yes, therapy helps!
Bach flowers: what are they and what is their effectiveness?

Bach flowers: what are they and what is their effectiveness?

December 3, 2022

That a large number of different plants possess medicinal properties It is a fact known since antiquity. Cutting fever, calming anxiety or helping to heal wounds are some of the properties attributed to them. Science has demonstrated much of this knowledge and has extracted various active components from them.

However, throughout history, many ways have emerged to treat ailments related to the consumption or use of certain plant products, and some have been scientifically proven while others are considered alternative treatments or homeopathy. In this sense, one of the treatments based on plants that have been developed throughout history are known as Bach flowers .


Bach flowers: what are they?

Bach flowers are a set of preparations of plant origin that were devised as therapy by Dr. Edward Bach .

This treatment proposal is based on the ingestion or application on the skin of said preparations in order to help treat emotional aspects, so that they are offered to help restore emotional balance and even stimulate the immune system and the capacity for regeneration. .

The project of Edward Bach

Specifically, Dr. Bach developed a total of 38 remedies or preparations from the combination of different plants , based on what he called "vibrational characteristics".


The treatment with Bach flowers arises from the idea that the disease is born of the existence of psychological conflicts between the personality and the soul, producing a blockage or imbalance of the "internal energy" of the person emotionally. Thus body mind and spirit would be related and influence each other. The curative effect offered by Bach could be explained by the transmission of the energy of the plants to the person (without considering that they have to see in it biochemical aspects).

The plants with which the preparations of the Bach flowers are made emit according to this philosophy a series of vibrations that could alter the person's internal energy and help it reach a harmonic state, transmitting the energy of the plants to the preparation.

Its popularity as an alternative treatment

The use of Bach flowers has become popular in some New Age environments as a method of alternative natural therapy.


Many people administer and prepare the preparations themselves, although there is the figure of the floral therapist which is offered to determine the type of preparation and the doses to be applied according to the person and the type of existing problem.

Preparations and their development

As we have seen, Bach flowers consist of a total of 38 preparations, which are made with the use of plants, spring water and sometimes some alcohol as a preservative (you can also use other substances as a preservative in the case that apply in minors).

There are two basic methods of elaboration : boiling for thirty minutes in spring water to later filter the extract and then add brandy, glycerin or vinegar in the same amount and solarization, in which the plants are left in a bowl with water for several hours in the sun for later also filter it and add some of the aforementioned preservatives (brandy or apple cider vinegar).

38 preparations

These are some of the 38 preparations that Bach has developed, together with a brief description of what they are used for.

  • Agrimony: for emotional blockage and anguish.
  • Aspen: fear and phobia.
  • Haya : Arrogance and intolerance.
  • Cent√°urea: for those with a certain emotional dependence, with a malleable will and who can not say no.
  • Ceratostigma: histrionics. Search for approval. Indecision
  • Cerasifera: despair and fear of losing control and going mad.
  • Chestnut bud: recidivism and no error learning.
  • Chicory : manipulation and overprotection. Possessivity
  • Clematis: decentration and distraction.
  • Wild apple tree: low self-esteem and feeling of impurity
  • Gentian field: pessimism, low threshold of frustration. Depression.
  • Gorse: despair, apathy and anhedonia.
  • Holly : need for love Envy, rancor, jealousy and distrust.
  • Larch: fear of failure and feelings of inferiority.
  • Mimulus: shyness and fear of the unknown.
  • Pine: guilt and feeling of not deserving what you have.
  • Red chestnut: excessive fear and anxiety for loved ones.
  • Heliantemo: panic, anguish and nightmares.

Efficiency of Bach flowers according to science

On a scientific level, treatment with Bach flowers It is considered a homeopathic practice without demonstrated effectiveness , not being recognized as therapy by the health system except in some countries.

The experiments carried out with the purpose of contrasting the possible efficacy of this type of therapy seem to indicate that no significant differences are found between this type of treatment and placebo. In this way, Bach flowers do not have the support of the scientific community .

In addition to the results, elements related to the ideas of Edward Bach have been criticized, such as the fact that it is based on the concept of the vibrational capacity of the different elaborations, for being a mystical conception and independent of the empirical testing required by the scientific method.


Bach Flower Remedies: The Journey to Simple Healing Part 1 (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fleurs de Bach: que sont-elles et quelle est leur efficacité?

Fleurs de Bach: que sont-elles et quelle est leur efficacité?

Juillet 30, 2021

Qu'un grand nombre de plantes différentes possèdent des propriétés médicinales C'est un fait connu depuis l'Antiquité. Couper la fièvre, calmer l'anxiété ou aider à guérir les blessures font partie des propriétés qui leur sont attribuées. La science a démontré une grande partie de ces connaissances et en a extrait divers composants actifs.

Cependant, au cours de l'histoire, de nombreux moyens sont apparus pour traiter les affections liées à la consommation ou à l'utilisation de certains produits végétaux. Certains ont été scientifiquement prouvés, tandis que d'autres sont considérés comme des traitements alternatifs ou de l'homéopathie. En ce sens, l’un des traitements à base de plantes développées au cours de l’histoire est connu sous le nom de Fleurs de Bach .


Fleurs de Bach: c'est quoi?

Les fleurs de Bach sont un ensemble de préparations d'origine végétale conçues comme thérapie par le Dr Edward Bach .

Cette proposition de traitement est basée sur l'ingestion ou l'application sur la peau de ces préparations afin d'aider à traiter les aspects émotionnels, de sorte qu'ils soient proposés pour aider à rétablir l'équilibre émotionnel et même stimuler le système immunitaire et la capacité de régénération. .

Le projet d'Edward Bach

En particulier, le Dr. Bach a développé un total de 38 remèdes ou préparations de la combinaison de différentes plantes , basé sur ce qu’il a appelé "caractéristiques vibratoires".


Le traitement aux fleurs de Bach découle de l'idée que la maladie est née de l'existence de conflits psychologiques entre la personnalité et l'âme, produisant un blocage ou un déséquilibre de "l'énergie interne" de la personne émotionnellement. Ainsi, corps et esprit seraient liés et s’influenceraient. L’effet curatif offert par Bach pourrait s’expliquer par la transmission de l’énergie des plantes à la personne (sans considérer qu’elles doivent y voir des aspects biochimiques).

Les plantes avec lesquelles sont préparées les préparations des fleurs de Bach émettent selon cette philosophie une série de vibrations qui pourraient altérer l'énergie interne de la personne et l'aider à atteindre un état harmonique en transmettant l'énergie des plantes à la préparation.

Sa popularité comme traitement alternatif

L'utilisation de fleurs de Bach est devenue populaire dans certains environnements new age comme méthode de thérapie naturelle alternative.


Beaucoup de gens administrent et préparent les préparations eux-mêmes, bien qu'il y ait la figure du thérapeute floral qui est proposé pour déterminer le type de préparation et les doses à appliquer en fonction de la personne et du type de problème existant.

Les préparations et leur développement

Comme nous l’avons vu, les fleurs de Bach consistent en un total de 38 préparations, qui utilisent des plantes, de l’eau de source et parfois de l’alcool comme agent de conservation (vous pouvez également utiliser d’autres substances comme agent de conservation dans les cas suivants: appliquer chez les mineurs).

Il existe deux méthodes d'élaboration de base : bouillir pendant trente minutes dans de l'eau de source pour filtrer ensuite l'extrait, puis ajouter la quantité de brandy, de glycérine ou de vinaigre et la solarisation, les plantes étant ensuite laissées dans un bol avec de l'eau pendant plusieurs heures au soleil filtrer et ajouter certains des agents de conservation susmentionnés (brandy ou vinaigre de cidre).

38 préparations

Ce sont quelques-unes des 38 préparations développées par Bach, accompagnées d'une brève description de leur utilisation.

  • Aigreur: pour blocage émotionnel et angoisse.
  • Aspen: peur et phobie.
  • Haya : Arrogance et intolérance.
  • Centáurea: pour ceux qui ont une certaine dépendance émotionnelle, une volonté malléable et qui ne peuvent pas dire non.
  • Ceratostigma: histrionics. Recherche pour approbation. Indécision
  • Cerasifera: désespoir et peur de perdre le contrôle et de devenir fous.
  • Bourgeon de châtaignier: récidive et apprentissage sans erreur.
  • Chicorée : manipulation et surprotection. Possessivité
  • Clématite: décentration et distraction.
  • Pommier sauvage: faible estime de soi et sentiment d'impureté
  • Champ de gentiane: pessimisme, seuil de frustration bas. La dépression
  • Gorse: désespoir, apathie et anhédonie.
  • Holly : besoin d'amour Envie, rancune, jalousie et méfiance.
  • Mélèze: peur de l'échec et sentiment d'infériorité.
  • Mimulus: timidité et peur de l'inconnu.
  • Pine: culpabilité et sentiment de ne pas mériter ce que tu as.
  • Châtaignier rouge: peur excessive et anxiété chez les êtres chers.
  • Heliantemo: panique, angoisse et cauchemars.

Efficacité des fleurs de Bach selon la science

Sur le plan scientifique, traitement aux fleurs de Bach Il est considéré comme une pratique homéopathique sans efficacité démontrée , n’étant pas reconnu comme traitement par le système de santé, sauf dans certains pays.

Les expériences menées dans le but de comparer l'efficacité possible de ce type de traitement semblent indiquer qu'aucune différence significative n'a été trouvée entre ce type de traitement et le placebo. De cette façon, Les fleurs de Bach n'ont pas l'appui de la communauté scientifique .

En plus des résultats, des éléments liés aux idées d'Edward Bach ont été critiqués, tels que le fait qu'il soit basé sur le concept de la capacité vibratoire des différentes élaborations, pour être une conception mystique et indépendant des tests empiriques requis par la méthode scientifique.


Fleurs de Bach n°51 - Maigrir: Témoignage (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes