yes, therapy helps!
Transcranial magnetic stimulation: types and uses in therapy

Transcranial magnetic stimulation: types and uses in therapy

May 25, 2024

There are a lot of disorders and diseases that affect the brain and its functioning. These disorders can cause or be caused by the fact that sometimes different areas of the brain are not activated enough or function in an altered way. To solve them, different mechanisms and treatments have been developed or tried with greater or lesser efficacy. One of them, not very well known but that has shown some utility, is Transcranial magnetic stimulation .

Related article: "Cognitive neuroscience: history and methods of study"

What is transcranial magnetic stimulation?

The technique known as transcranial magnetic stimulation is a method or type of non-invasive intervention based on the application of magnetic fields controlled to stimulate the activity of nerve cells. This stimulation does not generate pain and allows control of the activity of the target brain areas.


The principle by which it works is the application of electromagnetic induction, applying electrical current to an electromagnet that will be placed on the scalp in such a way that the aforementioned magnetic fields are generated (sufficiently attenuated so as not to generate damage).

So, these fields they influence the transmission of information, facilitating brain activity (although it is not fully understood how it works) and the generation of action potentials through neuronal depolarization. The normal rate of activation of these neurons is interrupted, something that in turn can generate deferred effects in those neurons with which those affected by the stimulation are connected. It has been linked to depression and long-term empowerment.


The studies carried out at the moment seem to indicate that it is a methodology that has some effectiveness and that has few risks, although it is usually used as an alternative method or as a support to the treatment and not as a first option (other types of treatment that have shown greater consistency and effectiveness are usually preferred).

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Basic procedure

The basic procedure that is usually followed in the application of transcranial magnetic stimulation is approximately the following. Before the treatment, a visit to the doctor should be made to verify that the patient does not present any type of pathology or element for which this technique is contraindicated.

As for the application itself, in the first place, after having the patient enter the room, some type of barrier element will be provided such as plugs so that this can protect the ears. Previously it should or would be advisable explain to the patient what will happen during the session , and it may be necessary to reassure the patient (without using anesthesia or sedatives).


Then proceed to place a coil with an electromagnet on the scalp, placing it in the area that is intended to stimulate. It is possible that instead of one, there are two or several elements to be placed, depending on how the stimulation is carried out. It will proceed to perform mapping or brain mapping, introducing brief pulses to observe and locate the brain areas and their bioelectrical functioning. It is likely to notice some sensations and sounds in this phase.

After that, the doctor will proceed to turn on the coil and go regulating the intensity of the stimulation , increasing it to the motor threshold (usually until the fingers are contracted). After reaching it, finally, the magnetic field will be allowed to pass for a variable period of time depending on each case. These sessions can vary in number and temporality, being usual the accomplishment of around ten sessions.

Types of transcranial magnetic stimulation

There are different ways to apply transcranial magnetic stimulation . Some of the main types are the following.

1. Transcranial magnetic stimulation of simple pulses

One of the ways to apply this technique is with simple pulses, through the application of a stimulus every three or more seconds, or with a train of variable frequency stimuli on the same area for several seconds. Used in research or in the treatment of specific problems.

2. Transcranial magnetic stimulation of paired pulses

In this case two stimuli are applied whose intensity can be equal or different from each other, through the same coil and in the same brain region or with two different coils. Typical of the study of corticocortical connectivity .

3. Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation

This application is one of the best known. It is based on the emission of repeated pulses , applying a stimulus (low frequency) or more (being able to reach twenty in the rapid or high frequency EMTr) per second or less time. It is usually used in the treatment of neuropsychiatric problems.

In what diseases is it used?

Although not especially recognized, transcranial magnetic stimulation has been applied to different cerebral and psychiatric affectations . Some of the best known are the following.

1. Parkinson's and motor syndromes

One of the disorders in which the most frequent use of this technique is in Parkinson's or in problems related to its symptoms, causing functional improvements and reduction of motor problems .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Parkinson's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

2. Mood disorders

Perhaps the best known application at the psychiatric level of this technique is in major depression. With an operation in part similar to electroconvulsive therapy but without the side effects of this , it has been observed that this treatment contributes to diminish the depressive symptomatology if it is applied in the left dorsolateral prefrontal, although it needs more investigation

It has also been applied in the treatment of bipolar disorder, although in this case there is a risk of inducing manic episodes. That is why in this disorder it is necessary to be especially careful.

3. Neurorehabilitation

Another area of ​​application is in neurorehabilitation, using stimulation as a way to generate neuronal activation and to try to improve the functionality after a brain injury. It is applied among others in traumatisms, heart attacks, spinal cord injuries, syndromes of negligence, hemiparesis or cognitive difficulties.

4. Epilepsy

Epilepsy is a disorder in which this type of treatment has sometimes been used. It can allow the stimulation of some brain areas relevant to face alleviate deterioration generated by this condition , and may even facilitate the appearance of epileptic seizures in order to locate the area that generates seizures and assess the possibility of other therapeutic options.

  • Related article: "Epilepsy: definition, causes, diagnosis and treatment"

5. Pain disorders

The use of transcranial magnetic stimulation has been proposed in the treatment of problems that present with pain, like neuropathies and neuralgia , or the pain of the phantom hand (in amputees), fibromyalgia or even migraine.

6. Neurodevelopmental disorders

There are investigations that suggest the use of this therapy in autism and ADHD , using the stimulation on the nuclei that govern the attention to cause improvements in the symptoms of these neurodevelopmental disorders and stimulating their attentional capacity. However, although much more research is still needed in this regard.

7. Schizophrenia and psychotic problems

Depending on the use and the stimulated areas, it is possible to find a utility of this technique in the case of schizophrenia and psychotic disorders. This is especially useful in the stimulation of mesocortical pathways, so that negative symptoms are reduced. In some cases it can also be used in the treatment of positive symptoms by altering the cerebral mechanism that produces them (although there is a risk of generating psychotic outbreaks).

Contraindications and side effects

As we have said, transcranial magnetic stimulation is usually considered a non-invasive and low-risk therapeutic option, with no major complications occurring in the majority of cases. However, this does not mean that it can not have annoying side effects or even be contraindicated in specific cases.

With regard to side effects, generally patients who undergo this treatment can experience headaches and dizziness, antips and paresthesias on the face and scalp or even some small involuntary spasms. Occasionally, however, more serious disturbances may occur, such as hearing loss, seizures, and manic episodes. That is why although apparently low risk, we must be careful with its use.

With regard to people who have contraindicated transcranial magnetic stimulation or who need to consult or inform their doctor of the presence of specific characteristics before undergoing it, those people who carry implants or have a metallic element in their organism stand out that could be altered by magnetic stimulation. Pacemaker is particularly relevant (that the stimulation could get to alter to the point of causing death), infusion pumps, elements and valves implanted in the nervous system or cochlear implants. Something as simple as dental implants can also pose a certain danger, as well as shrapnel or metal elements present in the body due to some type of accident or trauma.

Special caution is also required for people suffering from brain injuries such as recent strokes (although it is sometimes used to rehabilitate its effects, it is not recommended to apply it to infarcted patients). Although it is used as therapy in some cases of bipolarity or schizophrenia, special caution should be used in these cases because if the state of the subject is not controlled the appearance of psychotic outbreaks or manic episodes can be favored . The same goes for epilepsy. Those who consume some type of medication (whether or not it is psychotropic) should consult their doctor first. Finally, pregnant women also have contraindicated this treatment.

Bibliographic references

  • Ibiricu, M.A. & Morales, G. (2009). Transcranial magnetic stimulation. Annals of the Health System of Navarra, 32 (suppl.3). Pamplona.
  • López-Ibor, J.J .; Pastrana, J.I .; Cisneros, S. & López-Ibor, M.I. (2010). Efficacy of transcranial magnetic stimulation in depression. Naturalistic study. Actas Esp. Psiquiatría, 38 (2): 87-93.
  • Pascual-Leone, A. and Tormos-Muñoz, J.M. (2008). Transcranial magnetic stimulation: fundamentals and potential of the modulation of specific neural networks. Rev. Neurol., 46 (Suppl 1): S3- S10.

TMS for Severe Depression at Loyola Medicine (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne: types et utilisations en thérapie

Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne: types et utilisations en thérapie

Juillet 23, 2019

De nombreux troubles et maladies affectent le cerveau et son fonctionnement. Ces désordres peuvent être causés ou être causés par le fait que parfois différentes zones du cerveau ne sont pas suffisamment activées ou ne fonctionnent pas correctement. Pour les résoudre, différents mécanismes et traitements ont été développés ou expérimentés avec une efficacité plus ou moins grande. L’un d’eux, pas très connu mais qui a montré une certaine utilité, est Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne .

Article connexe: "Neurosciences cognitives: histoire et méthodes d'étude"

Qu'est-ce que la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne?

La technique connue sous le nom de stimulation magnétique transcrânienne est une méthode ou un type d'intervention non invasif basé sur l'application de champs magnétiques contrôlée pour stimuler l'activité des cellules nerveuses. Cette stimulation ne génère pas de douleur et permet de contrôler l'activité des zones cérébrales cibles.


Son principe est l'application de l'induction électromagnétique, qui consiste à appliquer un courant électrique à un électroaimant placé sur le cuir chevelu de manière à générer les champs magnétiques susmentionnés (suffisamment atténués pour ne pas causer de dommages).

Donc, ces champs ils influencent la transmission de l'information, facilitant l'activité cérébrale (bien que son fonctionnement ne soit pas encore parfaitement compris) et la génération de potentiels d’action par dépolarisation neuronale. Le taux normal d'activation de ces neurones est interrompu, ce qui peut générer des effets différés dans les neurones avec lesquels les personnes affectées par la stimulation sont connectées. Il a été lié à la dépression et à la responsabilisation à long terme.


Les études menées actuellement semblent indiquer que cette méthodologie est efficace et présente peu de risques, bien qu’elle soit habituellement utilisée. comme méthode alternative ou comme support au traitement et non comme une première option (on préfère généralement d'autres types de traitement ayant fait preuve d'une plus grande cohérence et d'une plus grande efficacité).

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Procédure de base

La procédure de base généralement suivie pour l’application de la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne est approximativement la suivante. Avant le traitement, le médecin doit vérifier que le patient ne présente aucun type de pathologie ou d’élément pour lequel cette technique est contre-indiquée.

En ce qui concerne l'application elle-même, en premier lieu, après que le patient a pénétré dans la chambre, un certain type d'élément de barrière sera fourni, tel que des bouchons, de manière à ce qu'il puisse protéger les oreilles. Auparavant, il devrait ou serait souhaitable expliquer au patient ce qui va se passer pendant la séance et il peut être nécessaire de rassurer le patient (sans recourir à une anesthésie ou à un sédatif).


Ensuite, placez une bobine avec un électroaimant sur le cuir chevelu, en la plaçant dans la zone à stimuler. Il est possible qu'au lieu d'un, il y ait deux ou plusieurs éléments à placer, en fonction de la manière dont la stimulation est effectuée. Il procédera à la cartographie ou à la cartographie du cerveau, en introduisant de brèves impulsions pour observer et localiser les zones du cerveau et leur fonctionnement bioélectrique. Il est probable que vous remarquiez des sensations et des sons dans cette phase.

Après cela, le médecin procédera à allumer la bobine et aller régler l'intensité de la stimulation en l'augmentant jusqu'au seuil moteur (généralement jusqu'à ce que les doigts soient contractés). Une fois l’atteinte terminée, le champ magnétique sera autorisé à passer pendant une période de temps variable selon les cas. Le nombre et la temporalité de ces séances peuvent varier, une dizaine de séances étant habituellement accomplies.

Types de stimulation magnétique transcrânienne

Il existe différentes manières d'appliquer la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne . Certains des types principaux sont les suivants.

1. Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne d'impulsions simples

L’une des façons d’appliquer cette technique consiste à utiliser de simples impulsions, à appliquer un stimulus toutes les trois secondes ou plus, ou à un train de stimuli à fréquence variable sur la même zone pendant plusieurs secondes. Utilisé dans la recherche ou dans le traitement de problèmes spécifiques.

2. Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne d'impulsions appariées

Dans ce cas, on applique deux stimuli dont l’intensité peut être égale ou différente l’un de l’autre, par le même enroulement et dans la même région cérébrale ou par deux enroulements différents. Typique de l'étude de la connectivité cortico-corticale .

3. Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne répétitive

Cette application est l'une des plus connues. Il est basé sur l'émission d'impulsions répétées , appliquant un stimulus (basse fréquence) ou plus (pouvant atteindre vingt dans la TME rapide ou haute fréquence) par seconde ou moins. Il est généralement utilisé dans le traitement des problèmes neuropsychiatriques.

Dans quelles maladies est-il utilisé?

Bien que pas spécialement reconnu, la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne a été appliqué à différentes affections cérébrales et psychiatriques . Certains des plus connus sont les suivants.

1. Syndrome de Parkinson et moteur

L’un des désordres dans lesquels l’utilisation la plus fréquente de cette technique est la maladie de Parkinson ou des problèmes liés à ses symptômes, entraînant des améliorations fonctionnelles et une réduction des problèmes moteurs .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

2. Troubles de l'humeur

L’application la plus connue au niveau psychiatrique de cette technique est peut-être la dépression majeure. Avec une opération en partie similaire à la thérapie électroconvulsive mais sans les effets secondaires de cette , il a été observé que ce traitement contribue à diminuer la symptomatologie dépressive s’il est appliqué dans le préfrontal dorsolatéral gauche, même s’il nécessite davantage d’investigation.

Il a également été appliqué dans le traitement du trouble bipolaire, bien que dans ce cas, il existe un risque d'induction d'épisodes maniaques. C'est pourquoi dans ce désordre, il faut être particulièrement prudent.

3. Neuroréhabilitation

Un autre domaine d’application concerne la neuroréhabilitation, utilisant la stimulation comme moyen de générer une activation neuronale et d'essayer d'améliorer la fonctionnalité après une lésion cérébrale. Il est appliqué entre autres dans les traumatismes, les crises cardiaques, les lésions de la moelle épinière, les syndromes de négligence, l'hémiparésie ou les difficultés cognitives.

4. l'épilepsie

L'épilepsie est un trouble dans lequel ce type de traitement a parfois été utilisé. Il peut permettre la stimulation de certaines zones du cerveau pertinentes pour faire face soulager la détérioration générée par cette condition , et peut même faciliter l'apparition de crises d'épilepsie afin de localiser la zone générant des crises et d'évaluer la possibilité d'autres options thérapeutiques.

  • Article connexe: "Épilepsie: définition, causes, diagnostic et traitement"

5. Troubles de la douleur

L’utilisation de la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne a été proposée dans le traitement de problèmes liés à la douleur, comme les névralgies et les névralgies , ou la douleur de la main fantôme (chez les amputés), la fibromyalgie ou même la migraine.

6. Troubles du développement neurologique

Des études suggèrent l'utilisation de cette thérapie dans l'autisme et le TDAH , en utilisant la stimulation sur les noyaux qui régissent l’attention, afin d’améliorer les symptômes de ces troubles neurodéveloppementaux et en stimulant leur capacité d’attention. Cependant, bien que beaucoup de recherches supplémentaires soient encore nécessaires à cet égard.

7. Schizophrénie et problèmes psychotiques

En fonction de l'utilisation et des zones stimulées, il est possible de trouver une utilité de cette technique dans le cas de la schizophrénie et des troubles psychotiques. Ceci est particulièrement utile dans la stimulation des voies mésocorticales, afin de réduire les symptômes négatifs. Dans certains cas, il peut également être utilisé dans le traitement de symptômes positifs en modifiant le mécanisme cérébral qui les produit (bien qu’il existe un risque d’apparition d’éclosions psychotiques).

Contre-indications et effets secondaires

Comme nous l'avons dit, la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne est généralement considérée comme une option thérapeutique non invasive et à faible risque, sans complications majeures dans la majorité des cas. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'il ne peut pas avoir d'effets secondaires gênants ni même être contre-indiqué dans des cas spécifiques.

En ce qui concerne les effets secondaires, généralement les patients qui subissent ce traitement peut avoir des maux de tête et des vertiges, des antipsychotiques et des paresthésies sur le visage et le cuir chevelu ou même quelques petits spasmes involontaires. Parfois, cependant, des troubles plus graves peuvent survenir, tels qu'une perte d'audition, des convulsions et des épisodes maniaques. C’est pourquoi, bien qu’apparemment peu risqué, nous devons faire attention à son utilisation.

En ce qui concerne les personnes qui ont une contre-stimulation magnétique transcrânienne contre-indiquée ou qui ont besoin de consulter ou d’informer leur médecin de la présence de caractéristiques spécifiques avant de la subir, se distinguent les personnes portant des implants ou ayant un élément métallique dans leur organisme cela pourrait être modifié par une stimulation magnétique. Pacemaker est particulièrement pertinent (que la stimulation risque de provoquer la mort), pompes à perfusion, éléments et valves implantés dans le système nerveux ou implants cochléaires. Une chose aussi simple que les implants dentaires peut également présenter un certain danger, ainsi que des éclats d'obus ou des éléments métalliques présents dans le corps en raison d'un type d'accident ou de traumatisme.

Une prudence particulière est également requise pour les personnes souffrant de lésions cérébrales telles que les accidents vasculaires cérébraux récents (bien qu'il soit parfois utilisé pour réhabiliter ses effets, il n'est pas recommandé de l'appliquer à des patients infarctus). Bien qu'il soit utilisé comme traitement dans certains cas de bipolarité ou de schizophrénie, il convient de faire preuve de prudence dans ces cas, car si l'état du sujet n'est pas contrôlé l'apparition d'épidémies psychotiques ou d'épisodes maniaques peut être favorisée . Il en va de même pour l'épilepsie. Ceux qui consomment des médicaments (qu'ils soient psychotropes ou non) devraient consulter leur médecin au préalable. Enfin, les femmes enceintes ont également contre-indiqué ce traitement.

Références bibliographiques

  • Ibiricu, M.A. & Morales, G. (2009). Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne. Annales du système de santé de Navarre, 32 (suppl.3). Pampelune.
  • López-Ibor, J.J .; Pastrana, J.I .; Cisneros, S. & López-Ibor, M.I. (2010). Efficacité de la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne dans la dépression. Étude naturaliste. Actas Esp. Psiquiatría, 38 (2): 87-93.
  • Pascual-Leone, A. et Tormos-Muñoz, J.M. (2008). Stimulation magnétique transcrânienne: principes fondamentaux et potentiel de la modulation de réseaux de neurones spécifiques. Rev. Neurol., 46 (Suppl 1): S3-S10.

EFFACER LES RIDES DU VISAGE VITE : MASSEZ AVEC DES AIMANTS POUR PARAITRE PLUS JEUNE RAPIDEMENT (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes