yes, therapy helps!
Types of epilepsies: causes, symptoms and characteristics

Types of epilepsies: causes, symptoms and characteristics

October 1, 2022

Epileptic seizures are complex phenomena, especially taking into account that there are different types of epilepsy .

Already in the Bible, even in Babylonian documents of greater antiquity are references to epilepsy, called at that time morbus sacer or sacred disease, which through which people lost consciousness, fell to the ground and they suffered major convulsions while they were frothing at the mouth and chewing their tongues .

As you can imagine by the name that was originally imposed on him it was associated with religious or magical elements , considering that those who suffered it were possessed or were in communication with spirits or gods.


Over the centuries the conception and knowledge of this problem was amplified, finding that the causes of this problem lie in the functioning of the brain. But the term epilepsy does not refer only to the type of crisis mentioned above, but actually includes different syndromes. Thus, we can find different types of epilepsy.

  • To learn more: "What is epilepsy and how can this neuropathology be treated?"

A disorder of neurological origin

Epilepsy is a complex disorder whose main characteristic is the presence of repeated nervous crises over time in which one or several group of hyperexcitable neurons are activated abruptly, continuously, abnormally and unexpectedly, causing an excess of activity in the hyperexcited areas that lead to loss of organism control .


It is a chronic disorder that can be generated by a large number of causes, with some of the most frequent traumatic brain injuries, strokes, hemorrhages, infections or tumors. These problems cause certain structures to react abnormally to brain activity , being able to lead to the presence of epileptic seizures in a secondary way.

One of the most common and recognizable symptoms are seizures, violent and uncontrollable contractions of the voluntary muscles, but nevertheless they only occur in some types of epilepsy. And is that the specific symptoms that the epileptic person will present depends on the hyperactivated area where the crisis begins. However, in general, epileptic seizures are similar, since their action extends to almost the entire brain.

Types of epilepsy according to whether its origin is known

When classifying the different types of epilepsy we must take into account that not all cases are known to produce them. In addition, they can also be grouped according to whether or not their causes are known, there being three groups in this sense: symptomatic, cryptogenic and idiopathic.


A) Symptomatic crises

We call symptomatic to the crises of which the origin is known . This group is the most known and frequent, being able to locate one or several epileptoid brain zones or structures and a damage or element that causes said alteration. However, at a more detailed level, it is not known what this initial alteration produces.

B) Cryptogenic crises

Cryptogenic crises, currently called probably symptomatic, are epileptic seizures of which It is suspected that they have a certain cause, but whose origin can not yet be demonstrated by the evaluation techniques current It is suspected that the damage is at the cellular level.

C) Idiopathic crisis

In the case of both symptomatic and cryptogenic crises, epilepsy is due to the hyperactivation and abnormal discharge of one or several groups of neurons, activation from a more or less known cause. However, it is sometimes possible to find cases in which the origin of epileptic seizures does not seem to be due to recognizable damage.

This type of crisis is called idiopathic, which is believed to be due to genetic factors . Despite not knowing exactly their origin, people with this type of crisis tend to have a good prognosis and response to treatment in general.

Types of epilepsy according to generalization of the crises

Traditionally, the presence of epilepsy has been associated with two basic types known as great evil and small malignancy, but research carried out over time has shown that there is a wide variety of epileptic syndromes. The different syndromes and types of epileptic seizures they are classified mainly according to whether neural discharges and hyperexcitation occur only in a specific area or at a generalized level .

1. Generalized crises

In this type of epileptic seizures, electrical discharges from the brain are caused bilaterally in a certain area to end up generalizing to all or a large part of the brain. It is common that in these types of epilepsy (especially in the crises of great evil) a previous aura appears , that is to say, pródromos or previous symptoms like obnubilación tingling and hallucinations at the beginning of the crisis that can prevent who is going to suffer from its occurrence. Some of the most well-known and iconic in this type of epileptic crisis are the following.

1.1. Generalized tonic-clonic crisis or crisis of great evil

The epileptic crisis prototype, in crises of great evil appears a sudden and sudden loss of consciousness that causes the fall to the floor of the patient , and is accompanied by constant and frequent convulsions, bites, urinary and / or fecal incontinence and even screaming.

This type of crisis is the most studied, having found three main phases throughout the crisis: first, the tonic phase in which the loss of consciousness occurs and the fall to the ground, to then start in the clonic phase in which seizures appear (Beginning at the ends of the body and progressively generalizing) and finally culminate the epileptic crisis with the recovery phase in which consciousness is gradually regained.

1.2. Crisis of absence or small bad

In this type of epileptic seizure the most typical symptom is the loss or alteration of consciousness , as small stops of mental activity or mental absences that accompany the akinesia or lack of movement, without other more visible alterations occur.

Although the person loses consciousness temporarily, does not fall to the ground nor does it usually have physical alterations (although sometimes contractions can occur in the facial muscles).

1.3. Lennox-Gastaut syndrome

It is a subtype of generalized epilepsy typical of childhood, in which mental absences and frequent seizures appear in the first years of life (between two and six years of age) that usually occur together with intellectual disability and problems of personality, emotional and behavior. It is one of the most serious neurological disorders in children, which can cause death in some cases either directly or due to complications associated with the disorder.

1.4. Myoclonic epilepsy

Myoclonus is a spasmodic and abrupt movement that involves the displacement of a part of the body from one position to another.

In this type of epilepsy, which actually includes several sub-syndromes such as juvenile myoclonic epilepsy, It is common for seizures and fever to appear more and more frequently , with some focal seizures in the form of jerking upon awakening from sleep. Many people with this disorder end up having major bad seizures. It often appears as a reaction to light stimulation.

1.5. West syndrome

A subtype of childhood generalized epilepsy in the first semester of life , West Syndrome is a serious and infrequent disorder in which children have disorganized brain activity (something visible by electroencephalogram).

Children with this disorder suffer spasm saves that cause mostly inward limb flexion, full extension or both. Its other main characteristic is the degeneration and psychomotor disintegration of the infant, losing physical, motivational and emotional expression abilities.

1.6. Atonic crisis

They are a subtype of epilepsy in which loss of consciousness appears and in which the individual usually falls to the ground due to an initial muscular contraction, but without convulsions and rapidly recovering. Although it produces brief episodes, it can be dangerous, since falls can cause serious effects due to trauma.

2. Partial / focal crisis

Partial epileptic seizures, unlike generalized seizures, occur in specific and specific areas of the brain. In these cases the symptoms vary enormously depending on the location of the hyperactivated dona, limiting the damage to that area although in some cases the crisis may become generalized. Depending on the area, the symptoms can be motor or sensitive, causing hallucinations to convulsions in specific areas.

These crises can be of two types, simple (it is a type of epileptic crisis located in a certain area, and that does not affect the level of consciousness) or complex (which do alter the psychic abilities or consciousness).

Some examples of partial crises may be the following

2.1. Jacksonian crisis

This type of crisis is due to a hyper-excitation of the motor cortex, causing localized seizures at specific points that in turn follow the somatotopic organization of the cortex.

2.2. Benign partial epilepsy of childhood

It is a type of partial epileptic seizure that occurs during childhood. They usually occur during sleep, not producing a serious alteration in the development of the subject. They usually disappear on their own throughout their development, although in some cases they may lead to other types of epilepsy that are serious and affect the quality of life in many of their areas.

One last consideration

In addition to the aforementioned types, there are also other convulsive processes similar to those of epileptic seizures, such as occurs in cases of dissociative and / or somatoform disorders, or seizures during fever. However, although in some classifications they are classified as special epileptic syndromes, there is some controversy, some authors not agreeing to be considered as such.

Bibliographic references:

  • Abou-Khalil, B.W .; Gallagher, M.J. & Macdonald, R.L. (2016). Epilepsies In: Daroff RB, Jankovic, J .; Mazziotta, J.C. & Pomeroy, S.K. (eds.). Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier :: chap 101.
  • Commission on Classification and Terminology of the International League Against Epilepsy. Proposal for revised clinical and electroencephalographic classification of epileptic seizures. Epilepsy. 1981; 22: 489-501.
  • Engel, J. Jr. (2006). Report of the ILAE classification core group. Epilepsy; 47: 1558-68.

Epilepsy Seizures : Signs, Symptoms, Causes, Risk Factors, Types, Aura, Etiology (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'épilepsies: causes, symptômes et caractéristiques

Types d'épilepsies: causes, symptômes et caractéristiques

Août 17, 2019

Les crises d'épilepsie sont des phénomènes complexes, d'autant plus qu'il existe différents types d'épilepsie .

Déjà dans la Bible, même dans les documents babyloniens de la plus haute antiquité, il est fait référence à l'épilepsie, appelée à l'époque morbus sacer ou maladie sacrée, par laquelle les gens ont perdu conscience, sont tombés au sol et ils ont souffert de convulsions importantes alors qu'ils moussaient la bouche et se mastiquaient la langue .

Comme vous pouvez l'imaginer par le nom qui lui a été imposé à l'origine il était associé à des éléments religieux ou magiques , considérant que ceux qui en souffraient étaient possédés ou étaient en communication avec des esprits ou des dieux.


Au fil des siècles, la conception et la connaissance de ce problème ont été amplifiées, découvrant que les causes de ce problème résident dans le fonctionnement du cerveau. Mais le terme épilepsie ne désigne pas seulement le type de crise mentionné ci-dessus, mais inclut en réalité différents syndromes. Ainsi, nous pouvons trouver différents types d'épilepsie.

  • Pour en savoir plus: "Qu'est-ce que l'épilepsie et comment traiter cette neuropathologie?"

Un trouble d'origine neurologique

L’épilepsie est un trouble complexe dont la caractéristique principale est la présence de crises nerveuses répétées au cours du temps, dans lesquelles un ou plusieurs groupes de neurones hyperexcitables sont activés de manière abrupte, continue, anormale et inattendue, provoquant ainsi un excès d’activité dans le cerveau. zones hyperexcitées qui entraîner une perte de contrôle de l'organisme .


C'est un trouble chronique qui peut être généré par un grand nombre de causes, parmi lesquelles figurent les lésions traumatiques au cerveau, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, les hémorragies, les infections et les tumeurs les plus fréquents. Ces problèmes font réagir certaines structures de manière anormale à l'activité cérébrale , pouvant conduire à la présence de crises d'épilepsie de manière secondaire.

Les crises convulsives, contractions violentes et incontrôlables des muscles volontaires sont l'un des symptômes les plus courants et les plus reconnaissables. Néanmoins, elles ne surviennent que dans certains types d'épilepsie. Et est-ce que les symptômes spécifiques que la personne épileptique présentera dépendent de la zone hyperactivée où commence la crise. Cependant, en général, les crises d'épilepsie sont similaires, car leur action s'étend à presque tout le cerveau.

Types d'épilepsie selon que son origine est connue

Lors de la classification des différents types d'épilepsie, nous devons tenir compte du fait que tous les cas ne sont pas connus pour les produire. En outre, ils peuvent également être regroupés selon que leurs causes sont connues ou non, il existe trois groupes dans ce sens: symptomatique, cryptogénique et idiopathique.


A) Crises symptomatiques

Nous appelons symptomatique à les crises dont l'origine est connue . Ce groupe est le plus connu et le plus fréquent, car il permet de localiser une ou plusieurs zones ou structures cérébrales épileptoïdes et un dommage ou un élément causant cette altération. Cependant, à un niveau plus détaillé, on ignore ce que cette modification initiale produit.

B) Crises cryptogéniques

Les crises cryptogéniques, actuellement appelées probablement symptomatiques, sont des crises épileptiques dont On soupçonne qu'ils ont une certaine cause mais dont l'origine ne peut pas encore être démontrée par les techniques d'évaluation courant On soupçonne que les dommages sont au niveau cellulaire.

C) Crise idiopathique

Dans les crises à la fois symptomatiques et cryptogéniques, l'épilepsie est due à l'hyperactivation et à la décharge anormale d'un ou plusieurs groupes de neurones, activation par une cause plus ou moins connue. Cependant, il est parfois possible de trouver des cas dans lesquels l'origine des crises d'épilepsie ne semble pas être due à des dommages reconnaissables.

Ce type de crise est appelé idiopathique, ce qui serait dû à des facteurs génétiques. . Bien qu'ils ne sachent pas exactement quelle est leur origine, les personnes souffrant de ce type de crise ont généralement un bon pronostic et réagissent bien au traitement.

Types d'épilepsie selon la généralisation des crises

Traditionnellement, la présence de l'épilepsie a été associée à deux types de base appelés grand mal et petite malignité, mais des recherches menées au fil du temps ont montré qu'il existe une grande variété de syndromes épileptiques. Les différents syndromes et types de crises d'épilepsie elles sont classées principalement selon que les décharges neurales et l'hyperexcitation ne se produisent que dans une zone spécifique ou à un niveau généralisé .

1. Crises généralisées

Dans ce type de crises d'épilepsie, les décharges électriques cérébrales sont générées de manière bilatérale dans une zone donnée et finissent par se généraliser à l'ensemble ou à une grande partie du cerveau. Il est fréquent que dans ces types d'épilepsie (en particulier dans les crises du grand mal) une précédente aura apparaisse , c’est-à-dire des pródromos ou des symptômes antérieurs, tels que des picotements obnubilatoires et des hallucinations au début de la crise, qui peuvent empêcher de savoir qui va en souffrir. Certains des plus connus et emblématiques de ce type de crise épileptique sont les suivants.

1.1. Crise tonico-clonique généralisée ou crise du grand mal

Le prototype de crise épileptique, dans les crises de grand mal apparaît une perte de conscience soudaine et soudaine qui provoque la chute au sol du patient et s'accompagne de convulsions et de morsures constantes et fréquentes, d'incontinence urinaire et / ou fécale et même de cris.

Ce type de crise est le plus étudié, ayant trouvé trois phases principales tout au long de la crise: premièrement, la phase tonique dans laquelle se produit la perte de conscience et la chute au sol, pour commencer ensuite dans la phase clonique dans laquelle apparaissent les crises (Commençant aux extrémités du corps et se généralisant progressivement) et aboutissant enfin à la crise épileptique avec la phase de récupération dans laquelle la conscience est progressivement retrouvée.

1.2. Crise d'absence ou petit mal

Dans ce type de crise d'épilepsie, le symptôme le plus typique est la perte ou l'altération de la conscience. , comme de petits arrêts d’activité mentale ou des absences mentales qui accompagnent l’akinésie ou le manque de mouvement, sans autres altérations plus visibles.

Bien que la personne perde conscience temporairement, ne tombe pas sur le sol et n'a généralement pas de modifications physiques (bien que parfois des contractions peuvent se produire dans les muscles du visage).

1.3. Syndrome de Lennox-Gastaut

Il s’agit d’un sous-type d’épilepsie généralisée typique de l’enfance, caractérisée par des absences mentales et des crises épileptiques fréquentes au cours des premières années de la vie (entre deux et six ans), qui se manifeste généralement par une déficience intellectuelle et des problèmes de santé. personnalité, émotionnel et comportement. C’est l’un des désordres neurologiques les plus graves chez l’enfant, pouvant entraîner la mort dans certains cas, directement ou en raison de complications associées au trouble.

1.4. Épilepsie myoclonique

Myoclonus est un mouvement spasmodique et brusque qui implique le déplacement d’une partie du corps d’une position à une autre.

Dans ce type d'épilepsie, qui comprend en réalité plusieurs sous-syndromes tels que l'épilepsie myoclonique juvénile, Il est fréquent que les convulsions et la fièvre apparaissent de plus en plus fréquemment , avec quelques crises focales sous forme de secousses au réveil du sommeil. Beaucoup de personnes atteintes de ce trouble finissent par avoir de graves crises convulsives. Il apparaît souvent comme une réaction à la stimulation lumineuse.

1.5 Syndrome de West

Un sous-type d'épilepsie généralisée chez l'enfant au cours du premier semestre de la vie Le syndrome de West est un trouble grave et peu fréquent dans lequel les enfants ont une activité cérébrale désorganisée (visible par électroencéphalogramme).

Les enfants atteints de ce trouble subissent des spasmes qui provoquent principalement une flexion interne du membre, une extension complète ou les deux. Son autre caractéristique principale est la dégénérescence et la désintégration psychomotrice du nourrisson, entraînant une perte des capacités d'expression physique, motivationnelle et émotionnelle.

1.6. Crise atonique

Il s’agit d’un sous-type d’épilepsie dans lequel la perte de conscience apparaît et dans lequel l’individu tombe généralement au sol en raison d’une contraction musculaire initiale, mais sans convulsions et se rétablissant rapidement. Bien que cela produise de brefs épisodes, il peut être dangereux, car les chutes peuvent avoir des effets graves dus à un traumatisme.

2. Crise partielle / focale

Les crises d'épilepsie partielles, contrairement aux crises généralisées, se produisent dans des zones spécifiques et spécifiques du cerveau. Dans ces cas, les symptômes varient énormément en fonction de la localisation du dona hyperactivé, limitant ainsi les dommages causés à cette zone, bien que dans certains cas la crise puisse se généraliser. Selon la région, les symptômes peuvent être moteurs ou sensibles, entraînant des convulsions hallucinatoires dans des zones spécifiques.

Ces crises peuvent être de deux types, simples (il s’agit d’un type de crise épileptique localisée dans une zone donnée et n’affectant pas le niveau de conscience) ou complexes (modifiant les capacités psychiques ou la conscience).

Voici quelques exemples de crises partielles:

2.1. Crise jacksonienne

Ce type de crise est dû à une hyper-excitation du cortex moteur, provoquant des crises localisées à des points spécifiques qui suivent à leur tour l'organisation somatotopique du cortex.

2.2. Épilepsie partielle bénigne de l'enfance

C'est un type de crise d'épilepsie partielle qui survient pendant l'enfance. Ils se produisent généralement pendant le sommeil, ne produisant pas une altération grave du développement du sujet. Elles disparaissent généralement d'elles-mêmes tout au long de leur développement, même si dans certains cas elles peuvent conduire à d'autres types d'épilepsie graves et affectant la qualité de la vie dans beaucoup de leurs régions.

Une dernière considération

Outre les types susmentionnés, il existe également d'autres processus convulsifs similaires à ceux des crises d'épilepsie, tels que ceux rencontrés dans les cas de troubles dissociatifs et / ou somatoformes, ou les crises épileptiques. Cependant, bien que dans certaines classifications, ils soient classés en tant que syndromes épileptiques spéciaux, il existe une certaine controverse, certains auteurs n'acceptant pas d'être considérés comme tels.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Abou-Khalil, B.W .; Gallagher, M.J. & Macdonald, R.L. (2016). Épilepsies Dans: Daroff RB, Jankovic, J .; Mazziotta, J.C. & Pomeroy, S.K. (eds.). Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier :: chapitre 101.
  • Commission de classification et de terminologie de la Ligue internationale contre l'épilepsie. Proposition de révision de la classification clinique et électroencéphalographique des crises d'épilepsie. L'épilepsie 1981; 22: 489-501.
  • Engel, J. Jr. (2006). Rapport du groupe de base de la classification ILAE. L'épilepsie; 47: 1558-68.

C'est pas sorcier -CERVEAU 1 : LES SORCIERS SE PRENNENT LA TETE (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes