il se crée un cercle vicieux dans lequel le stress cause plus de stress et augmente le risque de crise cardiaque et d’autres problèmes circulatoires.

Cependant, la pratique continue d'exercices de relaxation physique et cognitive peut aider le corps à cesser d'émettre des réponses au stress à des moments inappropriés. La recherche scientifique soutient particulièrement les procédures de relaxation musculaire progressive et de respiration lente et profonde.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ressler, K. J. (2010). Activité de l'amygdale, peur et anxiété: Modulation par le stress. Biological Psychiatry, 67 (12); 1117-1119.
  • Tawakol, A. et al. (2017). Relation entre l'activité amygdalaire au repos et les événements cardiovasculaires: étude longitudinale et de cohorte. The Lancet, 389 (10071); 834-845.

AVC et STRESS! Repérer le et Faites passer le MESSAGE... (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes